Madison / Pittsburgh S.E. KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-4034

Reserve: 800-562-4034

Info: 724-722-4444

Info: 724-722-4444

Email

764 Waltz Mill Road

Ruffs Dale, PA 15679

Get Directions

All Sites

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 12:00 pm

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

May 08, 2017
Lots of full-time residents. Office/store was open when we checked in, but not the following morning. Big nice laundry room but 1/2 the machines were out of order and many people were trying to do wash. Location was perfect for us, but sites were not level. Bathrooms were rustic but clean.
May 08, 2017
First off, the office and restaurant is almost a 1/4 mile from the RV sites. My site was sloped and muddy which made it difficult to level the RV. The phone number at the front desk is answered by someone in North Dakota who was useless. After a 9 hour drive, all I wanted was to order food from the restaurant - but the front desk never answered their phone. Poor service. Never stay again!
May 08, 2017
Easy access from 70
May 07, 2017
Stayed two nights a week apart. First night was perfect. Second night we were told that the shower block was closed because of burst pipes but the dishwashing station on the outside of the block was OK? Go figure. Woken early by a Cat Bulldozer levelling the parking adjacent to the cabin. That's a noisy reverse beeper. Good location though. Good shop.
May 06, 2017
Very pleasant welcome, and Pittsburgh is a great town to visit.
May 04, 2017
Clean friendly and helpful
May 04, 2017
Easy pull through spaces. Very convenient to the Interstate.
May 03, 2017
WIFI and cable service quality marginal. Bath/shower cleanliness good. Drive through site well drained and relatively level
May 03, 2017
Very nice facilities, activities for families and children. Remote location that is quiet and relaxing.
May 03, 2017
Had to change cabins due to animal damage. Store hours were spotty due to lack of staff. Debbie at front desk was good but overworked. Roads in poor condition.
May 02, 2017
nice place, would stay here again.
Apr 25, 2017
Nice and easy off 70.we were day tripping into Pittsburgh for concert.stayed in lodge which was very nice.nice size pond.off season so office and store closed.people there had big bon fire that everyone hung out at.
Apr 21, 2017
The campground is on a hillside but the sites are level. Those reserved for short term campers are closest to the entrance but are a little tight. Internet speed was usually good but on the last day I was disconnected a number of times even though there weren't any more people there than the other days I was on site.
Apr 19, 2017
Easy in out and easy checking in out. Nice big spot on end with lots of room. Kids enjoyed pillow and horseshoes and restrooms very clean
Apr 18, 2017
Nice spot near Pittsburgh. Fishing pond and playground was enjoyable. Nice game room and laundry facility. WiFi didn't work and nonsmoking cabin smelled a little bit like someone had smoked in it, but all good after a little cross ventilation. I'd stay there again.
Apr 16, 2017
We have visited KOA Madison/Pittsburgh so many times. Staff are very friendly, and facilities are really clean and nice.
Apr 15, 2017
GPS gave bad directions. Most KOA's have a sign or three telling you which way to go. The only sign is at the entrance.I was told only some GPS's have this problem. Well, I have the RV Garmin and printed directions from Good Sam and Apple Maps on my iPhone. All of them said to turn left (incorrectly). A construction contractor gave directions-all his people, same problem. A couple of signs???
Apr 12, 2017
Not sure what happened between last year and this year. This place was gross. Smelled like sewage the entire time we were there. No one in the office and no one returned my call with a request for a site change. Only when they were looking for payment which was 3 days into my stay. Will never be back.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I do apologize that we dont have regular store hours yet. The reservation line should have shared a on site # to call.That # is posted at the lodge.
Apr 10, 2017
Very nice place for a short stay
Apr 09, 2017
Staff very helpful, nicely kept grounds
Apr 07, 2017
Had forgotten the hill, but still a great night and very quiet which is what we need, thank you,
Apr 06, 2017
I got there at 4:45 and no one in the office. My neighbours got in at 2:00 and had to do night check in . I would have liked a site closer to the washrooms ( which were empty) so I could winterize. I know they were there I wish they would have looked in on us all to see if we were alright .

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I am sorry. They do not have regular store hours yet this time of year. There is a number at the registration deask and on store door for on site assistance.
Apr 04, 2017
Perfect midpoint stop for our Indiana to eastern PA trips.
Apr 02, 2017
VERY OLD VERY WORN MOSTLY GRAVEL & DIRT
Apr 01, 2017
Off-season stay in March. No one in the office to greet us. Simply drove to the first pull-through site available and parked hoping we were in the right spot. It was a bit disconcerting not having anyone on-site managing the park during our stay.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I'm sorry, we do not keep regular store hours this time of year. We have an outside registration desk with maps. There is a number to call for on site assistance on night registration and the store door, and no one called.
Mar 30, 2017
Only reason not a 5 is because sites are a little unlevel.
Mar 27, 2017
Mar 27, 2017
Mar 11, 2017
More spacious than other KOAs. Close enough to where we needed to be while still feeling relaxed with a nice view.
Mar 01, 2017
Everything was clean and nice people.
Feb 26, 2017
Only stayed one night while traveling.
Jan 04, 2017
Jan 02, 2017
Just needed one night on my way thru the area and it was nice to find a campground so far north that is open during the winter. Very accommodating staff and I had a very nice stay.
Dec 08, 2016
Facilities were fine and the office was friendly. Certainly the steepest hill on which we've seen a KOA located (easy to drive/hard to bicycle around the park). Overall an interesting adventure.
Dec 06, 2016
We would definitely use this camp ground again.
Dec 04, 2016
We're sorry we went there. There was plenty of room to place people apart at least one site. An RV with the loudest heater I've ever heard was placed next to is after we got there. I slept maybe 3 hrs. Looked like a lot of people live there, lots were up early, 5:30am, starting their trucks to idle forever! And the office didn't open until 10am on a weekday?? So we couldn't get our propane filled.
Dec 04, 2016
Winter stay here, place was just fine. Not much happening. Quiet enough.
Nov 27, 2016
A great Thanksgiving Weekend, will stay there in the future
Nov 21, 2016
Clean sites. Stayed on a cold night in November. But Warm, clean bathrooms. Would stay again!
Nov 16, 2016
Staff was very helpful and friendly, great campground, easy access, clean sites and facilities. Nice bonne fire, laundry and beautiful lake. Easy access from Turnpike and New Stanton.
Nov 10, 2016
very nice and clean park, we have been there a few times, customer service was excellent.
Nov 09, 2016
Nov 08, 2016
Nov 08, 2016
The campsite were spacious. There were lots of things that we(kids)could do without leaving out site. And most of all the bath houses were great!
Nov 07, 2016
Always a great get away!
Nov 05, 2016
Nov 01, 2016
Nice convenient location, very quiet setting. Came in late and left early, so I never had the chance to interact with the staff. Would stay here again.
Oct 31, 2016
A little dirty ,store not stocked seems like a working mans campground for out of state workers ( not a bad thing) our stay was late in season but they could have still had activities .Didnt live up to Koa expectations
Oct 29, 2016
Easy on/off of highway Nice Pond Didn't use any facilities Mostly full time residents who work in the area Strong smell of raw sewage in the stream or run off ditch.
Oct 26, 2016
We checked in after hours without any problems. Everything was ready for us. Thank you for making it an easy in and out rest stop.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy