Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open May 1 - October 1

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

Aug 06, 2017
This is the best KOA that we have ever stayed in. If you have kids, there is so much for them to do right there. It's easy access to all of the siteseeing. We enjoyed every minute of our stay and hated to leave.
Aug 06, 2017
Amazing amenities! It was great that almost everything was included in the cost. Views were fabulous! There was no phone service and wifi didn't reach our site. Bathrooms were clean but a little outdated.
Aug 06, 2017
LOTS of things for kids/families to do. Check-in process rather cumbersome, although not different from other campgrounds, however the volume of people coming in at one time makes it more of a cluster. Also, our site was between the bath house in the middle and the tents and we constantly had people walking through our site because there is no pass through for them.
Aug 06, 2017
Aug 06, 2017
This resort was amazing and extremely family friendly. We will definitely stay again!
Aug 06, 2017
Was very enjoyable. Alot of things to enjoy at the facility. Enjoyable for all ages.
Aug 06, 2017
Friendly staff. Really nice facility. Spectacular view. Can hardly wait till we can stay again except next time will be at least a whole week long!
Aug 06, 2017
Lots of great amenities for families with kids.
Aug 06, 2017
Aug 06, 2017
not happy with the burgers at the little shop, otherwise, it was nice
Aug 06, 2017
Beautiful location! Lots to do! Clean facilities. Will go back!
Aug 06, 2017
Very beautiful Koa. Extremely kid friendly and very helpful with making our trip fantastic. The ambassadors there are so helpful with golf cart transportation for my 76 year old mom which made her experience awesome. Thank you so much palmer gulch koa.
Aug 06, 2017
Bon camping. Ce camping est immense. Bon service. Nous avons bien aimé.
Aug 06, 2017
really nice stay. we had to change sites for our last night but that worked out ok. When getting ready to leave we had a problem with our main slideout. Gary from your maintenance dept. was able to take out the broken part and fix a piece in so that we could get the slide in and be on our way. A big thanks to Gary from the Burkes and Ruanes.
Aug 06, 2017
Great facility, very busy and noisy
Aug 06, 2017
Throughly enjoyed the campground and all of your facilities. We didn't even need to leave the campground if we didn't want to. Suggestions: One of the other KOA's we stayed in had a sewer hose already attached at the dumping station for campers use, it expedited matters. Also, your propane station is too close to the dumping station. 3 RVs were waiting to dump, but couldn't .
Aug 06, 2017
The most overpriced 75 a night campground ever. Elbow to elbow, muddy gravel roads, loud blaring music all over campground and neighbor campfire 5 feet from my camper. My first and last visit. Trash laying around and not being picked up gets the worse rating of any CG I have ever stayed at.
Aug 06, 2017
This was the biggest and nicest KOA we have ever stayed at. Tons of stuff to do and many places to eat, highly recommended!!
Aug 06, 2017
By far the best KOA we've ever stayed in. It was the weekend before Sturgis and despite many challenges the staff remained calm and courteous. We'll be back for sure.
Aug 05, 2017
Over the top hosts. Great place for families especially for those with kids. Will continue to recommend the facility to others.
Aug 05, 2017
Grounds and camp sites were great. all the KOA people were friendly and helpful and great amenities for just about any thing you could want to do
Aug 05, 2017
Aug 05, 2017
Our stay was good but the website was a bit misleading regarding the amenities. The internet was so bogged down that it was unusable. Also, the restrooms were probably in the poorest shape of any KOA I've been to. Very overpriced for what is offered.
Aug 05, 2017
Good facilities, Reserved 3 sites, supposed to be next to each other, they where not, was not told that ever, found out when we where shown to our sites, made 2 different attempts at the registration to move and was not moved. Bathrooms could use more cleaning. The campground was beautiful, grass well kept. Flowers where gorgous. Staff was friendly.
Aug 05, 2017
Unfortunately we were only there 1 night, it is a beautiful "Kampground"
Aug 05, 2017
This campground was great and the staff were so helpful. This is a fantastic campground if you have children as there are so many activities. We did the chuck wagon dinner which was excellent. My only complaint was the wi-fi. it was only in the few designated areas and it was hard to get on and very slow, at times almost unusable.
Aug 05, 2017
This KOA is beautiful and very well taken care of. The staff is very friendly and helpful!
Aug 05, 2017
Full service, food, coffee, pool, loved this campground. So close to mount Rushmore
Aug 04, 2017
The location is perfect. Great for children. They are deceptive on internet access. Don't plan on their "Wi-Fi" working. If they had been honest about this, I would have given them a 10.
Aug 04, 2017
Wonderful
Aug 04, 2017
The KOA was very nice, the problem was our sites 583 and 584 were very muddy, which when have small children is not good. Also, the fire pit for 583 was right by the sewer hookup, a smelly area, so we could not use that. The power outlet also right there so cords all in the way. Sites are not cheap so these 2 sites were disappointing. The amenities were very good. But , sites disappointing
Aug 04, 2017
lot of free activities, very nice and helpful staff and clean facilities, the only complain I have is that there is only one rest room in the camping area which get crowded, plenty of showers but restrooms I think fall short.
Aug 04, 2017
It is kept very clean and has a fun atmosphere for kids and adults.The people working are awesome.
Aug 04, 2017
Great family friendly campground, lots for the kids to do. Only complaint is that when the bathrooms were being cleaned 4 male KOA employees walked right into the women's bathroom without even announcing themselves or asking if anyone was in there. I was waiting for my wife on the outside of the bathroom and was quite appalled by this. Other than than it was great.
Aug 04, 2017
WOW By far the largest KOA I've stayed at and yet still the same staff very friendly and helpful and the restrooms and showers were spotless. By far had the most extra activities and food options even if Mount Rushmore wasn't there plenty of fun without leaving the park. Will definitely be back.
Aug 04, 2017
Wonderful campground with many activities for kids and adults. Enjoyed the UTV ride and trail ride. On site car rental made exploring the area easy - no need to unhook the rv! Great place to stay and we will return!
Aug 04, 2017
Excellent facility.
Aug 03, 2017
Absolutely wonderful KOA campground!! We were there 8 nights - gorgeous views, has every amenity & activity you would want!! This was the best we have stayed in. Proximity to all parks, monuments, etc, was amazing. Would recommend to all. Only negative would be that it is a busy park so crowded & traffic constantly going by in campground site. But worth it!!!
Aug 03, 2017
Aug 03, 2017
Very busy campground.
Aug 03, 2017
It was great to have all the activities available, the camp ground was clean, the people friendly. YOU need to UPGRADE the wifi, it was almost unusable even on the hot spot. If I had needed it for business I would have switched campgrounds. If youre not going to have good wifi don't say you even have it. You staff warned us at check in it was poor to non existent and they were right.
Aug 03, 2017
Everything you need to survive. Tons of things for families to do, pool, water slide, horse back rides, bike rentals, close to Mt. Rushmore. The shuttle was quick and the driver was informative and safe. Place to be.
Aug 03, 2017
It was awesome. Clean bathrooms and shower. Wonderful activities for the whole family. Just fantastic!
Aug 03, 2017
Awesome KOA
Aug 03, 2017
There was a lot for the kids to do which was a big plus. There were a few negatives though. The back in sites were very small, at 6:30 every morning the horses are lead out and called to constantly waking us up every morning, and the false advertising of wifi availability. Please don't advertise that you have wifi available when even your employees say they cant get connected.
Aug 03, 2017
The best and most family oriented campground I have ever been to, or even heard about. My family and I cant wait to come back.
Aug 03, 2017
No cell service not enough room for camper and truck
Aug 03, 2017
The staff is great The wifi and cell phone reception are poor therefor I will not stay there again.
Aug 02, 2017
This KOA was just amazing!! There are so many activities that our kids never got bored! The Fun Zone is geared for kids of all ages. Don't forget the all you can eat pancake breakfast right on the resort. All the staff were very friendly and outgoing! It was such a wonderful experience getting to meet people from near and far. 5 stars for this KOA!!
Aug 02, 2017
Showers were dirty and lacked water pressure and hot temperature.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy