La Junta KOA Reviews

RV Reviews

Sep 05, 2018
Water not to good. Sewer slow at dumping

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We're curious as to why you thought our city water was not too good, as most seem fine with it. Yes, the sewer is slow to dump - the campground is almost totally flat, so we encourage our guests to use plenty of water to make the flow go. Most of the park was built in the 50's & we think some of the trees are not playing nice with the sewer pipes, so we plan on replacing a line or two next spring.
Sep 04, 2018
Sep 04, 2018
Some of the facilities need a deep cleaning. The recreation room looks "grungy" and the pool needs a deep cleaning as well. The staff is very friendly and helpful but the facility needs a little updating. They offered to leave the pool open a little after dark for us which was very nice, but would recommend the pool stay open until around 10 for those of us who are out during the day until dark

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thanks for your comments. One of our winter projects will be to spruce up our Rec Room - it does need it! We just got a new pool cleaning machine, so that should help. Unfortunately, we can't leave the pool open past dark as there is no lighting - yet! - and it would be unsafe. Again, another improvement project on our list. Cheers! Your La Junta KOA Team!
Sep 04, 2018
Staff was very helpful. This is our second stay here and we will be back.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thanks for the warning! No, seriously, we appreciate your kind words and your repeat business - it means we must be doing something right (we hope!)! We look forward to seeing you again and wish you safe travels until then! Cheers from Your La Junta KOA Team!
Sep 04, 2018
The restroom cleanliness rated about a 7 compared to most other KOAs. The grass areas were dominated by weeds and cockleburs. The water from the campground spigot was cloudy. Since this is the only reputable campground between Lamar and Pueblo people have few other choices.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We, too, would love for some of our guests to have more camping options.... We are happy to say that we truly enjoy about 9 out of 10 of our guests! We hope your next camping experience puts a smile on your face :~} Cheers! The La Junta KOA Team
Sep 02, 2018
It was not very pleasant. It wasn’t clean feeling. I was disappointed that the golf course was an additional cost though it was not very good or maintained well. There was a slide for a playground and a few bouncers but they weren’t inflated. It was not good. The dog park was very small. We did not enjoy our stay. We will not go back again. Not what we’re used to at a Koa.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay. We put up our inflatables upon request as we staff them for safety reasons - the wind can come up very quickly without notice & we don't want anyone getting hurt, but if no one is wanting to play on them, our staff works on other projects. We would have been happy to put them up for you. We would like to have a bigger dog park, but we have no room.
Aug 31, 2018
Aug 30, 2018
Have been staying at this KOA for many years. Had high hopes for continued improvements with new owners. But sadly, this will probably be our last stay. The grounds are not improving (parked hearse, old tractor (with the smell of oil & fuel) old equipment throughout the park, as well as old RV’s and cars, in the designated areas for longer RV’s, making it difficult to maneuver. And fire ants!!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your last stay. The hearse is for our Haunted Campground in Oct. The RV's & cars in our longer spaces were guests. It is too bad you did not notice that all fencomg in the campground has been replaced, over 100 trees planted, the tent sites & playground remodeled, a deluxe patio site and coffee & treats trailer added. Travel safe! Your La Junta KOA Tea
Aug 27, 2018
Aug 27, 2018
Just a typical dumpy KOA. Low water pressure. Bunch of livy units. Just not real appetizing, but the only option in LaJunta.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

What is a "livy" unit??? Cheers! Your La Junta KOA Team
Aug 25, 2018
It was great,

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you! Have an awesome rest of the summer - travel safe! Cheers! Your La Junta KOA Team
Aug 25, 2018
Water supply is bad. Other than that it was a pleasant stay.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Interesting ... we are on City water, it is tested constantly and tastes pretty darn good. Our campground was built in the 1950's (is it "old" or "historic"?!) and the pipes are certainly not new, which is why we encourage all guests to run the water for a few seconds to clear any rust. Other than that, our water supply is good. Thanks for sharing. Cheers from your La Junta KOA Team
Aug 24, 2018
Aug 23, 2018
Aug 23, 2018
Aug 21, 2018
Aug 20, 2018
Aug 20, 2018
Aug 19, 2018
Our truck broke down the previous stop but we already made reservations several stops ahead. La Junta KOA was very patient with us and changed our arrival dates several times. Thank you! The bathrooms are lovely.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We know how frustrating it is to have a breakdown - or more (unless you are listening to Tom Petty...!), been there, done that, so we try to be as accommodating as we can. Hopefully you will have smooth sailing for the rest of your journey! Safe travels - Cheers! Your La Junta KOA Team
Aug 16, 2018
We have been here before but this time the facilities were filthy, grounds unkept, trees need trimmed to keep off vehicles, staff do not appear to care about facility. Items in gift shop gad dust and cobwebs all over them. Does not appear that men's room cleaned for 2 to 3 days while there. This could be a great place if a little they would take some pride in the place.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for taking the time to comment. Travel safe! The La Junta KOA Team
Aug 16, 2018
Very friendly staff, quick response to special requests, grounds are well kept and welcoming. Loved my stay and will be back again!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your very kind words, and we hope to see you down the road! Travel safe & have a great summer of adventures! Cheers - Your La Junta KOA Team
Aug 15, 2018
Aug 15, 2018
We had to look out our window at machinery and spoils. Not what I would expect from a KOA. The line of us had motorhomes valued at over 100000 and had poor views. Would not stay here again even though the employees were excellent. I'll stay at the junk yard next time, its cheaper and have the same view.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for noticing our efforts to clean up the decades-old landfill/dump left by our predecessors!! We will have a beautiful arroyo when we are done, hopefully with a trail along the creek. Too bad you'll miss it...! Cheers from your hard-working, environmentally friendly, always trying to make it better La Junta KOA Team!
Aug 14, 2018
Aug 13, 2018
Aug 13, 2018
Nice place. Sites are close together but we expected that. Good place to stop when traveling. Close to Wal Mart. Everything that is in the control of the KOA was nice. The Manager is exceptional! He went out of his way to do whatever was necessary to resolve our issues. Recently added trees were a nice touch. Thank you

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for staying with us! For a little more space, next time check out our South Park where there is a bit more space! Have a great summer & travel safe - Cheers! Your La Junta KOA Team!
Aug 10, 2018
Aug 10, 2018
Pool closed for a private party, security lax- no screening of vehicles driving through, employee exceeded speed limit, after pool party broke up cars speeding out of parking lot.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for taking the time to comment. Please travel safe - Cheers! The La Junta KOA Team
Aug 08, 2018
The lot was a little unlevel and muddy after a rain but other than that was a nice little KOA.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your comments. Travel safe - Cheers! Your La Junta KOA Team
Aug 06, 2018
Quiet, & clean bathrooms. Sewage backed up & pooled in roadway but prompt response by staff. Very busy place!!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your kind words. Unfortunately, some materials that really should not go in a septic system were put in the line, clogging it. Not fun! Thank you for staying with us & we hope you have a wonderful & safe summer! Cheers from your La Junta KOA Team!
Aug 05, 2018
tells you that you have some tv channels and when you turn your tv on you have none.the staff was friendly andhelpful

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are sorry to hear that you were having difficulty getting TV reception. Yes, we have 17 channels of conventional TV that come in, plus high-speed Wifi. Have a great summer of travel - be safe! Cheers from your La Junta KOA Team
Aug 04, 2018
It was lovely and everyone was great.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

WoW! Thank you very, very much! Have a terrific rest of the summer and be safe on the road! Cheers from your friends at the La Junta KOA!
Aug 04, 2018
Very nice! Would definitely stay there again.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Very nice comments - thank you! Have a beautiful summer of camping & travel safe! Cheers from your La Junta KOA Team!
Aug 03, 2018
Aug 03, 2018
The staff were friendly, the pool was nice and the restrooms were very clean. We enjoyed the ice cream near the campfire. I was extremely disappointed with the playground. One slide was just not enough to keep my grandchildren occupied; the playground set in your photos was missing. The enclosed recreation room was padlocked. Also the water connections leaked, this needs addressing.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We're glad the staff, pool, restrooms and Fire & Ice (Cream) Social were good by you. Re. the playground, the set was replaced with the slide you mentioned plus a 30' slip & slide & a bounce castle as the set had long ago seen better days. The Rec Room is locked as items were being stolen; everyday we checkout keys for guests to use it. Did you mention the water leak to us when here? Travel safe!
Aug 02, 2018
Aug 02, 2018
Very nice park loved the large concrete lots, your not on top of your neighbor. Facilities were spotless. We would stay there again!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you - we appreciate your kind comments! Have a fun, safe summer of camping! Cheers from your La Junta KOA Team!
Aug 01, 2018
Jul 31, 2018
very nice place

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you very much! Have a great summer & travel safe! Cheers from your La Junta KOA Team!
Jul 30, 2018
Jul 30, 2018
Jul 30, 2018
Jul 30, 2018
It was very nice. would stay there again.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you very much - we would love to have you back anytime! Have a fun-filled summer of terrific, safe travel! Cheers from your La Junta KOA Team!
Jul 30, 2018
Great customer service. Nice shady spot.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your kind words! We have planted nearly 100 trees in the past two years, so more shady spots are in development...! Travel safe & Cheers! Your La Junta KOA Team
Jul 29, 2018
It was alright to stay there. I was very depressed though. I had just put my dog to sleep, and had to wait for her remains before I could leave. Golden Retreiver She was 13 yrs old 83 in human years.I think they stayed away from me because they knew I was in Morning. The boy with the slushy and the gentleman that was working on the fence helped me feel a little better. I thank them for that

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We were very sorry to hear of your loss of a family member - we love our dogs (and cats!), too. Your La Junta KOA Team
Jul 29, 2018
Clean facilities. Relatively level gravel site. Very pricey for what it offers.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for taking the time to comment - we appreciate it. Have a nice summer & be safe. Cheers from your La Junta KOA Team!
Jul 27, 2018
Very clean. Staff great highly recommended

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Wow! Thank you! We do have a great team and they work hard to keep us clean! Nice rhyme, eh?! Have a wonderful summer of fun, safe travel! Cheers from your La Junta KOA Team!
Jul 27, 2018
We spent only one night, but the campground was nice and the staff friendly.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your friendliness as well, and we invite you to stay two nights on the next trip! Have a most excellent summer, and travel safe! Cheers from your La Junta KOA Team!
Jul 26, 2018
Called for overnighter with a long, level pull thru w/o disconnecting. Called to reserve/registration friendly, too. Located fraction of a mile from Walmart and Village Inn restaurant. 10% discount at restaurant for staying at this KOA. Wi-Fi strong enough to download annual GPS map updates in less time than my Verizon jet pack in a 4G area. Didn't use facilities. Easy in/easy out.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

That works! Thank you for staying with us and enjoy the rest of your trip! Cheers from your La Junta KOA Team!
Jul 25, 2018
Reading the previous comments would have deterred us from staying, but the KOA must have listened. The greeting staff was efficient and professional. The park was very well maintained. TV reception was adequate. Glad I didn’t listen to the negative as this KOA deserves a real positive comment.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you! 4.5 stars out of 5 over thousands of reviews - we just might be doing some things right, right?! We continue to work everyday to be better and appreciate your kind words recognizing that. Have a safe journey! Cheers from your La Junta KOA Team!
Oct 08, 2019
So glad I was able to get a site for a couple of nights. Very busy Campground. well-maintained. Somebody in the ladies bathroom likes the color purple. Lol. It’s refreshing! Plenty of hot water great showers. The girl that checked me in was very helpful I didn’t get her name
- JILLERNST on Trip Advisor
Oct 30, 2019
We have stayed there several times it is clean and people were friendly.
- Bea Luehring on Google
Oct 21, 2019
We only stayed for one night and were able to get a deluxe cabin. The cabin was nice, clean, and had everything you would need. The propane grill provided did the job, wish they had a grill brush though. The fire rings were nice, but I would recommend buying your wood elsewhere. I purchased $14 dollars worth and they dropped off 13 tiny pieces, it burnt up rather quickly. All in all I probably would only stay there in a pinch with my camper, but the cabin was nice for short notice.
- Travis Corlis on Google

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.