Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open May 1 - October 1

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 26, 2017
Everthing great except for the lo water pressure in the camp or maybe you had a clogged water filter, in shower hse #2 which may have been due to the hordes of people attending
Aug 26, 2017
Large campground with great facilities, showers are great, good food in the restaurant but downside is extremely poor wifi, almost impossible to connect.
Aug 26, 2017
Love all the activities for the kids especially the horses and water slide. Mama loved the coffee shop and wine bar. Very friendly staff and the foreign student work program you participate in is wonderful!
Aug 25, 2017
Several Lights in our cabin did not work. The shower was supposed to have hot water on demand, but after 20 minutes of running cold water each time it was obvious that there was not hot water.
Aug 25, 2017
/nice campground with lots of amenities. Spaces weren't too cramped. Good shower and laundry facilities.
Aug 25, 2017
Wonderful. Best time ever.!!
Aug 25, 2017
Second time we stayed with you. Two years ago with an RV. This time in a deluxe cabin. Awesome. Loved it. Thank you.
Aug 25, 2017
we were with family members w/small children that would appreciate the amenities offered. The cost for us was excessive. We didn't utilize the amenities offered. Rating a 4 because our site was not close to being flat & leveling our camper, or for that matter, having a flat place to sit in lawn chairs was almost impossible. It is a very nice campground.
Aug 25, 2017
Everything & everyone with KOA was great. One thing is kids riding bikes not watching out for others. Also the speed limit in the campground should be for bicycles, atv's, golf carts & all vehicles. Thank you.
Aug 25, 2017
Mattress cover was filthy and it too a long tome to get someone to come and clean it. Perhaps a larger support crew is needed for the volume of people that this KOA accomdates.
Aug 25, 2017
We came to for a week to see the sites. The campground was full of activities but not overbearing. The staff was super friendly and concerned for our needs. We would definitely return
Aug 25, 2017
I had explicitly requested a tent campsite away from any activity sites - what we got was immediately adjacent to a dhildren's playground that was active well after dusk and before the posted 8am window. The site was not level ( making tent camping almost impossible), and was subjected to the non-IDA-compliant lighting on the nearby comfort station throughout the night. NOT PLEASANT!
Aug 25, 2017
Aug 25, 2017
Aug 25, 2017
Aug 25, 2017
Nice place, very expensive
Aug 25, 2017
Very over priced and wifi doesn't work
Aug 25, 2017
Aug 25, 2017
My first KOA/campcabin. Complex/cabin Nice. However at 10:00PM using womens comfort station UNANNOUNCED 2 males-1 female teens (speaking Russian?) KOA employees walked in. They checked toilet/shower said "clean/toilet paper" walked out, came back in UNANNOUNCED to flush. I and other camper w/2 kids were surprised/uncomfortable. If this is common practice I'd never recommend KOA!
Aug 25, 2017
Awesome campground. Lots of activities for young and old. I've stayed at many others and non can compare. I'll definitely be back. I'm already recommending it to friends and family. ð
Aug 25, 2017
Although grounds were nice I only gave 4 stars because of no internet service that I could find anywhere on grounds. Our site was very small and next to rodeo arena which smelled of horses.
Aug 25, 2017
My wife and I enjoyed our stay and the area around the campground. The staff was very helpful and pleasant. Ben was very helpful about getting us transportation, my wife has difficulties in getting around. Once again, A BIG THANKYOU.
Aug 25, 2017
AMAZING!! We would & WILL recommend this KOA to ANYONE!!
Aug 24, 2017
Would stay here again. Nice place.
Aug 24, 2017
Aug 24, 2017
ALWAYS A NICE CLEAN PLACE TO STAY, FRIENDLY STAFF VERY ACCOMMODATING.
Aug 24, 2017
Everything with the campground was wonderful, except the Ponderosa restaurant was terrible, I would definitely not eat there again.
Aug 24, 2017
Lovely facility, clean, well maintained, TONS of activities for all members of the family, gorgeous location in Hill City near lots of attractions. This is now our yearly vacation place.
Aug 24, 2017
Didn't stay. Horrible experience at another koa. Will never stay at one again.
Aug 24, 2017
Everyone was very nice and accomadating
Aug 24, 2017
Aug 24, 2017
People were friendly and helpful. Great stay. Thanks
Aug 24, 2017
The camp ground is Fantastic! The Koa main store is high on groceries.
Aug 24, 2017
Aug 24, 2017
Very good location for Mr Rushmore, Crazy Horse & Custer Park. Nice bar & Resturant.
Aug 24, 2017
While the facility itself was great, our actual campsite left a little to be desired. There was no where in our plot that was actually level to pitch our tent on. So we had a rough night of sleep while 'sliding down a hill' inside our tent.
Aug 24, 2017
we enjoyed pancakes mini golf and the fun zone. The shuttle was nice to go see the lighting of Mount Rushmore, enjoyed the driver's hospitality and knowledge of area. Facilities all very clean and well-kept. We also really liked the Sunday morning chapel service :)
Aug 24, 2017
Friendly staff. Great memories. Bus to Mt. Rushmore is wonderful, don't change any part of it!
Aug 24, 2017
A shuttle was provided to Mt. Rushmore's evening ceremony. A bit pricey, but convenient. We had stayed here 23 years ago. The resort has grown. We found it to be a little too busy for us. Our site was short and on the main road, and though our RV is only 25' long, there was barely room for the RV, car, and tow dolly. You're packing them in too tight. Probably won't go back again.
Aug 24, 2017
Stay was good. But the no phone service and wifi in only certain places kind of sucked. We were on our way through, with a stop at My. Rushmore. Kind of road weary. Stayed overnight. WiFi at our site would have been stellar. The current set up would be ok if we were to stay several days. But I couldn't even use my own data to check my email etc at my site.
Aug 24, 2017
The campground is a true resort! Incredible how much there is for guests to do. I wish I could have spent more time there. I want to thank Mike Atkinson for showing me around, clearly a big job for all the employees.
Aug 24, 2017
We like the facilities at Palmer Gulch. 2nd time staying here. Our one big complaint is the WiFi. Even sitting right outside the supposed hotspot areas, it was difficult to connect and signal was terrible. If you are going to advertise having WiFi, you need to do much better.
Aug 24, 2017
We had a wonderful time at Mount Rushmore and at our stay at the Rushmore KOA! The program and night time lighting of the monument is well worth the time. It was a very touching program. The morning pancakes were delicious and hit the spot! Will definitely return here with grandkids!
Aug 23, 2017
Aug 23, 2017
This is the 7th or 8th year we have stayed there and we love that we can reserve the same site for the next year when we leave. Next year we are staying almost 2 weeks during Sturgis bike week. We always have a great time and the workers at the KOA are outstanding. See ya next year. Dan Rodriguez - Las Vegas Nevada
Aug 23, 2017
Love the area,Love the people,we have stayed with you for several years and will continue to stay in the future. We are looking forward to the rodeo next year.
Aug 23, 2017
We had a amazing trip. Horseback riding (Little Kat was our guide - she was amazing!!!! We requested her for our second ride!!!) UTV rental - great time and Nathanial was great explaining the machine to us Cleanliness / bathroom etc amazing!!! Thank you for such an amazing time away with my daughters!!!
Aug 23, 2017
I really enjoyed the rodeo. I was extremely disappointed with the poor WIFI (useless actually). After asking a staff member I was told that they knew it was poor but there was nothing that could be done. With the extremely high price point of this KOA, the WIFI should work properly.
Aug 23, 2017
Rest room and showers could be cleaner!!
Aug 23, 2017
Fantastic!
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy