Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open May 1 - October 1

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 11, 2017
Great place. I look forward to coming back. The cell service is not good which is outside of your control but you could improve the wifi and make the stay more enjoyable.
Aug 10, 2017
Zero cell phone coverage and free wifi was nonexistent. You could connect to it but zero bandwidth. Could not stay in touch with family. Nice activities for kids but may need to move them inside at night as it seems everyone is burning a campfire and the topography of the mountains in area keep smoke in place. Can't sleep with windows open unless you want to lose a lung in the process.
Aug 10, 2017
Wonderful resort with one major issue. Worst WiFi service we have ever experienced at an RV camp ground. There is no cell phone service which makes WiFi even more important to stay in contact with family, plan activities in the area, get weather reports, etc. The management really needs to address this problem. Having said that, the staff and activities were absolutely wonderful.
Aug 10, 2017
We really like it. Have stayed there a number of times. So much to do, especially with grandkids. Loved the Rodeo.
Aug 10, 2017
I loved it there! My only complaint was no phone service and lousy internet for the price. It's a great location to see everything.
Aug 10, 2017
We had a group of 18 in 3 sites and we loved it. So much to do in the campground itself and all around the area.
Aug 10, 2017
Very nice amenities. Sites were too close together and there were no trees on the campsites. Felt like being in a city rather than camping.
Aug 10, 2017
Aug 10, 2017
Great place. The kids loved it!
Aug 10, 2017
Lots of fun things for entire family. Wish we had been there a time other than Sturgis bike week. Pool & waterslide great! Safe and convenient.
Aug 10, 2017
It is a great location for the entire family. The facilities are maintained well. I have no doubt that I would stay ther again.
Aug 10, 2017
I was very impressed at this KOA. I would come again. I was a little upset about having no cell phone reception and no internet otherwise it was great
Aug 10, 2017
Loved this KOA, but wished the pool was open later than 8:00pm for childrenð! We rolled in around 7:30pm and the kids couldn't swim!
Aug 10, 2017
Quiet stay considering it was Sturgis week.
Aug 10, 2017
Where do I begin? The grounds and amenities were amazing! From check-in to our departure, everything was great. Our kids loved everything the campground had to offer and we regretted that we couldn't stay a few more days. We definitely would like to come back one day soon!
Aug 10, 2017
Un bonito lugar, la cabina que reservamos estaba serca de las arbecas K2252. Fue 2 cuartos regular, con una cama grande y el otro con 4 camitas. Afuera una hoguera ð¥ y estacionamiento para un carro.
Aug 10, 2017
Aug 10, 2017
Aug 10, 2017
Loved the food options and the friendly staff.
Aug 10, 2017
Your bathrooms/showers very clean. Thank you.
Aug 10, 2017
We enjoyed our stay very much! Staff was always friendly. Campground and facilities were well maintained. Be prepared to unplug with sketchy internet & no cell signals.
Aug 10, 2017
Aug 10, 2017
Lots for kids , shuttle to Mt Rushmore's lighting a hit
Aug 09, 2017
Aug 09, 2017
as always it was great your staff was very helpful and we booked again for next year thanks bob
Aug 09, 2017
Aug 09, 2017
We love staying at Palmer Gulch KOA.
Aug 09, 2017
Never fixed driers in laundry that were broken and bathrooms were dirty
Aug 09, 2017
Aug 09, 2017
Loved all of the kid play areas. My 7,8,9 & 12yo had a great time!
Aug 09, 2017
Beautiful place love being in the mountains friendly fun and lots of things to do, restaurant on site. Can't wait to come back
Aug 09, 2017
Great location, beautiful scenery, lots to do! I grew up staying at this campground almost every year, brought my 7 year old for his first stay this year. Still the way I remembered it!
Aug 09, 2017
The camp site I was given - 549 - was to small for my camper. I tried to get another site but was told there were none available. I also had to wait until late in the day to set up camp because the previous camper did not leave when he was supposed to. My camper is 30+ ft and my pickup is 20+ ft so I need way more space than I was given.
Aug 09, 2017
Aug 09, 2017
Aug 09, 2017
This campground has everything you are looking for and is in a prime location. The facilities were always clean and the staff was always helpful. There was always activities for the kids, you will Not be disappointed at this resort!
Aug 09, 2017
Very clean Very helpful Lots to do Only issue we had was lack of signage made us drive around for over an hour trying to find our turn for 244 Hwy directions on website said continue 3 miles after junction of 16 and 385 but it is 7 miles from the junction to 244 so we never went far enough. Called police dispatch for directions because nothing was open to get directions at 3am.
Aug 09, 2017
Bathrooms very dirty couldn't let my kids touch any walls or anything mold look like nobody to ever cleaned it other than that the place is awesome for kids but cleanliness is not.
Aug 09, 2017
What a place! Very organized, friendly and helpful staff, and amazingly quiet for such an extensive KOA/. Will stay again when in the area.
Aug 09, 2017
Good location. Lots of activities, especially for kids. Big site, so lots of traffic and crowds during Sturgis Bike Rally. My issue and that of my camping mates was that the shower and restroom facilities were not clean. The get a lot of traffic and I don't think they were serviced once in our 5 night stay.
Aug 09, 2017
The campground is located perfectly to visit the monuments. The reservation experience wasn't truthful when asked about the total price. I wrote to manager informing him in detail the experience, but to date, i have not had a response.
Aug 09, 2017
Aug 09, 2017
We visited the Palmer Gulch KOA four years ago but were just passing through so did not get to enjoy the amenities. We have been wanting to return ever since. We returned July 29-Aug 2 with our four children and were very impressed. So many different activities for the kids to engage in, clean, quiet and everything we needed was there. Also very impressed with how organized check-in was.
Aug 09, 2017
Loved it kids loved it dogs too
Aug 09, 2017
Staying during the rally sucked. But the facility was amazing.
Aug 09, 2017
The cabin we rented was amazing ! It rained during our stay and it didn't matter ! We have been staying in the campground and the lodge since 1994, and this was the very best visit yet ! We rented D280 and we absolutely loved the accommodations. All we had to bring was our personal care and food. With so much to do on the property, there was no reason to leave. Our reservations are set for2018
Aug 09, 2017
Le meilleur que j'ai vu pour la famille c'est extra
Aug 09, 2017
There needs to be a bathroom facility closer they were too far n inconvenient for older people n children other than that our stay was great love it there we come back every summer
Aug 09, 2017
The bathrooms and showers were really nice and clean. We enjoyed our campsite next to the pond. We could not get WiFi anywhere on the campground, not even the laundry room.
Aug 09, 2017
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy