La Junta KOA Reviews

Special Reviews

Jun 11, 2019
Unique
Although the unit that we stayed in was fairly clean there were several spiders. Was told the unit slept five but didn’t know the fifth person had to sleep on the couch.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Welcome to the beauty of nature & camping, which no matter how much you clean, may include some spiders! We do inform all guests, in writing & verbally, that the Fleetwood Prowler has a queen bed, a queen sofa sleeper & a couch, and that it can sleep up to five. Cheers! The La Junta KOA Team
Jun 09, 2019
Unique
Friendly competent staff.Fun family activities.Good coffee bar. Negative was sweet strong chemical smell in the camper we rented. Caused sore throat, red, runny eyes and runny nose and slight headache. Symptoms improved after airing camper for several hours.Use of natural products would reduce possibility of reaction.Camper was neat and clean and well supplied

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your kind words & we're glad you enjoyed the camper. We appreciate your advice on the use of natural products. Cheers & travel safe! Your La Junta KOA Team
Jul 02, 2018
Unique
Stay was great, and all campground employees were extremely helpful and courteous. The campground activities were awesome for our little ones. The only complaint we have is that our park model deluxe cabin was infested with spiders. We had to kill them from the time we checked in, until the time we checked out. They were everywhere and small, as if a nest had just hatched.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thanks for your kind words. Yeah, the spiders get crazy-busy in the summers here - we take out big webs that pop up almost every night on the front of our office! Did you mention them to our staff when you were here? Our custodial staff cleans after each guest, so your are right in that it probably was a nest that just hatched and no infestation. Travel safe - Cheers! Your La Junta KOA Team
Jun 13, 2018
Unique
Jun 11, 2018
Unique
The Park model was very comfortable. The TV system was activated via streaming which was spotty the weekend we were there.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We're glad your enjoyed our Fleetwood Prowler - we recently remodeled it and it is cozy. When the campground fills up, our Wifi gets stretched pretty thin and we are hoping to improve the signal strength as soon as we can. Thanks again for staying with us - travel safe! Cheers! Your La Junta KOA Team
Jun 07, 2018
Unique
We had a great stay- it was hot so we enjoyed the pool, had fun playing miniature golf with some unique obstacles, and since there were 12 of us 3 generations we also enjoyed the rec room with AC / pool table. We celebrated birthdays in the rec room great to get all of us in. The staff helped with special requests / the units were comfortable and had nice bedding/towels and kitchen utensils. Great

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for staying with us and we're happy to hear that everyone had a good time! Family and friends are what it is all about! We hope the rest of your summer is safe & just as fun! Cheers! Your La Junta KOA Team
May 22, 2018
Unique
Did not get tv reception & small spaces.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We're sorry you did not get good TV reception - we suggest checking your antenna & connections as most report being able to pull in 15-20 stations besides our high speed WiFi. For larger sites, please try our South Park next time - they are longer, wider, have grass medians and fire rings. Travel safe - Cheers! Your La Junta KOA Team
Oct 18, 2017
Unique
We stayed in the tiny house. It was beautiful and so much fun! Very clean grounds and curtious staff. Definitely plan to go back and do it again.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We're very happy you enjoyed your stay in the Tiny Home - it is pretty cool! We look forward to your next stay...! Cheers & travel safe! Your La Junta KOA Team
Oct 02, 2017
Unique
Oct 02, 2017
Unique
It was nice

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you! Cheers! Your La Junta KOA Team
Sep 29, 2017
Unique
Sep 18, 2017
Unique
We arrived after hours and they had everything we needed at the checkin station, key, map etc. We stayed in the tiny house and it was clean and comfortable. Very cute!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

The Tiny House is a fun getaway! We thank you for choosing to stay with us - travel safe! Cheers! Your La Junta KOA Team
Sep 02, 2017
Unique
We had a great stay. We stayed in the park model and it was very nice! The owner Brad and his staff are great and very nice people. I recommend this camp ground.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your kind words! We're glad you enjoyed your stay in our newly remodeled Park Model (deluxe cabin) - it does look great inside! Have a safe & fun rest of the summer - Cheers! Your La Junta KOA Team
Aug 16, 2017
Unique
Lots of mosquitos otherwise great.clean.quiet.friendly

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your feedback & kind words. We have had a highly unusual amount of rain this summer which unfortunately encourages the mosquitos. Have a great rest of your summer & travel safe! Cheers! Your La Junta KOA Team
Jul 30, 2017
Unique
Great staff

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

THANK YOU! We are very fortunate to have really wonderful people working here. Have a wonderful rest of the summer & be safe out there! Cheers! Your La Junta KOA Team
Jul 24, 2017
Unique
Had a wonderful stay in the tiny house. Loved using the propane grill and the bed was the most comfortable we slept on during a 5 night vacation.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Our Tiny Home on the Prairie ROCKS - everyone loves it! Thanks for your kind comments! With our Camper, Camping Cabins, newly remodeled Park Model, Deluxe Patio RV site and in-the-process-of-being-upgraded tent sites, there is something good to stay at/in for everyone! Have a wonderful journey through the rest of the summer ... and be safe! Cheers! Your La Junta KOA Team
Jul 24, 2017
Unique
Great place!! Very clean and well maintained! Very sweet and helpful staff :)

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Wow! What a nice comment - thank you! We think this is the first time we've ever been called "sweet" ... SWEET! Have a great journey through the rest of your summer & be safe out there! Cheers! Your La Junta KOA Team
Jul 14, 2017
Unique
We chose the KOA so we could stay in the Tiny Home as we were visiting Sprouts. The home was clean and well stocked. ONce installed, the AC worked great. Good location. Easy to get to restaurants and other attractions.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for staying with us & we're glad you liked our Tiny Home - it is pretty cool! Have a great summer of travel - be safe! Cheers! Your La Junta KOA Team
Jun 27, 2017
Unique
We enjoyed the stay however the 'rental unit' was very small and not comfortable for 4 adults. We ended up having to take our showers in the restrooms and the front of the campgrounds.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are glad you enjoyed your stay! The "rental unit" is a 28' travel trailer with a queen bed & full-size sofa sleeper and a small shower. As a large person, the queen bed is ok for me but the shower is too small; for my wife, who is of medium build, it all works for her. The showers in our Park Model & Tiny Home are larger. Have a great summer! Cheers! Your La Junta KOA Team
Jun 18, 2017
Unique
were in a camper rental that smelled of sewer gas. slept in car most of the night. Hot, bad water smelll--never again.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are so sorry to now hear of your issue with our camper-we would have been happy to move you if we had only known. No smell now! TO ALL OUR GUESTS: PLEASE, PLEASE LET US KNOW IF YOU HAVE ANY CONCERNS OR QUESTIONS - WE ARE HERE TO HELP & WANT YOU TO ENJOY YOUR STAY! Cheers! Your La Junta KOA
Jun 18, 2017
Unique
The staff of the La Junta KOA campground was extremely friendly. We enjoyed the Friday night ice cream social. We stayed in one of the cabins--the cabin was perfectly suited to our needs. We roasted marshmallows and made s'mores in our firepit, cooked fajita pockets on the grill, and swam in the pool for hours! The dogs enjoyed the pet area and appreciated being welcome!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you very much for your kind words - we truly appreciate it and want all of our guests to enjoy their experience here as much as you! Have a most wonderful of summers! Cheers! Your La Junta KOA Team
Jun 15, 2017
Unique
Great stay, very clean unit and great employees.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you. Have a wonderful, safe summer. Cheers! Your appreciative La Junta KOA Team
Jun 10, 2017
Unique
First time ever at a KOA. Stayed here to experience a Tiny Home. Reception was excellent and a quick repair to the AC was done. A good stay.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for staying with us and we hope you enjoy future visits to the KOA's around the country & Canada! Safe travels! Cheers! Your La Junta KOA Team
Jun 09, 2017
Unique
Jun 02, 2017
Unique
I loved having the fire to roast marshmellows over and the cabin was clean. Having a fridge and microwave was a plus. I recommnend putting the TV up in a corner above the AC unit--as it takes a lot of space we usually use for organization.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your feedback & kind words - and we're glad your marshmallow roasting went well! Travel safe & have a great summer! Cheers! Your La Junta KOA Team
Mar 18, 2017
Unique
Nice folks running a nice clean KOA. Would definitely recommend as well as stay again! Thanks

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you! Travel safe & cheers! Your La Junta KOA Team
Jan 09, 2017
Unique
The owners are wonderful, helpful and care. Facilities are clean and spacious. I am a travel nurse and was here for I'm 7/16 thru 1/ 17. Will stay again if able.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

It was very nice having you here with us and welcome you back anytime! We wish you the very best in your travel nursing - stay warm! Cheers! Brad, Wendee & Boys
Dec 31, 2016
Unique
I got to stay in one of the tiny houses. It was very nice and cozy, yet much more roomy than I would expect. Also, the people who run it were very nice. I had asked to stay downstairs and the futon was all made up for me with very nice comfy warm bedding.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thanks for staying with us and we're glad you enjoyed our Tiny Home! It is cozy, indeed! Happy New Year and we hope to see you again. Cheers! Brad, Wendee & Boys