La Junta KOA Reviews
  • There was an error gathering form errors.

Campground Reviews

May 25, 2019
Hosts were very friendly. The Campground was in a good location. There had been a lot of rain, so the campsite was very muddy, the “sink into” type, especially on the side where you enter/exit the RV. The site would benefit from some additional gravel on that side. They were apparently trying to encourage some grass, as there was a soaker hose! on that side. Otherwise, our stay was great.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your kind comments & helpful feedback. We have put more gravel down. We do try hard to maintain some grass, and have a wonderful disabled vet who lives here and helps water - we're guessing it might not have gotten turned off, plus the rain you mentioned. Have a great trip, be safe, and enjoy your summer! Cheers from your La Junta KOA Team!
May 24, 2019
May 24, 2019
One of the worse KOA RV parks I have ever stayed in. Very much over priced at $58 a night. They need to spend some of the money they are making and put it into improvements. They need to make the long terms clean all the junk up or move out. Don't have rules if you are not going to enforce them. My first time there and probably my last. Terrible representation for KOA as a whole.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We have received your comments. The La Junta KOA Team
May 23, 2019
May 22, 2019
Awesome people and hospitality

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you! Wow! How nice! Have a wonderful summer of travel - and be safe! Your La Junta KOA Team
May 22, 2019
Not bad, but nothing spectacular. Seems to be a lot of folks there full time who party x use rec drugs (pot). Be aware you are in Colorado and marijuana is legal. There were some issue both times we stayed with site length and the reservation provided by the KOA system to the campground operator. The initial site each visit was too short by about 10' of what was needed to fit our rig.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thanks for your comments. While we did have a group of young line workers here that we had some challenges with in terms of keeping it quiet on the weekends, they have moved on. Please ask to be in our South Park if you are looking for the longer sites. Safe travels to you. Cheers from your La Junta KOA Team!
May 22, 2019
Very friendly

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

You, too! Let's keep it that way, right! Travel safe & have a most excellent summer! Cheers from your La Junta KOA Team!
May 22, 2019
Impressed us so much that we signed up to be KOA members. Brad the owner is very pleasant and we enjoyed chatting with him. It's a really nice campground and the showers and bath were clean. Shade trees for campers which is always a plus. Handy little convenience store with our personal favorite item, ice-cream! Will stay here again if in the La Junta area.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Wow! Thank you & welcome to KOA! Pleas come back anytime! Many cheers from your La Junta KOA Team!
May 21, 2019
Everything was great! The park, restrooms all clean!! Staff friendly and helpful.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your very kind feedback - we truly appreciate it and your staying with us! Have a wonderful summer of fun travel & be safe out there! Cheers from your La Junta KOA Team!
May 21, 2019
Brad is great. Nice to have 2 free bottles of water. The nice remodeling of the club room is almost done. The bathrooms are clean and good shape with soap and paper towels at the sinks. There are 3 toilets and 2 showers.. It would be nice if the miniature golf was cleared of leaves and twigs; and something else added for the children's playground. .

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thanks for your insightful comments! We now have a person assigned to keep the mini-golf course clean, and we are just about done adding a swingset and will soon be adding a merry-go-round to our playground! Great minds think alike, eh?! Have a terrific summer of safe travel! Cheers from your La Junta KOA Team!
May 21, 2019
Our club has traveled to the LaJunta KOA for the last several years. Last year the club house was "under construction," but we were assured that it would be completed by our next visit, May 2019. This last weekend we found the club house still "under construction" with no running water. All members were very disappointed and we do not plan to return.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We're glad that most of your members told us they liked the remodeled Rec Room as it is much more bright and up to date. We, too, were disappointed to find we had a water leak (which had nothing to do with the remodeling) in the line to the Rec Room. Cheers! The La Junta KOA Team
May 20, 2019
The personal was very friendly. Was a disappointed the way the grounds were. At our patio site the grass needed cutting. As did the whole camp. It was clean .

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your comments. We had a frustrating period of about a month this spring where none of our three lawn mowers wanted to work - they all had issues! All is good now - the grass is looking trim! Travel safe! Cheers from the La Junta KOA Team!
May 19, 2019
Great staff! Coffee shop right on the grounds. Clean bathrooms and grounds.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you - we do have a wonderful staff - we are lucky! Glad you enjoyed some java from The Daily Planet Coffee & Treats! Cheers & enjoy your travels! Your La Junta KOA Team
May 18, 2019
For a KOA journey they have quite a few amenities. It has a lot of long term residents and several really dumpy looking rigs there. The absolute worst thing for us was pulling into a flooded site when it hadn't been raining. I appreciate their attempt at having grass between sites but flooding a site that has a reservation for that night is not good. The side where the hook ups were was a swamp.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your feedback and we agree! We have the kindest retired disabled vet that lives here and helps take care of the grass in our South Park where you stayed. He is a wonderful help, but can be forgetful at times and he didn't remember to shut off the water. We apologize for the inconvenience. Cheers & travel safe! The La Junta KOA Team
May 18, 2019
It was a good one night stay. The sites were close to each other and had s crowded feel. But they were friendly and clean.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your kind words! For a bit more elbow room, try staying in our South Park - the sites are wider & longer, with a nice grass median between them. Have a most excellent summer - be safe out there! Cheers from your La Junta KOA Team!
May 17, 2019
May 17, 2019
May 17, 2019
May 17, 2019
May 17, 2019
nice long pull thru. friendly staff

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you! Cheers to a great summer of adventure! Your La Junta KOA Team
May 17, 2019
We have stayed at this KOA several times over the last 4 years. Something has changed -- I understand the importance to the bottom line of monthly or longer guests, but that should not impact the overall experience for the short term (Journey) guest. The campground seemed unkempt and the staff, other than the front desk clerk, were not at all customer oriented.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We have received your comments. The La Junta KOA Team
May 16, 2019
No parking .. place is too crammed up

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Our North Park was built in the 1950's when campers were a bit smaller, so if you have a long rig, we suggest camping in our South Park where we have spaces over 80'. We also have about 30 parking spaces around North Park for overflow vehicles. Cheers! The La Junta KOA Team
May 15, 2019
Dirty, trash laying around, picnic table filthy, overgrown grass. Not enough hot water. Washing machines don't work properly and they know it! Pool not open. Advertised rec room is used as storage. Things in disrepair. This is nothing like it was advertised!! I have pictures of you're interested.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thanks for taking the time to comment. Tomorrow 5/17 we will re-open our newly remodeled Rec Room -it looks great! The pool doesn't open until end of May. Our washing machines seem to clean clothes just fine for everyone else. Re. the hot water, if you are referring to our showers, we have not had any concerns from others. We did get behind on mowing but are now caught up. Trash - nope, not here!
May 14, 2019
Two night stay in their deluxe studio cabin could have not been more pleasant. Conveniently located within walking distance to a 24 hr Walmart for anything you forgot. Visited Bents Fort, ate at a nice downtown restaurant, and took in a movie. Great stay with wonderful hosts and crew. Thanks.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Our guests seem to really enjoy our Studio Deluxe Cabins - thank you! We will be adding decks and patios on this summer. Travel safe & please come back anytime! Cheers from Your La Junta KOA Team!
May 13, 2019
Very friendly service and atmosphere

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you - we try our best to please! Have a great summer of camping journeys! Cheers from Your La Junta KOA Team!
May 12, 2019
May 12, 2019
The bathrooms were the cleanest we have ever seen!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you! Our Housekeeping team takes pride in their work and we love them for it! We appreciate your noticing! Have a great summer of travel & be safe! Cheers from your La Junta KOA Team!
May 10, 2019
I am not staying here to "camp" rather to travel& watch my son's college baseball team & work around games. Slow glitchy WI FI!!! If it's the best around then the bar is not set very high. There's no TV signal either, so bring a book. It is somewhat decent signal RIGHT next to the office in space 11 but couldn't stay online for 30 seconds in space 19

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thanks for staying with us and we are sorry our WiFi was not up to your expectations. In site #19 you probably had nine campers between your unit and the WiFi output, so that may be part of the reception issue. We will keep working to have the best WiFi available! Cheers from Your La Junta KOA Team!
May 10, 2019
Everything was fine, except there were no puppy poop mitts in either locations that we saw. Other than that, everything was fine. It was the first level site we had had in several KOA park stays, which we enjoyed.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are glad you enjoyed your stay, but it must have been a busy dog poop day! We give each dog owner a poop bag when they check in, plus we have three dispensers/receptacles spread around the park. Our rule: If you don't pick up your dog's poop or your cigarette butts, you must go barefoot! Cheers & have a great summer of travel! Your La Junta KOA Team
May 09, 2019
Very nice friendly staff, excellent stay!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you - we do have a wonderful team here! Have a most enjoyable summer of travel - be safe! Cheers from Your La Junta KOA Team!
May 07, 2019
May 06, 2019
The owner decided he needed to take a trip to Texas so he left a woman in charge who he trained for 2 days. She did her best and was really sweet so even though things in the park weren’t up to par, it wasn’t her fault. The billing is still incorrect. The sites are okay but picnic tables dirty. Location is great- near a Walmart and a couple of restaurants and near lots of history.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We have received your comments. The La Junta KOA Team
May 06, 2019
Friendly quiet

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Just the way it should be, right! Thank you! Have a summer full of safe journeys! Your La Junta KOA Team
May 05, 2019
Great stay at the KOA

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you! Cheers from your La Junta KOA Team!
May 03, 2019
May 03, 2019
Friendly staff and nice location

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

And, many great guests! Thank you for staying with us and we welcome you back anytime! Meanwhile, travel safe & enjoy the USA! Cheers! Your La Junta KOA Team
May 02, 2019
We stayed for one night and couldn’t have been happier! Very friendly upon arrival, very nice grounds, nice bathroom and laundry facilities and a great location!! The only issue I encountered is that our neighbor that pulled in after us unhooked our water line to hook his up but that wasn’t the campground’s Fault. We will definitely be back the next time we’re staying in the area!!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Excellent! Thank you! Have a safe summer of fun travel! Cheers from your La Junta KOA!
Apr 29, 2019
Check in was smooth and efficient. Sites are narrow, but offered plenty of room for our 43’ 5th. Well maintained and the coffee/snack trailer was a treat. Close to Walmart and other shops.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your kind words and we appreciate your staying with us. We are happy to have The Daily Planet Coffee & Treats! here at our campground. Enjoy your summer of travel & adventure - be safe! Cheers! Your La Junta KOA Team
Apr 27, 2019
Apr 22, 2019
Really enjoyed the site and the facilities. Bathrooms and showers were excellent. Really great to have the "coffee hut" on site. Good location to the town and surrounding areas including the National Park: Old Bent's Fort.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you - we really appreciate your kind words, and glad you enjoyed The Daily Planet Coffee & Treats! Have a great summer & travel safe. Cheers from your La Junta KOA Team!
Apr 20, 2019
Apr 19, 2019
Spaces were nice , level, and well kept. No problem navigating with my 40ft 5th wheel. You could tell that the hosts take pride in the camp site. Brad and Nicole were very helpful and kind people. I had a little emergency with my camper when I first arrived and Brad was very quick to get me a very good mechanic to help me very quickly. I would stay here again.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for staying with us and we are always glad to help! Travel safe & have a great summer! Cheers from your La Junta KOA Team!
Apr 17, 2019
Apr 16, 2019
Site wasn't very clean.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your comment and we will seek to do better. Spring is a challenging time in the campground business with new staff coming on each year and some learning their jobs faster than others - sometimes things get overlooked. We appreciate the reminder to get all sites checked everyday! Travel safe & have a great summer of travel! Cheers from your La Junta KOA Team!
Apr 15, 2019
Front desk was poor, not trained. Overcharged for site, no water on site not told

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for taking the time to comment. We're sorry that we did not provide the experience you were looking for. I believe you caught a new staff member that had not been fully trained. She did correct your charges so you left without being overcharged. As for not having water, a yard faucet broke without telling us it was going to break & we have to shut off all the water to fix it!
Apr 14, 2019
Above and beyond customer service!!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

WoW! Thank you! You made our day!! Travel safe & have a great spring of adventures! Your La Junta KOA Team!
Apr 12, 2019
I love my stays at this KOA. This will be my 2nd stay in the Deluxe Cabins, in particular but I've previously stayed several times in the cabins and my stays have always been comfortable and accommodating. The Deluxe Cabin is now my favorite with it's own bathroom, queen bed, mini frig, microwave and sink. I really like the convenience of a fully made up bed waiting for me, towels and toiletries.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are glad you like our Deluxe Studio Cabins - they have become pretty popular! We appreciate your repeat business and we hope to see you again soon! Travel safe & have a wonderful spring season! Cheers from your La Junta KOA Team!
Apr 11, 2019
Apr 11, 2019
very friendly Staff, very clean shower and restroom. We came back !! �

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your very kind words, and thanks for coming back! Travel safe & have an awesome summer! Cheers from your La Junta KOA Team!
Apr 06, 2019
The road / driveways need grading to smooth out the potholes. Signage is easy to miss. Driving EB or WB on Hwy 50, the small KOA Journey sign is easy to miss. I drove past it going EB on arrival.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your comments, and great timing! We just got in a long-awaited (expensive) piece of equipment, a land plane, for maintaining our roads & now they look AWESOME! We are soooo excited! Also, we are in the process of moving our marquee sign 20' closer to the highway, so that will help a bunch. We encourage our guests to call & we will gladly provide excellent directions to our oasis!
Jul 03, 2020
Great place. Lots of work done fixing up and friendly staff
- Patti Ruhl on Google
Jul 02, 2020
We've used this KOA twice while taking family members to the train station in La Junta. We were so impressed by the care of this property. A bonus, it's in walking distance of the local Walmart & Dollar Tree.
- Kelly Anderson on Google
Jul 02, 2020
Very clean and friendly service. Recommend staying here. Very comfortable bed and pillows Staff was very good.
- Kurtis Cruz on Google

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.