Lava Hot Springs KOA Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jul 05, 2018
Just don't forget anything!! We had to purchase a hose and pressure regulator for the water supply. $55 later we were in business. That's right... if you forget anything, you can expect at least a 100% mark-up over retail for any item you find yourself without. I'm all for business being able to make a profit... but this kind of gouging hits below the belt. OUCH!!
Jul 04, 2018
The KOA was excellent and the staff was great. The only reason I dropped the rating is that no where did the literature mention that we would be next to a busy freeway with freight trains going almost continuously all night long. I was able to sleep once I got used to the sound, plus I had been hiking all day and was exhausted, but my family could not. I wish we had known in advance.
Jul 04, 2018
By far one of the best KOA’s we’ve stayed at.
Jul 04, 2018
There was nothing wrong with the campground if it had been in a different location. But being right by the highway and some very busy train tracks made it so nobody slept well. The staff was friendly and the campground clean, but with the high price I would expect something better. I wouldn't stay there again.
Jul 03, 2018
Wonderful location and staff; very accomodating and on the ball.
Jul 03, 2018
Jul 03, 2018
Jul 02, 2018
Great stay with extended family for a reunion. Camp spot and facilities were fantastic. Our only complaint is the "nickle and diming" charges for everything. We have 4 kids and were charged extra for each kid. Extra, for cars, extra for tents, extra, extra extra. Holy cow. To spend $68.00 per night for a tent spot is really steep, especially since our total group rented so many spots.
Jul 02, 2018
Nice campgrounds, but extremely close together. Party campground next to a tubing river. Staff great at keeping campers quiet and I know it was a tough job. Pet policies need to be enforced, got tired of cleaning up after the neighbors dog. Area is beautiful but nothing to do or see unless you are tubing or swimming.
Jul 02, 2018
What a relaxing and beautiful vacation. Campground is right on the river and yes, train tracks are right across the street but we thought the train was great! Walk to town where there’s just the perfect amount of things to do with the family. We loved this KOA and would love to return!
Jul 01, 2018
We had a blast here. So much to do. Can't wait to come back.
Jul 01, 2018
Jul 01, 2018
If you like camping near a highway and railroad line, this is the place for you!! Did not care for the dirt/dusty roads inside the campground either. With all the money you make on charging for extra adults and children, I would think you could update this campground. WiFi inside the campground was not good either. We won't be staying here again!!!
Jul 01, 2018
Jun 30, 2018
Unique
The staff was courteous and helpful! Our cabin was clean when we checked in. The campground and restrooms/shower areas were well kept. We will definitely stay if we go to Lava Hot Springs again. The only improvement that we would like to see would be an actual table or a countertop in the cabin and a porch swing would be great.
Jun 30, 2018
Unique
Jun 30, 2018
Close to the hot springs, clean campground with nice bathrooms and laundry room.
Jun 30, 2018
We had a great time and enjoyed our spot by the river. Everyone was very helpful and friendly. Thank you!
Jun 29, 2018
Campground is kept is nice condition. Improvements of some curbing and concrete pads for some of the sites kept things cleaner. . We missed the clothes line and rope swing of past years.
Jun 29, 2018
Beautiful place!
Jun 29, 2018
Unique
Staff was incredibly helpful to us when we had an emergency with our pet! Only criticism us that the upper bathroom had many rooms locked due to our mid week stay there were extensive wait times on occasion.
Jun 29, 2018
Beautiful spot. Some train noise. Interesting bathroom set up. Lots a little bathrooms in one building. Convenient.
Jun 28, 2018
Beautiful, loved the trees river close by, close to the hot springs and close to shops. Easy to get to
Jun 28, 2018
We really enjoyed our stay. The improvements you have made to your campsites are great. Can’t wait to return for another stay. Your staff is friendly and caring about our stay.
Jun 28, 2018
Love the place I even finally got used to the trains. The trains come through all hours day and night and usually not too quiet that was the biggest drawback to this KOA but I would stay again
Jun 28, 2018
Nice, helpful staff, clean grounds
Jun 27, 2018
the staff at Lava Hot Springs KOA campground did a wonderful job. We were unsure if we would be able to stay and they went out of the way to make sure we had a spot. Thank you so much for your help in making our vacation a memorable one.
Jun 27, 2018
The first night the my husband's chain saw was stolen out of our truck. The personnel the we're very friendly but the campground was way too close to the train tracks and the highway. Both were very busy and noisy. I was disappointed in my first stay at a KOA.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are very disappointed to hear your chainsaw was stolen. We recommend that all personal items are locked up.
Jun 26, 2018
Jun 26, 2018
Very poor set up next to the road where trains and trucks make nights are unbearable. I rented 5 campsites and felt like I was Nickled and dimed over every little thing... parking and extra people etc. will likely not camp there again.
Jun 26, 2018
Great little town with great people. The cabin was perfect and overlooked the river, loved this place!!
Jun 26, 2018
Jun 26, 2018
We had a great stay. We are excited to bring the kids and grandkids on the next trip.
Jun 26, 2018
This was our first stay at a KOA, and we really enjoyed it. All of the employees were super friendly and helpful. The nights were quiet. Infact we reserved a spot for our return home. Thank you!!!
Jun 26, 2018
Unique
The campgrounds were clean, well taken care of, and in a great location. We enjoyed our cabin except the super hard mattress. The employees were great, personable, very helpful and kind. My kids loved the activity and the playground. I would note the north side of the campground is very near the highway and a busy railway.
Jun 26, 2018
The campground was fine. Our neighboring camp spot however rolled in at 11:30 PM and was setting up till 12:30. Noisy. Then they were up at 6:00 am. Noisy people. Got about 4 hours of sleep for the next leg of my journey. It made that day difficult to stay awake driving and was not in a good mood.
Jun 25, 2018
The cabins took care of our needs.
Jun 25, 2018
Unique
Very Clean!!
Jun 25, 2018
We stayed June 22 thru June 24. We got put in a spot where there was a family reunion all around us and I asked for a seculed spot. They had music , laughing and screaming until 12:30 am. We did not have a good time.� when we talked to the lady in the office she said we requested that spot, but we did not. We weren't related to anyone there. Absolutely a bad time The tables need to be painted
Jun 25, 2018
We had a sit by the river which was very nice.
Jun 24, 2018
Great site , but noisy due to frequent freight trains .
Jun 24, 2018
Clean, beautiful, well maintained. Pleasant staff, easy check in, lots of happy campers. Love the location And the walkway to the hot springs. Suggest management educate campers about the dangers of unattended campfires. There were more than one.
Jun 24, 2018
Disappointed in there not being a dog run . Also , the leash rule should apply and be enforced .
Jun 23, 2018
Very nice. Enjoyed all the shade and the pavilion with sink and BBQ. Nice kiddie area and horseshoe pits. Nice showers except they all didn't have grab bars for seniors but the senior ones were great. Very quiet at night - when I took my hearing aids out.
Jun 23, 2018
It was great , very relaxing next to the river . I think they should have or enforce a leash rule . Many people were letting their a dogs loose . One jerk had 5 barking dogs , one appeared to aggressive and came after ours . He and I had words and the next morning my tail light was busted out . I’m sure he did it but didn’t want any more problems with him . Other than that jerk it was a great
Jun 23, 2018
Great showers very clean Kids enjoyed river and hit springs
Jun 22, 2018
the stores are getting more boring every year
Jun 22, 2018
We have stayed here multiple times and we have a great stay every time
Jun 22, 2018
No problems, had a great time. We all thought the hot springs could have been in a more natural setting instead of being so commercialized. Good time none the less.
Jun 22, 2018
Beautiful, clean campground. Staff was very friendly and helpful.
Jul 19, 2019
We love camping here! It's clean, shady and has very nice bathrooms, showers and Bowery with cooking appliances.
- Shari Nelson on Google
Jul 14, 2019
I was pleasantly surprised. The new owner was awesome. Told my wife of the improvements he had planned. He even helped us out when we ran into a snag in the campground. Love this place, and will definitely be back again.
- Fred Jensen on Google
May 01, 2018
Schöner Campground in Lava Hot Springs, 5 Minuten zum Thermalbad/Freibad. Schöne schattige Stellplätze, gute und saubere Restrooms.
- Marc on HOLIDAYCHECK