Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open May 1 - October 1

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Sep 18, 2017
I received KOA email re buy one get one for 7/15 and 16. We took advantage of that offer 2 years ago at Mt Rushmore KOA so we booked again this year. My card expired in Aug so I bought a new one to make sure I got the BOGO deal. When I booked, one night was charged to my card, but on arrival they told me the location doesn't honor the BOGO deal and charged me for the second night. Kind of angry.
Sep 18, 2017
Huge CG with lots of amenities. Clean restrooms and showers.
Sep 18, 2017
We were there Sept 9 and 10. You had already closed so many things, yet you are open until the end of October. Wifi did not work and there was no cell service. This is very dangerous not to have these service's. Surely there is something you can do to improve the signals. Your deluxe sites are a joke compared to other campgrounds. They all need more space to be considered a deluxe site.
Sep 18, 2017
Awesome. It's what I've come to expect from KOA!!!
Sep 18, 2017
Sep 18, 2017
What a fantastic place! Everything was outstanding. Customer service impeccable. Clean restrooms, excellent showers. The grounds are beautiful.
Sep 18, 2017
Nice place and real close to area activities. The roads in the park need maintenance!! Gravel must be plentiful in your area, and some could get put on the sites and roads in the park. Staff was great and no issues with anything else.
Sep 18, 2017
Excellent facilities with exception of old bathrooms. Had a significant water leak, two days to fix. Location is also great to visit all sights in the Black Hills area
Sep 18, 2017
Nice staff and great facility. Enjoyed our stay!
Sep 18, 2017
Your place is a 10 but you need to shore up the dead spots for your wifi.
Sep 17, 2017
Sep 17, 2017
KOA is a nice facility. We were there week after Labor Day and unfortunately they had a lot shut down already, even though weather was warm & they were quite full. Bathrooms were nice but not what I consider 'clean' - shower floors dirty, bugs around sink faucets. Team members were friendly & helpful. Not much shade & windy. Sites are average size. 10 min from Mt Rushmore. Seemed overpriced.
Sep 17, 2017
Sep 17, 2017
Sep 17, 2017
Sep 17, 2017
The people working weren't very friendly and the cabin was awckwardlu set up. but the restaurant food was amazing! So good!!! They think they are a big deal though so we probably like the smaller ones who maybe care a little bit about people and my kids
Sep 17, 2017
We had a wonderful stay while we toured Mount Rushmore, the Crazy Horse Monument and Wind Cave. The park is conveniently located and absolutely beautiful! It's great to experience new/updated facilities. The only thing we wished they had were larger lots for privacy. This is fit for both families and full-time RVers.
Sep 17, 2017
Sep 17, 2017
Sep 17, 2017
I was disappointed that so many services were shutdown. Laundry...pool. Lucky if the wifi would work. We used to be KOA card holders for years. Upon checking in we were asked if we wanted to rejoin. We chose not to. We were never offered the option of using our AAA card. Would have saved us A substantial amount. I found talking to staff at lodge much more helpful then campground.
Sep 17, 2017
Sep 17, 2017
Sep 17, 2017
We had reservations at a different site but got lost and they sold our site from under us!! KOA saved us and every one was so very nice and helpful! The sites were clean and the bathhouses were spotless! Definitely will be back!!!
Sep 17, 2017
Great place to stay everything was clean and the staff was friendly
Sep 16, 2017
very nice park
Sep 16, 2017
I realize that you are a very busy KOA, but I was very disappointed in our particular site because of the closeness of the sites. We stepped out of our camper and 3 feet away was our neighbors sewer. We never sat outside because there was no room. The price was very high and the added fee for the amenities was ridiculous because we did not have children and as a result never used any part of it.
Sep 16, 2017
Campground was wonderful ! People were helpful! Amenities were good! Location was great, close to most places, and quiet. Hard not having cell service, but we managed. Disappointed this campground did not participate in the KOA appreciation weekend! Stay the 15th get the 16th free. We normally only stay at KOA's, so we managed to take advantage of the deal somewhere else.
Sep 16, 2017
Sep 16, 2017
Can't wait to visit again. Would highly recommend the campground for staying in the Mount Rushmore area.
Sep 16, 2017
Beau site, par contre comme nous sommes le 10 septembre il y a beaucoup de service qui ne sont pas disponible. Il serait important de le divulguer sur le site. Il serait peut être bon de modifier le prix en conséquence. Nous avons imaginé comme le site aurait été intéressant en été. Mais nous recommendons ce site.
Sep 16, 2017
Sep 16, 2017
The park was kept up nice, but for 76 dollars a night not a good value, the patio on my site was broken up for awhile as grass and weeds grow in them. No WiFi at site and cable broke up constantly. Almost all of KOAs that charge less provide park wide WiFi, this was bad as the location blocks most cell phone signals also.
Sep 16, 2017
This KOA is a gravel pit that becomes a mud pit when it rains. It's location close to Mt. Rushmore is the only thing that I could recommend. Since there is no cellphone service in this location, one would rely on the campground's wifi. Their wifi is virtually non-existent. Therefore, you are cut off from the outside world. Some people will like this..not us.
Sep 16, 2017
Very close to Mt Rushmore, Custer and Crazy Horse attractions. The people at the office and store were very friendly and helpful. They have a great store with many gifts and merchandize. A workgroup couple were great in helping us make a reservation at Devils Tower for the next night and got us great site for our next night's stay.
Sep 16, 2017
Was planning to camp in my tiny tent trailer. Was not happy that the reservation agent put me in a full hookup spot when I only requested space for my tiny trailer. However the weather was very stormy when I got there so I asked for a Kabin. It was very basic. appreciated being escorted to my Kabin instead of finding it on my own. Wish the reservation agent had listened better to my request
Sep 15, 2017
Great location, BIG PARK, lots for families to do. Bathrooms and showers could have been cleaner. Observed staff going in to clean, put up signs and not clean a thing.....
Sep 15, 2017
Love this camp ground. Clean, good sites, and close to many area attractions. Staff knowledgeable and friendly. Would definitely stay there again. Wish we had visited before Labor Day when all of the camp ground activities were still going, but we had a great stay and a great time. No cell phone service and spotty Wi-Fi, but it was good to get away from the daily soap opera.
Sep 15, 2017
Friendly welcoming staff. Site very nice but felt the communal shower area could do with a spruce up. Disappointed with restaurant staff as came across as quite surly and abrupt. Got the feeling they were understaffed. Cost of rental car is expensive especially when you consider the cars are not new and the rental period is not for 24 hours. Wifi is advertised but very hit and miss.
Sep 15, 2017
The best koa in the country hands down!
Sep 15, 2017
The campground was amazing! Staff was exceptional. Ponderosa restaurant delicious! I would have loved to have known when winery and snack shop was closing for season when I checked in. Also the wifi/internet/cell service needs to be updated. I work a business and have family I have to get in touch with so not sure if I could sat againðª
Sep 15, 2017
Great time! Grounds beautiful! Great staff
Sep 15, 2017
The Internet service was basically non existing. All other services were great.
Sep 15, 2017
Sep 15, 2017
The staff was very helpful. Loved the views in the area. The only negative comment would be with the WIFI, which was not user friendly at all.
Sep 15, 2017
I'm a work Kamper traveling through. Beautiful campground, I'd definitely recommend for family stays, wish I could've enjoyed linger.
Sep 14, 2017
Sep 14, 2017
As always great camping, pancake breakfast. Love it there.
Sep 14, 2017
Crowded and yet the season was over so not everything was open.
Sep 14, 2017
The only disappointment was the lack of cell phone and Wify availability. When lots of us are still active business people and we need access to the internet. When you pay $100 per night + I expect better.
Sep 14, 2017
Beautiful campground. Clean facilities.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy