Mitchell KOA

Open May 1 - November 4

Reserve: 800-562-1236

Reserve: 800-562-1236

Info: 800-562-1236

Info: 800-562-1236

Email This Campground

41255 South Dakota Highway 38

Mitchell, SD 57301

Get Directions

All Sites

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jun 14, 2018
Good place for an overnight stop.
Jun 14, 2018
Jun 14, 2018
Remarkably surprised how clean and the amount of amenities that were available. The host was kind. My children took time to enjoy the pool while we took advantage of the shower house and laundry room.
Jun 14, 2018
Great
Jun 14, 2018
Being escorted by staff to your campsight is a big plus.
Jun 13, 2018
Only our third time out I'm our new camper so really nothing to compare to. However, very nice and convenient location. Thought the escort into the actual stall was a special touch. Wish all camp grounds did that. Kudos!!
Jun 13, 2018
We spent two days seeing the sights in South Dakota and came back to this Koa for a second time because we liked it so well. The staff is great, and the campground is very well kept. Will definitely stay here again when I'm in South Dakota.
Jun 13, 2018
Wife says: So thankful for the pool! Very nice/productive/helpful staff; clean grounds; level site; recycling bag provided and picked up from camp site :)
Jun 13, 2018
Wonderful campground on a lake. Just spent one night but wish I could have stayed longer. Great staff.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thanks for the great review, however I am not on or near a lake?.
Jun 12, 2018
The showers are amazing.... as well the beautiful hand painted porcelain sinks!
Jun 12, 2018
We only stayed a night, but enjoyed our stay. The campsite was clean and spacious. We enjoyed the pool and Minigolf. And we loved the bathrooms, very clean and just cute. The camp host was also very helpful and the staff was very friendly.
Jun 12, 2018
Jun 12, 2018
Jun 12, 2018
Jun 12, 2018
Nice pit stop for us and on our way to Mt Rushmore area. Pool was nice for the kids, dog yard was great. Only complaint would be the playground. The kids found what they thought were rocks in the sand. Turned out to be something else. Hard to keep animals out of the sand box I guess. Overall a nice place to rest.
Jun 12, 2018
Jun 12, 2018
Restroom/shower clean and well maintained. We liked the pool and miniature golf. We were impressed that you recycle—not all KOAs do. GOOD JOB!!
Jun 12, 2018
We were only there for an overnight stay on our way to our destination, but we would definitely come back for a longer stay. The campgrounds were clean, the staff very nice, and the amenities plentiful.
Jun 12, 2018
Nice, quiet campgrouond
Jun 12, 2018
We called late and Jim was very helpful to get us into a site by 10 p.m. The grounds were clean and quiet, what more could you ask for.
Jun 12, 2018
Have always been real happy with koa’s this was great too. If I had to say something bad was expecting breakfast like most of the larger koa’s. Or a larger selection in the store. Thanks.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Trust me you do not want to eat my cooking. LOL I do have breakfast pizza's in the freezer, but you have to cook them as we don't have a food license.
Jun 11, 2018
The women's bathroom was beautiful. We only stayed one night because we were just passing through but we would definitely stay there again!
Jun 11, 2018
The campground is well kept. The location is close enough to I-90 to be convenient and far enough away to be quiet at night. The staff was very helpful with directions to local sites. The new remodel in the ladies washroom is amazing! Someone really thought about the design! The laundry facilities are very clean and reasonably priced.
Jun 11, 2018
Ha had a wonderful time thanks for getting us a spot to stay
Jun 11, 2018
Jun 11, 2018
The check-in line was very long, but moved impressively fast. Camp sites were great & bathrooms were wonderful. No complaints and we will recommend to others, plus we hope to stay again!
Jun 11, 2018
Got in late about 10pm was greeted well. Was brought wood to my camp site at that late hour without any problems . Very kind and courteous service. Plan on staying here anytime I'm in Mitchell.
Jun 11, 2018
The campground was okay. The man who checked us in wasn’t very personable. He seemed short and not very accommodating.
Jun 11, 2018
Very clean, very nice. Would update shower heads though. Will stay again!
Jun 11, 2018
Jun 10, 2018
Jun 10, 2018
Jun 10, 2018
Very clean and staff very helpful
Jun 10, 2018
Jun 10, 2018
Lovely place with a wonderful dog park!
Jun 10, 2018
Jun 10, 2018
Our first experience with KOA. We were very pleased!
Jun 10, 2018
thes is a good one we lick it
Jun 10, 2018
The people in the office were very friendly and helpful! We felt very welcome!
Jun 10, 2018
Jun 09, 2018
Very clean and well maintained. I stayed in a Kabin and enjoyed the big shade trees.
Jun 09, 2018
The firepits are extremely close to the campers. Great place to stay on your way out to Black Hills....1/2 way point.
Jun 09, 2018
Jun 09, 2018
The sewer hook up was broken. My husband had the dirty water all over him and the ground. The ground was so unlevel hard to get level for our refrigerator.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I think you have my campground and another mixed up ;the site you were on was B-13, and it's flat and there is nothing wrong with the sewer or the cap.
Jun 08, 2018
Jun 08, 2018
Stopped to visit the area while driving thru. KOA was clean, all utilities worked well, site level. People nice. Would stay here again!
Jun 08, 2018
Very pleasant people.
Jun 08, 2018
Very nice grounds, kids loved the mini golf! Staff very nice and helpful!
Jun 08, 2018
Jun 07, 2018
Clean, neat, mowed nice, lots of shade, quiet and off interstate, would definitely stay here again!
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award