Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open May 1 - October 1

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Sep 05, 2017
Sep 05, 2017
We did not get the campsite we requested. That is, we were with 2 other parties and were all separated. The campground in general was nice, the grounds were well kept, the staff was friendly just the reservation system seemed hard to use.
Sep 05, 2017
Sep 05, 2017
Sep 05, 2017
This is a wonderful campground with so many great activities for children. We were disappointed in two of the spots assigned to us (463 and 425) as they were barely big enough for 1 car and a small tent. Your staff worked hard to accommodate our request for change and it worked out well.
Sep 05, 2017
This was an awesome resort with so much to do you don't need to leave! We had a great time.
Sep 05, 2017
The Place was AMAZING!!! all you could ask for in a KOA and more staff very helpful, friendly
Sep 05, 2017
It was great. Had a good time. Wish we would of been able to rent a golf cart for a day. They should get more to have available to rent. But it was awesome. We love that KOA.
Sep 05, 2017
Family camping trip with kids ranging from ages 11-17, everyone found something to do that they loved! We stayed in the wooded area (#513) and had the best of nature and conveniences. This is the fourth time we have camped here and we love it more each time!
Sep 05, 2017
This is the Disney World of campgrounds. If you have screaming children and you don't mind the noise, it's fine. There are a million things to do without leaving the site. That's great. If you like that. Unfortunately, my husband and I like to just hear crickets while we're camping. This is not the campgrounds for us. Great for families with small children who need to be occupied. Not relaxing tho
Sep 05, 2017
This place is huge and has it all. The staff members are very kind and want to make sure your stay is pleasant. It's in a perfect location too. The only reason I rated it 4 stars instead of 5 is that it does get very loud at night and the tent sites are very close together. If you are looking for a peaceful camping site, this is not the place to go. Other than that, this KOA is awesome!
Sep 05, 2017
We enjoyed our stay on this big and beautifully laid out campground. However, couple of minor sounding issues pulled our satisfaction down. Digital reception is poor, i.e. both cell phone and wifi. With today's technology this is easy to fix and I give no excuses for this major inconvenience. Also, a campground of this size has to be able to organize recycling of some kind.
Sep 05, 2017
Sep 05, 2017
Kids loved it! Lots to do!
Sep 05, 2017
Sep 05, 2017
First I arrived on the 1st and had TO move on the 2nd which shot the morning waiting for the other rigg to leave nothing was said about my notes on my preference but it seams if you pay an additional 20 dollars you can request your spot a best kept secret not happy with that result also had a weekend I had to give up that I had paid for had an emergency and no refund was available not good
Sep 05, 2017
We have stayed here before and are so glad we came back! There is so much to do. The shop is beautiful, the grounds are clean, the flowers are amazing! We asked to be moved (closer to family) and the Customer Service was great. There was no problem moving us and there was no hassle. We will definitely be back!
Sep 05, 2017
We had reserved a camp site with water and electricity. When we arrived we were put on a tiny campsite that was on a hill and there was no room for any tents on the site. The front desk was extremely accommodating and put us in a new campsite. There is so much to do and it is great for families, we had a great time. If you are looking for somewhere quite I would not recommend this for you.
Sep 05, 2017
The staff at this Palmer Gulch go above and beyond and I will stay here again when I visit Mount Rushmore. The only problem I had with my stay was the male cleaning staff. They were not very courteous towards the females in the bathrooms by letting them know they were going to enter and start cleaning. They also played some very loud rap music well they were cleaning.
Sep 05, 2017
It was awesome!
Sep 05, 2017
Sep 05, 2017
So much to do.
Sep 05, 2017
Thank you the best KOA we stayed at ever will return keep doing what your doing don't overprice it we left your place and went to Billings Montana the 1st KOA and was more expensive than yours and didn't even have a dump in our site just because its the 1st site built doesn't mean over price it wont go there again But palmer Gulch yes we will.
Sep 05, 2017
Had a great time, a big thank-you to the gentleman on the golf cart that brought our fire wood to our lot. He was super nice and courteous.
Sep 05, 2017
Great
Sep 05, 2017
There were so many activities for my children to participate in while there. We enjoyed the rodeo, swimming, rock wall, mini golf, just the choices that were there. People were very friendly and willing to help and the sites were clean and quiet for a family to enjoy early bedtimes for smaller children. It was nice to have choice - the only thing I would like is more internet accessibility.
Sep 05, 2017
Love staying here. They were great about moving us when we didn't want to be in the "main" area and off away from things. So much fun the kids and I know my kids are safe so we can relax and have a good time too
Sep 05, 2017
Sep 05, 2017
Sep 05, 2017
Sep 04, 2017
Please improve your wifi. Most of the time, I could not connect even if near an access point. Others have told me they had the same problem. Otherwise, it was a very enjoyable stay with lots of great entertainment.
Sep 04, 2017
We had a fantastic time and will visit again.
Sep 04, 2017
Sep 04, 2017
We enjoyed our stay. My only complaint is regarding an employee at the bounce pillow. He started telling me that African-Americans wanted to take down Mount Rushmore and also that he didn't think the confederate monuments in the South should be removed. I don't know why he brought this up, except perhaps because I was there with my two Black children. I found it offensive.
Sep 04, 2017
When I booked over 6 months ago I told the agent I wanted site with cable, when I called to verify because I never got a confirmation email they said I was in a 50 amp pull thru full hook up with out cable. of course no standard patio left. Not happy with the rental car, 130,000 plus miles no cruise control, dirty and when you pay $69 a day I expect newer car. your rates too high no wifi/cable
Sep 04, 2017
Loved it! Just wish all of the activities (chuckwagon , fire truck rides, etc) were available through labor day. Summer doesn't end on aug 15.
Sep 04, 2017
The fun zone was cool, however, we missed most events due to our arrival time of 6pm. The restaurant was excellent and the view of the black hills was great. Pancake breakfast in the morning (but used styrofoam plates....).
Sep 04, 2017
Loved the campground!!! This was our first time camping in South Dakota and we didn't know the campgrounds that well so we requested a site that looked bigger. We had a 12 ft trailer with us and a large tent and would have liked a flatter site due to being on the hillside our tent was on a slope which made it tricky. All in all it was a WONDERFUL campground!!! Lots of fun activities to do!!!
Sep 04, 2017
Sep 04, 2017
This KOA lives up to its billing as a "Resort" - love all of the amenities and the friendly and helpful staff - would definitely recommend this KOA to anyone visiting the Black Hills...
Sep 04, 2017
Sep 04, 2017
Sep 04, 2017
We love staying at this KOA it has many things for every age. Would love to visit every year.
Sep 04, 2017
Activities for everyone, great staff and well maintained. Should be 5 stars! But, failed on 2 counts. I'm not a campfire grinch, but the campground is located in a natural bowl, campfire smoke dissipates slowly, making it tough if you have respiratory issues. Also, zero connectivity - a very weak/intermittent cell signal, compounded by wi-fi that is just about nonexistent. Worst in years.
Sep 04, 2017
Amazing staff, very helpful and kind. Lots to do and the whole family has asked to go back again sometime!
Sep 04, 2017
Everything was great and our kids had a blast!
Sep 04, 2017
Kids had fun. Wish had more time to do more of the events.
Sep 04, 2017
We had a great stay! Our spot was in a peaceful corner of the large, energetic park. The pool was nice, warm and easy to access. The location was perfect. I'm excited to come back and stay in one of the cute cabins.
Sep 04, 2017
I always love my Labor Day stay at Rushmore KOA. This year was a slight bummer as the people in the side next to me didn't understand the 10PM quiet time and were still overly loud and intoxicated at 3AM. But, I will still be back next year.
Sep 03, 2017
Great KOA! So much to offer for the guests. Unfortunately, we didn't have enough time to enjoy everything, but we enjoy the fire-pits and the live music!
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy