Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open May 1 - October 1

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Cabin Reviews

Aug 15, 2017
Excellent amenities! Clean well kept cabins and grounds. Helpful courteous staff! Lots to do and something for everyone! We were a family group of 7 adults and 8 kids. This was the 3rd time we stayed at Palmer Gulch and we'll be back. Loved it!
Aug 15, 2017
Aug 15, 2017
The staff was friendly. The pizza was very good. The cabin was what we expected. We did not have any problems during our 4 night stay. Location was perfect-both the campground and the location of our cabin. Talked to many people from different parts of the country that you don't get to do when staying in motels. Sitting on the front porch each night is what made it all great.
Aug 15, 2017
This was a pretty good stay, some of the employees didn't want to answer a single question before 7 am which was a little off putting.
Aug 15, 2017
Best KOA we have ever visited! Kids loved the Fun zone, awesome restaurants and store. Helpful and friendly staff. Only thing not great was waiting forever for the "escort" golf cart. It was taking sooo long. There were at least 4vehicles ahead of us and we had been sitting there for 20minutes. Finally I just left and found the site on my own. Escort was unnecessary and waste of time
Aug 14, 2017
Room was not cleaned properly
Aug 14, 2017
I like staying in the camping cabins, at 63 I an tired of sleeping in tents! The one I stayed in (K106 if I remember correctly) the shelf was hanging down at weird angle. Looked like the supports needed to be re-nailed or something. It could have been a little cleaner, I had to wipe off the mattress, there was some grass or something on it. I did enjoy my stay and plan on staying with you again.
Aug 14, 2017
Had a great stay, there were many changes from when I had stayed years before, but were all good. Larger but still great staff and very clean. My choice of a place to stay, hope to be back next year. Thank You for a great stay.
Aug 14, 2017
We LOVED our stay at the camping cabin!! We are going to be back for sure. Clean, lots of things to do for the whole family.
Aug 14, 2017
Aug 14, 2017
The staff was very friendly and helpful. The environment was well maintained and safe. We will be back!
Aug 14, 2017
Pros and Cons at this KOA, the sites are WAY too close together, but they do have all the amenities on the grounds you'd ever want at a "campground." Happy to see the bathrooms were updated and cleaner than in recent years! Cabin however was not as clean and in fact the bottom bunk was in need of repair, broken and at a slant. :/
Aug 13, 2017
Aug 13, 2017
Very nice place. Cabins nice. Bathroom near front of campground needs remodeling considering how much money this place rakes in. Very nice staff! Would definitely stay here again! Great location!
Aug 13, 2017
Excellent facilities! And it was quiet at night, even in the midst of the Sturgis rally. Outstanding staff. We loved our stay and would recommend this place to anyone.
Aug 13, 2017
Great place with lots to do. Nice cabin, very clean. Nice and helpful staff.
Aug 12, 2017
Excellent. :)
Aug 12, 2017
I have been staying there for over 17 years The place is very friendly and very cleanAnd I will be staying there for a very long timeAs long as I get my cabin I reserve every yearThat means a lot to me
Aug 12, 2017
We stay every year and love it there thank you !!!
Aug 12, 2017
We were one city block length from the toilets. That is just unexceptable a distance especially at night. Please put in portable toilets closer to sites. It made our stay somewhat torturous. The people we dealt with were all wonderful. But this primary need over rides all else.
Aug 11, 2017
Very good location and great amenities. Terrible cell service in case of needing to get ahold of someone. Wifi didn't work as told.
Aug 11, 2017
Aug 11, 2017
Aug 11, 2017
Amazing facility. Clean! Staff is very helpful. They often asked if I was enjoying my stay. Heated pools, the deepest hot tub I've ever seen. We took a one hour trail ride that was affordable. The horses were well cared for. It was just plain fun for me and my kids. Live music plays in the evenings. Great place to stay!
Aug 10, 2017
Lots of fun things for entire family. Wish we had been there a time other than Sturgis bike week. Pool & waterslide great! Safe and convenient.
Aug 10, 2017
I was very impressed at this KOA. I would come again. I was a little upset about having no cell phone reception and no internet otherwise it was great
Aug 10, 2017
Un bonito lugar, la cabina que reservamos estaba serca de las arbecas K2252. Fue 2 cuartos regular, con una cama grande y el otro con 4 camitas. Afuera una hoguera ð¥ y estacionamiento para un carro.
Aug 10, 2017
Aug 10, 2017
Aug 09, 2017
Aug 09, 2017
Aug 09, 2017
We love staying at Palmer Gulch KOA.
Aug 09, 2017
Loved all of the kid play areas. My 7,8,9 & 12yo had a great time!
Aug 09, 2017
Great location, beautiful scenery, lots to do! I grew up staying at this campground almost every year, brought my 7 year old for his first stay this year. Still the way I remembered it!
Aug 09, 2017
Aug 09, 2017
What a place! Very organized, friendly and helpful staff, and amazingly quiet for such an extensive KOA/. Will stay again when in the area.
Aug 09, 2017
The cabin we rented was amazing ! It rained during our stay and it didn't matter ! We have been staying in the campground and the lodge since 1994, and this was the very best visit yet ! We rented D280 and we absolutely loved the accommodations. All we had to bring was our personal care and food. With so much to do on the property, there was no reason to leave. Our reservations are set for2018
Aug 09, 2017
There needs to be a bathroom facility closer they were too far n inconvenient for older people n children other than that our stay was great love it there we come back every summer
Aug 08, 2017
These people really know how to run a campground! Everything is managed well and organized.
Aug 08, 2017
VERY kid friendly, clean and quiet even during the Sturgis motorcycle rally! . Staff was very nice and accommodating. Will be booking again next year!
Aug 08, 2017
Aug 08, 2017
This is the second time at this campground and we love it. The only negative was that we were in cabin 112 and to get to the bathroom we had to walk up and down a steep hill or take the long way around. This was pretty hard on my mom
Aug 08, 2017
This is a GREAT campground for families with children, there's so much for them to do. The staff was helpful, courteous, & pleasant in every encounter I had with them. Not so sure I would stay at this location if I didn't have kids with me. With kids it really is FABULOUS!
Aug 07, 2017
Aug 07, 2017
Our family made grateful memories at this campground. We hope to return someday.
Aug 07, 2017
Here on a family vacation. We had 2 campsites and 2 cabins. It was awesome for our group. Lots for the kids (ages 4-12) to do after our days of black hills activities. Especially loved the heated pool and the night time activities (dance party and nightly movies.) Campground was clean, and felt very safe and family friendly. We would definitely stay here again.
Aug 07, 2017
The fun for the kids is amazing at this locations. Lots to do. The water slide was a particular favorite among my kids. As a negative, there needs to be at least one more bathroom for the cabins on the hill. It was a good 5 minute walk to the closest bathrooms up a hill, not fun at night.
Aug 05, 2017
Wonderful stay with lots to do. Wish there were bathrooms closet to camper cabins though.
Aug 05, 2017
WE LOVED THE ACTIVITIES AND ACCOMMODATIONS HERE - BUT THE BATHROOMS WERE NOT KEPT CLEAN
Aug 05, 2017
Great location, friendly staff and nice facilities.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy