Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open May 1 - October 1

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 09, 2017
Lovely - a true gem of a place.
Aug 08, 2017
Great for everyone!! Kids of all ages or no kids at all. Staff was so friendly and helpful.
Aug 08, 2017
Extremely expensive campground at the $122 per night that I paid.
Aug 08, 2017
Everyone was so accommodating. Was great
Aug 08, 2017
These people really know how to run a campground! Everything is managed well and organized.
Aug 08, 2017
It was great will b back
Aug 08, 2017
VERY kid friendly, clean and quiet even during the Sturgis motorcycle rally! . Staff was very nice and accommodating. Will be booking again next year!
Aug 08, 2017
Aug 08, 2017
This campground is amazing! Has so many family activities, rental cars, carts, arcs, waterslide u name it! Staff very friendly! Beautiful flowers and surroundings....
Aug 08, 2017
We had an enjoyable time. Friendly staff and good amenities
Aug 08, 2017
This is the second time at this campground and we love it. The only negative was that we were in cabin 112 and to get to the bathroom we had to walk up and down a steep hill or take the long way around. This was pretty hard on my mom
Aug 08, 2017
This KOA was excellent!! We were amazed at all of the pools, stores and activities they offered there! We really really enjoyed our stay!!
Aug 08, 2017
Facilities were nice. Lots of great activity places for the kids. Staff was friendly. I purchased 5 meals at the Ponderosa Restaurant. The two burger meals took a very long time and when they came out, the burgers were like a hockey puck. The restaurant service was slow and the food was very poor. Much worst quality than the price would have demanded. I lost my $1 off ice cream but purchase
Aug 08, 2017
The electricity at my site was not working. Luckily I had rented 2 sites so I had to plug into other site. But there was still not enough power on that one to run my air conditioner on my rv. Kids loved activities but very disappointed with electicty. Was not enough power to run skillet even.
Aug 08, 2017
Aug 08, 2017
There was ZERO wifi - didn't work at all. Overall, the facilities were great. We had a great campground place and easy access to the pool, mini golf, and restrooms. One recommendation would be to have restrooms cleaned more frequently during high-traffic hour. My four year old daughter slipped and fell one morning around 9 am on excess water overflowing from a toilet.
Aug 08, 2017
Need cell towers Internet bad
Aug 08, 2017
Lots of great things to do and see in the area. Wish we could have stayed longer.
Aug 08, 2017
This is a GREAT campground for families with children, there's so much for them to do. The staff was helpful, courteous, & pleasant in every encounter I had with them. Not so sure I would stay at this location if I didn't have kids with me. With kids it really is FABULOUS!
Aug 08, 2017
Was very disappointed in the service. This is the second year we have stayed at this location a both times we had to move sites.This particular time for a 4 night stay we had to move 3 times.When I spoke with the front desk they informed me that it was first come first serve and keep checking but how is fair when we are already paying customers. Seems unaccomidating when your paying 90$ per night.
Aug 08, 2017
Nice very clean and vèry friendly and helpful staff
Aug 08, 2017
Aug 08, 2017
Loved all of the amenities, the pools, the beautiful scenary and very kind and helpful staff. Miss it already!
Aug 08, 2017
Small site no room hard to get in to
Aug 08, 2017
Being handicapped and having to use a Walker made very difficult to use the restrooms, showers and laundry. The rows were much too long with no gaps for paths to restrooms. Had to disconnect unit and drive a few blocks to use toilet$67.00 fee we would never use this facility again. No wi-go at or near our site. People all nite were cutting our site to get to bathrooms... please enact a shuttle!
Aug 08, 2017
We only stayed one night in a tent spot. Did not have any time to experience much of the camp. It was good for what we needed. The girl who checked us in was very friendly and helpful.
Aug 07, 2017
Nice campground, but to have no cell service and hardly ever a good enough connection to Wi-Fi at the delixe sites was not good. Also each morning and evening we had to listen to gas power washing of vehicles for a few hours which was very annoying especially for the price of the deluxe site.
Aug 07, 2017
Awesome campground... My only complaint is that the pull through sites are way too tight. Other than that... wow!
Aug 07, 2017
The campground was very nice and well maintained. There are lots of things to do and the facilities are great! We would definitely stay again and tell a friend.
Aug 07, 2017
Aug 07, 2017
We had a very good time at your KOA, personnel were very friendly, campgrounds were well kept, food was great and and all the fun things to do there were enjoyable for all ages, would definitely recommend to anyone and would love to come back again if we're ever in the area
Aug 07, 2017
Our family made grateful memories at this campground. We hope to return someday.
Aug 07, 2017
Here on a family vacation. We had 2 campsites and 2 cabins. It was awesome for our group. Lots for the kids (ages 4-12) to do after our days of black hills activities. Especially loved the heated pool and the night time activities (dance party and nightly movies.) Campground was clean, and felt very safe and family friendly. We would definitely stay here again.
Aug 07, 2017
Very nice and professional and friendly office staff and all people work to. KOA at Mount Rushmore is so beautiful place to stay! Everyone is always happy to help and the campground is so beautiful and super clean and so much activities for all the family We had such a great memories and definitely we would love to comeback!!!
Aug 07, 2017
Fantastic amenities and staff. We had a great time!
Aug 07, 2017
We returned after four years and enjoyed your campground, even if only for one night. Thank you
Aug 07, 2017
This KOA was wonderful! Tons of activities for the kids, friendly staff, and very well maintained! We would definitely return!!
Aug 07, 2017
It is huge! They have a great set-up for tents and the property has so much to offer. The water slide was a bit cold. Don't follow internet directions that take you the back way. Great place, next time we will have to plan on staying longer.
Aug 07, 2017
Very resort like, and very nice. Fun cookout.
Aug 07, 2017
More amenities then most camp grounds. Very clean and very friendly.
Aug 07, 2017
Aug 07, 2017
RV campsites are close together. Kids enjoyed natural pond. Lots of activities and we'll established campgrpund. Convenient location.
Aug 07, 2017
The fun for the kids is amazing at this locations. Lots to do. The water slide was a particular favorite among my kids. As a negative, there needs to be at least one more bathroom for the cabins on the hill. It was a good 5 minute walk to the closest bathrooms up a hill, not fun at night.
Aug 07, 2017
This was our second time to stay both visit were outstanding! Excellent facilities very friendly staff.
Aug 07, 2017
What a great campground! Staff was friendly and helpful, the kids had a blast, so much to do! The pools are heated, showers and bathrooms are clean. Great place at an affordable rate for the whole family.
Aug 07, 2017
This was our first time tent camping as a family without anyone else, and I was not looking forward to it. I was worried about dirt sites and gross bathrooms, but this KOA had neither! I was so impressed by our beautiful grass-covered site and the bathrooms were clean and very nice. The staff was friendly and helpful, and there were tons of amenities to use. We're looking forward to returning!
Aug 07, 2017
Amazing time at a amazing place. Will be going back for sure.
Aug 07, 2017
It was truly a resort!
Aug 07, 2017
Very nice park with lots to do.......
Aug 07, 2017
Very nice park with lots to do for the kids and adults.....
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy