Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open May 1 - October 1

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Cabin Reviews

Aug 22, 2017
No complaints exceptmore bathrooms and cleaner bathrooms/showers. Great amenities! Love the surroynding area. Great views! Very family friendly!
Aug 22, 2017
Way too crowded. Overpriced.
Aug 22, 2017
Best KOA facility we have stayed at. Will definitely stay there again if/when we come back to the area.
Aug 22, 2017
very enjoyable, the bathroom were a little messy.
Aug 22, 2017
This was our second visit to this particular KOA. The first time, it was just e and my husband and we secured a tent camp site. We enjoyed it so much, that we planned a visit with the kids for this year and stayed in a deluxe cabin. It was a gorgeous site, and we LOVED the spacious cabin. The kids wanted to stay and play all day. My son mentioned to me a few times that he wanted to live there.
Aug 22, 2017
Aug 22, 2017
Our family had a great time and we enjoyed our stay very much!
Aug 22, 2017
Aug 22, 2017
Another brief stay along the way!
Aug 21, 2017
Love the campground, my only complaint is that I felt like the grounds could have been cleaned better, trash and wrappers
Aug 21, 2017
We (5people) stayed in a 1-room camping cabin and it was perfect. The location is ideal for sight seeing, very close to all major attractions. The activities at campground kept the kids very busy. The Rodeo was a nice bonus during our stay. We also took advantage of the free President Wax Museum visit and mini-golf in Keystone. We will definitely be back and hope to bring more of our family with.
Aug 21, 2017
We have stayed here at least 4 times over the years, and LOVE it! We would never stay anywhere else and recommend it to our friends and family often. Thank you for another great stay!
Aug 21, 2017
Wow!!! What an amazing stay we had at KOA Mt. Rushmore! With so much to do right at there we almost wish we had planned another day during our SD trip JUST for campground activities! Beautiful grounds with so much for kids of all ages, this campground says FAMILY! It was more a camp resort and we loved it! Clean, gorgeous site, friendly staff. This is THE place to stay for a memorable trip!
Aug 21, 2017
A lot of fun activities to do without having to leave the camp grounds. Bathrooms were nice but showers were always dirty/muddy. The convenient store was way too expensive. Other than that, I enjoyed my cabin. Clean and really cute small bed above the full size.
Aug 21, 2017
Everything was great, mostly impressed with how many gorgeous flowers they maintain! Camping cabins always seem to me like they could be cleaner. I get that they aren't hotels, but there are always dead bugs and dirt piled in the corners. Seems like a more thorough sweeping, and maybe a quick mop would improve it for me. That's my only complaint - we will be back!
Aug 20, 2017
Great facility for kid friendly activities. We liked our little cabin. Our only drawback was the bathrooms were often dirty and we could not access firewood past 10 pm.
Aug 20, 2017
We stayed 5 nights. Originally in k308, which was a poor location (unusable fire ring/table due to hill). We spent 1 night & were easily able to move to k301 the next day. MUCH better location. Beds very uncomfortable - had to buy air mattresses for 2 adults. Great amenities! Showers could use extra cleaning throughout day.
Aug 20, 2017
I would recommend this KOA location to anyone. Incredibly clean, great staff and a wonderful location for family fun. From the fun zone to the shops, it had everything you could or would need for a vacation!
Aug 20, 2017
check in was at 3 we got there at 430 the cabin wasn't ready we had to wait a half hour that sucked with 3 kids that had been in the car for 2 days
Aug 20, 2017
This koa was a ton of fun, especially if you have kids. There were a couple of things I think they should fix 1. Move the fire pits from in front of the cabin. Our cabin was filled with smoke after making smores. 2. Update your bathroom by the pool. Other than that it was great!
Aug 19, 2017
Aug 19, 2017
Beds in the cabins are very uncomfortable but otherwise it's a nice campground.
Aug 19, 2017
We had a great time in our camping cabin. The park is outstanding with lots of things to do.
Aug 19, 2017
We stayed in a 4 person cabin, the location was great. The bathrooms/ showers were very clean.
Aug 17, 2017
We were very pleased with our stay. The amenities and service were great. We look forward to returning.
Aug 17, 2017
Everyone was wonderful. Just an all around great place with several things to do.
Aug 17, 2017
Aug 16, 2017
Aug 16, 2017
Aug 16, 2017
It was amazing! We have had friends stay here and it lived up to their recommendation. We loved all the things for kids to do, the ATV trails, the location, etc.
Aug 16, 2017
Rented a cabin that had hundreds of dead flies in it. No way housekeeping touched the place in awhile. Told the front desk and they did nothing.
Aug 16, 2017
We stayed 1 night in a cabin. It was a very busy KOA. Not really my kind of pace... But they had great amenities for kids. Although I thought charging for bike rentals was a bit over the top especially when you are already paying extra to stay at a KOA resort.
Aug 15, 2017
Cabin was very clean, we will be returning next year
Aug 15, 2017
Aug 15, 2017
Excellent amenities! Clean well kept cabins and grounds. Helpful courteous staff! Lots to do and something for everyone! We were a family group of 7 adults and 8 kids. This was the 3rd time we stayed at Palmer Gulch and we'll be back. Loved it!
Aug 15, 2017
Aug 15, 2017
The staff was friendly. The pizza was very good. The cabin was what we expected. We did not have any problems during our 4 night stay. Location was perfect-both the campground and the location of our cabin. Talked to many people from different parts of the country that you don't get to do when staying in motels. Sitting on the front porch each night is what made it all great.
Aug 15, 2017
This was a pretty good stay, some of the employees didn't want to answer a single question before 7 am which was a little off putting.
Aug 15, 2017
Best KOA we have ever visited! Kids loved the Fun zone, awesome restaurants and store. Helpful and friendly staff. Only thing not great was waiting forever for the "escort" golf cart. It was taking sooo long. There were at least 4vehicles ahead of us and we had been sitting there for 20minutes. Finally I just left and found the site on my own. Escort was unnecessary and waste of time
Aug 14, 2017
Room was not cleaned properly
Aug 14, 2017
I like staying in the camping cabins, at 63 I an tired of sleeping in tents! The one I stayed in (K106 if I remember correctly) the shelf was hanging down at weird angle. Looked like the supports needed to be re-nailed or something. It could have been a little cleaner, I had to wipe off the mattress, there was some grass or something on it. I did enjoy my stay and plan on staying with you again.
Aug 14, 2017
Had a great stay, there were many changes from when I had stayed years before, but were all good. Larger but still great staff and very clean. My choice of a place to stay, hope to be back next year. Thank You for a great stay.
Aug 14, 2017
We LOVED our stay at the camping cabin!! We are going to be back for sure. Clean, lots of things to do for the whole family.
Aug 14, 2017
Aug 14, 2017
The staff was very friendly and helpful. The environment was well maintained and safe. We will be back!
Aug 14, 2017
Pros and Cons at this KOA, the sites are WAY too close together, but they do have all the amenities on the grounds you'd ever want at a "campground." Happy to see the bathrooms were updated and cleaner than in recent years! Cabin however was not as clean and in fact the bottom bunk was in need of repair, broken and at a slant. :/
Aug 13, 2017
Aug 13, 2017
Very nice place. Cabins nice. Bathroom near front of campground needs remodeling considering how much money this place rakes in. Very nice staff! Would definitely stay here again! Great location!
Aug 13, 2017
Excellent facilities! And it was quiet at night, even in the midst of the Sturgis rally. Outstanding staff. We loved our stay and would recommend this place to anyone.
Aug 13, 2017
Great place with lots to do. Nice cabin, very clean. Nice and helpful staff.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy