Mitchell KOA

Open May 1 - November 4

Reserve: 800-562-1236

Reserve: 800-562-1236

Info: 605-996-1131

Info: 605-996-1131

Email

41255 South Dakota Highway 38

Mitchell, SD 57301

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 25, 2017
Just overnight. This was our second stay here and we will definitely make this our stop in SD
Aug 24, 2017
Our favorite KOA to date. The hosts were terrific, engaging and knowledgeable. The mining for gold (gems, fossils etc.) was the highlight of Cyndi's day. We did it twice because it was so much fun. The campground is conveniently located and easy to get to. We highly recommend the campground.
Aug 24, 2017
Aug 24, 2017
Aug 24, 2017
Great people, clean sites and bathrooms. Was a little close to the highway for my taste but that was very minimal.
Aug 24, 2017
We were welcomed by friendly staff and the host even lent is his personal roasting sticks as the store was out of them. There were flies but we just kept the screen door shut. Enjoy a sing along at a neighboring campsite. We enjoyed ourselves very much.
Aug 23, 2017
Aug 23, 2017
Campground hosts were very friendly and helpful. My only issues are, for the most part, out of the control of the host/owners. First, it was a tad noisy for a tent - too close to the main access road and Interstate. Second, some irresponsible pet parents did not clean up after their pet and made the camp pad stinky - again, not completely within control of the hosts/owners.
Aug 23, 2017
Thank you, Jim, for your friendly welcome, advice with our rig, and nicely-kept campground.
Aug 23, 2017
Aug 22, 2017
Need more bathrooms
Aug 22, 2017
Aug 22, 2017
Clean facilities, roomy spaces, and friendly staff
Aug 22, 2017
Only stayed over one night. Nice greeting on the way in and was escorted to our spot. Clean and friendly. :)
Aug 22, 2017
Wonderful friendly folks
Aug 21, 2017
Aug 21, 2017
Pool was very cold, camp spots are not any too big. Bathrooms are nice
Aug 21, 2017
Nice, clean camp. Not very crowded. WiFi was not as good in our site. Lost it for most of the time we were there. Friendly staff.
Aug 21, 2017
Friendly hosts. Tidy campground.
Aug 21, 2017
Aug 20, 2017
We come to Mitchell SD every year on our way out and back from Sturgis. Jerry and Jim are always most accommodating. Enjoy visiting with them, they keep the facility clean and stocked with the most commonly needed items. Can't wait to go back next year
Aug 20, 2017
I was kept up all night from a family with 4 children. The kids did not go to bed until midnight and then got up super early. I listened to the parents yell at their kids the entire time.
Aug 20, 2017
They were full that night and were very helpful and helpful about infoming us of construction in town and what to stay away from.
Aug 20, 2017
Staff helped us to fix blow tire. Recommended shop very reasonable and helpful
Aug 20, 2017
Bathrooms badly need to be updated.
Aug 20, 2017
Super clean bath and shower house. Staff were very kind, stored my medication as it had to be refrigerated. Many activities on site for kids to do.
Aug 19, 2017
Very clean! Comfortable space, well equiped and well kept laundry and nice dog areas.
Aug 18, 2017
Aug 18, 2017
This is a typical KOA on the plains of South Dakota. Management is nice and the sites are clean and well kept. They are level gravel sites. Mitchell is a neat place to stay. Be sure to visit the Corn Palace, it's fascinating and fun.
Aug 18, 2017
Friendly staff, level sites. Very close together was the only negative but most places out here are.
Aug 18, 2017
Very pleasant stay. Nice facility.
Aug 18, 2017
Beautiful and well-maintained camp--lots of sites, but it didn't feel overwhelming or crowded. Hosts were helpful and good-natured. Glad we stopped there!
Aug 17, 2017
We had a cabin and we were told one of our beds were broke . We were told that there was not enough time to fix it. So when we laid down there was a brace had been broken off from the campers before us. So when we would lay down we would roll into each other. Not A GOOD EXSPERIANCE .We have stayed at other KOA S and we have enjoyed them. Thank you for listening Cliff and Connie
Aug 17, 2017
This camper comment has been removed by KOA due to profanity.
Aug 17, 2017
Nice Camp Ground, Staff is very friendly
Aug 16, 2017
Nice sites and friendly people. Only problem was electric hookup - after getting everything connected it kept going off and on. Finally they moved us to be another site but we hit a fire pit when moving which tore a chunk off our RV . We wasted 45 minutes doing this after driving over 400 miles.
Aug 16, 2017
Beautiful campground would have loved to stay longer but we had to stick to our schedule.
Aug 15, 2017
I stayed at Cabin #1. It was very clean and just what I needed to stay the night.
Aug 15, 2017
Great location. Very friendly, helpful people. Would definitely stay there again.
Aug 15, 2017
A friendly welcome, a well-kept property, a nice campsite - it was everything we were looking for.
Aug 15, 2017
Aug 15, 2017
Aug 14, 2017
Aug 14, 2017
Campground was clean and well kept up. Restrooms/ Showers are in much need of updating. The putt putt golf needs some updating as well Overall a nice campground.
Aug 14, 2017
Aug 14, 2017
Nice campground. Clean, quiet, and nice staff.
Aug 14, 2017
Friendly and helpful group of people. Doggie park was great. Neat and clean laundry room and showers. Would stay there again !!!
Aug 14, 2017
We enjoyed our stay at this KOA. It was well kept and clean, had nice areas to walk our dogs including the K9 fenced area for off lease, and it was far enough off the highway that the traffic was not bothersome. Convenient to the Mitchell town area.
Aug 13, 2017
Nicely secluded. The staff was very accommodating.
Aug 13, 2017
Extremely clean. Very friendly staff. Great place!!!
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Trip Advisor Award