Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open May 1 - October 1

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

Aug 23, 2017
This was our 3rd stay and each one has been better than the previous. You all have always been so friendly and helpful when needed. LOTS of things to do and LOTS of space to do them in. We were really happy to have been there this year on Rodeo night. We'll try to plan our next visit on a future Rodeo. Thank you!
Aug 23, 2017
everyone was so friendly and helpful. We loved the rodeo that was included with our stay and the wine tasting was awesome. We are planning to stay again next year, but for a few more days!!!
Aug 23, 2017
Our stay was wonderful! There's so much for the kids to do, fun bike paths to cruise around on, mini golf, pools, waterslide and so much more all while your being surrounded by beautiful scenery! Couldn't have enjoyed it anymore than we did. We will be back!
Aug 23, 2017
The most crowded campground I've ever visited, no wifi and shouldn't be advertised that there is, lots of activities for children, have to drive out a couple miles to get any cell service,
Aug 23, 2017
Although a very busy place, the busyness never impacted any aspect of our stay. Something for everyone. Music one night was the Hill City Slickers. They were funny and the music was fun and well done. Would definitely stay there again if in the area.
Aug 23, 2017
You have some of the nicest people in the world. Our family enjoyed a long overdue vacation.
Aug 23, 2017
Everything was good except for the K9 run. It was out of bags for 2 days and became a minefield. When we left the camp, the situation was still not taken care of.
Aug 23, 2017
A wonderful time, the kids love the fun zone and the location is great! We all enjoyed the Rodeo!
Aug 23, 2017
The campground is in a beautiful location but was far too busy for our liking. Our campsite was very close to our neighbors and not very level at all, not to mention we almost hit a tree because the turns were pretty narrow up by our site. the facilities weren't bad though. The number of people is what will keep us away in the future.
Aug 23, 2017
Aug 23, 2017
Best KOA we have stayed at..
Aug 23, 2017
Absolutely stunning camping resort. Friendly folks
Aug 22, 2017
Great location, clean, friendly staff. So much for the kids to do you wouldn't have to leave to have fun.
Aug 22, 2017
Tons of great family things to do. Could easily spend a week here and never get bored.
Aug 22, 2017
This is our favorite KOA! It's going to be next year's family vacation as well. Can't say enough good about this place.
Aug 22, 2017
Aug 22, 2017
This camper comment has been removed by KOA due to profanity.
Aug 22, 2017
Great koa. Big but very nice. Had a full service pull through. Perfect for a 26ft toy hauler to unload harley. Location perfect for what we had wanted to do. Take their bus to my Rushmore lighting. Don't fight the traffic.
Aug 22, 2017
I chose a number right in the middle as the campground was great except I NEEDED a wireless spot as promised because my sister was coming to the campsite [to stay at The Lodge] days after we arrived and I was not able to contact her as needed! I really feel that potential campers should be TOLD that there is rarely any connection instead of being assured of the 3 WIFI spots that don't deliver!
Aug 22, 2017
Aug 22, 2017
Great place for kids and family absolutely love it!!
Aug 22, 2017
Great activities for all ages and close proximity to numerous attractions in the area.
Aug 22, 2017
Amazing amenities for the low cost!!
Aug 22, 2017
We had a great time, there was something to do all the time and your staff was very friendly.
Aug 22, 2017
You cram too many RVs in the place especially back by the arena. Some people could not even open their slide outs or put out their awnings. We did not have room for our trailer after all and had to leave it detached in the field.
Aug 22, 2017
Incredible! Gorgeous location, UNPARALLELED amenities. Price for a pull through w/e sight was the same as we've payed elsewhere throughout the country for a third of the amenities. Clean, well maintained, awesome staff.
Aug 22, 2017
Overall nice facility. A lot to do, but expensive. RV spaces are close together, but nice. Bathrooms are old, need updating.
Aug 21, 2017
Made reservations in Dec of 16 for a family reunion, asked for a larger lot with 50 amp service, was told no problem. We arrived on July 23rd of 2017, check in went great. When arrived on are camp site, this is where it went bad. It was about the smallest site on your property that I saw, it was only a 30 Amp service. Went up to office to discuss. Customer service sucked!! They could care less!!
Aug 21, 2017
This KOA iscentrally located to all the areas we were interested in seeing. We would:not have been ablek to fit it in if we had stayed some other place. This had everything you needed. Staff were awesome!
Aug 21, 2017
The accommodations was extremely nice, my grandkids had all kinds of things to do with or without us ! I would recommend staying at your campground to anyone, we had a great time and plan on coming back in the future!!
Aug 21, 2017
Aug 21, 2017
My site was on close to a 15 degree slope. I couldn't level it with blocks even. The site I had for what I paid I didn't feel was worth it.
Aug 21, 2017
the only thing they need better wifi internet as there wifi-interned doesnt work
Aug 21, 2017
We were there 23 years ago with our kids. This time we brought my mother and my wife's dad. Wow has it changed. How is a good time so much to do and everybody is so nice to you. Definitely will be back with our grandkids. Thanks for the good time
Aug 21, 2017
we enjoyed the stay. friendly staff, clean grounds. there was plenty to do on site as well in a hundred mile radius. Had a great time, will return.
Aug 21, 2017
It was an awesome place to stay very kid friendly I took my 3 grand kid's with me aging from 9 to 15 and there was something for all of us to do. Don't know if I will be back that way but I will be picking KOA camp ground's to stay in.
Aug 21, 2017
Aug 21, 2017
Aug 21, 2017
We loved everything about this place. You could spend 2 days just at the campground and not do everything they have to offer. Everything is reasonably priced and the staff is exceptional! We will definitely be back.
Aug 21, 2017
We had a great time. Kids kept busy only thing bad was Wi-Fi.
Aug 21, 2017
Aug 21, 2017
Very noisy the quiet time was not enforced. People started to get quiet after 12:00 midnight. We will not go to this place again. Ken. Edwards
Aug 21, 2017
disappointed when first showed up and there were three employees trying to figure out how to get an employee discount on something instead of talking to me. Then when I finally did get service I had to go out and get my license plate numer I came in and the lady was gone. Someone else had to come and help me. Other than that, the stay was fabulous.
Aug 21, 2017
It was very convenient for exploring Mount Rushmore and having the yellow school bus take and pick us up was perfect. We explored the area everyday and enjoyed the Saturday evening rodeo.
Aug 21, 2017
We stayed 9 nights with a 5 year old, 1 dog and 2 new puppies, and I would do it all over again! Our spot was perfect, the people were very nice and helpful, and the activities were fun! I am looking forward to next summer so we can do it again!
Aug 21, 2017
Grandkids loved it!
Aug 21, 2017
Great time
Aug 21, 2017
Note, this "resort" not your typical KOA. (Read packs of very young, screaming kids running unsupervised everywhere, particularly in front of cars/RVs!) Quiet time not enforced. Tent site so small, couldn't even wedge in between bushes, road and car. Mandatory escort to site took forever. Registration not slightest bit apologetic you'd have ZERO cell phone/internet service. Unacceptable in 2017.
Aug 21, 2017
Definitely not your ideal camping, while it's fun for the kids that's about it. People are crammed in so tight, no room to do anything.
Aug 21, 2017
Campgrounds very nice and we had a very enjoyable time
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy