Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open May 1 - October 1

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

Aug 26, 2017
Aug 26, 2017
We had terrific time; so much to do and see in the area and at the campground. Definitely could have stayed longer. You won't be disappointed!!
Aug 26, 2017
We loved that it had so much to do the kids never wanted to leave camp.
Aug 26, 2017
Stayed four nights, very beautiful park, lots of activities, quiet at night. Be aware if you are connected to the hip by your phone forget it as there is no signal to be had until you go to town. Shuttle to Mt. Rushmore very convenient, saves driving at night over curvy roads. Would stay again anytime.
Aug 26, 2017
Everything was good. Only thing I will suggest to put fish in the lake,many kids were desiponten no fish to catch
Aug 26, 2017
Aug 26, 2017
No Internet or phone. Sites graded with rough rock and dirt. Pancake breakfast not open at posted times.
Aug 26, 2017
Everthing great except for the lo water pressure in the camp or maybe you had a clogged water filter, in shower hse #2 which may have been due to the hordes of people attending
Aug 26, 2017
Love all the activities for the kids especially the horses and water slide. Mama loved the coffee shop and wine bar. Very friendly staff and the foreign student work program you participate in is wonderful!
Aug 25, 2017
/nice campground with lots of amenities. Spaces weren't too cramped. Good shower and laundry facilities.
Aug 25, 2017
Wonderful. Best time ever.!!
Aug 25, 2017
we were with family members w/small children that would appreciate the amenities offered. The cost for us was excessive. We didn't utilize the amenities offered. Rating a 4 because our site was not close to being flat & leveling our camper, or for that matter, having a flat place to sit in lawn chairs was almost impossible. It is a very nice campground.
Aug 25, 2017
Everything & everyone with KOA was great. One thing is kids riding bikes not watching out for others. Also the speed limit in the campground should be for bicycles, atv's, golf carts & all vehicles. Thank you.
Aug 25, 2017
We came to for a week to see the sites. The campground was full of activities but not overbearing. The staff was super friendly and concerned for our needs. We would definitely return
Aug 25, 2017
Aug 25, 2017
Aug 25, 2017
Nice place, very expensive
Aug 25, 2017
Very over priced and wifi doesn't work
Aug 25, 2017
Aug 25, 2017
Awesome campground. Lots of activities for young and old. I've stayed at many others and non can compare. I'll definitely be back. I'm already recommending it to friends and family. ð
Aug 25, 2017
Although grounds were nice I only gave 4 stars because of no internet service that I could find anywhere on grounds. Our site was very small and next to rodeo arena which smelled of horses.
Aug 25, 2017
My wife and I enjoyed our stay and the area around the campground. The staff was very helpful and pleasant. Ben was very helpful about getting us transportation, my wife has difficulties in getting around. Once again, A BIG THANKYOU.
Aug 25, 2017
AMAZING!! We would & WILL recommend this KOA to ANYONE!!
Aug 24, 2017
Would stay here again. Nice place.
Aug 24, 2017
ALWAYS A NICE CLEAN PLACE TO STAY, FRIENDLY STAFF VERY ACCOMMODATING.
Aug 24, 2017
Everything with the campground was wonderful, except the Ponderosa restaurant was terrible, I would definitely not eat there again.
Aug 24, 2017
Lovely facility, clean, well maintained, TONS of activities for all members of the family, gorgeous location in Hill City near lots of attractions. This is now our yearly vacation place.
Aug 24, 2017
Everyone was very nice and accomadating
Aug 24, 2017
People were friendly and helpful. Great stay. Thanks
Aug 24, 2017
Aug 24, 2017
Very good location for Mr Rushmore, Crazy Horse & Custer Park. Nice bar & Resturant.
Aug 24, 2017
we enjoyed pancakes mini golf and the fun zone. The shuttle was nice to go see the lighting of Mount Rushmore, enjoyed the driver's hospitality and knowledge of area. Facilities all very clean and well-kept. We also really liked the Sunday morning chapel service :)
Aug 24, 2017
Friendly staff. Great memories. Bus to Mt. Rushmore is wonderful, don't change any part of it!
Aug 24, 2017
A shuttle was provided to Mt. Rushmore's evening ceremony. A bit pricey, but convenient. We had stayed here 23 years ago. The resort has grown. We found it to be a little too busy for us. Our site was short and on the main road, and though our RV is only 25' long, there was barely room for the RV, car, and tow dolly. You're packing them in too tight. Probably won't go back again.
Aug 24, 2017
Stay was good. But the no phone service and wifi in only certain places kind of sucked. We were on our way through, with a stop at My. Rushmore. Kind of road weary. Stayed overnight. WiFi at our site would have been stellar. The current set up would be ok if we were to stay several days. But I couldn't even use my own data to check my email etc at my site.
Aug 24, 2017
We like the facilities at Palmer Gulch. 2nd time staying here. Our one big complaint is the WiFi. Even sitting right outside the supposed hotspot areas, it was difficult to connect and signal was terrible. If you are going to advertise having WiFi, you need to do much better.
Aug 24, 2017
We had a wonderful time at Mount Rushmore and at our stay at the Rushmore KOA! The program and night time lighting of the monument is well worth the time. It was a very touching program. The morning pancakes were delicious and hit the spot! Will definitely return here with grandkids!
Aug 23, 2017
Aug 23, 2017
This is the 7th or 8th year we have stayed there and we love that we can reserve the same site for the next year when we leave. Next year we are staying almost 2 weeks during Sturgis bike week. We always have a great time and the workers at the KOA are outstanding. See ya next year. Dan Rodriguez - Las Vegas Nevada
Aug 23, 2017
Love the area,Love the people,we have stayed with you for several years and will continue to stay in the future. We are looking forward to the rodeo next year.
Aug 23, 2017
Rest room and showers could be cleaner!!
Aug 23, 2017
Fantastic!
Aug 23, 2017
Loved our stay, best campground with tons of activities hands down. We will definitely be back. Our new favorite place!!!
Aug 23, 2017
Nice big RV park. I liked the ice cream shop. Great to see all the horses. There is alot of stuff for the kids, more so than any other park I have been to. Two cons I was not crazy about. The site was very unlevel and the bathrooms need to be cleaner. For the price, they need to either update their bathrooms or fix them up.. Every shower I used had no hooks that were ripped off walls.
Aug 23, 2017
Aug 23, 2017
This was our 3rd stay and each one has been better than the previous. You all have always been so friendly and helpful when needed. LOTS of things to do and LOTS of space to do them in. We were really happy to have been there this year on Rodeo night. We'll try to plan our next visit on a future Rodeo. Thank you!
Aug 23, 2017
everyone was so friendly and helpful. We loved the rodeo that was included with our stay and the wine tasting was awesome. We are planning to stay again next year, but for a few more days!!!
Aug 23, 2017
Our stay was wonderful! There's so much for the kids to do, fun bike paths to cruise around on, mini golf, pools, waterslide and so much more all while your being surrounded by beautiful scenery! Couldn't have enjoyed it anymore than we did. We will be back!
Aug 23, 2017
The most crowded campground I've ever visited, no wifi and shouldn't be advertised that there is, lots of activities for children, have to drive out a couple miles to get any cell service,
Aug 23, 2017
Although a very busy place, the busyness never impacted any aspect of our stay. Something for everyone. Music one night was the Hill City Slickers. They were funny and the music was fun and well done. Would definitely stay there again if in the area.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy