Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open May 1 - October 1

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

Nov 13, 2017
Oct 28, 2017
Oct 27, 2017
Nice campground however there is no cell service. We stayed here in June of 25-2016 and was told they where going to put in a cell tower. This time without thinking I assumed they had done so but on arrival found out they had decided not to put up a tower. We had reserved a spot for a week and where refused our deposit after deciding to move to another camp ground that had cell service.
Oct 26, 2017
Our favorire RV park. Always clean.
Oct 26, 2017
It was great for 1 night, we were the only ones there. Glad you were open, great location, nice level sight.
Oct 14, 2017
Oct 11, 2017
Oct 10, 2017
Was too foggy to see Mt Rushmore but the KOA was one of a kind. Will definitely be back to visit again!
Oct 09, 2017
Very nice campground and great spot to stay when visiting the Black Hills
Oct 09, 2017
Oct 09, 2017
Really nice park. No cell service but that can be a good thing.
Oct 09, 2017
Beautiful campground location, close to Mount Rushmore. Pet and kid friendly, clean and tidy, amenities provided during summer months would be excellent for family.
Oct 06, 2017
Oct 04, 2017
a good place, but very bad Internet!
Oct 03, 2017
Very fun and exciting lots to do with the kids and my boxers
Oct 03, 2017
Great place with fun activities for the kiddos
Oct 03, 2017
Oct 03, 2017
Loved the campground and all it offers but everything was closed. We wish we had been told that they had closed all the pools, bike rentals, hot tubs, wine store, pizza shop, pancake house, miniature golf, etc. when we called to make the reservations. We did love the on site car rental and location was perfect. Hated that there was no phone service and minimal wifi. Nice staff. Clean.
Oct 03, 2017
When we booked, they told us the restaurant was open, when we arrived, we found out every thing in the campground was closed. They charged us full price. We were expecting a fun weekend, should have just stayed home
Oct 03, 2017
Oct 02, 2017
The wifi was inadequate. The people were friendly and helpful. It was the end of the season. I thought the rates could have been lowered since all resort activities were shut down
Oct 01, 2017
It's hard to imagine a campsite being nicer than this one! Kids loved it and participated in many of the activities (pool, water slide, movie, jumping pillow, chess). We wish we had more time to go horse riding! Facilities were in great shape and the location was ideal.
Oct 01, 2017
Oct 01, 2017
The campground is beautiful, in a very central location to Mt. Rushmore and Custer State Park. Our 3 day stay was late in the season, most campground activities were closed as were food services, yet the cost was full price, very expensive, no off season rate. Wi-Fi weak, not listed in KOA as a service, considering price. Full service site excellent. Would recommend for families with children.
Oct 01, 2017
Excellent stay at this KOA. Close to many sights, clean, heated shower/restroom buildings. Not allowed to have campfires though. I would stay here again next time I'm in the Black Hills.
Oct 01, 2017
Great, helpful,friendly staff. Less than 8 miles from Mount Rushmore !!
Sep 30, 2017
Lots of activities for children and adults. Enjoyed the rodeo!
Sep 30, 2017
Sep 30, 2017
Sep 30, 2017
Staff very pleasant and helpful. Grounds beautifull a d well keep. Great location for touring the area. Easy in and out. RV sites spaces
Sep 30, 2017
Very Friendly and hospitable people running the camp. We loved our spot .. met nice neighbors .. Enjoyed the area .. already have recommended it to others and will continue to. Some campers we met at another KOA recommended it to us and we were happy that they did!
Sep 29, 2017
Restaurant wasn't great - out of a lot - end of season I guess! Veggies cold - service good -
Sep 29, 2017
Very nice clean campground. The people were very friendly and Knowledgeable about the sites in the area. Great place for the family to enjoy a vacation. Plenty for the kids to do. Rates were a little higher than expected but for the area I suppose they were comparable. We would definitely come back and recommend this campground to family and friends.
Sep 29, 2017
Was very disappointed we had payed a resort fee and i get we might have not been there at prime season but the only thing open was the playground (not the jumping dome or anyting you cant get at any city park or anything) the only shop open was the main office the coffee shop and all closed. So i dont see what i paied for. During prime season ya maybe but not us just to much money for what we got
Sep 29, 2017
Perfect location to see everything in and around the Black Hills. Extremely well maintained. We were there after the summer season, but the campground offers many amenities for all ages during the regular season. No problems getting in and out in a 40 ft with a tow. Sites are spacious.
Sep 29, 2017
Very helpful in putting us in a site close to the bathrooms as neither or us walk at all well & our RV isn't self contained. Thank you.
Sep 29, 2017
We had a great time so much to see
Sep 29, 2017
We nearly froze our buns off, but the park was beautiful. Thanks!
Sep 28, 2017
WE HAD A GOOD TIME AND WOULD STAY AGAIN
Sep 28, 2017
Sep 28, 2017
Everyone was super nice! The facility was always clean.
Sep 28, 2017
Awesome, clean, pretty RV park. Will be back. Friendly, helpful, personalable gal at desk.
Sep 28, 2017
THE FACILITY IS VERY BEAUTIFUL, BUT THE AMENITIES ARE VERY LIMITED. LIKE CABLE TV AVAILABILITY ONLY IN CERTAIN SITES; USING TV ANTENNA COULD NOT RECEIVE ANY CHANNELS, WIFI VERY LITTLE TO BE DESIRED OR NO RECEPTION. THE SITE WE WERE ASSIGNED WAS A LITTLE SHORTER FOR OUR UNIT AND VEHICLE. WE DO NOT PLAN ON RETURNING TO THIS KOA, SUCH A SHAME FOR SUCH A LOVELY LOCATION.
Sep 27, 2017
Second time staying here an awesome campground!!
Sep 27, 2017
I was not told at the time of booking that most of the campground was closed for the season. Too expensive for what we got. Grounds were littered with pet droppings. We have a dog and ALWAYS pick up after her. Disappointed in restrooms. Would rate one a #10, but the other a #4.
Sep 27, 2017
The staff was very helpful with checking, car rental and ideas of what to do on the rainy days. The sites were clean and easy to get into. Loved the trash pickup daily by the camp crew. The restaurant on site was great when we did not want to cook in the camper. The main store could have been kept stocked better with quick to fix snacks or meals, but close to end of season, it is understandable.
Sep 26, 2017
We stayed in site 126. We were there to visit Mt. Rushmore, Crazy Horse, Deadwood and Sturgis. The park was very good. The staff friendly and we ate in the restaurant. I will say that Comfort Station #1 needs updating and maintenance. The caulking and tile were visibly stained and rusty.
Sep 26, 2017
The wifi needs vast improvement and we didn't care for the zero cell service. The reservation lady in Rapid City was a complete B****. I will not deal with them again.
Sep 26, 2017
Beautiful campground in a beautiful setting minutes from Mount Rushmore, Custer State Park and so much more. No cell or wifi service. The bathrooms and showers are due for updating.
Sep 26, 2017
Great staff.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy