Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open May 1 - October 1

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 14, 2017
Easy check in, directions were spot on! The facilities were clean and well maintained. So much to do in the park for the whole family. Shower houses were very nice! I really was impressed with monitoring of the campground by the staff. Made us feel safe! Also one of the staff helped us to obtain items needed to secure our recreational vehicle. Job Well done!
Aug 14, 2017
Aug 14, 2017
I like staying in the camping cabins, at 63 I an tired of sleeping in tents! The one I stayed in (K106 if I remember correctly) the shelf was hanging down at weird angle. Looked like the supports needed to be re-nailed or something. It could have been a little cleaner, I had to wipe off the mattress, there was some grass or something on it. I did enjoy my stay and plan on staying with you again.
Aug 14, 2017
Aside from the hills to get there, lol it was fabulous! Clean, friendly staff, lots of stuff for the kids to do even though we didn't use it, too busy site seeing. We loved it and would love to return.
Aug 14, 2017
Had a great stay, there were many changes from when I had stayed years before, but were all good. Larger but still great staff and very clean. My choice of a place to stay, hope to be back next year. Thank You for a great stay.
Aug 14, 2017
Aug 14, 2017
We LOVED our stay at the camping cabin!! We are going to be back for sure. Clean, lots of things to do for the whole family.
Aug 14, 2017
Great place and very nice staff.
Aug 14, 2017
Aug 14, 2017
Have stayed there 8 years now we come for Sturgis. Always great no problems!
Aug 14, 2017
Aug 14, 2017
Huge, amazing campgrounds! So much to do!
Aug 14, 2017
I've been going to this koa for over 20 years I was there when you had gas pumps in front of the small building you signed in on. This stay was excellent except for 2 things , I was quoted when I made my reservation a 10 dollar fee to hold my spot that I wanted. when I got there they charged me 20.00, they said I was mis quoted and it cost 20. so see if you can get your reservation agents up to sp
Aug 14, 2017
Been coming to Palmer Gulch on and off for 25 years and it gets better every time! Excellent facilities and plenty for the kids/grandkids. It's a family tradition. I would 't think of staying anywhere else in the Black Hills.
Aug 14, 2017
Great as always
Aug 14, 2017
We had so much fun here! Next time we'll stay longer so we can enjoy everything this campground has to offer.
Aug 14, 2017
Palmer Gulch has been our Stay vacation w/grandkids for years. Made reservations well in advance with specific request. Husband is 100%disabled veteran. Arrived said could not honor due to Rally. Due to health issue cancel 1 day but would not reimburse due to Rally! Health worsened had to leave even 1 day earlier called before 11AM to say we left early in AM again no reimburse due to Rally. REALLY
Aug 14, 2017
Best campground ever! So many kid and family activities! Beautiful scenery and little personal touches like flower planters. It was huge and was way over what I had expected! Would go again or recommend to anyone in a heart beat! Incredible place!!!!
Aug 14, 2017
Beautiful place. Lots of stuff to do!!
Aug 14, 2017
Aug 14, 2017
Very high priced, bathrooms way to far away.
Aug 14, 2017
The staff was very friendly and helpful. The environment was well maintained and safe. We will be back!
Aug 14, 2017
We had a wonderful time at your facilities. I pastor a urban church and all but one of our children were from the projects. They would not stop thanking me for taking them camping and to SD. Your staff treated us so good that I will recommend you to everyone that I know going to SD. God bless you... In Christ Pastor John Gallegos.
Aug 14, 2017
Nice place for kids and lots of things to do. Thanks for the breakfast (pancakes). Bathrooms were clean and people were friendly. Had some trouble sizing my RV and trailer in the space that was assigned to us. Tight fit.
Aug 14, 2017
Family vacation, what an unexpected pleasure!
Aug 14, 2017
Aug 14, 2017
Pros and Cons at this KOA, the sites are WAY too close together, but they do have all the amenities on the grounds you'd ever want at a "campground." Happy to see the bathrooms were updated and cleaner than in recent years! Cabin however was not as clean and in fact the bottom bunk was in need of repair, broken and at a slant. :/
Aug 14, 2017
The showers were very old and dirty and our camp site was small and the picnic table was broken/unusable. But the kids LOVED the fun zone and all the activities.
Aug 14, 2017
Aug 14, 2017
A quick trip to visit Mt Rushmore monument with family. Very expensive if you are not using the amenities. The staff is NOT friendly. If you are interested in horseback riding or golf cart/UTV rental - make reservations ahead of time. There is very little cell service and no wifi in the area. HUGE resort, decent sites. Loved the features on the deluxe sites, although did not get to stay at one
Aug 13, 2017
Aug 13, 2017
Very helpful and friendly staff , very clean grounds and bathrooms. Quiet time is quiet especially after long day of travel. Most impressive koa we have stayed at, I worked in a customer drivin industry your facility is right on top. Please pass this on to your employees they are on the front lines of your business. Thank you once again. Shannon and Gary Macias Sacramento California
Aug 13, 2017
Aug 13, 2017
Aug 13, 2017
Good and propre facilities, but to great with too much guests.
Aug 13, 2017
great
Aug 13, 2017
It was an amazing place to stay with lots to do within the resort, not to mention how close it was to so many attractions outside the resort. Highly recommended!!
Aug 13, 2017
Aug 13, 2017
Great place to stay. Family friendly.
Aug 13, 2017
Not just a Kamoground - a real Camping Resort. Great to have all the amenities on-site; especially the extensive trail riding stables. We will be back next year!!!
Aug 13, 2017
Very nice place. Cabins nice. Bathroom near front of campground needs remodeling considering how much money this place rakes in. Very nice staff! Would definitely stay here again! Great location!
Aug 13, 2017
Awesome!!
Aug 13, 2017
Great location lots of kids programs. Only bad was last day there went for pancakes and they closed the grill early due to not being used for only 15 minutes had to go find a Mc Donalds
Aug 13, 2017
It was very nice!
Aug 13, 2017
The perfect campground with perfect amenities
Aug 13, 2017
Everything was wonderful except no phone service
Aug 13, 2017
Aug 13, 2017
Absolutely awesome place everybody was friendly and courteous loved it perfect can't wait to come back thank you so much.
Aug 13, 2017
Excellent facilities! And it was quiet at night, even in the midst of the Sturgis rally. Outstanding staff. We loved our stay and would recommend this place to anyone.
Aug 13, 2017
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy