Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open May 1 - October 1

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Info: 605-574-2525

Email This Campground

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Sep 24, 2017
Fantastic stay. Beautiful accommodations. Thank you for a great stay!!
Sep 24, 2017
just spent one night there. did not know that this was a resort and geared for families. We had a small pop up camper and did not utilize most of what was there.
Sep 23, 2017
I wish you continued all your activities until you close for the winter ... the hot tub should be available ... and your shuttle to the lighting ceremony at Mt. Rushmore.
Sep 23, 2017
We stayed for 5 nights in our 5th wheel toyhauler. We had a request for a wide site since we have a side loading ramp for our cycle. The staff took us out to a few sites to see which on would work best for us. We appreciated that. It was nice having 2 separate pools, one more for children near all the kiddie activities and another quieter one with hot tub that we enjoyed after long cycle rides.
Sep 23, 2017
Great place to stay. Well kept and exceptionally clean bathroom facilities. Been there three times and always has been a great experiance! A+++++
Sep 23, 2017
Super location! We were there off season and shops closed. Need to have the coffee shop open! WiFi limited to shop area. Make it available to camping areas. The camp grounds are nicely maintained showers and rest rooms clean. Staff friendly and professional
Sep 23, 2017
thes is a good plac but to big for us we lovd the littal one
Sep 23, 2017
Sep 23, 2017
The place was great. The staff was excellent. I will definitely come back
Sep 22, 2017
Sep 22, 2017
The campsite was very nice, but the bathrooms were not close to the camping cabins we were in, and there was no wash station at the bathrooms/showers. It was very convenient to view Mount Rushmore and the surrounding attractions, so that made it worth it.
Sep 22, 2017
Great location for sightseeing. Staff was very helpful. Comfort station 2 needs better shower heads otherwise perfect.
Sep 22, 2017
Need better WiFi. A great place to stay.
Sep 22, 2017
Wifi terribly bad and unusable. A shame for the biggest KOA!!!
Sep 21, 2017
Sep 21, 2017
This place is huge, not what we were expecting. The office is very unorganized!! A pit bull charge my dog and I, when we went to the office to report it I waited at least 20 minutes to talk to someone. Stood in line so long (30 minutes) to sign up for the bus to Mt. Rushmore it left without us.
Sep 21, 2017
We had a awesome time! Staff was awesome!
Sep 21, 2017
Sep 21, 2017
No mobile phone service in almost all of the park. Otherwise enjoyed our stay. Staff is awesome.
Sep 21, 2017
Nice campground, but a little tight on the spaces. Also, there were puddles everywhere.
Sep 21, 2017
Having a Roadtrek the #104 campsite was perfect.
Sep 20, 2017
Sep 20, 2017
Our stay was OK except for poor cell and Wi-Fi, And they need new shower curtains The one in the stall I used looked like some cut it in half with an ax It only covered 1/2 the opening causing water to get all over the floor So the floor was wet making it difficult to find a dry spot to stand on to get dressed.
Sep 20, 2017
This is a pretty campground in a very convenient location for Mt. Rushmore and Crazy Horse. The only negative besides being on the expensive side is that there is zero cell service and the wifi is almost nonexistent.
Sep 20, 2017
Beautiful spot with super clean bathroom and showers. Staff was friendly efficient and accommodating. It would have been nice to have water nearby the rent sites for washing utensils and dishes but we managed. Bring a bucket and a basin.
Sep 20, 2017
Had a wonderful time, plenty of things to do in camp.
Sep 20, 2017
Stayed here years ago and it was great. This time it wasn't. Website should say EVERYTHING is closed. We expected the pool to be closed but not everything else. Cabin was not worth $67! Swing was broken, wife sat down fell backwards and spilled hot coffee on her. No heat website should tell you that for sure! Someone's sweater left under bed, dead bugs everywhere! Very unkept. Gross!
Sep 19, 2017
Sep 19, 2017
Sites were crowded but adequate. Staff was very helpful and friendly. WiFi and phone service was very poor but cable TV was great. DO NOT FOLLOW GPS DIRECTIONS!!! GPS brought us on barely passable dirt road, thought we would never see civilization again!! Convenient to all the area attractions (Mt Rushmore, Crazy Horse, etc)
Sep 19, 2017
Some staff unfriendly, beautiful campsite. Didn't disclose up front some services or buildings clos d for the season....such as pool. Laundry mat and bathroom/showers close to our site. Nlimited internet.
Sep 19, 2017
Good place for family
Sep 18, 2017
Top Notch Park!
Sep 18, 2017
Space was too short for our 5th wheel. No room for truck to park. The amenities are great, but spaces have not grown with the times. Watched numerous people struggle to fit campers in spaces as there was little turning radius as well
Sep 18, 2017
. Definitely the place to stay with kids. Family oriented campground with many activities to enjoy. Beautiful setting among the trees and mountains. Very Clean and excellent customer service. You will not be disappointed.
Sep 18, 2017
The campground is well maintained and clean. I would not recommend staying here after Labor Day weekend. My 8 year was greeted at registration with "oh honey, you came too late all the good stuff is over". Throughout our stay we discovered the KOA is not concerned with keeping their usual supplies in stock even though they weren't scheduled to close for 2 more wks? Try to get reduced rate?
Sep 18, 2017
I received KOA email re buy one get one for 7/15 and 16. We took advantage of that offer 2 years ago at Mt Rushmore KOA so we booked again this year. My card expired in Aug so I bought a new one to make sure I got the BOGO deal. When I booked, one night was charged to my card, but on arrival they told me the location doesn't honor the BOGO deal and charged me for the second night. Kind of angry.
Sep 18, 2017
Huge CG with lots of amenities. Clean restrooms and showers.
Sep 18, 2017
We were there Sept 9 and 10. You had already closed so many things, yet you are open until the end of October. Wifi did not work and there was no cell service. This is very dangerous not to have these service's. Surely there is something you can do to improve the signals. Your deluxe sites are a joke compared to other campgrounds. They all need more space to be considered a deluxe site.
Sep 18, 2017
Awesome. It's what I've come to expect from KOA!!!
Sep 18, 2017
Sep 18, 2017
What a fantastic place! Everything was outstanding. Customer service impeccable. Clean restrooms, excellent showers. The grounds are beautiful.
Sep 18, 2017
Nice place and real close to area activities. The roads in the park need maintenance!! Gravel must be plentiful in your area, and some could get put on the sites and roads in the park. Staff was great and no issues with anything else.
Sep 18, 2017
Excellent facilities with exception of old bathrooms. Had a significant water leak, two days to fix. Location is also great to visit all sights in the Black Hills area
Sep 18, 2017
Nice staff and great facility. Enjoyed our stay!
Sep 18, 2017
Your place is a 10 but you need to shore up the dead spots for your wifi.
Sep 17, 2017
Sep 17, 2017
KOA is a nice facility. We were there week after Labor Day and unfortunately they had a lot shut down already, even though weather was warm & they were quite full. Bathrooms were nice but not what I consider 'clean' - shower floors dirty, bugs around sink faucets. Team members were friendly & helpful. Not much shade & windy. Sites are average size. 10 min from Mt Rushmore. Seemed overpriced.
Sep 17, 2017
Sep 17, 2017
Sep 17, 2017
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy