Lava Hot Springs KOA Reviews

Campground Reviews

Sep 09, 2019
I shouldn’t have to pay extra for WiFi

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We do have free WIFI. We also offer an option for guests to purchase "Premium WIFI" for downloading movies, apps, music, gaming,or streaming. This gives the guest more signal bandwidth to a designated device versus the "free WIFI". The cost is $5.99/day.
Sep 07, 2019
Sep 06, 2019
Great, kind, helpful and friendly staff. Very efficient. Great facilities. Clean.
Sep 06, 2019
pretty expensive for one night for a little square, and to camp in the middle of a bunch of people you don't know ...
Sep 06, 2019
Campground is lovely, lots of trees and the river runs behind the grounds and if you are lucky, you can have a spot by the river. Campground employees are very helpful and keep the campground clean and well groomed. Bathrooms were very clean, shower was spacious and the hot water was plentiful. Unfortunately, it is right next to the hiway and train track.
Sep 06, 2019
the people were nice. the spot was ok for a gravel old campground. the price was wasy to high because of the closeness to lava hot springs. but the compression brakes on the trucks on the roadway 100 ft from the sites was unbearable . and the rairoad tracks besice thew roadway was even worse. all day and night. had to keep the windows closed with the AC on. could not enjoys anything outdoorsi
Sep 05, 2019
The best part about this KOA is the bathrooms! They are big and nice and new looking and kept pretty clean. The biggest con on our stay was the campsite. We had a very small piece of grass between us and the next camper and they managed to fit a picnic table and a small little bowl for the fire pit. The park is a nice feature but it's too big for smaller kids.
Sep 04, 2019
Sep 04, 2019
Sep 04, 2019
Good shade. Power and water stable and pressure good. Spots mostly level. Noises from road and trains a problem.
Sep 04, 2019
We stayed 2 nights on a last minute reservation. Only sites left were up front by the office. Deluxe patio sites 100-102. It was a holiday weekend and very busy. Being by the office/restrooms and entrance, there was a constant flow of car and foot traffic. The main road was right in front of us and behind that was the train. Noisiest place we’ve ever stayed. We won’t be back.
Sep 03, 2019
Sep 03, 2019
We were here for a family reunion. The accommodations were great. We would stay again. Thank you.
Sep 03, 2019
Had a great time! Clean bathrooms and lots of trees for shade.
Sep 03, 2019
Sep 03, 2019
Era un fin de semana festivo pero todo estava bien limpio. Gracias KOA
Sep 03, 2019
Sep 02, 2019
We like staying there
Sep 02, 2019
Had a great time, the staff in the office were very friendly and helpful.
Sep 02, 2019
Employees were friendly and helpful. Other than the road noise the camp was well kept, nice!
Sep 02, 2019
We’ve been a few times and have loved it but don’t appreciate staff telling us to be quiet when trains are still going by and making so much noise. They never asked us if we needed anything but 10:01 pm she cones to tell us to shut up. Now that bingo is gone we may never return.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We had several complaints of your music being too loud. Regardless of the train and traffic noise, of which we cannot control, we do try to control the noise from music being played too loud by our guests. We also have no control over the Lava Lions Club being shut down for Bingo. For the future maybe the Fish and Game campground would better suit your experience for camping.
Sep 01, 2019
Unique
Sep 01, 2019
Apparently folks from Utah are not aware of campsite etiquette. Walking across our site while we were sitting there to visit their friends in other sites. Not just the kids either. Although one of the boys turned off our water twice.
Aug 31, 2019
Unique
It was really good and I felt like at home
Aug 30, 2019
Restrooms not safe because of steps to toilets and showers. Very little grass. Train noise was not mentioned. Unfortunately lava pool dos not share schedule with camp when they will be closed.
Aug 30, 2019
Loved it!! Great location. Quiet mostly. Engine brakes aren’t good but I kept the AC fan on all night. Slept great. Super clean!!!!
Aug 30, 2019
Lovely spot, clean and well run.
Aug 29, 2019
Beautiful big trees right on the river and a short walk to the hot springs...super clean grounds and utilities were well maintained...5 stars all the way!
Aug 28, 2019
The office help was somewhat mixed up and could be a bit more organized. Rentals online are directed towards the less attractive sites.
Aug 28, 2019
We can’t wait to come back�
Aug 27, 2019
Aug 27, 2019
Shower broke the last day, maintenance people in and out. No shower usage.
Aug 27, 2019
Great cabins
Aug 27, 2019
Staff not very accommodating. After 6 hours of being on the road we pulled in. Would not let us go to site because it was not check in time Had to clean fire pits. The wind was 25 mph so no one had fires. Man doing yard work very rude. Made us wait for two hours We finally just went to our site and pulled in. There were others that they would not let in also. They are Just not KOA people

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Unfortunately, when guests as yourself try to check in at 12:30 it does not give our grounds employee enough time to water, mow, and clean all 85 sites. We simply asked you to wait until our groundsman was finished with your site. For future guests reading this review, please note our check in time is 3pm and check out time is 11am. If your site is ready we always allow guests to check in.
Aug 26, 2019
Insanely close spots, campsites were awkwardly accommodated (firepit was right next to a tree and couldn't really be used) and quiet time rule was not enforced. Several campers around us played loud music until midnight every single night. WOULD NOT RECOMMEND.
Aug 26, 2019
My family enjoyed our stay @ Lava Hot Springs KOA & will very likely return in the future. I found the staff to be very friendly and the sites well organized & maintained & the campground is in a wonderful site! The amenities were quite good however, WiFi service was horrible, even the poorly named 'premium' service was bad & practically unusable. PLEASE get that upgraded.
Aug 26, 2019
As always it was very good.
Aug 26, 2019
Aug 26, 2019
One if the people the works in the office was very rude and not nice it all.:. She was the only one complaint about our music no one else was
Aug 26, 2019
Unique
Easy check in. Cabin was larger than expected, good size grass area as well. Clean bathrooms. Only complaint was the playground was old, could use an update. Otherwise nice campground and would stay again
Aug 26, 2019
Loved it! Too bad it was so expensive or we would have stayed a week!
Aug 26, 2019
Wonderfully well maintained facilities. Can't wait to visit again!
Aug 26, 2019
Staff was really nice and friendly and the cabin was very accommodating and clean
Aug 25, 2019
Great sites,nice and quiet ,Loved the river and trees.Would definitely stay again.
Aug 24, 2019
Aug 24, 2019
The campground is clean and the setting is beautiful. Sadly the highway and train are right on top of it, so the noise is unbearable. My biggest disappointment is that the office staff was less-than-forthright about the noise. It was not mentioned when we made the reservations and top of that, the first morning the boy in the office told us the trains “were rare” - a flat out lie. Just be hone
Aug 22, 2019
Very nice place. Very unfriendly maintenance man the first evening. I would go back however I hope the same unwelcoming maintenance man would not be working. I almost went to get my money back and leave the KOA due to him talking rude to me after I had to move a picnic table out of my camping driveway
Aug 22, 2019
Very friendly, clean and close to the hot springs. Would highly recommend, thanks
Aug 22, 2019
Very over priced, info about sites not good knowledge of personal limited, but they were super friendly and polite.
Aug 21, 2019
Unique
We had a good time at Lava hot springs Holiday KOA. The cabin was clean, and the air conditioner was a nice touch. The pavilion we rented was a different story. We couldn't have it until 3pm, and they didn't start cleaning it until 1:30. Their way of cleaning it was too hose off all of the tables, then hose off the concrete floor. Everything was wet. Both trash cans were completely full,
Nov 11, 2019
Such a fun place to rent tubes and float the river, swim and dive in the huge pool or relax in one of their 5 hot pools.
- Marsha Kimberlin on Google
Nov 07, 2019
management really takes it serious when creating an amazing it environment. So many improvements in the last few years. I love to hear the train from the Thunder Mountain railroad rumble past. I love the river. In the summer of the trees provide amazing shade. Staff is always very helpful and friendly. I have been camping at this KOA for the last two decades. If you don't have it RV, the cabins are very affordable and comfortable.
- Conrnme on Trip Advisor
Oct 28, 2019
Awesome people
- Aida Kraja on Google

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.