Lake Isabella / Kern River KOA Reviews

RV Reviews

Apr 05, 2019
Apr 05, 2019
Nice layout to the campground. Surrounded by high desert mountains at the east end of Lake Isabella, lots of birds in the nice shade trees. Fun decorations in the cowboy/western motif. Love the camper kitchen ramada. Looks like fun things for children—especially the spray tree and speedboat sand’box’! Hope to be back soon!
Apr 04, 2019
Mar 26, 2019
Staff at check in were very helpful in choosing a site. The shower and bath room facilities were clean.
Mar 25, 2019
Mar 25, 2019
Nice and well kept. Very friendly staff. Good views of mountains.
Mar 20, 2019
Charmingly rustic with a western theme. New management is in the midst of upgrading and improving everything. 30amp hookups, roomy spaces, lots of trees for shade,a pool and even a bar that makes pizza on premise! If you’ve little ones they have a very cute kids play area and if your kids have four legs, a doggie area. By far the best thing here is the amazing staff!
Mar 20, 2019
We never saw the people caring for that KOA. But when we made the reservation they put us right on the highway side. Cars all night. They were pretty empty and could have put us in the back
Mar 16, 2019
Shower were minimum. No place to hang clothes etc. (no hooks, stool, seat). Dog run was right next to neighboring property with their barking dogs lunging at us. Prop is literally on the hwy so traffic noise all night.
Mar 15, 2019
Clean raked sites and nice staff. It would be nice to have the store open longer. The dog park has shards of broken glass in the decomposed granite ground. That really needs to be addressed.
Mar 13, 2019
Great location, nice and peaceful especially if your trying to get away for the weekend.
Feb 25, 2019
It was great and the snow on Thursday February 21 was awesome!
Feb 02, 2019
Very nice facility and friendly staff. Nearby Audubon hiking trail. BUT, quite undesirable bathroom. Dressing area in shower stall had standing water, no mat, so hard to get dressed without soaking pant legs. Limited hooks, no bench so hard to keep stuff off floor. On departure morning, all 4 toilets were half flushed. Worst bathroom in 2 months of traveling. Told staff. Appreciated my comments
Jan 16, 2019
Only complaint is there was no cable or school up.
Jan 05, 2019
We just did one night, and it was a traveling through choice, not a destination in itself. That said the place was clean and seemed to have plenty of amenities. It is very close to the summer time lakeshore. Water spigot didn't work in morning, but may have been frozen.
Jan 04, 2019
There was a water issue. KOA Turned water off while in campground shower with no notice. Our supply of water was empty so we had no water for a day. Not cool. Staff was friendly. Things just seemed off from most KOA’s
Jan 04, 2019
Jan 03, 2019
Had a great time over he New Year’s holiday. Great location and facility.
Jan 02, 2019
Everything is clean and functioning, staff is friendly and helpful. Great job!
Dec 30, 2018
Beautiful campsite with all the amenities! Level pad - laundry and bathroom clean. The staff was very friendly and accommodating.
Dec 10, 2018
Great place.
Dec 09, 2018
We stayed only one night so don’t have a lot to say. Staff was very friendly. Site itself could use some upgrading and maintenance. It’s looking aged. We were the only people camping as it was off season. Not sure we would go back as we probably won’t be traveling in the area.
Nov 28, 2018
Nov 27, 2018
It was a great stay minus electric issues and septic overflow.
Nov 27, 2018
1st time going to lake isabella/kern river, what a beautiful place. It was also our 1st stay at a KOA. Will definitely use KOA and this particular spot again. Clean restrooms, clean lot, LP gas onsite, general store open until 10 pm, each site has fire pits, RV/Trailer hook ups, benches, decent size lots, playground, etc. also has a pool but we had no need for it, maybe summer time.
Nov 26, 2018
Nov 26, 2018
We had a great time your staff was friendly and polite. We especially like Becky who made us feel welcomed and right at home!
Nov 25, 2018
We love this KOA. This is our 5th time (4th Thanksgiving) and we were so excited to come up. Having missed last year, we were looking forward to the activities they usually put on but this year there was nothing. No tie die t-shirts or beer/wine tasting night. We we’re disappointed. The atmosphere & campground is always great and clean. Staff very friendly, just sad we missed out on some added f
Nov 25, 2018
It was pleasant and the people were very friendly and helpful.
Nov 20, 2018
Great quiet location near lake Isabella, the bathroom facilities could use an upgrade as they are pretty old. We had a fine overnight stay.
Nov 15, 2018
The staff vary friendly vary clean vary quite at night I will go back
Nov 11, 2018
The staff is awesome! Nice grounds and spaces. There are a few updates that need to be done to the bathrooms. Toilets that flush better and showers with easier on/off handles. Otherwise the bathrooms are pretty clean. Heat the pool as advertised on the sign.
Nov 11, 2018
Dead trees, dead plants in half wine barrels, tree limbs growing over sites which make it difficult to park, bathroom needs up-dating Warning notice in bathroom concerning unsafe water(notice should be given at check-in, if a rig is self contained they may not go into the bathroom). Debris stacked in corner needs tone removed or hidden.
Nov 02, 2018
Very friendly and helpful staff and beautiful location. Good supplies in camp store.
Nov 01, 2018
Nov 01, 2018
The campground is beautiful and well maintained. Couldn't ask for a nicer staff!
Oct 30, 2018
Oct 29, 2018
Great staff. Lots of activity for the kids.
Oct 24, 2018
Oct 23, 2018
It was all okay
Oct 23, 2018
The staff at Lake Isabella KOA are very friendly, however, this KOA has seen better days and is in need of considerable maintenance. There is virtually no grass, all sites are dirt. Even the water was cloudy; recommend drinking nothing but bottled water. There are mature trees shading each campsite which is a plus in the Kern River valley.
Oct 23, 2018
Nice spots with trees. Liked all the western themed decorations around the park. Lots for kids to do here. Very pleasant office staff. Only negative comment would be that the office is not well identified for an RV with a tow vehicle that has just pulled in.
Oct 22, 2018
no tv no wi- no radio no seris radio bathroom old falling apart no cold beer
Oct 20, 2018
Office staff very friendly and gave us clear details about the park. The park has great potential with its many shade trees. If you like dirt roads and dirt parking spots and no grass in sight, then this would be perfect. The bath and shower room has adequate showers and toilet stalls but when the door is left open all the time and no heater in the room it makes for a quick in and out.
Oct 13, 2018
Large site - Only 30 AMP service - Very dirty & dusty - Internet almost adequate - Probably a good stop overnight location.
Oct 13, 2018
Oct 11, 2018
As always, the staff was kind, the grounds were clean and it was a wonderful stay.
Oct 10, 2018
Lots of amenities at this KOA!!! Dog run/play area, pub, laundry, WiFi!
Oct 08, 2018
Oct 07, 2018
The pool should be heated but was freezing cold. Market was very expensive. Overall a convenient stopover
Feb 18, 2020
The employee's are awesome! There's a splash pad for the kids and a pool! There's also a little store and bar for little necessities
- Rebecca Estrel on Google
Jan 29, 2020
Finally under new management! Wonderful staff and everything is being cleaned up and rejuvenated! Getting back to the family oriented koa!!!
- Shannon Green on Google
Jan 26, 2020
It's a great community service
- Billiegirl Woods-Hopkins on Google

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.