Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open May 1 - October 1

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Info: 605-574-2525

Email This Campground

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

May 17, 2018
Nicest KOA we have ever stayed at.
May 17, 2018
Only a 3 because a lot of stuff was not open and the internet was impossible ..usually we would give a 5 its our favorite KOA...thanks we hope to be staying again around the 15th of June ..
May 16, 2018
Beautiful campground, WiFi could be better
May 16, 2018
Our family of four were here for two nights. We would have liked to stay longer as this area is absolutely beautiful. This is my favorite campground this far and I have been camping for forty years. Thank you to your welcoming staff as well. We sure hope to return again in the future.
May 16, 2018
Staff were friendly and accommodated my personal needs. Difficulty lies in poor cell phone reception. I was unable to speak to friends or monitor my home security system because I only had one bar. Rental car on premises was a perk and very helpful. The campground was clean and neat with nice grassy areas. Dog park was quiet a hike and the bridge to it was shaky. Restaurant not recommended
May 16, 2018
Great place!
May 15, 2018
great place!!
May 15, 2018
Great place
May 15, 2018
May 15, 2018
May 15, 2018
great staff. great site
May 15, 2018
This is considered a "resort" KOA with a surcharge (they removed it since it is not yet Memorial Day). I would expect a resort to have WiFi throughout the campground, gravel or paved, not muddy roads, paper towels and hooks in the bathrooms. The bathrooms and showers were very clean and spacious, though.
May 14, 2018
Ok but the site was not long enough for our camper and truck. They said the site was 55 feet but our camper alone almost went the full length of the site and it's only about 30 feet. Not sure how you measure your sites.
May 14, 2018
This was our first stay, with our new camper, at a KOA...even though this was the off season...we entirely enjoyed our stay. The staff was exceptional! We will definitely be staying again!
May 14, 2018
Great, except a place this nice should have a better WiFi connection & cable tv
May 13, 2018
Did not like how men and women share the shower rooms in the same building. I do and did not feel safe.
May 13, 2018
Great bathrooms/showers. Very clean grounds and friendly staff.
May 13, 2018
This is a great place to stay if you want to see Mount Rushmore and other things near there. Very nice, clean, well maintained RV park resort. Lots of amenities. They even have rental cars if needed.
May 11, 2018
Great place!
May 11, 2018
We were very satisfied with our stay at the campground!!
May 11, 2018
Nathan was very helpful and professional, as were all the staff with whom we interacted. We would visit again.
May 11, 2018
Greatest staff. First time staying at a KOA and we were blown away with how much there was to do. Would highly recommend. They all loved our dogs and our American flag rv.
May 10, 2018
May 10, 2018
Nicest KOA we ever stayed at. Clean, clean, clean! Restrooms and showers were plentiful.
May 10, 2018
Awesome park! Need to get WiFi.
May 10, 2018
Excellent
May 10, 2018
Great facility that will wow you, huge property, lots to do, great staff, amazing store. Thank you very much!!
May 09, 2018
Loved the facility. Dog park needed the grass cut and new bags during our 3 day stay. We were there before all the amenities were open. No coffee creamer available to buy in store. And the internet issue is a disappointment.
May 09, 2018
Very nice people, great WiFi, have cable tv, clean shower and toilet
May 09, 2018
May 08, 2018
May 08, 2018
Very clean and spacious place to stay. Lots of avaiable activities.
May 08, 2018
It’s the 1st time we stay at a KOA as soon as we drove in and went to the registration office you can feel the friendly, family atmosphere. Everyone we met there was very helpful. We are looking forward for our next trip to stay at a KOA instead of a different kind of lodge in. Thanks to every staff member
May 08, 2018
May 07, 2018
May 07, 2018
This camper comment has been removed by KOA due to profanity.
May 07, 2018
Beautiful area and facilities. The workers and other guests were very helpful and friendly. We loved our stay.
May 07, 2018
Very nice not that crowded for this time of the year. Relaxing and enjoying MT. Rushmore. Very courteous and respectful. Thanks.
May 07, 2018
May 06, 2018
It was great. Best KOA we’ve ever seen. Please tell me were we could purchase a cabin like the one we stayed in. We’d like to put it in our own vacation lot.
May 06, 2018
Great place very clean. We only stayed overnight but enjoyed ourselves. Personal who met us in the office were very friendly and professional.
May 04, 2018
Very nice staff. Huge, pretty campground. We arrived on opening day for the season. They were still getting the resort ready for the season and most of the amenities weren’t open. However, it looks like after Memorial Day, it will be a fun place with lots of family activities. Mount Rushmore was just 5 miles away. We knew ahead of time, but we had no internet or cell service during our stay.
Nov 13, 2017
Oct 28, 2017
Oct 27, 2017
Nice campground however there is no cell service. We stayed here in June of 25-2016 and was told they where going to put in a cell tower. This time without thinking I assumed they had done so but on arrival found out they had decided not to put up a tower. We had reserved a spot for a week and where refused our deposit after deciding to move to another camp ground that had cell service.
Oct 26, 2017
Our favorire RV park. Always clean.
Oct 26, 2017
It was great for 1 night, we were the only ones there. Glad you were open, great location, nice level sight.
Oct 14, 2017
Oct 11, 2017
Oct 10, 2017
Was too foggy to see Mt Rushmore but the KOA was one of a kind. Will definitely be back to visit again!
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy