Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open May 1 - October 1

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 04, 2017
crowded, noisy and expensive. Even with all the extra activity's they had available for kids and adults I would not stay there again. The tent sites were tiny and on a slope. Even though the showers were individual rooms they did not have shower curtains so the closes would get wet hanging on the shower door.
Aug 03, 2017
Our family first came to Palmer Gulch in 1982,again in 1997 and 2000. Now it is extremely overcrowded and not the pleasant quiet place we first experienced. Service ok waitresses at Ponderosa seemed overwhelmed at breakfast time. Disappointed Papa's Pancake tent leaving. Our family members are elderly. Probably won't choose KOA again. Cabins too cramped-too hilly and rough for elderly.
Aug 03, 2017
Absolutely wonderful KOA campground!! We were there 8 nights - gorgeous views, has every amenity & activity you would want!! This was the best we have stayed in. Proximity to all parks, monuments, etc, was amazing. Would recommend to all. Only negative would be that it is a busy park so crowded & traffic constantly going by in campground site. But worth it!!!
Aug 03, 2017
Aug 03, 2017
Very busy campground.
Aug 03, 2017
It was great to have all the activities available, the camp ground was clean, the people friendly. YOU need to UPGRADE the wifi, it was almost unusable even on the hot spot. If I had needed it for business I would have switched campgrounds. If youre not going to have good wifi don't say you even have it. You staff warned us at check in it was poor to non existent and they were right.
Aug 03, 2017
great location , friendly staff, lots of amenities
Aug 03, 2017
Everything you need to survive. Tons of things for families to do, pool, water slide, horse back rides, bike rentals, close to Mt. Rushmore. The shuttle was quick and the driver was informative and safe. Place to be.
Aug 03, 2017
It was awesome. Clean bathrooms and shower. Wonderful activities for the whole family. Just fantastic!
Aug 03, 2017
Awesome KOA
Aug 03, 2017
We loved our stay. So much to do on site when you get back from excursions.
Aug 03, 2017
There was a lot for the kids to do which was a big plus. There were a few negatives though. The back in sites were very small, at 6:30 every morning the horses are lead out and called to constantly waking us up every morning, and the false advertising of wifi availability. Please don't advertise that you have wifi available when even your employees say they cant get connected.
Aug 03, 2017
Great KOA location that offers tons of activities with beautiful scenery.
Aug 03, 2017
The best and most family oriented campground I have ever been to, or even heard about. My family and I cant wait to come back.
Aug 03, 2017
No cell service not enough room for camper and truck
Aug 03, 2017
Would definitely stay here again. Wish we would have had more time here. Lots to do for the family.
Aug 03, 2017
The staff is great The wifi and cell phone reception are poor therefor I will not stay there again.
Aug 03, 2017
Bathrooms and showers were dirty. Too many people, campsites too close. Noise next to us until well after midnight...and started again early in the morning. We got very little rest. Lots of group activities available.
Aug 02, 2017
Had a family "meet up" here with about 4 different parts of the family and we all liked it a lot. So much to do for all ages!
Aug 02, 2017
This KOA was just amazing!! There are so many activities that our kids never got bored! The Fun Zone is geared for kids of all ages. Don't forget the all you can eat pancake breakfast right on the resort. All the staff were very friendly and outgoing! It was such a wonderful experience getting to meet people from near and far. 5 stars for this KOA!!
Aug 02, 2017
I've stayed at this KOA 4 times now (this was #4) and this was by far the worst experience that I've had... sadly. The "curfew" of 10PM was not at all adhered to (nor enforced). In my tent, I recall looking at my watch at 10, 11, 12, 1, 2 and 3 am... with noise all around... Additionally, I was saddened at the fact that there was no water fountain, water bottle filling station, or the like availab
Aug 02, 2017
Aug 02, 2017
Too many campsites in too small area. No privacy. Tents, without bathrooms are 1/4+ mile from the restrooms, while RVs are parked next to them.
Aug 02, 2017
Showers were dirty and lacked water pressure and hot temperature.
Aug 02, 2017
The restrooms were filthy and didn't work. Not enough restrooms for the campers that were present . Not all staff were friendly. Many campers didn't follow campsite regulations and staff turned a blind eye. Travelled across the entire US and Canada and it was a disappointing stay. It is conveniently close to Mt Rushmore which is probably why it is so popular . There were lots to do with kids
Aug 02, 2017
Loved the atmosphere, but the campsites are way to close. Barely could fit our camper in our spot and was on very un-even ground. Otherwise everything was good! :)
Aug 02, 2017
Kids were OUT OF CONTROL!!! The parents were not watching their kids As they rode the three wheel bikes in front of cars and trucks. They looked at you as if they dared you to say something!! The speed limit was 10mph but you had a 10 year old driving a golf cart FULL of kids as fast as it would go with no regards to traffic! Disappointing!! Will not Return!
Aug 02, 2017
This is an excellent campground with many facilities and conveniently located. My only complaint is that the band width of the wireless hot spots is woefully inadequate. Unless very early in the morning or very late at night, it was basically useless and there is no cellular service. Otherwise I would highly recommend this campground. Great staff and great facilities!
Aug 02, 2017
Love that it was so close to Mt. Rushmore. This place is huge. If you have little kids 5-12 there is so much for them to do. If you have older ones who rely on Wifi or cell service it's not a good place, the service is awful. Very busy and crowded but it was manageable
Aug 02, 2017
Best KOA (or any family campground) in the country! Put aside any questions you may have. Staff is super helpful. Programs facilities and grounds are terrific. And the bathrooms are very clean. They will exceed your expectations on every level!
Aug 02, 2017
Aug 02, 2017
excellent service, very cooperative, and very nice people. They also have the Presidents museum and mini golf in Keystone. excellent attractions.
Aug 02, 2017
No internet at all,not even at hot spot.Very packed and crowded.Dirty shower room. No soap shelve, all wet floor and no floor mat to step on.Men and women share shower rooms. The rate was so high for the quality of staying ($78/night)
Aug 02, 2017
Koa community was great.however wi-fi was not great and the bathrooms need improving.
Aug 02, 2017
Amazing place. Kids loved it.
Aug 01, 2017
Lots of amenities, close to all the sights. Staff was helpful when our trailer had a problem. But the campground is too big,too busy and way, way, way too noisy. All the facilities were crowded. No wifi, cell service or over-the-air tv. Sites are small. Oh and did I mention that it's noisy?
Aug 01, 2017
Absolutely loved this KOA close to everything and so much to do on site. Their handicap bathroom was not in use almost our entire trip and daughter is in a wheel chair was surprised and disappointed not typical KOA to have things broken
Aug 01, 2017
LOTS and LOTS and LOTS of things to do here. Very clean. Very easy to check in. Great food and activities. The kids had a blast! Horse back riding, pools, slides, atv rentals, etc. Very well organized and informed staff. We enjoyed our stay immensely and when back in this area will definitely be back here!
Aug 01, 2017
we loved it was great it has change a lot since we were here in 2009-----Ken & Noel
Aug 01, 2017
Lot's of activities, friendly staff, and great food!
Aug 01, 2017
Most staff friendly, nice sites, clean area, plenty of things for kids to do on site, shopping food on site, close to most area attractions, would recommend.
Aug 01, 2017
Very nice setup, a lot is offered here, perfectly located. No phone reception here... that's good and bad! Lol We'll be back!
Aug 01, 2017
1) The bathrooms were very nasty at times. The showers were dirty.2) No Wi-Fi or cell phone connection 3) Could really use some shade. The amenities were great and kids had a wonderful time.
Aug 01, 2017
We loved this KOA. This is ideal for young families as there are multiple activities that kids of all ages can do here. Our kids (5,3,1) loved the pool, bounce pillow, mini golf, and panning for gemstones. There is a nice bike trail that loops around the property that makes it nice to walk for ice cream. We are already planning when we can come back we loved it that much!
Aug 01, 2017
Aug 01, 2017
Very clean place. lots of fun activities. sites were level for rvs. most staff was friendly. perfect location for a koa. Downside was expensive
Aug 01, 2017
This campground was way too busy for my family, and the campsites for us we're too far away from the kid zone, hauling three kids and stuff to the kid zone was crazy! But that being said the staff was friendly! We didn't spend much time at camp anyway. The rodeo was amazing!! The rental cars are super sketchy, ours was overflowing antifreeze at the top of needles hey, 1/2 the day was spent.
Aug 01, 2017
Very fun, lots for the kids to do! They loved the fun zone! Flapjack breakfasts were great! Campsites are very crowded- our fire pit was so close to the site behind us we were practically sitting on top of them. Cost of horse rides and wagon rides seemed expensive.
Aug 01, 2017
Nice family oriented campground. Great activities. Sites way too small. Sewer pipes less than 1 foot from picnic table. Dirty bathrooms and no wifi at all.
Aug 01, 2017
Bathrooms were DISGUSTING!!!! DIRTY, NO TOILET PAPER & SMELLED. The showers were also pretty disgusting too!!! Questionable if I will ever stay again! The activities for kids are good but our camping space was kinda small. Just expected more for price paid.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy