Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open May 1 - October 1

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 31, 2017
Plenty of clean showers, great amenities, beautiful area, very helpful staff. Love this campground!
Aug 30, 2017
Aug 30, 2017
Very friendly helpful people. The campground is very central to all major attractions.
Aug 30, 2017
Camp sites too close and staff not that friendly. Herd you in like cattle. Tell you park here and then they drive off. No interaction at all. Facility is clean but just not friendly.
Aug 30, 2017
Aug 30, 2017
The cabin was perfect. Big deck. Very clean. The tent sites we had were just steps away from our cabin so that worked awesome for our family reunion. This KOA is right in the middle of all the great things to do near Mount Rushmore. Loved our stay. Only issue: panning for gold. No one at the outpost store had ever done it, we were on our own to figure it out. It cost too much without instruction.
Aug 30, 2017
Great location. Park is very well-kept. The park is geared for people with kids.
Aug 30, 2017
Lots to do there and around the area. Only downfall is cell phone and Wi-Fi were next to impossible to get, however when we did need to call home, the staff let us use their landline . Very large park and lots of services available. The ponderosa restaurant food was good.
Aug 30, 2017
Aug 30, 2017
The campground its self is a fine place. Staff very friendly. But cable needs to be provided at ALL sites. Some guest are elderly and not able to participate in all park activities
Aug 30, 2017
Great stay! Had lots of things to do for kids. The kid's favorites were the pool, slide, basketball court and giant chess/checkers. Enjoyed the magic show. Pizza and all you can eat pancakes were good. Nice to have all these and more at a campground. Liked the central location to get to all the tourist spots. Would stay again in the future.
Aug 30, 2017
No better location. Entertainment at your doorstep. Pools and play area superb. Only complaint is no short cut to certain restrooms. Had to walk all the way to the end of the rows of RVs or cut through someone's "yard". Didn't feel comfortable. Other than that, what a fantastic location for a base camp. Two different cave tours an hour away plus the Presidents.
Aug 30, 2017
Aug 30, 2017
I have always enjoyed staying at Palmer Gulch. Have stayed there many times. However this time there where dogs that barked constantly through the entire weekend. I don't dislike animals. I've volunteered many times to walk pets for the local shelter. If your gonna bring pets please show respect for others and keep them quiet.
Aug 30, 2017
Need better internet
Aug 29, 2017
Campground nice but too expensive. We did not use the pool, or any other of the things you had so that is why we thought price was very high. The small stack of firewood was extremely high priced also. We bought 2 bundles and the fire was small and didn't last long. Came there for a wedding AR Sylvan Lake. Wish we would have just stayed there in their lodge
Aug 29, 2017
The site had pools, shops, eatery, etc. We booked a cabin with 2 bunks, a living room, shower, and queen bedroom. It was perfect for a family of 4 with 2 tvs, coffee, microwave, and refrigerator. We were missing one remote and the bed seemed to be extra soft. We mentioned these to the staff and they fixed them despite us saying it was OK for 2 nights. Excellent Service! I would stay here again.
Aug 29, 2017
Nice place, close to everything around Mt Rushmore, drives ,state park. Pool was nice,breakfast was good, and stores nice
Aug 29, 2017
We enjoyed our stay both times
Aug 29, 2017
It was wonderful. Great activities for family, clean, fun. Will book again!
Aug 29, 2017
Aug 29, 2017
Lots of great amenities but our site and that of the others in our group were very uneven. Spots and roads need some smoothing out.
Aug 29, 2017
Great!
Aug 29, 2017
The camp site they put us in was very small and right in the middle of the play area. The music was blasting in the play area all day which was very annoying. For the price we got charged we were very disappointed.
Aug 29, 2017
The staff was so welcoming and accommodating. The pizza guys were young and foreign, they did their best. They need better training. The grounds are beautiful. We will definitely come back and bring our grandchildren!
Aug 29, 2017
We stayed in a deluxe cabin for 3 nights, everything was wonderful nice deck area, loved the fire pit area. Everything was clean inside & out. We will be coming back again. Thanks
Aug 29, 2017
Luxurious resort...loved the idea of renting a car and leaving the motorhome parked at the campground. It was great to have a shuttle to view the Mount Rushmore monument at night. Great to have pancakes in the a.m. and the ability to have dinner on site w/o leaving the campground. Only drawback was that the one pool/spa had youngsters unattended after 9:30 p.m. so it was not monitored.
Aug 29, 2017
Aug 29, 2017
We stayed in the deluxe camping cabin in Hill City. It was very nice and clean. The campground was great! beatiful views and everything you need right there! Great location close to so many attractions. We will be back! The staff was wonderful and I would highly recommend this place!
Aug 29, 2017
The reserved tent site (water+electricity) I was given was miniscule (hardly big enough for a tiny pup tent). I requested a larger site to fit my tent and was cheerfully given my choice from more suitable sites I had seen and that were available. Very nice restrooms/showers. Appreciated being able to buy block ice on site. I appreciated the helpfulness of the staff.
Aug 29, 2017
I was skeptical about the bathroom situation but ended up really enjoying our stay. I wish we would have taken advantage of everything you had to offer.
Aug 29, 2017
Our family only had one day in the campground but we wish we had a whole week. There's so much to do there and it would be made a vacation in itself. We highly recommend this campground.
Aug 29, 2017
Awesome. A great place to stay in the Black Hills, Lots to do here for families with kids. Very clean & attractive setting. The staff is friendly and helpful. It was our first experience staying in a RV. Stayed here years ago with our kids and camped in a tent. It has really expanded. We will definitely return and stay here again. Come to the Black Hills almost every year.
Aug 29, 2017
Aug 29, 2017
This was our first camping experience with our camper. We brought our 3 grandchildren and were pleasantly surprised by how much there was for them to do during our 7 day stay. It was a great experience and hope to do it again soon.
Aug 29, 2017
Loved this park! So peaceful and relaxing. There are so many activities for kids! We will definitely be back! Thank you
Aug 29, 2017
All of the staff were helpful and kept the campground very clean. I loved all of the colorful flowers, it really brightened up the area. My kids loved the fun zone. This was our 2nd year in a row here and we will definitely be back. Thanks!
Aug 29, 2017
It was great. Staff were friendly and helpful. Lots to do and we will come back.
Aug 29, 2017
This was the best campground ever!! I will be looking to stay at all KOA's in the future
Aug 29, 2017
It was wonderful! This was our first RV trip. We stayed here on our last night of our vacation. We only wish we had known about this place sooner! Now we know. ð but signs advertising what is available would have been nice. For example we had no idea (from the many times we drove by) that you had ATV rentals, fishing area, bikes, movie night, breakfast and all the other amenities. Great place
Aug 28, 2017
Aug 28, 2017
All facilities were great. The cabin was a really good size, we loved the swing seat. Design of the bunk beds is not great tho, kids pillows and soft toys fall through the gaps. Disappointed that it hadn't been swept before we arrived.
Aug 28, 2017
Aug 28, 2017
Outstanding facilities and staff. A must stay when in the Black Hills
Aug 28, 2017
Aug 28, 2017
This is our 3rd year of staying at this KOA. We always enjoy our stay at this beautiful facility. However, this year we noticed upon our arrival the cabin was not as clean as before....just needed a little more cleaning.
Aug 28, 2017
Very large KOA, great place to stay central to everything. Only downside is limited connectivity, we had a family emergency back home and I spent more time in Hill City for contact, missing opportunities of sight seeing.
Aug 28, 2017
LOVED this campground. We normally hate KOAs, but this one was awesome! There's so much to do that you don't even have to leave the campground. The only complaint I have is that there were no high chairs at the pancake breakfast. My husband and I had to rush to eat because it is nearly impossible to hold a toddler while eating breakfast. Please consider getting high chairs.
Aug 28, 2017
We really enjoyed our stay. It was alot of fun. There was always something to do and things to see. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. If I can make a suggestion though. The water slide can use some treads at the top because it is very slippery getting on the mat.
Aug 28, 2017
We had a wonderful time at your resort. There are SO many things to do for all ages. Friendly staff with the kids as well. Was a bonus surprise to find we had electricity in our 2 bedroom cabin. Everything about our stay was great- will be coming back next time we plan a SD trip!
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy