Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open May 1 - October 1

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 20, 2017
Kids are always excited to stay. Always something to do. I haven't found a better campground yet.
Aug 20, 2017
Aug 20, 2017
The site we had really had no place to put a tent. Hard ground with rock underneath that made it hard to stake.
Aug 20, 2017
This koa was a ton of fun, especially if you have kids. There were a couple of things I think they should fix 1. Move the fire pits from in front of the cabin. Our cabin was filled with smoke after making smores. 2. Update your bathroom by the pool. Other than that it was great!
Aug 20, 2017
Aug 20, 2017
Loved every thing but the showers by our campsite were not kept very clean. Would have them checked more often
Aug 19, 2017
Had great time would like to go back.
Aug 19, 2017
Excellent place to stay, plenty of things to do. Park and bathroom were exceptionally clean.
Aug 19, 2017
Awesome KOA. Well maintained and tons of activities. Only negative is no cell signal or wifi
Aug 19, 2017
I was very impressed with the campground and especially the way the bathrooms and showers were cleaned so often. Thanks for the fun activities. We played volleyball, basketball, ping pong, mini golf, climbed the rock wall, went swimming, played in splash pad, rode the fire truck, went on the water slide, went to the magic show, and nightly movies. For a fee we rented bikes and loved the bike path.
Aug 19, 2017
You need EXIT signs to show RVs how to leave the campground! We dont need Regeistration..we need to LEAVE. Put PATHS to Restrooms BET\WEEN sites...we got SICK AND TIRED of people walking across our site headed to the bathrooms...We were on site 164 in an RV. They walk thru even when your sitting outside trying to read....how RUDE....YOU can do your part...provide signs directing people.
Aug 19, 2017
Internet needs to work. Horrible signal.
Aug 19, 2017
The staff was very friendly everywhere we visited at the resort - the concierge, Turtle Town, Ponderosa, and the general store. We had some difficulty setting up some things, since we were renting our RV, and the concierge asked an employee to stop by our campsite to answer our question. The employee was there within minutes, and was incredibly helpful. The Fun Zone was perfect for our kids!
Aug 19, 2017
Aug 19, 2017
Our awning broke on our RV as we were packing up to leave, I went to the front desk to ask about getting some help from maintenance. The person working had no intention of going out of their way to make sure we got some help. Maintenance never showed up, I had to get some wire from the guys fixing your gate. That's not alright. The showers were pretty nasty. It took 4 workers to change the TP.
Aug 19, 2017
love the Rv Park. Very clean but you need more washers and dryers. we had to go to three different sites where laundry was available there. Campers in tents and large families occupied the laundry for hours at a time using all the washers and dryer available. I realize summer is peak time.. when you are traveling it is not your desire to spend all day waiting for a place to do laundry.
Aug 19, 2017
We had a great time during our stay. Lots of options for kids activities
Aug 19, 2017
Very good with the exception that our lot had gravel only so the tent had to be on gravel, which wears on the tent bottom and is uncomfortable to walk on inside the tent with bare feet. The only other issue is to maybe put up signs and remind people when they check in that quiet time is 10 pm to 7 am. The people next to us packed up at 4:30 am on Thursday. Be good to leave more info but no room
Aug 19, 2017
Best place that we have stayed. Love this place. Lots of fun!!! 5 stars !!! We have stayed here almost 18 years !!
Aug 19, 2017
Nice family resort.
Aug 19, 2017
Beds in the cabins are very uncomfortable but otherwise it's a nice campground.
Aug 19, 2017
We were not happy with the camping squeeze. Difficult to park outfit and had campers practically on top of us .Wifi was not existent.
Aug 19, 2017
Enjoyed all of the activities available but bathhouse needs to be cleaned more often and trashbins in shower area. Also, rock climbing wall was down.
Aug 19, 2017
Some psycho woman accosted us about wasting water as I was letting the water run to clear out the crap, as per instructed by KOA staff. And we had our camera stolen from out test. Never going back to KOA.
Aug 19, 2017
We were very disappointed in the site we were given. We were up on the hill and we could not get our rv level. Also the grassy area was 4 feet wide and on such a slope that only 2 people could sit at the fire. We move to another spot and it didn't work either. We ended up at a third spot. The grass was over 6 inches long. The showers had mud and dirt on the floor no matter what time of the day.
Aug 19, 2017
We had a great time in our camping cabin. The park is outstanding with lots of things to do.
Aug 19, 2017
We stayed in a 4 person cabin, the location was great. The bathrooms/ showers were very clean.
Aug 19, 2017
This is a beautiful facility with great staff. I only wish I had more time here.
Aug 18, 2017
This is an awesome campground to stay at. There is so much to do at the campground and close by the campground. This was our 3rd time here in last 4 years. We will be be back.
Aug 18, 2017
30/50 amp back in site (646) was a good fit for my 20 foot Toyhauler RV, truck, and 2 motorcycles. Great campground for families, and great location. ..as others have said there is no cell service for Verizon customers, and no over the air TV signal. Not much of a problem for us as we came to the black hills to catch the last part of Sturgis week. Chuck wagon dinner show was a great experience.
Aug 18, 2017
Great KOA!
Aug 18, 2017
We had such an amazing time. We enjoyed Mt. Rushmore, Crazy Horse, Custer but our favorite thing was just hanging around the Mt. Rushmore KOA.
Aug 18, 2017
Aug 18, 2017
It was ok. Bathrooms weren't very clean and the sites were very close together. Spread out the sites and clean the bathrooms and I'd think about coming back.
Aug 18, 2017
Aug 18, 2017
My tent campsite was amazing! Up on a hill overlooking the campground. Just beautiful. Plus it was a huge site with other tent sights about 50 ft away with lots of trees in between. I wish I could have stayed there longer.
Aug 18, 2017
The park was convenient to Rushmore and other places; the staff was attentive and professional, and there were a lot of activities. However, we had no connectivity - cellular or WiFi. One of these is a must for today's parks. As a result, I can not recommend or rate the park highly.
Aug 18, 2017
I could not find my 8 year old daughter and was becoming worried. Within 5 minutes of asking for help from the staff she was located. I felt that the staff made this a top priority. It was impressive how the staff all worked together and found her so quickly. Thank you!
Aug 18, 2017
We were able to visit Mt Rushmore, The Crazy Horse Monument, Bear Country & Custer Park due to The perfect location for us! We stayed 2 days and it was not enough! So much to see & enjoy. Love Black Hill City, Custer. Lots of activities that will keep you busy, since there is "No Phone Service" not internet, you have to leave the park to get some signal. Love this Koa, no trains !
Aug 17, 2017
We stay here whenever we are in the Black Hills, every 2-3 years. That said, our premium site was not well maintained. Big ruts full of water in our pull through and we had to request gravel to fill them in. That should have been done before we arrived. The grill was dirty and filled with grease that had spilled on concrete staining it. Grass and scrubs were not well maintained.
Aug 17, 2017
All in All it was a great two week stay at your property. We really enjoyed the pancake breakfast and the close vicinity to many Black Hills attractions. We didn't like that we could never obtain a web link in order to read e-mails or pay bills on the road like we can at most KOA facilities. We also had a hard time finding any cellphone connectivity but that may be typical for the BH's.
Aug 17, 2017
We were very pleased with our stay. The amenities and service were great. We look forward to returning.
Aug 17, 2017
KOA should identify that the Mount Rushmore site is in an area that you cannot receive any phone, wi-fi or tv services. Other than that a great campsite.
Aug 17, 2017
Everyone was wonderful. Just an all around great place with several things to do.
Aug 17, 2017
Everyone was so helpfull. The camp grounds were beautiful. We were amazed at how much there was to do at the camp ground. We will be back.
Aug 17, 2017
Everything you need for an extended stay is right here located in the heart of the black hills.
Aug 17, 2017
It would be nice to have access to recycling in the future. Also, there was an issue with our campsite set up as far as some confusion about a wooden bench/swing that were not in the proper locations. Otherwise, we had a great time.
Aug 17, 2017
Aug 17, 2017
We really weren't there long enough to give an accurate opinion. Reserved and paid on-line so heck-in was very easy and despite how busy it was we didn't have to wait long to be taken to our spot.
Aug 17, 2017
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy