Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open May 1 - October 1

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

Sep 06, 2017
The only problem was that the showers were closed the 5 th without us knowing! Long cold walk to find out the shower house was closed for the season!
Sep 05, 2017
Sep 05, 2017
Wonderful upgrade at ck in, much appreciated. Great destination spot for a family. Spent 3 days as base camp. Wish there were more signage directing to camp ground.
Sep 05, 2017
All the staff were very friendly and were helpful with pointers. The campground was very clean. This is a nice large campground with many activities.
Sep 05, 2017
We had a great time!
Sep 05, 2017
Great as always
Sep 05, 2017
Sep 05, 2017
End of season doesn't mean lack of maintenance showers were dirty mold and mildew on curtains
Sep 05, 2017
Sep 05, 2017
Great resort for a clean, safe, and fun family vacation.
Sep 05, 2017
Clean comfortable campground. Many activities. The site itself was very small, frustrating when you have your lawn chairs backed up to the grille of your nieghbors truck to enjoy your campfire. Not a lot of value for the cost.
Sep 05, 2017
Sep 05, 2017
Sep 05, 2017
We did not get the campsite we requested. That is, we were with 2 other parties and were all separated. The campground in general was nice, the grounds were well kept, the staff was friendly just the reservation system seemed hard to use.
Sep 05, 2017
Sep 05, 2017
Sep 05, 2017
This was an awesome resort with so much to do you don't need to leave! We had a great time.
Sep 05, 2017
The Place was AMAZING!!! all you could ask for in a KOA and more staff very helpful, friendly
Sep 05, 2017
Family camping trip with kids ranging from ages 11-17, everyone found something to do that they loved! We stayed in the wooded area (#513) and had the best of nature and conveniences. This is the fourth time we have camped here and we love it more each time!
Sep 05, 2017
We enjoyed our stay on this big and beautifully laid out campground. However, couple of minor sounding issues pulled our satisfaction down. Digital reception is poor, i.e. both cell phone and wifi. With today's technology this is easy to fix and I give no excuses for this major inconvenience. Also, a campground of this size has to be able to organize recycling of some kind.
Sep 05, 2017
Kids loved it! Lots to do!
Sep 05, 2017
Sep 05, 2017
First I arrived on the 1st and had TO move on the 2nd which shot the morning waiting for the other rigg to leave nothing was said about my notes on my preference but it seams if you pay an additional 20 dollars you can request your spot a best kept secret not happy with that result also had a weekend I had to give up that I had paid for had an emergency and no refund was available not good
Sep 05, 2017
We have stayed here before and are so glad we came back! There is so much to do. The shop is beautiful, the grounds are clean, the flowers are amazing! We asked to be moved (closer to family) and the Customer Service was great. There was no problem moving us and there was no hassle. We will definitely be back!
Sep 05, 2017
We had reserved a camp site with water and electricity. When we arrived we were put on a tiny campsite that was on a hill and there was no room for any tents on the site. The front desk was extremely accommodating and put us in a new campsite. There is so much to do and it is great for families, we had a great time. If you are looking for somewhere quite I would not recommend this for you.
Sep 05, 2017
The staff at this Palmer Gulch go above and beyond and I will stay here again when I visit Mount Rushmore. The only problem I had with my stay was the male cleaning staff. They were not very courteous towards the females in the bathrooms by letting them know they were going to enter and start cleaning. They also played some very loud rap music well they were cleaning.
Sep 05, 2017
So much to do.
Sep 05, 2017
Thank you the best KOA we stayed at ever will return keep doing what your doing don't overprice it we left your place and went to Billings Montana the 1st KOA and was more expensive than yours and didn't even have a dump in our site just because its the 1st site built doesn't mean over price it wont go there again But palmer Gulch yes we will.
Sep 05, 2017
Had a great time, a big thank-you to the gentleman on the golf cart that brought our fire wood to our lot. He was super nice and courteous.
Sep 05, 2017
Great
Sep 05, 2017
There were so many activities for my children to participate in while there. We enjoyed the rodeo, swimming, rock wall, mini golf, just the choices that were there. People were very friendly and willing to help and the sites were clean and quiet for a family to enjoy early bedtimes for smaller children. It was nice to have choice - the only thing I would like is more internet accessibility.
Sep 05, 2017
Love staying here. They were great about moving us when we didn't want to be in the "main" area and off away from things. So much fun the kids and I know my kids are safe so we can relax and have a good time too
Sep 05, 2017
Sep 04, 2017
Please improve your wifi. Most of the time, I could not connect even if near an access point. Others have told me they had the same problem. Otherwise, it was a very enjoyable stay with lots of great entertainment.
Sep 04, 2017
Sep 04, 2017
When I booked over 6 months ago I told the agent I wanted site with cable, when I called to verify because I never got a confirmation email they said I was in a 50 amp pull thru full hook up with out cable. of course no standard patio left. Not happy with the rental car, 130,000 plus miles no cruise control, dirty and when you pay $69 a day I expect newer car. your rates too high no wifi/cable
Sep 04, 2017
Loved it! Just wish all of the activities (chuckwagon , fire truck rides, etc) were available through labor day. Summer doesn't end on aug 15.
Sep 04, 2017
The fun zone was cool, however, we missed most events due to our arrival time of 6pm. The restaurant was excellent and the view of the black hills was great. Pancake breakfast in the morning (but used styrofoam plates....).
Sep 04, 2017
Sep 04, 2017
This KOA lives up to its billing as a "Resort" - love all of the amenities and the friendly and helpful staff - would definitely recommend this KOA to anyone visiting the Black Hills...
Sep 04, 2017
Sep 04, 2017
Activities for everyone, great staff and well maintained. Should be 5 stars! But, failed on 2 counts. I'm not a campfire grinch, but the campground is located in a natural bowl, campfire smoke dissipates slowly, making it tough if you have respiratory issues. Also, zero connectivity - a very weak/intermittent cell signal, compounded by wi-fi that is just about nonexistent. Worst in years.
Sep 04, 2017
Amazing staff, very helpful and kind. Lots to do and the whole family has asked to go back again sometime!
Sep 04, 2017
Everything was great and our kids had a blast!
Sep 04, 2017
We had a great stay! Our spot was in a peaceful corner of the large, energetic park. The pool was nice, warm and easy to access. The location was perfect. I'm excited to come back and stay in one of the cute cabins.
Sep 03, 2017
Great KOA! So much to offer for the guests. Unfortunately, we didn't have enough time to enjoy everything, but we enjoy the fire-pits and the live music!
Sep 03, 2017
Sep 03, 2017
The three night stay was wonderful; loved that we could get shuttle to Mt. Rushmore and rent a car for a day at a reasonable price
Sep 03, 2017
Sep 03, 2017
We definitely enjoyed the campsite and the various amenities around the site. The kids really enjoyed the Fun Zone. Our first two nights things were pretty quiet, but then it filled up completely on the Friday night. This made things a little too busy for my liking, and less fun for the kids. If you like big crowds and a big campsites this is the place for you, if not best look elsewhere.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy