Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open May 1 - October 1

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Info: 605-574-2525

Email This Campground

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 12, 2017
Aug 12, 2017
When we checked in we were told that there was limited wifi, I guess limited is the same as none! We could not connect to the wifi anywhere in the campgrounds including at the main office for the 3 days we were there. I know it's camping but I still have a business to run in the evening or early morning. The managers answer was to go into town and use the wifi there. Also we had no cell signal.
Aug 11, 2017
Great place to stay, this was our 6th year staying there for the Sturgis Rally.
Aug 11, 2017
Very good location and great amenities. Terrible cell service in case of needing to get ahold of someone. Wifi didn't work as told.
Aug 11, 2017
Aug 11, 2017
Aug 11, 2017
This was our third stay at Mt. Rushmore. Always a great place to stay both for families with children and for bikers staying for Sturgis Bike Week. There is always something for everyone. It is a little hard being "off the grid" for 10 days, as cell and internet service are very spotty to non-existent, and cable is limited to a few sites. Overall great, though.
Aug 11, 2017
the campground was beautiful. lots of activities. but the employees were a bit rude.
Aug 11, 2017
This is a little resort, the showers are phenomenal, staff excellent. A few restaurants, bar, ice cream shop, and all u can eat pancakes. 2 pools, fun zone and a few easy miles to Mt Rushmore. Wish we stayed longer.
Aug 11, 2017
Stayed only one night but the park was great and the service excellent.
Aug 11, 2017
We had a fantastic stay at Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer's Gulch. Our kids didn't want to leave!
Aug 11, 2017
Okl
Aug 11, 2017
Aug 11, 2017
No wifi, no cell, many poorly trained staff. Kids enjoyed Fun Zone.
Aug 11, 2017
Aug 11, 2017
Aug 11, 2017
Amazing facility. Clean! Staff is very helpful. They often asked if I was enjoying my stay. Heated pools, the deepest hot tub I've ever seen. We took a one hour trail ride that was affordable. The horses were well cared for. It was just plain fun for me and my kids. Live music plays in the evenings. Great place to stay!
Aug 11, 2017
Great LOA site. Very accommodating personal and plenty to do
Aug 11, 2017
Aug 11, 2017
Great place. I look forward to coming back. The cell service is not good which is outside of your control but you could improve the wifi and make the stay more enjoyable.
Aug 10, 2017
Zero cell phone coverage and free wifi was nonexistent. You could connect to it but zero bandwidth. Could not stay in touch with family. Nice activities for kids but may need to move them inside at night as it seems everyone is burning a campfire and the topography of the mountains in area keep smoke in place. Can't sleep with windows open unless you want to lose a lung in the process.
Aug 10, 2017
Wonderful resort with one major issue. Worst WiFi service we have ever experienced at an RV camp ground. There is no cell phone service which makes WiFi even more important to stay in contact with family, plan activities in the area, get weather reports, etc. The management really needs to address this problem. Having said that, the staff and activities were absolutely wonderful.
Aug 10, 2017
We really like it. Have stayed there a number of times. So much to do, especially with grandkids. Loved the Rodeo.
Aug 10, 2017
I loved it there! My only complaint was no phone service and lousy internet for the price. It's a great location to see everything.
Aug 10, 2017
We had a group of 18 in 3 sites and we loved it. So much to do in the campground itself and all around the area.
Aug 10, 2017
Very nice amenities. Sites were too close together and there were no trees on the campsites. Felt like being in a city rather than camping.
Aug 10, 2017
Aug 10, 2017
Great place. The kids loved it!
Aug 10, 2017
Lots of fun things for entire family. Wish we had been there a time other than Sturgis bike week. Pool & waterslide great! Safe and convenient.
Aug 10, 2017
It is a great location for the entire family. The facilities are maintained well. I have no doubt that I would stay ther again.
Aug 10, 2017
I was very impressed at this KOA. I would come again. I was a little upset about having no cell phone reception and no internet otherwise it was great
Aug 10, 2017
Loved this KOA, but wished the pool was open later than 8:00pm for childrenð! We rolled in around 7:30pm and the kids couldn't swim!
Aug 10, 2017
Quiet stay considering it was Sturgis week.
Aug 10, 2017
Where do I begin? The grounds and amenities were amazing! From check-in to our departure, everything was great. Our kids loved everything the campground had to offer and we regretted that we couldn't stay a few more days. We definitely would like to come back one day soon!
Aug 10, 2017
Un bonito lugar, la cabina que reservamos estaba serca de las arbecas K2252. Fue 2 cuartos regular, con una cama grande y el otro con 4 camitas. Afuera una hoguera ð¥ y estacionamiento para un carro.
Aug 10, 2017
Aug 10, 2017
Aug 10, 2017
Loved the food options and the friendly staff.
Aug 10, 2017
Your bathrooms/showers very clean. Thank you.
Aug 10, 2017
We enjoyed our stay very much! Staff was always friendly. Campground and facilities were well maintained. Be prepared to unplug with sketchy internet & no cell signals.
Aug 10, 2017
Aug 10, 2017
Lots for kids , shuttle to Mt Rushmore's lighting a hit
Aug 09, 2017
Aug 09, 2017
as always it was great your staff was very helpful and we booked again for next year thanks bob
Aug 09, 2017
Aug 09, 2017
We love staying at Palmer Gulch KOA.
Aug 09, 2017
Never fixed driers in laundry that were broken and bathrooms were dirty
Aug 09, 2017
Aug 09, 2017
Loved all of the kid play areas. My 7,8,9 & 12yo had a great time!
Aug 09, 2017
Beautiful place love being in the mountains friendly fun and lots of things to do, restaurant on site. Can't wait to come back
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy