Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open May 1 - October 1

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 23, 2017
Loved our stay, best campground with tons of activities hands down. We will definitely be back. Our new favorite place!!!
Aug 23, 2017
Nice big RV park. I liked the ice cream shop. Great to see all the horses. There is alot of stuff for the kids, more so than any other park I have been to. Two cons I was not crazy about. The site was very unlevel and the bathrooms need to be cleaner. For the price, they need to either update their bathrooms or fix them up.. Every shower I used had no hooks that were ripped off walls.
Aug 23, 2017
Aug 23, 2017
This was our 3rd stay and each one has been better than the previous. You all have always been so friendly and helpful when needed. LOTS of things to do and LOTS of space to do them in. We were really happy to have been there this year on Rodeo night. We'll try to plan our next visit on a future Rodeo. Thank you!
Aug 23, 2017
everyone was so friendly and helpful. We loved the rodeo that was included with our stay and the wine tasting was awesome. We are planning to stay again next year, but for a few more days!!!
Aug 23, 2017
Our stay was wonderful! There's so much for the kids to do, fun bike paths to cruise around on, mini golf, pools, waterslide and so much more all while your being surrounded by beautiful scenery! Couldn't have enjoyed it anymore than we did. We will be back!
Aug 23, 2017
Great location! Wonderful activities for kids. Clean cabins and friendly staff. My only real complaint is that the showers were pretty gross.. like dont put anything clean on the floor especially children (which is quite a feat when you need to shower your child!). Also.. after being at the koa in glacier the beds were also not as comfy but that's getting really heavy on the clam in the camping.
Aug 23, 2017
The most crowded campground I've ever visited, no wifi and shouldn't be advertised that there is, lots of activities for children, have to drive out a couple miles to get any cell service,
Aug 23, 2017
Very enjoyable, beautiful and friendly
Aug 23, 2017
1 night first ever kamping kabin stay (motorcycle trip). Very cool rustic and fun. Mattress was kind of hard after a long day on bikes, but expected that. Didn't get to do any activities, but plan on returning someday with RV!
Aug 23, 2017
2 nights in camping cabin Saw Mount Rushmore, crazy horse and a few local towns
Aug 23, 2017
Although a very busy place, the busyness never impacted any aspect of our stay. Something for everyone. Music one night was the Hill City Slickers. They were funny and the music was fun and well done. Would definitely stay there again if in the area.
Aug 23, 2017
You have some of the nicest people in the world. Our family enjoyed a long overdue vacation.
Aug 23, 2017
Everything was good except for the K9 run. It was out of bags for 2 days and became a minefield. When we left the camp, the situation was still not taken care of.
Aug 23, 2017
A wonderful time, the kids love the fun zone and the location is great! We all enjoyed the Rodeo!
Aug 23, 2017
The campground is in a beautiful location but was far too busy for our liking. Our campsite was very close to our neighbors and not very level at all, not to mention we almost hit a tree because the turns were pretty narrow up by our site. the facilities weren't bad though. The number of people is what will keep us away in the future.
Aug 23, 2017
Aug 23, 2017
Aug 23, 2017
Let them know we would be arriving late, they didn't leave us a key. After 14 hours in the car we had to find someone to let us in the cabin. 42 degree weather and no heat, had to walk about 1000 feet to get to the dirty bathroom, the place smells like horse manure. We left and checked into a hotel in Custer, $20 more/ night included breakfast and a heated pool and Jacuzzi.
Aug 23, 2017
Best KOA we have stayed at..
Aug 23, 2017
Absolutely stunning camping resort. Friendly folks
Aug 23, 2017
The shower I used was dirty! Definitely not cleaned recently.ps..you should advertise you have wifi.. when you don't !
Aug 22, 2017
Aug 22, 2017
No complaints exceptmore bathrooms and cleaner bathrooms/showers. Great amenities! Love the surroynding area. Great views! Very family friendly!
Aug 22, 2017
Great location, clean, friendly staff. So much for the kids to do you wouldn't have to leave to have fun.
Aug 22, 2017
What a great property! We have four kids (mostly under 10) and we always opt to stay in simple properties because we spend most of our time out sightseeing. This time, however, we decided to make this KOA a base to give the kids a break after our touring each day. The activities and events were fantastic and we all REALLY enjoyed the accommodations (tent for us). Thanks for the great time!!
Aug 22, 2017
Way too crowded. Overpriced.
Aug 22, 2017
Tons of great family things to do. Could easily spend a week here and never get bored.
Aug 22, 2017
This is our favorite KOA! It's going to be next year's family vacation as well. Can't say enough good about this place.
Aug 22, 2017
Aug 22, 2017
Best KOA facility we have stayed at. Will definitely stay there again if/when we come back to the area.
Aug 22, 2017
This camper comment has been removed by KOA due to profanity.
Aug 22, 2017
Great koa. Big but very nice. Had a full service pull through. Perfect for a 26ft toy hauler to unload harley. Location perfect for what we had wanted to do. Take their bus to my Rushmore lighting. Don't fight the traffic.
Aug 22, 2017
very enjoyable, the bathroom were a little messy.
Aug 22, 2017
This was our second visit to this particular KOA. The first time, it was just e and my husband and we secured a tent camp site. We enjoyed it so much, that we planned a visit with the kids for this year and stayed in a deluxe cabin. It was a gorgeous site, and we LOVED the spacious cabin. The kids wanted to stay and play all day. My son mentioned to me a few times that he wanted to live there.
Aug 22, 2017
I chose a number right in the middle as the campground was great except I NEEDED a wireless spot as promised because my sister was coming to the campsite [to stay at The Lodge] days after we arrived and I was not able to contact her as needed! I really feel that potential campers should be TOLD that there is rarely any connection instead of being assured of the 3 WIFI spots that don't deliver!
Aug 22, 2017
Aug 22, 2017
Great place for kids and family absolutely love it!!
Aug 22, 2017
Great activities for all ages and close proximity to numerous attractions in the area.
Aug 22, 2017
Aug 22, 2017
Amazing amenities for the low cost!!
Aug 22, 2017
We had a great time, there was something to do all the time and your staff was very friendly.
Aug 22, 2017
Our family had a great time and we enjoyed our stay very much!
Aug 22, 2017
Aug 22, 2017
Another brief stay along the way!
Aug 22, 2017
It is hard to make plans or change activity plans or bring up maps without internet or cell service. It would be nice to have that as an option.
Aug 22, 2017
You cram too many RVs in the place especially back by the arena. Some people could not even open their slide outs or put out their awnings. We did not have room for our trailer after all and had to leave it detached in the field.
Aug 22, 2017
Incredible! Gorgeous location, UNPARALLELED amenities. Price for a pull through w/e sight was the same as we've payed elsewhere throughout the country for a third of the amenities. Clean, well maintained, awesome staff.
Aug 22, 2017
Overall nice facility. A lot to do, but expensive. RV spaces are close together, but nice. Bathrooms are old, need updating.
Aug 21, 2017
Made reservations in Dec of 16 for a family reunion, asked for a larger lot with 50 amp service, was told no problem. We arrived on July 23rd of 2017, check in went great. When arrived on are camp site, this is where it went bad. It was about the smallest site on your property that I saw, it was only a 30 Amp service. Went up to office to discuss. Customer service sucked!! They could care less!!
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy