Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open May 1 - October 1

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

Sep 11, 2017
Great facility. the spots were a little close together for our liking, but otherwise everything was great!
Sep 11, 2017
Sep 11, 2017
Everyone at this KOA was extremely friendly and helpful. I hit a turkey with my truck and travel trailer right before pulling into camp that destroyed my radiator. They were extremely helpful and let me use their land line as there is no cell reception. Can't thank everyone enough for all of the kindness and help.
Sep 11, 2017
Very nice campground and experience. Very unfortunate that cell phone signal was not available and that you charge for internet service. That seems unfair when you were a more expensive campground.. it seems like it should have been included.
Sep 11, 2017
wish we could have stayed longer !!!
Sep 11, 2017
Best thing was the staff! Patient and gracious.
Sep 11, 2017
Great weekend. Beautiful scenery. Clean campground.
Sep 11, 2017
Sep 11, 2017
Very enjoyable
Sep 10, 2017
This is the first time we stayed at a RESORT KOA. We did reserve an upgraded site, but the patio was pretty cracked in some areas. We spent most of our time sight-seeing and away from our campsite, so in the long run it didn't matter, but it was not pleasant to look at. The staff was wonderful and helpful. Our disappointment was when everything shut down after Labor Day. Wish we knew ahead of time
Sep 10, 2017
Loved all the activities....horse back riding, rodeo, miniature golf, two swimming pools and hot tubs. Nice to have a place to get sandwiches, pizza and ice cream right on site. Beautiful scenery and friendly staff.
Sep 10, 2017
Always a great time here. Wish the pool would have been open longer.
Sep 10, 2017
nice stay but way too busy to be able to relax.
Sep 10, 2017
Very nice campground but we had an issue with our motorhome and without phone service it was very inconvenient.
Sep 10, 2017
Love this place! Large and surprising quiet and well maintained. Staff was beyond helpful when I had made an error in my reservations! I have already recommended the Mt Rushmore KOA to a number of other campers
Sep 09, 2017
A PERFECT location to get the most of your time in the southern area of the wonderful Blackhills. A TON of free things for kids, of all ages, right in the KOA camp area. VERY friendly, helpful and knowledgeable staff. HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!
Sep 09, 2017
Nice campground, beautiful surroundings .....close to attractions But showers were filthyĆ°
Sep 09, 2017
Very poor wi-for No phone reception
Sep 09, 2017
Sep 09, 2017
Wi Fi didn't work, All shops were closed up to early in the year . Beautiful grounds and nice people.
Sep 09, 2017
This wasa a return visit for us. We really enjoy the location and facilities.
Sep 09, 2017
Lots of fun amenities; definitely enjoyed the ice cream! Staff was super friendly and helpful.
Sep 09, 2017
Sep 09, 2017
Sep 08, 2017
Sep 08, 2017
Sep 08, 2017
Beautiful spot with so many family activities
Sep 08, 2017
2 nights over long weekend. Staff was very friendly and helpful but campground was too big for my 89 yr old dad to negotiate
Sep 08, 2017
Sites are crowded but atmosphere was lots of fun!!!
Sep 08, 2017
Too big and noisy. Lack of directions over the phone to location dragged us through the backwoods for an hour. Restaurant was closed and food at snack bar was terrible. Staff was poorly informed about amenities and times. Only reason to stay here is for proximity to Mt. Rushmore.
Sep 07, 2017
My husband and I spent one night at the KOA on our honeymoon and it was gorgeous!! We came in late on a very rainy evening. When we woke up we got to watch the sunrise while the horses grazed in the pasture. The people where so friendly and helpful and the amenities were all you could want. I told my husband we will come back for our year anniversary.
Sep 07, 2017
Excellent place for a family to go camping in the Black Hills. My children had such a great time with all of the available activities.
Sep 07, 2017
I liked it over all,ordered a campsite with water and electric .I explained that we were staying in a tent and needed electric. I assumed it was going to be 110. When we got there we didn't have 110, so I went up to the reservation place, explained the problem, they said that ask electric campsites have 110, had to buy an adapter, ours was the only site without 110, not happy about that.
Sep 07, 2017
Sep 07, 2017
Excellent place for a family to go camping in the Black Hills. My children had such a great time with all of the available activities.
Sep 07, 2017
Staff was informative , friendly and helpful. Store seemed to be overpriced. Didn't seem to be much of a concierge service. They didn't book or recommend any tours. Otherwise the campground and facility were great.
Sep 07, 2017
Very nice campground The wifi was difficult as we were at the back.
Sep 07, 2017
We loved the campground. We stayed here about 30+ years ago when our kids were small and they still talk about the great time we had at the campground and in the Black Hills. We will definitely stay here again perhaps when some of our kids and grandkids can join us.
Sep 06, 2017
Our 3 grandkids (ages 5-10) LOVED your campground and all the exciting activities for them to keep busy! The dance night was awesome and so was the band and marshmallow roast! We are sure to come back time and again! P.S...We all LOVED the Rodeo on the grounds too!!
Sep 06, 2017
Sep 06, 2017
There was so much to do the kids never got bored, it was so clean and the staff was very friendly and helpful!
Sep 06, 2017
Fantastic campground. Very conveniently located. My husband and I truly enjoyed the site and the all you can eat pancakes were amazing. We definitely want to come back if we get the chance!!
Sep 06, 2017
The best place to stay.
Sep 06, 2017
Sep 06, 2017
We have stayed here multiple times because we love it!! Great facilities, great staff, so many things to do, great for our grandchildren, beautiful area, what more could you ask for?! We highly recommend you check it out if you are ever in the area!!!
Sep 06, 2017
Guest Service Manager, Ben went above and beyond!
Sep 06, 2017
We wanted to close to Mt Rushmore so that worked. Also enjoyed the quiet & scenery, a very pretty site. The staff was very pleasant & helpful including the wonderful team that made our scrumptious pizza.
Sep 06, 2017
Excellent
Sep 06, 2017
Great site. Plenty to do. Employees in customer service need improvement. Restaurant was slow.
Sep 06, 2017
Great service! Hoping a few of the children's activities can be extended more than just a few hours each day (rock climbing wall and inflatables). Great set up and up keep. We will be back.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy