Mackinaw City / Mackinac Island KOA

Open May 1 - October 15

Reserve: 800-562-1738

Reserve: 800-562-1738

Info: 231-436-5643

Info: 231-436-5643

Email This Campground

566 Trailsend Road

Mackinaw City, MI 49701

Get Directions

All Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations, Cabins

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Sep 08, 2017
Very clean, well maintained campground. Owner is friendly and helpful, very hands on with assisting campers. Extremely convenient to Mackinaw City town center and ferries. The campsites are in a lovely wooded area away from the main road. We definitely stay here again.
Sep 08, 2017
Very clean, quiet, great people who work thete!
Sep 07, 2017
We visit Mackinaw City once a year for the Bridge Walk. Sometimes we will stop there there overnight on our way to the U P. This KOA is an excellent spot for our camper trailer. This is a very nice KOA. I would recommend it to anybody looking for an area to enjoy camping.
Sep 07, 2017
Sep 07, 2017
Little spacing between sites. WIFI in name only....too slow to use and dropped frequently. Gravel roads and sites made for very dusty conditions. Poor site ( on end so was surrounded by roads) was made to be my fault for not requesting a specific one when making reservations. Open site that I requested to move to was stated to be "closed" and then it was occupied the next day.
Sep 07, 2017
Cleanest camp ground restrooms I've ever seen!
Sep 06, 2017
Very nice, very quiet campground.
Sep 06, 2017
We stayed for 3 nights over the Labor Day weekend. We were able to stay in one of the Kamping Kabins (#3, to be exact). I liked that the Kabins have all been clustered together and that they are closer to the bathroom. While I understand, and support 100% NOT using the trees to string a line for wet towels, etc. it would be nice to have something available (a pole, a shepherd's crook, etc.).
Sep 06, 2017
Very pleasant with great amenities.
Sep 06, 2017
Our family enjoyed our stay over Labor Day weekend. Very friendly staff and clean restrooms and showers. A great location close to town yet far enough away to be away from the hustle and bustle and crowded streets and hotels. We have already made our reservation for 2018!
Sep 06, 2017
No bathroom from noon to two pm. No alternitive. Our reserved site was changed without notice. Reserved 2 sites next to each other so kids could sleep and still enjoy fire pit with other party at night. When we arrived they said that they don't have preassigned sites. We were not able to enjoy other sites company at night. We reserved 59 & 60. But received 37 & 60.
Sep 06, 2017
Great place to say restrooms were very clean and the owners were very friendly they even delivered wood and ice to camp sites if we needed them to.
Sep 06, 2017
We enjoyed our stay at Mackinaw City KOA - it is a very quiet campground. The children we did see were very considerate and quiet - hardly knew they were there. You could see many campers were there with family in many different campsites - coming together each night for meals. It was lovely to watch the generations share their experiences.
Sep 06, 2017
Nice place to stay, clean and very friendly staff!
Sep 06, 2017
Sep 06, 2017
Clean, quiet, well managed. Thanks.
Sep 05, 2017
Love how you pickup trash and deliver wood and ice! You dont get that everywhere.
Sep 05, 2017
Still need s lots of upgrade s, less rules, and new fire pit s. You're working on it, so keep up the good work!
Sep 05, 2017
Another great Labor Day camping weekend! We have been staying at this campground for over 35 years!ðð We would like to see improvements in the fire pits!
Sep 05, 2017
Easy check in. Very friendly. Wooded nice clean campground. Every person I came in contact with who was part of this KOA were very friendly and helpful. Close to town. Great location.
Sep 05, 2017
Very nice people to deal with. Good bathrooms, pool was very nice. Pick up of trash was super!! Trail connection to Mackinaw city was fun. Helpful having people get us to your site and help us back in. All in all a great KOA. Thank you!
Sep 05, 2017
The camp ground is really nice. Bathrooms were clean. Showers are too small and the camp sites are too close together. Also, the rule of only using commercially wrapped fire wood is ridiculous and seems a ploy to make you purchase fire wood from the site instead of all the stands around town.
Sep 05, 2017
Staff is outstanding, very friendly. Considering this is only the owners second year they have made many upgrades, and have cleared up much of the dead trees, and have added some nice upgrades. Our family totally enjoy staying at this KOA.
Sep 05, 2017
Very nice staff. I have stayed at the Gaylord KOA and I would say they could learn a lot from the Mackinaw City KOA in customer service. Nice showers, friendly staff, quiet campground.
Sep 05, 2017
Sep 05, 2017
Charged when stay as deposit lucky I had money in my account to cover it
Sep 05, 2017
Nice place, friendly people
Sep 04, 2017
Sep 04, 2017
Nice place and we had a good time but they need to put some gravel down to keep the dust down.
Sep 04, 2017
Very relaxing
Sep 04, 2017
Close to the activity on Main Street. Clean, good location to the facilities in the camp, comfortable cabin. Very helpful in the office.
Sep 03, 2017
I found the staff approachable, friendly, happy to offer any assistance needed. The campgrounds had clean bathrooms and showers, a great heated swimming pool, and a well equipped laundry and camp stores to buy those odd things one forgets to pack. The cabins were very clean and well maintained.
Sep 03, 2017
Nice clean campground, like the free shuttle to the ferry and the discounted ticket purchase at the KOA store. Staff is very helpful, with great suggestions on where to eat on the Mackinac Island.
Sep 03, 2017
Campground was clean and pleasantly very quiet. Loved the bike path and access to town. The staff was very helpful courteous and attentive. The only thi g holding us back from a perfect rating was the theft of our grill during the night. We realize it was not the Staffs fault but quite upsetting to us nonetheless.
Sep 02, 2017
Nice campground . Only downside are noisy kids on their bikes. Where are their parents?
Sep 02, 2017
Endroit propre et tranquille. Cependant sur plusieurs sites l'accès à l'égout est trop haut et nécessite de déplacer la roulotte au plus haut du terrain ce qui rend sa mise à niveau plus difficile.
Sep 02, 2017
Friendly staff, great nature trails to walk the dog, free shuttle from the Ferry company to and from Campground, clean restrooms, nice spots with grass & trees.
Sep 02, 2017
Sep 01, 2017
Great location! Clean and friendly campground. I just wish the mattresses in the cabins had more padding. Was very uncomfortable, but cabins themselves were great.
Sep 01, 2017
Stayed in camping cabin 2 nights. Very nice and clean, great swing on porch, screen door, heater for cold nights, ceiling fan, and mini fridge. Headroom on the bunk beds were perfect for taller people. Bathrooms and showers very well maintained. Sadly we were unable to try out the pool or other amenities because of our schedule. Would definitely stay again!!
Sep 01, 2017
Sep 01, 2017
We had an amazing stay! We were on a tent site with electric/water hookups and it had awesome shade. The people were so friendly and helpful! The bathrooms and showers are well kept. I loved that there was a pool and a game area to play ladderball and bean bags. I only wish they offered larger bundles of wood at a discount. We will be back though!! :)
Aug 31, 2017
Aug 31, 2017
Quick overnight stay... management / staff were awesome! Sites are a bit tight but ok given the busy area and attractions. Good for a quick pass through stay with the pull thru sites. Firewood here was perfect. Only issue we had was that the sewer connect was much higher than the travel trailer we were pulling so we could not make use of it... had to dump at the dump site at point of leaving.
Aug 31, 2017
Clean, we'll run campground. Camp employees were very friendly and helpful. Spaces were a bit closer than we like, but the one we had was level and grassy. Gravel roadways created a bit of dust and cable was fuzzy on most channels. Wifi was fine.
Aug 31, 2017
Campground was well kept and staff very friendly and helpful
Aug 31, 2017
Easy to find and clean. Friendly owner and lady at the check in desk. Owner offered me a tarp to cover my motorcycle as it looked like rain. Store was well stocked. Showers and bathrooms very clean. .
Aug 30, 2017
Very helpful staff, good layout and sites
Aug 30, 2017
wonderful, hard working, considerate people there at the Michigan City KOA. They were so kind and helpful.
Aug 30, 2017
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Trip Advisor Award