Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open May 1 - October 1

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

Aug 16, 2017
"Wow!" is all I can say. Everything under the sun was available and we even debated skipping all of our other plans, just to hang out at the campground!!! What a clean, friendly and AMAZING facility! We will be back for sure!
Aug 16, 2017
Beautiful setting, wonderful campstore with lots of merchandise. Coffee bar delicious. Friendly staff. Putt putt and activities superb. Need to improve bathroom facilities and cleanliness. Bathrooms may have been dirty due to crowd with Sturgis motorcycle fest, etc.
Aug 16, 2017
Crowded but lots to do at the KOA and very close to Mount Rushmore. Very well run and organized.
Aug 16, 2017
The location was great, and the amenities were amazing. Our camping site had the neighbors sewer hook up right in the middle of our sight which was not very nice....
Aug 16, 2017
The staff was always very helpful! The activities were great and kept both our 4 and 16 yr old busy!
Aug 16, 2017
A very convenient location, a massive campground that is well maintained, with lots to do for everyone. But, be warned, there is very poor cell coverage (AT&T) and wifi never works, even if they say it sometimes works!
Aug 15, 2017
My favorite family campground
Aug 15, 2017
FANTASTIC,,,the kids and adults,,had a great time,,,we shall return.. Thanks,, Scott
Aug 15, 2017
Stay was good, restrooms and showers need to be remodeled they are not in good shape and one shower didn't even work. Other showers have low pressure.
Aug 15, 2017
Very friendly staff. Campground was clean and well organized
Aug 15, 2017
Aug 15, 2017
Aug 15, 2017
Very nice campground and very convenient to the sites of the Ruhmore area.
Aug 15, 2017
They put us right in a group of a family reunion people walking through our camp site and little kids riding there bikes through it. Was very disappointed.
Aug 15, 2017
Aug 15, 2017
Bathrooms/showers were gross at times. Need to be cleaned more often when busy. Would have liked better WiFi, because it was so full internet was basically non existent, which also can be a pro...
Aug 15, 2017
Our stay was awesome! Thereally was so much to do and see at the campground and in the area. Our only problem was that the GPS took us to the service entrance of the campground and it was difficult to find driving an RV.
Aug 15, 2017
Aug 15, 2017
We loved our time here. It was very clean, well maintained, loads of things to do and very little cell phone service (which is a good thing).
Aug 15, 2017
Aug 15, 2017
overall good
Aug 15, 2017
Wow!!!
Aug 15, 2017
Way too crowded, campfires made the air very smokey. We couldn't even see the stars at night. Was not up to standards of a "Holiday" resort. No landscaping between sites. Very dusty. Did not compare to the Glacier KOA. Kids running around EVERYWHERE! You should try to have an adult only area do we could have had a more pleasant experience. Too crowded for campfires!!!
Aug 14, 2017
Really nice campground, the staff is very friendly and has a lot of activities.
Aug 14, 2017
Easy check in, directions were spot on! The facilities were clean and well maintained. So much to do in the park for the whole family. Shower houses were very nice! I really was impressed with monitoring of the campground by the staff. Made us feel safe! Also one of the staff helped us to obtain items needed to secure our recreational vehicle. Job Well done!
Aug 14, 2017
Aug 14, 2017
Aside from the hills to get there, lol it was fabulous! Clean, friendly staff, lots of stuff for the kids to do even though we didn't use it, too busy site seeing. We loved it and would love to return.
Aug 14, 2017
Aug 14, 2017
Great place and very nice staff.
Aug 14, 2017
Have stayed there 8 years now we come for Sturgis. Always great no problems!
Aug 14, 2017
Huge, amazing campgrounds! So much to do!
Aug 14, 2017
Great as always
Aug 14, 2017
We had so much fun here! Next time we'll stay longer so we can enjoy everything this campground has to offer.
Aug 14, 2017
Palmer Gulch has been our Stay vacation w/grandkids for years. Made reservations well in advance with specific request. Husband is 100%disabled veteran. Arrived said could not honor due to Rally. Due to health issue cancel 1 day but would not reimburse due to Rally! Health worsened had to leave even 1 day earlier called before 11AM to say we left early in AM again no reimburse due to Rally. REALLY
Aug 14, 2017
Best campground ever! So many kid and family activities! Beautiful scenery and little personal touches like flower planters. It was huge and was way over what I had expected! Would go again or recommend to anyone in a heart beat! Incredible place!!!!
Aug 14, 2017
Beautiful place. Lots of stuff to do!!
Aug 14, 2017
Nice place for kids and lots of things to do. Thanks for the breakfast (pancakes). Bathrooms were clean and people were friendly. Had some trouble sizing my RV and trailer in the space that was assigned to us. Tight fit.
Aug 14, 2017
Family vacation, what an unexpected pleasure!
Aug 14, 2017
Aug 14, 2017
The showers were very old and dirty and our camp site was small and the picnic table was broken/unusable. But the kids LOVED the fun zone and all the activities.
Aug 14, 2017
Aug 14, 2017
A quick trip to visit Mt Rushmore monument with family. Very expensive if you are not using the amenities. The staff is NOT friendly. If you are interested in horseback riding or golf cart/UTV rental - make reservations ahead of time. There is very little cell service and no wifi in the area. HUGE resort, decent sites. Loved the features on the deluxe sites, although did not get to stay at one
Aug 13, 2017
Aug 13, 2017
Very helpful and friendly staff , very clean grounds and bathrooms. Quiet time is quiet especially after long day of travel. Most impressive koa we have stayed at, I worked in a customer drivin industry your facility is right on top. Please pass this on to your employees they are on the front lines of your business. Thank you once again. Shannon and Gary Macias Sacramento California
Aug 13, 2017
Aug 13, 2017
Good and propre facilities, but to great with too much guests.
Aug 13, 2017
great
Aug 13, 2017
It was an amazing place to stay with lots to do within the resort, not to mention how close it was to so many attractions outside the resort. Highly recommended!!
Aug 13, 2017
Aug 13, 2017
Not just a Kamoground - a real Camping Resort. Great to have all the amenities on-site; especially the extensive trail riding stables. We will be back next year!!!
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy