Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open May 1 - October 1

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Cabin Reviews

Oct 03, 2017
Beautiful setting with pond and rock outcroppings. Modern spa-like heated comfort station. A chair and bedside shelf in the cabin would be a nice addition.
Oct 01, 2017
We rented a D282 cabin and it was so cold after 5 hours that we had to find someone at 11:00PM to accomatate us to another place to sleep. The security man was very willing to help us and dirtected us to the lodge for the night. The next morning at 6:0am we went down to our cabin and it had warmed up, but the bunk room heater was not working. Our cabin was "dirty" too much to list out of room!
Sep 25, 2017
We had a nice stay in one of the cabins. Everything was clean and ready for us when we arrived. Staff were friendly and helpful. Conveniently located for our plans. Very Quiet.
Sep 25, 2017
Failed to give me the key when I checked in, did not show me where water or bathrooms were. Based on the price I expected a cabin in better condition.
Sep 22, 2017
The campsite was very nice, but the bathrooms were not close to the camping cabins we were in, and there was no wash station at the bathrooms/showers. It was very convenient to view Mount Rushmore and the surrounding attractions, so that made it worth it.
Sep 20, 2017
Stayed here years ago and it was great. This time it wasn't. Website should say EVERYTHING is closed. We expected the pool to be closed but not everything else. Cabin was not worth $67! Swing was broken, wife sat down fell backwards and spilled hot coffee on her. No heat website should tell you that for sure! Someone's sweater left under bed, dead bugs everywhere! Very unkept. Gross!
Sep 19, 2017
Sep 19, 2017
Good place for family
Sep 18, 2017
Awesome. It's what I've come to expect from KOA!!!
Sep 18, 2017
Nice staff and great facility. Enjoyed our stay!
Sep 17, 2017
The people working weren't very friendly and the cabin was awckwardlu set up. but the restaurant food was amazing! So good!!! They think they are a big deal though so we probably like the smaller ones who maybe care a little bit about people and my kids
Sep 16, 2017
Was planning to camp in my tiny tent trailer. Was not happy that the reservation agent put me in a full hookup spot when I only requested space for my tiny trailer. However the weather was very stormy when I got there so I asked for a Kabin. It was very basic. appreciated being escorted to my Kabin instead of finding it on my own. Wish the reservation agent had listened better to my request
Sep 13, 2017
NO CELL SERVICE - BIG problem for folks traveling with a child with severe allergy (poss. medical emergency). Only other negative was a bit of a wait to check in (long line). Great facility. GREAT proximity to Rushmore and many other activities.
Sep 13, 2017
It was fine, but nothing to rave about. No fish washing area.
Sep 12, 2017
We stayed in a single cabin at this KOA for one night on our way to Wyoming. The experience was okay, the close proximity of the cabins meant we heard our neighbors talking into the night. There were plenty of activities to do, we would have liked to stay a bit longer to experience. It also was a very popular KOA, it was very busy and lots of people staying there.
Sep 11, 2017
We really enjoyed our stay. Great place, plenty of things to keep the kids busy. Unfortunately, we stayed at the KOA for a week and were placed in a heavy traffic area up front with no shade. The cabin would have been better suited for a family coming in late and leaving early - not extended stay. Also, we were down wind from the stables. Smell was not as bad as the cabin placement though.
Sep 10, 2017
Big KOA. Lots to do. Great people. Great location.
Sep 06, 2017
We had fun, need to stay more than one night to experience everything available!
Sep 06, 2017
It was awesome. The kids loved it.
Sep 06, 2017
Very clean camp grounds Didn't have an opportunity to use the extras... they seemed like they were included but many extra fees. Friendly staff . Great time.
Sep 05, 2017
Came for the Sturgis Rally, the staff were brilliant. Everything was just perfect. Thank you to all concerned. Two very happy campers from England
Sep 05, 2017
We celebrated my husband's 65th birthday along with our kids and grandkids - 17 total. We all had a great time and enjoyed the many amenities you have to offer. The rodeo was a bonus and many of us enjoyed that as well, never having been to one before. The staff was outstanding and very personable. We have stayed at your KOA before and definitely will plan to again.
Sep 05, 2017
We had an 8 person cabin which was nice but plenty expensive and we had to continuously go to the Lodge to get garbage bags and dish rags and towels and toilet paper and they would give us only 2 bags at a time. People have a lot more garbage than that when camping. We also had a hotel room. Crazy expensive also for the service. No bath soap, crappy continental breakfast and the milk was curdled
Sep 05, 2017
It was awesome!
Sep 04, 2017
We had a fantastic time and will visit again.
Sep 02, 2017
We really enjoyed our stay and would come back. There is so much to do and our kids (13, 11, and 8) enjoyed the pool and water slide.
Sep 02, 2017
It exceeded our expectations! I would recommend that your desk staff know a bit more about what is provided in the deluxe cabins. We brought things such as towels, cooking items, etc. after calling to find out if those things were provided. Otherwise it was awesome!
Aug 31, 2017
Everyone was very helpful, the cabin was perfect, the location was beautiful and everyone had a great time. The one draw back, would be Wifi. I had homework that needed to be sent out, I purchased a cable at the store and still had a difficult time connecting to Wifi. Please do not advertise free Wifi when it is non-existence. I drove to Hill City and used my Hot Spot.
Aug 31, 2017
It was very crowded and difficult to get around the campus the day we were there. It was nice that our stay included admission to the rodeo that was going on that night (reason for the crowds I'm sure) we did not end up going. Definitely one of the largest campgrounds I have ever stayed in, the Kabins on the hill are very nice and the girls had fun in the pool and adjecent recreation area. Thanks
Aug 30, 2017
The cabin was perfect. Big deck. Very clean. The tent sites we had were just steps away from our cabin so that worked awesome for our family reunion. This KOA is right in the middle of all the great things to do near Mount Rushmore. Loved our stay. Only issue: panning for gold. No one at the outpost store had ever done it, we were on our own to figure it out. It cost too much without instruction.
Aug 30, 2017
Aug 30, 2017
Great stay! Had lots of things to do for kids. The kid's favorites were the pool, slide, basketball court and giant chess/checkers. Enjoyed the magic show. Pizza and all you can eat pancakes were good. Nice to have all these and more at a campground. Liked the central location to get to all the tourist spots. Would stay again in the future.
Aug 30, 2017
Aug 29, 2017
The site had pools, shops, eatery, etc. We booked a cabin with 2 bunks, a living room, shower, and queen bedroom. It was perfect for a family of 4 with 2 tvs, coffee, microwave, and refrigerator. We were missing one remote and the bed seemed to be extra soft. We mentioned these to the staff and they fixed them despite us saying it was OK for 2 nights. Excellent Service! I would stay here again.
Aug 29, 2017
We enjoyed our stay both times
Aug 29, 2017
It was wonderful. Great activities for family, clean, fun. Will book again!
Aug 29, 2017
We stayed in a deluxe cabin for 3 nights, everything was wonderful nice deck area, loved the fire pit area. Everything was clean inside & out. We will be coming back again. Thanks
Aug 29, 2017
Aug 29, 2017
We stayed in the deluxe camping cabin in Hill City. It was very nice and clean. The campground was great! beatiful views and everything you need right there! Great location close to so many attractions. We will be back! The staff was wonderful and I would highly recommend this place!
Aug 29, 2017
I was skeptical about the bathroom situation but ended up really enjoying our stay. I wish we would have taken advantage of everything you had to offer.
Aug 29, 2017
All of the staff were helpful and kept the campground very clean. I loved all of the colorful flowers, it really brightened up the area. My kids loved the fun zone. This was our 2nd year in a row here and we will definitely be back. Thanks!
Aug 28, 2017
Aug 28, 2017
All facilities were great. The cabin was a really good size, we loved the swing seat. Design of the bunk beds is not great tho, kids pillows and soft toys fall through the gaps. Disappointed that it hadn't been swept before we arrived.
Aug 28, 2017
This is our 3rd year of staying at this KOA. We always enjoy our stay at this beautiful facility. However, this year we noticed upon our arrival the cabin was not as clean as before....just needed a little more cleaning.
Aug 28, 2017
We had a wonderful time at your resort. There are SO many things to do for all ages. Friendly staff with the kids as well. Was a bonus surprise to find we had electricity in our 2 bedroom cabin. Everything about our stay was great- will be coming back next time we plan a SD trip!
Aug 28, 2017
Aug 28, 2017
We loved it there! Everything about the KOA was wonderful from the staff to the clean bathrooms!
Aug 28, 2017
Structure of the cabin was good. The beds sucked. Bathrooms were pretty gross. This is a very busy campsite. Front desk staff seemed pretty rude.
Aug 27, 2017
Stayed 3 nights in a 4-person cabin. Cabin was clean. Mattresses were reasonably comfortable. Location of fire pit was awkward. Lots of kids activities. Bathrooms were very clean. Food onsite was not good. Nice and quiet at night.
Aug 26, 2017
Friendly staff amazing store, and restraunts! Unfortunately as with almost every KOA that promises wifi it was non existent!!
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy