Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open May 1 - October 1

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 17, 2017
It was a very enjoyable stay. Love the family activities and the pan cake breakfast was a hit.
Aug 17, 2017
Aug 17, 2017
Aug 17, 2017
Clean bathrooms and lots to do. Make sure not to use phone directions to find this KOA or you'll come in the single lane gravel back road. Guess there's supposed to be a sign to help avoid this but we sure didn't see it
Aug 17, 2017
All in all it was a very nice RV park with lots of activities for the kids. I must say the shower facilities needs cleaned. The fiberglass shower stalls had built up scum on them, that was disappointing considering the cost of $100.00 a night. Definitely a money maker for the owners!
Aug 17, 2017
The employees at the Play Zone do not care about their jobs or your children. My daughter was climbing the rock wall and almost to the top when the employee started freaking out that she forgot to put my daughter's helmet. She was to busy talking to another employee. I have more to say about the other activities but they will not let me write anymore!
Aug 17, 2017
The original site we had was too small for all our bikes and tents, but staff was able to rent is the spot next to us as well. This KOA is by far a 5 star campground!! Amazing grounds, tons of options, and bathroom #2 was outstanding!!
Aug 17, 2017
Very nice place to spend days or weeks, clean lot of activities, 5 star amenities, organised . Excellent.
Aug 16, 2017
Aug 16, 2017
Aug 16, 2017
Aug 16, 2017
It was amazing! We have had friends stay here and it lived up to their recommendation. We loved all the things for kids to do, the ATV trails, the location, etc.
Aug 16, 2017
yes nice campsite but if you want to stay in touch limited cell service
Aug 16, 2017
This campground is awesom! So much for the kids to do, and great facilities. By far the nicest campground we have stayed at!!
Aug 16, 2017
"Wow!" is all I can say. Everything under the sun was available and we even debated skipping all of our other plans, just to hang out at the campground!!! What a clean, friendly and AMAZING facility! We will be back for sure!
Aug 16, 2017
Beautiful setting, wonderful campstore with lots of merchandise. Coffee bar delicious. Friendly staff. Putt putt and activities superb. Need to improve bathroom facilities and cleanliness. Bathrooms may have been dirty due to crowd with Sturgis motorcycle fest, etc.
Aug 16, 2017
Rented a cabin that had hundreds of dead flies in it. No way housekeeping touched the place in awhile. Told the front desk and they did nothing.
Aug 16, 2017
Crowded but lots to do at the KOA and very close to Mount Rushmore. Very well run and organized.
Aug 16, 2017
Great location, great amenities, great service!
Aug 16, 2017
The location was great, and the amenities were amazing. Our camping site had the neighbors sewer hook up right in the middle of our sight which was not very nice....
Aug 16, 2017
The staff was always very helpful! The activities were great and kept both our 4 and 16 yr old busy!
Aug 16, 2017
Loved how there were so many opportunities for different activities.
Aug 16, 2017
A very convenient location, a massive campground that is well maintained, with lots to do for everyone. But, be warned, there is very poor cell coverage (AT&T) and wifi never works, even if they say it sometimes works!
Aug 16, 2017
We stayed 1 night in a cabin. It was a very busy KOA. Not really my kind of pace... But they had great amenities for kids. Although I thought charging for bike rentals was a bit over the top especially when you are already paying extra to stay at a KOA resort.
Aug 16, 2017
Staff was not very friendly when we arrived. Our tent site was TINY and didn't have any flat space to put our tent on, so we had to sleep on an incline. Restrooms were very clean and well kept, and the campground seemed like a fun and family-friendly atmosphere. Would return someday but definitely request a more secluded or bigger tent site so there's actually space to camp.
Aug 16, 2017
Staff were able to accommodate our request for a different tent site. Very spacious and clean. A lot of fun activities for kids and family. Staff were friendly. Would definitely return!
Aug 15, 2017
My favorite family campground
Aug 15, 2017
Cabin was very clean, we will be returning next year
Aug 15, 2017
FANTASTIC,,,the kids and adults,,had a great time,,,we shall return.. Thanks,, Scott
Aug 15, 2017
Stay was good, restrooms and showers need to be remodeled they are not in good shape and one shower didn't even work. Other showers have low pressure.
Aug 15, 2017
Very friendly staff. Campground was clean and well organized
Aug 15, 2017
Aug 15, 2017
Aug 15, 2017
Aug 15, 2017
Very nice campground and very convenient to the sites of the Ruhmore area.
Aug 15, 2017
They put us right in a group of a family reunion people walking through our camp site and little kids riding there bikes through it. Was very disappointed.
Aug 15, 2017
I have stayed at this KOA several times and really enjoyed it but when booking a site and stating you are traveling on a motorcycle consideration should be taken for ease of access to your site.
Aug 15, 2017
Aug 15, 2017
It was beautiful, the staff were friendly, you have everything available to you, the bathrooms were clean and our tent site was perfect.
Aug 15, 2017
Excellent amenities! Clean well kept cabins and grounds. Helpful courteous staff! Lots to do and something for everyone! We were a family group of 7 adults and 8 kids. This was the 3rd time we stayed at Palmer Gulch and we'll be back. Loved it!
Aug 15, 2017
Loved it, very pleasant staff and atmosphere.
Aug 15, 2017
Bathrooms/showers were gross at times. Need to be cleaned more often when busy. Would have liked better WiFi, because it was so full internet was basically non existent, which also can be a pro...
Aug 15, 2017
Our stay was awesome! Thereally was so much to do and see at the campground and in the area. Our only problem was that the GPS took us to the service entrance of the campground and it was difficult to find driving an RV.
Aug 15, 2017
Aug 15, 2017
We loved our time here. It was very clean, well maintained, loads of things to do and very little cell phone service (which is a good thing).
Aug 15, 2017
Aug 15, 2017
Aug 15, 2017
The staff was friendly. The pizza was very good. The cabin was what we expected. We did not have any problems during our 4 night stay. Location was perfect-both the campground and the location of our cabin. Talked to many people from different parts of the country that you don't get to do when staying in motels. Sitting on the front porch each night is what made it all great.
Aug 15, 2017
This was a pretty good stay, some of the employees didn't want to answer a single question before 7 am which was a little off putting.
Aug 15, 2017
overall good
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy