La Junta KOA Reviews

Campground Reviews

Apr 15, 2019
Front desk was poor, not trained. Overcharged for site, no water on site not told

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for taking the time to comment. We're sorry that we did not provide the experience you were looking for. I believe you caught a new staff member that had not been fully trained. She did correct your charges so you left without being overcharged. As for not having water, a yard faucet broke without telling us it was going to break & we have to shut off all the water to fix it!
Apr 14, 2019
Above and beyond customer service!!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

WoW! Thank you! You made our day!! Travel safe & have a great spring of adventures! Your La Junta KOA Team!
Apr 12, 2019
I love my stays at this KOA. This will be my 2nd stay in the Deluxe Cabins, in particular but I've previously stayed several times in the cabins and my stays have always been comfortable and accommodating. The Deluxe Cabin is now my favorite with it's own bathroom, queen bed, mini frig, microwave and sink. I really like the convenience of a fully made up bed waiting for me, towels and toiletries.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are glad you like our Deluxe Studio Cabins - they have become pretty popular! We appreciate your repeat business and we hope to see you again soon! Travel safe & have a wonderful spring season! Cheers from your La Junta KOA Team!
Apr 11, 2019
Apr 11, 2019
very friendly Staff, very clean shower and restroom. We came back !! �

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your very kind words, and thanks for coming back! Travel safe & have an awesome summer! Cheers from your La Junta KOA Team!
Apr 06, 2019
The road / driveways need grading to smooth out the potholes. Signage is easy to miss. Driving EB or WB on Hwy 50, the small KOA Journey sign is easy to miss. I drove past it going EB on arrival.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your comments, and great timing! We just got in a long-awaited (expensive) piece of equipment, a land plane, for maintaining our roads & now they look AWESOME! We are soooo excited! Also, we are in the process of moving our marquee sign 20' closer to the highway, so that will help a bunch. We encourage our guests to call & we will gladly provide excellent directions to our oasis!
Apr 04, 2019
great campground to stay, best stocked parts dept I've seen yet. very helpful staff, will stay again

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your very kind comments and we would love to have you back! Travel safe & have a great summer! Cheers from your La Junta KOA Team!
Apr 04, 2019
Nice, quiet campground. Will stay again when I come back that way! Thanks!!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We enjoyed your stay with us - thanks for visiting! Travel safe & enjoy your journey! Cheers from your friendly La Junta KOA Team!
Mar 25, 2019
Mar 19, 2019
3.5 out of 5 stars. Pro's: Close to amenities like Walmart, fast food, restaurants, etc. Very clean KOA grounds. Dog play area. Overall a nicer, small KOA campground. Staff friendly, helpful. Con's: NOISY at times. RV'ers partying until all hours, cussing, drinking, etc. Very close to main road, noisy! No staff at night to control unruly RV'er party people!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your comments & we're sorry that some guests were too noisy at night. We do have staff on the premises 24x7 & have an after-hours number for guests to call if there are any issues - we did not receive any calls that night. We will promptly address anyone that is making noise past our quiet hours starting at 10 pm - we just need to be called! We all need our sleep! Safe travels!
Mar 17, 2019
Mar 06, 2019
Cute cabins. Unique can be a experience! For many.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

100% pure American cabins, made in the USA (Great Falls, Montana, to be exact!)!! They are fun to stay in! Cheers & travel safe! Your La Junta KOA Team
Feb 04, 2019
Very friendly and helpful folks. No cable TV but have a powerful WiFi.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

It was great having you stay with us on your maiden voyage! We hope you had a safe trip home and many more enjoyable journeys to come...! Cheers! from Your Friends at La Junta KOA
Jan 24, 2019
I have stayed in the Rustic Cabins, several times over the past 10 years, always a great experience. This stay however, I was in for a treat, the Deluxe Cabin. How wonderful to be able to pull up to a cabin with queen bed, shower, toilet, sink, refrigerator, microwave, dishes, glassware, utensils, etc. I was able to walk in, shower, eat and have a great night's rest. Kudos for allowing pets :D

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We truly appreciate your repeat patronage and are very glad you enjoyed our new Deluxe Cabins. Who woulda thunk that having H2O in a cabin would be so nice, right! Travel safe & we look forward to your next visit! Cheers from Your La Junta KOA Team!
Jan 18, 2019
Helpful staff Clean restrooms Price reasonable

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Badda-boom, badda-bing! 1-2-3's of a good stay at our KOA! We love our guests from the Dakota's - they are so real! Cheers from Your La Junta KOA Team!
Jan 10, 2019
Very welcoming owner. Cute clean facilities.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your kind words - we aim to please! Travel safe & have a great 2019! Cheers from Your La Junta KOA Team!
Jan 05, 2019
Jan 05, 2019
The staff was very helpful!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you very much! Travel safe & come back anytime! Cheers from Your La Junta KOA Team!
Jan 02, 2019
Dec 14, 2018
Seemed odd to be limited to one or two sites when most of the spaces were empty.?. Else all was fine.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

To assist guests coming in after the office is closed, we put out a night registration site availability list of the 2 best sites of each site type. We consider other reservations that haven't arrived, that water at some sites is not winterized/open, that a site may have maintenance going on, to provide guests space between sites, etc. If a guest wants a specific site, we will try to make it work!
Dec 10, 2018
We rented a Deluxe Kabin with a bathroom.. The hot water heater was undersized.. We were completely out of hot water after a five minute shower..

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We will add upgrading this to our project list! Happy Holidays & travel safe! Cheers from Your La Junta KOA Team!
Dec 06, 2018
Very nice folks. Very helpful.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you! As was said in every Red Green show, "If they don't find you handsome, they should at least find you handy!" Happy Holidays & travel safe! Cheers from Your La Junta KOA Team!
Dec 02, 2018
As always, it was great. We stay here regularly and it is always clean and quiet. Brad is attentive to our needs and so kind! Will stay here again!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you, and we always enjoy your visits! Have a wonderful holiday season and we'll see you next year! Happy Holidays from Your La Junta KOA Team!
Nov 20, 2018
Employees seemed very nice. That's the good. This KOA seems very tired. They need to pay more attention to cleanliness and maintenance. A badly wrecked truck was left there, trash laying around. Was told that one of the washers didn't work but they didn't know which. No out of order sign! Halloween decor was partially dismantled and left where it was, 3 weeks after Halloween.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for taking the time to comment. Yes, we are behind on cleaning up after our Haunted Campground, including the wrecked truck, as we lost the staff person responsible for the event. All washers are working & our Halloween props have been returned to the crypt. Cheers! The La Junta KOA Team
Oct 31, 2018
Oct 31, 2018
Everyone was very friendly and helpful. We also stayed during the Haunted Trail that you put on and it was amazing. The bathrooms were always clean and the cabin was clean as well. I will stay here again when I come up.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you! We're glad you enjoyed our Haunted Campround - it is a scary bunch of fun! Travel safe! Cheers from Your La Junta KOA Team!
Oct 29, 2018
We got there very late & left early... The cabin was perfect!!!! Loved it & Brad? was great... I didn't even know you had cabins until this trip!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you! Our Deluxe Cabins are great for a single or couple! Travel safe - Cheers! Your La Junta KOA Team
Oct 24, 2018
Brad was very helpful and the sites are large.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Are you sure you don't mean that having the sites was helpful and Brad is very large...?!! LOL! I'm working on it! Seriously, thanks for your kind words - we appreciate 'em. Be safe on the road. Cheers from Your La Junta KOA Team!
Oct 22, 2018
Oct 21, 2018
Your meeting room could be fixed up a bit. Nice friendly service, will try to stay again in the future.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

You are so right! Sprucing up our Rec Room is one of this winter's projects, and it sure needs it! Thanks for staying with us and be safe in your travels! Cheers! from Your La Junta KOA Team
Oct 20, 2018
Confusing entrance and registration area.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

It is indeed a bit crazy the last two weeks of October when we put on our Haunted Campground and put up the GIANT WALL OF STRAW! We appreciate everyone's patience. The Haunted Campground is a great community event and raises money for the high school drama clubs in our valley. It is a scary, ghoulish and yep, a bit confusing time! I promise you we are a bit more "normal" the rest of the year...!
Oct 19, 2018
We had about 18 friends there-- some were in RV's, some rented cabins, some stayed in tents. We rented the Deluxe RV site. It was a great experience and everyone enjoyed themselves. The campground was very nice and the owner Brad was helpful and friendly. It was clear the owners take great pride in their operation and we would encourage anyone and everyone to stay there.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

WoW! Thank you for them mighty kind words! We are doing our best, everyday, to make this a great place to stay. We have made a ton of progress in the past 2.5 years (all new fencing, 100+ new trees, upgraded tent sites & playground, added deluxe cabins & RV site, added night lighting, coffee stand & more!) but still have more to do! Travel safe & see you again - Cheers! Your La Junta KOA Team
Oct 18, 2018
very nicely maintained and centrally located camp ground - loved the halloween decoration and the espresso cart!! that's a game changer!!!! and it was open at 6 a.m.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thanks, and we're glad you enjoyed our coffee stand, The Daily Planet! Gotta get your Joe when your on the go, right! Travel safe. Cheers from Your La Junta KOA Team!
Oct 17, 2018
Oct 17, 2018
The staff was very friendly and helpful (even providing an extra heater when requested). The facility was well maintained. Bathrooms/Showers were clean. The camp was quiet.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you. Being helpful & friendly is so much nicer than the alternative, isn't it?! Thanks for staying & be safe in all of your journeys. Cheers from Your La Junta KOA Team!
Oct 17, 2018
WE HAD A GOOD TIME. HAD A GOOD TURN OUT OF OUR MEMBERS.ARAPAHOE SAMS CAMPING GROUP.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We love having camping groups here - they are truly a bunch of fun people! We look forward to having you back. Enjoy your winter season & travel safe! Cheers from Your La Junta KOA Team!
Oct 16, 2018
One night stay. Very windy as storm front blew through. Very glad the electrical power remained constant all night. Surprised the bathrooms do not have a coded lock on them, especially this close to a major highway. Could there be a vagrant seeking shelter inside? The office/store did not open on Sunday until 10:00 am. No coffee, no snacks, etc., until well after most travelers have left.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

After 2.5 years here, we have had no problems with vagrants. Most of our guest appreciate not having any locks on the bathrooms. We used to be open starting at 8 am on Sunday and hardly had any guests come in for anything, especially during the off-season. Thank goodness for reliable electricity! Cheers from your La Junta KOA Team!
Oct 16, 2018
Like new improvements! See you next time.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Sounds good - thank you! See you down the road...! Travel safe & have fun - Cheers from Your La Junta KOA Team!
Oct 15, 2018
Oct 15, 2018
The cabin itself was nice, new and clean. And desk guy was very personable. However, no storage area for clothes, no coffee pot, and you need a landing outside the door - without a landing it is awkward and dangerous. The bed was very hard, and crinkled due to the bedbug/wet bed protection casing. Also adjacent RR tracks provided many late night loud noises.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We will be upgrading the approach to the cabins & a landing sounds like a good idea. We have a coffee stand open from 6am-5pm about 100 feet from the cabins. We're sorry if the bed wasn't a good fit for you - we went with the mattress that 75+% of all hotels/motels use. As for the railroad, we'll ask them to move their tracks further away-after 160 years there, they could use a change of scenery.
Oct 14, 2018
We only stayed one night. Brad was very helpful.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you! We look forward to seeing you again. Cheers! Your La Junta KOA Team
Oct 14, 2018
We were put in a space next to a long term guest which woke us early with his diesel truck. The shower house was long way from our site.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

This time of year, during our off-season, we have a fair amount of monthly guests who are working in the area. If we didn't have them here, we would probably close for the winter as there are often days where there are very few travelers. Site #28 is one minute walking from the bathrooms/showers. Did you ask to be closer? Cheers! The La Junta KOA Team
Oct 10, 2018
Would not stay again. Found park very tight for large rigs like ours. The width of the sites is too small. We where parked overlooking mobile equipment and a trash pile. Also what was available as far as facilities and appearance not that great. However the restrooms were clean.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We're glad you found our outhouses clean. We don't rest much in them ourselves.... We hope you never get lost again. Cheers! The La Junta KOA Team, working to make our campground better, everyday!
Oct 10, 2018
Clean and well kept. Very pet friendly with a dog playground; sand with equipment for them to play on but just surrounded by a picket fence. Pickets wide enough for smaller dogs to squeeze through and short enough for big dogs to jump.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your kind words. We'll check into the dog yard fence picket widths...! Travel safe & have fun! Cheers from Your La Junta KOA Team!
Oct 09, 2018
Enjoyed the quiet of the campground.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We do, too! Cheers! Your La Junta KOA Team
Oct 08, 2018
We had some small issues but the staff immediately came over to take care of them. Thanks for a pleasant 2 night stay.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for allowing us to make your stay better - we appreciated the opportunity to serve you! Travel safe & have some serious fun out there! Cheers from Your La Junta KOA Team!
Oct 08, 2018
It was a weekend stay but it was very nice. Would definitely stay here again. The owner was very accommodating.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope to see you back in the near future - enjoy your journeys and be safe! Cheers from Your La Junta KOA Team!
Oct 07, 2018
Level site, quiet, nice for our overnight stay.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you! Travel safe & have tons of fun! Cheers from Your La Junta KOA Team!
Oct 05, 2018
While the park was nice and inviting, the thing that impressed us the most was Brad. We had brake problems and when we asked if he knew anyone who could help us, he got right on the phone until he found someone to help us. He recommended a fellow that did on site service and after having to extend our stay for an additional days we were back on the road. Thanks to Brad.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are lucky & thankful to have a very nice, talented and affordably-priced local RV service guy here! We're glad he could get you back on the road fairly quickly. Enjoy your travels and be safe! Cheers from Your La Junta KOA Team!
Oct 04, 2018
Oct 08, 2019
So glad I was able to get a site for a couple of nights. Very busy Campground. well-maintained. Somebody in the ladies bathroom likes the color purple. Lol. It’s refreshing! Plenty of hot water great showers. The girl that checked me in was very helpful I didn’t get her name
- JILLERNST on Trip Advisor

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.