Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open May 1 - October 1

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

Aug 10, 2017
Your bathrooms/showers very clean. Thank you.
Aug 10, 2017
We enjoyed our stay very much! Staff was always friendly. Campground and facilities were well maintained. Be prepared to unplug with sketchy internet & no cell signals.
Aug 10, 2017
Aug 10, 2017
Lots for kids , shuttle to Mt Rushmore's lighting a hit
Aug 09, 2017
as always it was great your staff was very helpful and we booked again for next year thanks bob
Aug 09, 2017
Never fixed driers in laundry that were broken and bathrooms were dirty
Aug 09, 2017
Aug 09, 2017
Beautiful place love being in the mountains friendly fun and lots of things to do, restaurant on site. Can't wait to come back
Aug 09, 2017
The camp site I was given - 549 - was to small for my camper. I tried to get another site but was told there were none available. I also had to wait until late in the day to set up camp because the previous camper did not leave when he was supposed to. My camper is 30+ ft and my pickup is 20+ ft so I need way more space than I was given.
Aug 09, 2017
This campground has everything you are looking for and is in a prime location. The facilities were always clean and the staff was always helpful. There was always activities for the kids, you will Not be disappointed at this resort!
Aug 09, 2017
Very clean Very helpful Lots to do Only issue we had was lack of signage made us drive around for over an hour trying to find our turn for 244 Hwy directions on website said continue 3 miles after junction of 16 and 385 but it is 7 miles from the junction to 244 so we never went far enough. Called police dispatch for directions because nothing was open to get directions at 3am.
Aug 09, 2017
Bathrooms very dirty couldn't let my kids touch any walls or anything mold look like nobody to ever cleaned it other than that the place is awesome for kids but cleanliness is not.
Aug 09, 2017
The campground is located perfectly to visit the monuments. The reservation experience wasn't truthful when asked about the total price. I wrote to manager informing him in detail the experience, but to date, i have not had a response.
Aug 09, 2017
We visited the Palmer Gulch KOA four years ago but were just passing through so did not get to enjoy the amenities. We have been wanting to return ever since. We returned July 29-Aug 2 with our four children and were very impressed. So many different activities for the kids to engage in, clean, quiet and everything we needed was there. Also very impressed with how organized check-in was.
Aug 09, 2017
Loved it kids loved it dogs too
Aug 09, 2017
Le meilleur que j'ai vu pour la famille c'est extra
Aug 09, 2017
Lovely - a true gem of a place.
Aug 08, 2017
Great for everyone!! Kids of all ages or no kids at all. Staff was so friendly and helpful.
Aug 08, 2017
Extremely expensive campground at the $122 per night that I paid.
Aug 08, 2017
Everyone was so accommodating. Was great
Aug 08, 2017
It was great will b back
Aug 08, 2017
This campground is amazing! Has so many family activities, rental cars, carts, arcs, waterslide u name it! Staff very friendly! Beautiful flowers and surroundings....
Aug 08, 2017
This KOA was excellent!! We were amazed at all of the pools, stores and activities they offered there! We really really enjoyed our stay!!
Aug 08, 2017
The electricity at my site was not working. Luckily I had rented 2 sites so I had to plug into other site. But there was still not enough power on that one to run my air conditioner on my rv. Kids loved activities but very disappointed with electicty. Was not enough power to run skillet even.
Aug 08, 2017
Need cell towers Internet bad
Aug 08, 2017
Lots of great things to do and see in the area. Wish we could have stayed longer.
Aug 08, 2017
Was very disappointed in the service. This is the second year we have stayed at this location a both times we had to move sites.This particular time for a 4 night stay we had to move 3 times.When I spoke with the front desk they informed me that it was first come first serve and keep checking but how is fair when we are already paying customers. Seems unaccomidating when your paying 90$ per night.
Aug 08, 2017
Nice very clean and vèry friendly and helpful staff
Aug 08, 2017
Loved all of the amenities, the pools, the beautiful scenary and very kind and helpful staff. Miss it already!
Aug 08, 2017
Small site no room hard to get in to
Aug 08, 2017
Being handicapped and having to use a Walker made very difficult to use the restrooms, showers and laundry. The rows were much too long with no gaps for paths to restrooms. Had to disconnect unit and drive a few blocks to use toilet$67.00 fee we would never use this facility again. No wi-go at or near our site. People all nite were cutting our site to get to bathrooms... please enact a shuttle!
Aug 07, 2017
Nice campground, but to have no cell service and hardly ever a good enough connection to Wi-Fi at the delixe sites was not good. Also each morning and evening we had to listen to gas power washing of vehicles for a few hours which was very annoying especially for the price of the deluxe site.
Aug 07, 2017
Awesome campground... My only complaint is that the pull through sites are way too tight. Other than that... wow!
Aug 07, 2017
We had a very good time at your KOA, personnel were very friendly, campgrounds were well kept, food was great and and all the fun things to do there were enjoyable for all ages, would definitely recommend to anyone and would love to come back again if we're ever in the area
Aug 07, 2017
Very nice and professional and friendly office staff and all people work to. KOA at Mount Rushmore is so beautiful place to stay! Everyone is always happy to help and the campground is so beautiful and super clean and so much activities for all the family We had such a great memories and definitely we would love to comeback!!!
Aug 07, 2017
Fantastic amenities and staff. We had a great time!
Aug 07, 2017
We returned after four years and enjoyed your campground, even if only for one night. Thank you
Aug 07, 2017
This KOA was wonderful! Tons of activities for the kids, friendly staff, and very well maintained! We would definitely return!!
Aug 07, 2017
Very resort like, and very nice. Fun cookout.
Aug 07, 2017
More amenities then most camp grounds. Very clean and very friendly.
Aug 07, 2017
Aug 07, 2017
RV campsites are close together. Kids enjoyed natural pond. Lots of activities and we'll established campgrpund. Convenient location.
Aug 07, 2017
This was our second time to stay both visit were outstanding! Excellent facilities very friendly staff.
Aug 07, 2017
Amazing time at a amazing place. Will be going back for sure.
Aug 07, 2017
It was truly a resort!
Aug 07, 2017
Very nice park with lots to do.......
Aug 07, 2017
Very nice park with lots to do for the kids and adults.....
Aug 07, 2017
Huge facility! Our campsite was great; it was private and shady. The resort was in a great location for exploring all over the Black Hills Forest and around Mt. Rushmore.
Aug 07, 2017
Great stopping point on our cross-country trip. Close to many sights and Mt. Rushmore and for us, the lack of internet and phone connectivity was a blessing. We will be back
Aug 06, 2017
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy