Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open May 1 - October 1

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 13, 2017
Everything was wonderful except no phone service
Aug 13, 2017
Aug 13, 2017
Absolutely awesome place everybody was friendly and courteous loved it perfect can't wait to come back thank you so much.
Aug 13, 2017
Excellent facilities! And it was quiet at night, even in the midst of the Sturgis rally. Outstanding staff. We loved our stay and would recommend this place to anyone.
Aug 13, 2017
Aug 13, 2017
Aug 13, 2017
The best camping place I have ever been too. It was amazing.
Aug 13, 2017
We love this campground and this was our second stay here. The waterslide is fun, two pools are great to spread pool crowds and there is a lot of fun activities to do for kids or adults. Tie Dye t-shirts was awesome and making and launching a rocket was super fun as well. Daily fire engine rides, rock climbing, inflatables - this campground really is fantastic, fudge/coffee place, horses/riding.
Aug 13, 2017
Great place with lots to do. Nice cabin, very clean. Nice and helpful staff.
Aug 13, 2017
Aug 13, 2017
We had an excellent time at your beautiful campground!
Aug 13, 2017
Time there was pleasant enough. Thought this LOW was over-priced!
Aug 13, 2017
the campground was nice enough, but my low rating is solely related to lack of Internet. It's in a cell phone dead zone, which makes wifi pretty important. Wifi was essentially non-existent. I was told as I was checking in that it was close to impossible to get connected. I thought the check in person may be exaggerating, but he was not, there was just no way to connect.
Aug 13, 2017
Very active KOA campground. The amenities were outstanding. We had everything at our fingertips; shopping, restaurants, activities. It was great.
Aug 13, 2017
Awesome..best KOA I have ever been to..highly recommend!
Aug 13, 2017
Loved it! Thanks!
Aug 13, 2017
Nice accommodations and very friendly, helpful staff. Great kids activities
Aug 12, 2017
Excellent. :)
Aug 12, 2017
I have been staying there for over 17 years The place is very friendly and very cleanAnd I will be staying there for a very long timeAs long as I get my cabin I reserve every yearThat means a lot to me
Aug 12, 2017
We stay every year and love it there thank you !!!
Aug 12, 2017
Great facility. Very smooth registration process!
Aug 12, 2017
Love it!!!! Can't wait until next year! ðð
Aug 12, 2017
Loved it!! Best part no service on phones!!! Please keep it that way!!
Aug 12, 2017
We had a great time! Lots of activities for the kids. We will be back!
Aug 12, 2017
Très beau camping. Pleins d'activités pour les enfants. Très propre.
Aug 12, 2017
The staff at Mt Rushmore KOA was always very friendly and helpful. The facilities were always clean and pleasant to use. Thank you for the plesent experience.
Aug 12, 2017
Loved our stay!!!
Aug 12, 2017
We were one city block length from the toilets. That is just unexceptable a distance especially at night. Please put in portable toilets closer to sites. It made our stay somewhat torturous. The people we dealt with were all wonderful. But this primary need over rides all else.
Aug 12, 2017
Aug 12, 2017
It's a nice camo ground, I was there for Sturgis bike week I know KOA IS more family oriented. So bikers don't like gravel roads are sites they need paved!! Make it 10 times better, no cable, Wi-Fi sucks if you can even get it. But they keep up on the place. Oh yeah, when you call front desk it transfers to Rapid City which sucks
Aug 12, 2017
Good location. Close to Mt. Rushmore. Clean. Only thing is tent site aren't flat at all.
Aug 12, 2017
Aug 12, 2017
When we checked in we were told that there was limited wifi, I guess limited is the same as none! We could not connect to the wifi anywhere in the campgrounds including at the main office for the 3 days we were there. I know it's camping but I still have a business to run in the evening or early morning. The managers answer was to go into town and use the wifi there. Also we had no cell signal.
Aug 11, 2017
Great place to stay, this was our 6th year staying there for the Sturgis Rally.
Aug 11, 2017
Very good location and great amenities. Terrible cell service in case of needing to get ahold of someone. Wifi didn't work as told.
Aug 11, 2017
Aug 11, 2017
Aug 11, 2017
This was our third stay at Mt. Rushmore. Always a great place to stay both for families with children and for bikers staying for Sturgis Bike Week. There is always something for everyone. It is a little hard being "off the grid" for 10 days, as cell and internet service are very spotty to non-existent, and cable is limited to a few sites. Overall great, though.
Aug 11, 2017
the campground was beautiful. lots of activities. but the employees were a bit rude.
Aug 11, 2017
This is a little resort, the showers are phenomenal, staff excellent. A few restaurants, bar, ice cream shop, and all u can eat pancakes. 2 pools, fun zone and a few easy miles to Mt Rushmore. Wish we stayed longer.
Aug 11, 2017
Stayed only one night but the park was great and the service excellent.
Aug 11, 2017
We had a fantastic stay at Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer's Gulch. Our kids didn't want to leave!
Aug 11, 2017
Okl
Aug 11, 2017
Aug 11, 2017
No wifi, no cell, many poorly trained staff. Kids enjoyed Fun Zone.
Aug 11, 2017
Aug 11, 2017
Aug 11, 2017
Amazing facility. Clean! Staff is very helpful. They often asked if I was enjoying my stay. Heated pools, the deepest hot tub I've ever seen. We took a one hour trail ride that was affordable. The horses were well cared for. It was just plain fun for me and my kids. Live music plays in the evenings. Great place to stay!
Aug 11, 2017
Great LOA site. Very accommodating personal and plenty to do
Aug 11, 2017
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy