Montrose / Black Canyon Nat'l Park KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-9114

Reserve: 800-562-9114

Info: 970-249-9177

Info: 970-249-9177

Email

200 N Cedar Avenue

Montrose, CO 81401

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 15, 2017
Loved it the pool and showers were clean. Everyone was so nice.
Aug 15, 2017
Excellent KOA! We've stayed in 40+ KOAs and this is one of the best. Great sites, trees, clean modern facilities, great staff. And, reasonably priced for the quality.
Aug 14, 2017
Good gravel pull throughs. Nice grass at each site. Mature trees that add shade, however it can block tv satellite connectivity. The store has hardly anything, so don't count on getting any supplies there.
Aug 14, 2017
Aug 14, 2017
We were very please with everything, very friendly and helpful attendants and very clean facilities.
Aug 13, 2017
Owner very accommodating to our needs,much appreciated ð. No campfire rings / fires was only negative ð
Aug 13, 2017
Aug 13, 2017
Aug 13, 2017
Aug 12, 2017
Aug 12, 2017
Very nicely shaded, loved the grass, very clean, will visit again.
Aug 12, 2017
Well organized campground. Friendly staff
Aug 11, 2017
Pool and hot tub were very nice as well as laundry and restroom facilities. A little disappointed to find dog hair all over the bed inside the cabin we stayed in. Other than that we enjoyed our stay.
Aug 10, 2017
The staff was very accommodating. After making reservations for two sites I was told which adjacent site numbers I had, when I arrived the sites numbers were different and separated by two rows. I asked if it was possible to have the sites I was reserved and was told that they had to shift things around. The Manager worked to find two sites north and south of each other. Need to level the lots
Aug 10, 2017
See email. Management & staff behavior & demeanor at this facility not conducive to my family recommending or returning to the Montrose Rv park.
Aug 10, 2017
I expected it to be more remote (not in the city). This is also the first KOA we've stayed at and could not have a campfire. I did not realize that before we got there and would have packed differently and brought different meal options. But the campground was very clean and well maintained. All the staff were very friendly.
Aug 10, 2017
The tent "sites" are a disorganized mess. There were so many tents that there wasn't even room for us to set up our own tent and we had to sleep in our car. The Wi-Fi wouldn't connect and there was barely room for us to park. I don't even know what we paid for at that point.
Aug 10, 2017
Nice small park well maintained. Great staff.
Aug 09, 2017
We stayed here because of it's close proximity to the Black Canyon of the Gunnison National Park. It's a friendly and very clean campsite.
Aug 08, 2017
The bathrooms were nice. But they changed the door code on the men's bathroom while we were there, and they didn't notify us, so my husband couldn't use the bathroom until the office opened the next morning. We didn't know there was contact information on the door of the office. I wish they had pointed that out to me. Also, the tent sites weren't defined. And quiet hours weren't observed.
Aug 08, 2017
Aug 08, 2017
Very friendly hosts and care takers. Grounds are well cared for and very level sites.
Aug 07, 2017
Arrived at 6pm and started putting up our tent. It seemed that there was a corn festival in Montrose which caused all hotels booked out. As a result, the tent site was a full, even a little crowded. The restroom was clean and staff super helpful and friendly. There were quite some mosquitoes around dawn time, which was a downside.
Aug 07, 2017
Very good location, close the mian street of Montrose. Clean bathroom, kind personnel.
Aug 07, 2017
One clap of thunder, barely audible prompted the closure of the pool on a hot Saturday afternoon. When asked how they decide when to reopen, they weren't sure. Tent camping area very nice. No rhyme or reason as to where one should set up or park. Kind of a free-for-all.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I am sorry but if we hear thunder we close the pool for everyone's safety
Aug 06, 2017
Helpful staff and great location
Aug 05, 2017
Friendly people on staff. Nice spots with ample shade. Extras to amenities like beanbag and sheltered outdoor cooking area with large grills.
Aug 04, 2017
Workers were very friendly, bathrooms were very clean and we enjoyed our stay. BUT... If we stayed here again, I would request a back spot. We were the second spot in and heard EVERY car and revving motorcycle that came in and out ALL NIGHT LONG!! Really the front few spots should get a discounted rate for having to deal with this noise!
Aug 03, 2017
Aug 03, 2017
Nice, large shaded area. My only complaint is wifi was barely, if ever there.
Aug 03, 2017
The staff was amazing. The park was immaculate! Everything amenity was well maintained and in perfect condition. The cabins looked adorable. The lawns were manicured. The hot tub was the best ever... hot, clean and great jets. The cable and WiFi worked great. It was a real pleasure to stay here.
Aug 02, 2017
Jul 31, 2017
My kids enjoyed the bunk room. Everything was nice and clean. Thanks
Jul 30, 2017
Loved our stay, our kids loved they had a pool and husband enjoyed the hot tub. All the employees were awesome!
Jul 30, 2017
Nice amenities. Comfy cabin.
Jul 30, 2017
We had a cabin that was closest to the playground and pool area which ended up being quite noisy around 7:30am, which was annoying, as we arrived quite late the prior evening and didn't plan on being woken up that early. Would've been nice to have pool hours a bit later, especially during the summer.
Jul 29, 2017
Nicest bathrooms we've stayed at. Friendly staff who obviously care about the campground. Our site backed to an adjacent private property that was a bit odd.
Jul 28, 2017
Too many permanent residents.Felt like a trailer park. Would have preferred a site away from that area.Stayed 3 nights in a class A motor home.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I am sorry you e put back with our year around residents but when you make your reservation in July you need to plan more than 5 days ahead of when you will be in a campground
Jul 27, 2017
Good amenities and convenient to Black Canyon and town of Montrose. Shade trees, too.
Jul 27, 2017
Nice camp ground in a beautiful part of God's Creation.
Jul 27, 2017
Great KOA and great staff!
Jul 26, 2017
The grounds were beautiful, the staff was friendly, the facilities were clean, and it was peaceful.
Jul 26, 2017
Very nice campground with new and clean bathrooms, great swimming pool and hot tub, laundry room, and nice big spaces with grass and shade. Tons of things to do in the area. We would definitely stay here again!
Jul 26, 2017
Jul 25, 2017
Jul 24, 2017
It was a good and clean KOA.
Jul 24, 2017
Great people, who really care about your experience at the park and the area.
Jul 24, 2017
Jul 24, 2017
Except that my site did not have shade, (a plus in the winter) it was great. Lot's of shade throughout the rest of the campground. Great staff and well kept site. Hope to be back.
Jul 24, 2017
beautiful site, great staff HOT TUB!!!!!
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy