La Junta KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-9501

Reserve: 800-562-9501

Info: 719-384-9580

Info: 719-384-9580

Email This Campground

26680 Highway 50

La Junta, CO 81050

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations, Cabin, Camper, Deluxe Cabin

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

May 07, 2019
May 06, 2019
The owner decided he needed to take a trip to Texas so he left a woman in charge who he trained for 2 days. She did her best and was really sweet so even though things in the park weren’t up to par, it wasn’t her fault. The billing is still incorrect. The sites are okay but picnic tables dirty. Location is great- near a Walmart and a couple of restaurants and near lots of history.
May 06, 2019
Friendly quiet
May 05, 2019
Great stay at the KOA
May 03, 2019
Friendly staff and nice location
May 03, 2019
May 02, 2019
We stayed for one night and couldn’t have been happier! Very friendly upon arrival, very nice grounds, nice bathroom and laundry facilities and a great location!! The only issue I encountered is that our neighbor that pulled in after us unhooked our water line to hook his up but that wasn’t the campground’s Fault. We will definitely be back the next time we’re staying in the area!!
Apr 29, 2019
Check in was smooth and efficient. Sites are narrow, but offered plenty of room for our 43’ 5th. Well maintained and the coffee/snack trailer was a treat. Close to Walmart and other shops.
Apr 27, 2019
Apr 22, 2019
Really enjoyed the site and the facilities. Bathrooms and showers were excellent. Really great to have the "coffee hut" on site. Good location to the town and surrounding areas including the National Park: Old Bent's Fort.
Apr 20, 2019
Apr 19, 2019
Spaces were nice , level, and well kept. No problem navigating with my 40ft 5th wheel. You could tell that the hosts take pride in the camp site. Brad and Nicole were very helpful and kind people. I had a little emergency with my camper when I first arrived and Brad was very quick to get me a very good mechanic to help me very quickly. I would stay here again.
Apr 16, 2019
Site wasn't very clean.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your comment and we will seek to do better. Spring is a challenging time in the campground business with new staff coming on each year and some learning their jobs faster than others - sometimes things get overlooked. We appreciate the reminder to get all sites checked everyday! Travel safe & have a great summer of travel! Cheers from your La Junta KOA Team!
Apr 15, 2019
Front desk was poor, not trained. Overcharged for site, no water on site not told

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for taking the time to comment. We're sorry that we did not provide the experience you were looking for. I believe you caught a new staff member that had not been fully trained. She did correct your charges so you left without being overcharged. As for not having water, a yard faucet broke without telling us it was going to break & we have to shut off all the water to fix it!
Apr 11, 2019
very friendly Staff, very clean shower and restroom. We came back !! �

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your very kind words, and thanks for coming back! Travel safe & have an awesome summer! Cheers from your La Junta KOA Team!
Apr 06, 2019
The road / driveways need grading to smooth out the potholes. Signage is easy to miss. Driving EB or WB on Hwy 50, the small KOA Journey sign is easy to miss. I drove past it going EB on arrival.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your comments, and great timing! We just got in a long-awaited (expensive) piece of equipment, a land plane, for maintaining our roads & now they look AWESOME! We are soooo excited! Also, we are in the process of moving our marquee sign 20' closer to the highway, so that will help a bunch. We encourage our guests to call & we will gladly provide excellent directions to our oasis!
Apr 04, 2019
great campground to stay, best stocked parts dept I've seen yet. very helpful staff, will stay again

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your very kind comments and we would love to have you back! Travel safe & have a great summer! Cheers from your La Junta KOA Team!
Mar 17, 2019
Feb 04, 2019
Very friendly and helpful folks. No cable TV but have a powerful WiFi.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

It was great having you stay with us on your maiden voyage! We hope you had a safe trip home and many more enjoyable journeys to come...! Cheers! from Your Friends at La Junta KOA
Jan 18, 2019
Helpful staff Clean restrooms Price reasonable

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Badda-boom, badda-bing! 1-2-3's of a good stay at our KOA! We love our guests from the Dakota's - they are so real! Cheers from Your La Junta KOA Team!
Jan 05, 2019
Jan 02, 2019
Dec 14, 2018
Seemed odd to be limited to one or two sites when most of the spaces were empty.?. Else all was fine.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

To assist guests coming in after the office is closed, we put out a night registration site availability list of the 2 best sites of each site type. We consider other reservations that haven't arrived, that water at some sites is not winterized/open, that a site may have maintenance going on, to provide guests space between sites, etc. If a guest wants a specific site, we will try to make it work!
Dec 06, 2018
Very nice folks. Very helpful.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you! As was said in every Red Green show, "If they don't find you handsome, they should at least find you handy!" Happy Holidays & travel safe! Cheers from Your La Junta KOA Team!
Dec 02, 2018
As always, it was great. We stay here regularly and it is always clean and quiet. Brad is attentive to our needs and so kind! Will stay here again!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you, and we always enjoy your visits! Have a wonderful holiday season and we'll see you next year! Happy Holidays from Your La Junta KOA Team!
Nov 20, 2018
Employees seemed very nice. That's the good. This KOA seems very tired. They need to pay more attention to cleanliness and maintenance. A badly wrecked truck was left there, trash laying around. Was told that one of the washers didn't work but they didn't know which. No out of order sign! Halloween decor was partially dismantled and left where it was, 3 weeks after Halloween.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for taking the time to comment. Yes, we are behind on cleaning up after our Haunted Campground, including the wrecked truck, as we lost the staff person responsible for the event. All washers are working & our Halloween props have been returned to the crypt. Cheers! The La Junta KOA Team
Oct 31, 2018
Oct 24, 2018
Brad was very helpful and the sites are large.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Are you sure you don't mean that having the sites was helpful and Brad is very large...?!! LOL! I'm working on it! Seriously, thanks for your kind words - we appreciate 'em. Be safe on the road. Cheers from Your La Junta KOA Team!
Oct 22, 2018
Oct 21, 2018
Your meeting room could be fixed up a bit. Nice friendly service, will try to stay again in the future.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

You are so right! Sprucing up our Rec Room is one of this winter's projects, and it sure needs it! Thanks for staying with us and be safe in your travels! Cheers! from Your La Junta KOA Team
Oct 20, 2018
Confusing entrance and registration area.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

It is indeed a bit crazy the last two weeks of October when we put on our Haunted Campground and put up the GIANT WALL OF STRAW! We appreciate everyone's patience. The Haunted Campground is a great community event and raises money for the high school drama clubs in our valley. It is a scary, ghoulish and yep, a bit confusing time! I promise you we are a bit more "normal" the rest of the year...!
Oct 19, 2018
We had about 18 friends there-- some were in RV's, some rented cabins, some stayed in tents. We rented the Deluxe RV site. It was a great experience and everyone enjoyed themselves. The campground was very nice and the owner Brad was helpful and friendly. It was clear the owners take great pride in their operation and we would encourage anyone and everyone to stay there.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

WoW! Thank you for them mighty kind words! We are doing our best, everyday, to make this a great place to stay. We have made a ton of progress in the past 2.5 years (all new fencing, 100+ new trees, upgraded tent sites & playground, added deluxe cabins & RV site, added night lighting, coffee stand & more!) but still have more to do! Travel safe & see you again - Cheers! Your La Junta KOA Team
Oct 18, 2018
very nicely maintained and centrally located camp ground - loved the halloween decoration and the espresso cart!! that's a game changer!!!! and it was open at 6 a.m.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thanks, and we're glad you enjoyed our coffee stand, The Daily Planet! Gotta get your Joe when your on the go, right! Travel safe. Cheers from Your La Junta KOA Team!
Oct 17, 2018
Oct 17, 2018
WE HAD A GOOD TIME. HAD A GOOD TURN OUT OF OUR MEMBERS.ARAPAHOE SAMS CAMPING GROUP.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We love having camping groups here - they are truly a bunch of fun people! We look forward to having you back. Enjoy your winter season & travel safe! Cheers from Your La Junta KOA Team!
Oct 16, 2018
One night stay. Very windy as storm front blew through. Very glad the electrical power remained constant all night. Surprised the bathrooms do not have a coded lock on them, especially this close to a major highway. Could there be a vagrant seeking shelter inside? The office/store did not open on Sunday until 10:00 am. No coffee, no snacks, etc., until well after most travelers have left.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

After 2.5 years here, we have had no problems with vagrants. Most of our guest appreciate not having any locks on the bathrooms. We used to be open starting at 8 am on Sunday and hardly had any guests come in for anything, especially during the off-season. Thank goodness for reliable electricity! Cheers from your La Junta KOA Team!
Oct 16, 2018
Like new improvements! See you next time.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Sounds good - thank you! See you down the road...! Travel safe & have fun - Cheers from Your La Junta KOA Team!
Oct 15, 2018
Oct 14, 2018
We only stayed one night. Brad was very helpful.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you! We look forward to seeing you again. Cheers! Your La Junta KOA Team
Oct 14, 2018
We were put in a space next to a long term guest which woke us early with his diesel truck. The shower house was long way from our site.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

This time of year, during our off-season, we have a fair amount of monthly guests who are working in the area. If we didn't have them here, we would probably close for the winter as there are often days where there are very few travelers. Site #28 is one minute walking from the bathrooms/showers. Did you ask to be closer? Cheers! The La Junta KOA Team
Oct 10, 2018
Would not stay again. Found park very tight for large rigs like ours. The width of the sites is too small. We where parked overlooking mobile equipment and a trash pile. Also what was available as far as facilities and appearance not that great. However the restrooms were clean.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We're glad you found our outhouses clean. We don't rest much in them ourselves.... We hope you never get lost again. Cheers! The La Junta KOA Team, working to make our campground better, everyday!
Oct 10, 2018
Clean and well kept. Very pet friendly with a dog playground; sand with equipment for them to play on but just surrounded by a picket fence. Pickets wide enough for smaller dogs to squeeze through and short enough for big dogs to jump.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your kind words. We'll check into the dog yard fence picket widths...! Travel safe & have fun! Cheers from Your La Junta KOA Team!
Oct 09, 2018
Enjoyed the quiet of the campground.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We do, too! Cheers! Your La Junta KOA Team
Oct 08, 2018
We had some small issues but the staff immediately came over to take care of them. Thanks for a pleasant 2 night stay.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for allowing us to make your stay better - we appreciated the opportunity to serve you! Travel safe & have some serious fun out there! Cheers from Your La Junta KOA Team!
Oct 07, 2018
Level site, quiet, nice for our overnight stay.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you! Travel safe & have tons of fun! Cheers from Your La Junta KOA Team!
Oct 05, 2018
While the park was nice and inviting, the thing that impressed us the most was Brad. We had brake problems and when we asked if he knew anyone who could help us, he got right on the phone until he found someone to help us. He recommended a fellow that did on site service and after having to extend our stay for an additional days we were back on the road. Thanks to Brad.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are lucky & thankful to have a very nice, talented and affordably-priced local RV service guy here! We're glad he could get you back on the road fairly quickly. Enjoy your travels and be safe! Cheers from Your La Junta KOA Team!
Oct 04, 2018
Oct 03, 2018
Oct 03, 2018
roads very tight to turn big rigs, some big rigs not centered in their space and partially blocking roads, one of our party's truck was hit. full hook-up sewer was too full to dump, got the excuse about it being an old system and flat ground - that obviously did not solve the problem.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

It is a fact that our septic system is old & the campground is flat, not an excuse. While we can't do much about the flatness, we will be working on putting in new sewer lines this spring. We inherited at least 8 years of deferred maintenance & have put all our income into fixing it; other items (falling down fencing, roofs, unsafe playground) were higher priorities. We are making good progress!
Oct 03, 2018
Really like the owner. Very friendly, telling us all about the neat improvements at the park. Had a great time, except for the flies, & mosquitos. Bad even down south 45 miles away, had to come indoors. We developed a bad shower leak & had to use Koas showers. Very clean, secure & nice. Enjoyed the last time we were here also, even though it was very cold. Walmart next door, very handy. *****

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your very nice comments. We love our Crooked Arroyo, but not necessarily everything (skeeters, flies) that come with it! Travel safe & have fun out there! Cheers from Your La Junta KOA Team!
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals