Lava Hot Springs KOA Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jun 22, 2019
Great little KOA. Wonderful river view and sounds. Very nice people in office. Hot springs are a short walk away. Train does come by often but we didn't hear it throughout the night.
Jun 22, 2019
I know you cant do anything about the traffic and the trains, but would not have made site #33 a supersite/premium. Other than that it was a great stay. Thanks
Jun 22, 2019
Jun 22, 2019
Jun 22, 2019
It was clean, well organised, helpful people working there.
Jun 21, 2019
Jun 21, 2019
The only complaint we have was the maintenance/groundskeeper. He had an attitude. Anytime he stopped to talk he would always have a smart alek comment. Even laughing when we were getting rained on saying. "I knew I would get that spot watered" He was very arrogant and unprofessional. A couple times while he was driving through on his golf cart we thought he would tip it over going too fast.
Jun 21, 2019
We always enjoy our stay. The staff is always delightful and concerned about our visit. The campground is always clean.
Jun 20, 2019
Unique
Jun 20, 2019
Nice spots and very helpful staff
Jun 20, 2019
Unique
Jun 20, 2019
Only gripe was that when we booked person on phone said 6 and under free. I had a 5, 6 and 10 year old. When we showed up that evening and paid I was charged for two kids. I mentioned to girl behind counter that I thought 6 and under was free she said no, 6 and older must pay snd gave me a map that said 6 and under free. Didn’t notice it until next day as I read map.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Hi Mr. Smith, thank you for letting us know of your concern. We double checked your reservation ledger and found that you were charged for only 1 child which was your 10 year old. Children 6 and under are free. If you have any further questions about the charges, please feel free to call us at 208-776-5295.
Jun 19, 2019
Stayed in site 100, hoping to avoid the flying cotton in the west end and the dust of the east end. It was very nice. Our only complaint... the grill had not been cleaned and we found a dirty pan when we opened it.
Jun 19, 2019
Jun 19, 2019
Great stay, great location, near town and activities. Beautiful place .
Jun 19, 2019
Jun 18, 2019
awesome as usual. Thanks
Jun 18, 2019
We love Lava...visit at least twice a year�
Jun 18, 2019
Jun 17, 2019
Smaller campground, beautiful setting, helpful staff, clean facilities... walking distance to town and hot springs. I really enjoyed this hidden gem!!
Jun 17, 2019
Camping spots are awfully cramped and not very wide
Jun 17, 2019
Jun 17, 2019
Jun 17, 2019
Front desk was awesome and so were the accommodations.
Jun 17, 2019
Liked the camp site and the area. The river was beautiful, our camp site backed up to it. Lava Hot Springs has a lot to offer. The KOA held a kids craft the Saturday we were there. Definitely will be back!!
Jun 17, 2019
It's a beautiful campground and the staff was great.
Jun 16, 2019
Great KOA lots to do. Wonderful.
Jun 16, 2019
Had a nice time. The cabins were nice and cozy. I would definitely stay again. I've had good luck with koa campgrounds in my camping experiences. Thank you. Dave
Jun 16, 2019
We had a nice stay here. Beatiful river patio site! The new bathroom and laundry facility so nice. All the staff was nice and friendly.
Jun 16, 2019
Jun 14, 2019
We had such a great time! My kids loved the playground. The bathrooms were very clean and super nice! Great place to stay!
Jun 14, 2019
Great staff and clean grounds!
Jun 14, 2019
What a great staff and what a great campground super quiet and peaceful located in a perfect position to enjoy all the lava Hot Springs has to offer
Jun 13, 2019
Jun 13, 2019
Worst site in campground. Should be eliminated.
Jun 13, 2019
The camp grounds were nice and had good shade trees which we liked... the issue we had was our camp site was backed right up to a main road that traffic running all night (UTVs and shipping trucks) and then right beyond that was a rail road that had multiple trains run throuout the night. We got no sleep at this KOA and left the next day exhausted.
Jun 12, 2019
Jun 12, 2019
Jun 11, 2019
Jun 11, 2019
Jun 10, 2019
Loved it! The girl at the office was great. I’ve never had someone as kind and helpful as she was. I only interacted with her at registration but she told you everything you needed to know plus more so I never needed to return. EXCELLENT customer service!!
Jun 10, 2019
Jun 10, 2019
Was very wonderful
Jun 10, 2019
We had stayed before but this time the stay had a few problems the fold out was broken. We had trouble with our grill the first night and they sent a young man over to fix it to no avail there was not enough silverware. For 200 bucks plus a night you don’t expect these issues.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are sorry to hear about these issues. We will definitely get them resolved.
Jun 09, 2019
Camp site was great and the facilities were very clean
Jun 09, 2019
Jun 09, 2019
Everything was good at the cabin, but it would be great to shade/drape/shutter the 'A' window right above the door. We've stayed at other KOA cabins that had this. Just too much light/sun coming in too early in the morning. Thank you!
Jun 08, 2019
Jun 07, 2019
Andi was very helpful when we arrived. She upgraded our site as there was rain/muddy conditions to one with a cement patio which was very nice. They were helpful in giving us the lay of the land as we were first-timers to the area! I highly recommend that if you are in the area, stop by, it's worth it!
Jun 07, 2019
Nov 11, 2019
Such a fun place to rent tubes and float the river, swim and dive in the huge pool or relax in one of their 5 hot pools.
- Marsha Kimberlin on Google
Nov 07, 2019
management really takes it serious when creating an amazing it environment. So many improvements in the last few years. I love to hear the train from the Thunder Mountain railroad rumble past. I love the river. In the summer of the trees provide amazing shade. Staff is always very helpful and friendly. I have been camping at this KOA for the last two decades. If you don't have it RV, the cabins are very affordable and comfortable.
- Conrnme on Trip Advisor
Nov 20, 2019
Great people great place, Keep up the hard work....
- Tony Crombie on Google

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.