Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open May 1 - October 1

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Sep 07, 2017
My husband and I spent one night at the KOA on our honeymoon and it was gorgeous!! We came in late on a very rainy evening. When we woke up we got to watch the sunrise while the horses grazed in the pasture. The people where so friendly and helpful and the amenities were all you could want. I told my husband we will come back for our year anniversary.
Sep 07, 2017
Excellent place for a family to go camping in the Black Hills. My children had such a great time with all of the available activities.
Sep 07, 2017
I liked it over all,ordered a campsite with water and electric .I explained that we were staying in a tent and needed electric. I assumed it was going to be 110. When we got there we didn't have 110, so I went up to the reservation place, explained the problem, they said that ask electric campsites have 110, had to buy an adapter, ours was the only site without 110, not happy about that.
Sep 07, 2017
Sep 07, 2017
Excellent place for a family to go camping in the Black Hills. My children had such a great time with all of the available activities.
Sep 07, 2017
Sep 07, 2017
Staff was informative , friendly and helpful. Store seemed to be overpriced. Didn't seem to be much of a concierge service. They didn't book or recommend any tours. Otherwise the campground and facility were great.
Sep 07, 2017
Very nice campground The wifi was difficult as we were at the back.
Sep 07, 2017
We loved the campground. We stayed here about 30+ years ago when our kids were small and they still talk about the great time we had at the campground and in the Black Hills. We will definitely stay here again perhaps when some of our kids and grandkids can join us.
Sep 07, 2017
Sep 07, 2017
The site was immaculate and everyone around was very respectful and friendly, the facilities were also very well taken care of, the showers were fair to use considering half the guests needed to use them. All of the staff from the the security detail to the cashier's in the gift shop were all very helpful, friendly, and gave great advice and tips on where to go and what roads to take. Be kind !
Sep 07, 2017
Not happy. 1. Placed us way n back, 2,, Pup closed down too early, 3, too crowded, 4, only 1 person at Registration desk.
Sep 06, 2017
Our 3 grandkids (ages 5-10) LOVED your campground and all the exciting activities for them to keep busy! The dance night was awesome and so was the band and marshmallow roast! We are sure to come back time and again! P.S...We all LOVED the Rodeo on the grounds too!!
Sep 06, 2017
Sep 06, 2017
There was so much to do the kids never got bored, it was so clean and the staff was very friendly and helpful!
Sep 06, 2017
Fantastic campground. Very conveniently located. My husband and I truly enjoyed the site and the all you can eat pancakes were amazing. We definitely want to come back if we get the chance!!
Sep 06, 2017
The best place to stay.
Sep 06, 2017
Sep 06, 2017
We have stayed here multiple times because we love it!! Great facilities, great staff, so many things to do, great for our grandchildren, beautiful area, what more could you ask for?! We highly recommend you check it out if you are ever in the area!!!
Sep 06, 2017
Guest Service Manager, Ben went above and beyond!
Sep 06, 2017
We wanted to close to Mt Rushmore so that worked. Also enjoyed the quiet & scenery, a very pretty site. The staff was very pleasant & helpful including the wonderful team that made our scrumptious pizza.
Sep 06, 2017
Excellent
Sep 06, 2017
Great site. Plenty to do. Employees in customer service need improvement. Restaurant was slow.
Sep 06, 2017
We had fun, need to stay more than one night to experience everything available!
Sep 06, 2017
Great service! Hoping a few of the children's activities can be extended more than just a few hours each day (rock climbing wall and inflatables). Great set up and up keep. We will be back.
Sep 06, 2017
Ten star facility. Best we have ever stayed in. Suggestions: Make checking for incoming mail and packages faster and easier for current quests. Have rock & roll music in pavilion that you can dance to. Add a shaded area to adult pool. Have a weekly and monthly rate.
Sep 06, 2017
Sep 06, 2017
The stay was amazing, kids had a wonderful time. So much to do all the time, we will be back next year. Very clean and all staff incredibly nice and helpful.
Sep 06, 2017
Awesome experience. Very knowledgeable and professional staff. This KIA had numerous family activities and extremely close to Mount Rushmore and many tourist attractions. Thank you for a very memorable vacation.
Sep 06, 2017
It was awesome. The kids loved it.
Sep 06, 2017
Very clean camp grounds Didn't have an opportunity to use the extras... they seemed like they were included but many extra fees. Friendly staff . Great time.
Sep 06, 2017
Staff is very helpful, very clean campground, good food, lots of activities for the whole family! First time staying and will absolutely stay again.
Sep 06, 2017
Pleasant Stay / varied Entertainment ( Hillbilly Music etc) / clean Campground / scenic Campground / in total a great location
Sep 06, 2017
The only problem was that the showers were closed the 5 th without us knowing! Long cold walk to find out the shower house was closed for the season!
Sep 05, 2017
Came for the Sturgis Rally, the staff were brilliant. Everything was just perfect. Thank you to all concerned. Two very happy campers from England
Sep 05, 2017
Sep 05, 2017
We celebrated my husband's 65th birthday along with our kids and grandkids - 17 total. We all had a great time and enjoyed the many amenities you have to offer. The rodeo was a bonus and many of us enjoyed that as well, never having been to one before. The staff was outstanding and very personable. We have stayed at your KOA before and definitely will plan to again.
Sep 05, 2017
Wonderful upgrade at ck in, much appreciated. Great destination spot for a family. Spent 3 days as base camp. Wish there were more signage directing to camp ground.
Sep 05, 2017
All the staff were very friendly and were helpful with pointers. The campground was very clean. This is a nice large campground with many activities.
Sep 05, 2017
We had a great time!
Sep 05, 2017
Great as always
Sep 05, 2017
Sep 05, 2017
Awesome. We're not usually ones to camp at an organized campground site, but we had a great time. This place has something for everyone of all ages. We were there with our kids ages ranging from 5-26, and the grandkids ages 1&3. Everyone had a wonderful weekend!
Sep 05, 2017
We had an 8 person cabin which was nice but plenty expensive and we had to continuously go to the Lodge to get garbage bags and dish rags and towels and toilet paper and they would give us only 2 bags at a time. People have a lot more garbage than that when camping. We also had a hotel room. Crazy expensive also for the service. No bath soap, crappy continental breakfast and the milk was curdled
Sep 05, 2017
End of season doesn't mean lack of maintenance showers were dirty mold and mildew on curtains
Sep 05, 2017
Sep 05, 2017
Great resort for a clean, safe, and fun family vacation.
Sep 05, 2017
Clean comfortable campground. Many activities. The site itself was very small, frustrating when you have your lawn chairs backed up to the grille of your nieghbors truck to enjoy your campfire. Not a lot of value for the cost.
Sep 05, 2017
Sep 05, 2017
It was amazing, exactly what I needed. Our campsite 464 was a few feet from the playground where all the kids were but other than that I'm coming back again
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy