La Junta KOA Reviews

Campground Reviews

Oct 15, 2019
Pleasant staff greeted us upon arrival. People in the area were welcoming and friendly with tips about local attractions weather concerns. Rec hall allowed meeting area for our group. Roadway was a little tighter and sites were crowded together. This is not unusual for commercial parks but not ideal for slide extensions and awnings

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your mighty kind words! We have a wonderful staff & do our best to be helpful. When you visit us the next time, check out our South Park. The sites are much wider & longer, with grass medians & fire rings. We hope you have a great year of travel in 2020 & look forward to seeing you aga
Oct 14, 2019
Think there needs to be a cable hookup. There used to be

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

With technology & society switching to wireless connectivity, we cut the cable three years ago to offer great wireless service, going from 27 channels to nearly unlimited. We have a great local internet provider, & the cable company would not give us a discount in the winter when the camping business is often slow. Check out Roku - we use it in all of our lodging & guests seem to like it. Cheers!
Oct 14, 2019
The directions in the KOA book could be improved. Turning on Conley Rd and the quick 1/4 block came quick and we could not see a KOA sign or a sign for Rogers Rd. This is a very busy intersection! It would be better to go past Conley Rd. and use the towers as a landmark instead of Village Inn. A KOA sign that could be seen would help too. We enjoyed our trip and saw so much. A clean, level camp!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your feedback & you are 99% right! We would use the Viaero tower, but it is very hard to see at night or when we have weather. We are working to move our marquee sign closer to US 50 so it can be seen; working with the local powers has been a challenge on this.... Otherwise, we are gla
Oct 14, 2019
The campground staff and management are helpful, courteous and cheerful! The community room has been nicely renovated, although needs a larger electrical circuit. Our camping space was adequate for our 30' unit and well maintained, although some friends in larger RVs had access issues. We WILL go back to this KOA in the future!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your very kind words! We are upgrading our electrical infrastructure in our North Park. As for larger RV's, they should try our South Park where the sites are much wider & longer. Travel safe & we look forward to seeing you back in the future! Cheers from your cheerful La Junta KOA Tea
Oct 14, 2019
Entry signage to Park is too small easy to miss, Park has all necessary facilities and service. The campground seems to be designed for smaller RVs. We have a large unit and it was challenging to maneuver in the park. Staff was friendly and helpful

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your comments. We agree about the signage & are working on it. Our North Park was built in the 1950's when RV's were a wee bit smaller. Next time, check out our South Park, put in 8 years ago & pretty BIG RIG friendly. The sites are wider, longer & have grass medians & fire rings. Than
Oct 13, 2019
No problems. Very friendly, professional staff.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Our great staff is the best offense against having problems! Thanks for your comments, and we hope we are on your path again in the future! Travel safe & Cheers! Your La Junta KOA Team
Oct 13, 2019
Came in for a group camping "weekend". Our units were all in facing rows so it was very convenient. Facilities were clean and well maintained. Being an older park, the only drawback was the closeness of rigs side-by-side.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your kind comments. The North Park area of our campground was built in the 1950's when camping rigs were a wee bit smaller! Our South Park area was built in the last decade and has a lot more space for rigs - longer & wider, with grass medians and room for fire rings. Please check it out the next time you visit! Until then, travel safe! Cheers! from your La Junta KOA Team
Oct 13, 2019
Friendly service.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you! Travel safe & Cheers! from Your La Junta KOA Team
Oct 13, 2019
Perfect area for all the different sites to see. Easy in easy out. Bathroom very clean and plenty of hot water. Make sure to visit fort Bent and Koshare Museum

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your kind words - there is a lot to see in the Arkansas Valley! We hope you can visit again & explore Picket Wire Canyon in the Comanche National Grasslands - the largest collection of dinosaur tracks in North America, possibly the world! VERY COOl! Travel safe & we will see you down t
Oct 12, 2019
Since the addition of the Deluxe Cabins, I don't want to stay anywhere else when I need to come to La Junta, Rocky Ford or Pueblo. I always come to a clean cabin, good water pressure, comfortable bed, a/c or heat and Smart TV to be able to watch my favorites on Netflix or Amazon. The KOA is pet friendly, which is so important since my dog usually travels with me. Thank You staff!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Wow! WOW!! Thank you for those awesomely kind words! You made our day! WOW! Our cozy Deluxe Studio Cabins have been very popular. From guest feedback, we have added alarm clocks & luggage racks to them as well. Travel safe, have fun, and we'll see you soon...! Cheers from Your La Junta KOA Team!
Oct 12, 2019
We stayed in the Deluxe Site for 6 nights. It was pleasant and we enjoyed it thoroughly. We had no issues at all. The internet worked great. The bathrooms were clean. We stay here monthly and have never had any issues.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your kind words and continued support! Our guests have really enjoyed our Deluxe Patio Site! We look forward to seeing you again - Cheers! Your La Junta KOA Team
Oct 11, 2019
Good campground with helpful personnel.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your kind words! We have a great team here & they really do aim to please. Enjoy your travels in 2020 and we hope to see you again! Cheers from your La Junta KOA Team!
Oct 11, 2019
The young man at the desk was very helpful, especially since freezing weather was coming in.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you! We try hard to be helpful! Have a great, reasonably warm 2020 year of travel! Cheers from your La Junta KOA Team!
Oct 10, 2019
Have stayed there over the years and always nice. Friendly staff, clean and convenient.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you very much & we truly appreciate your business! Travel safe & we will see you again! Cheers! from Your La Junta KOA Team
Oct 09, 2019
It was a great stay, I would suggest that the dog run area be fixed. First off , the slats in the fence area are too wide. I have a mini pincher and when a squirrel ran by my mini pin went right through the slats. People who have smaller dogs can't let them run free in there. The pick up of poop was not being done because the poop bag box was empty for the last four days of our stay.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your feedback. We are in the process of re-doing Kamp K9 & are spacing the pickets closer together. We're pretty sure that if poop was not being picked up, it was because irresponsible dog owners were not picking it up. We supply the poop bags as a courtesy. In the future, please let our staff know if the dispenser is empty & we will gladly fill it. We do our best to keep it stocked.
Oct 08, 2019
Oct 08, 2019
2 nights while traveling. thrilled with people we were able to connect with and historical opportunities at Bents Fort

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

There really is a lot to do in the area, and Bent's Old Fort is an historical treasure trove! We are glad you had a chance to spend some time with some other cool campers - most are very friendly! Travel safe, and have a great time exploring the southeast of Colorado! Cheers! The La Junta KOA Team
Oct 08, 2019
Paid for a deluxe tent site. Trash all over including liquor bottles in the parking lot. Someone was parked in my space which made unloading difficult. Only one teenage staff member available who couldn’t get us firewood. Amenities are a joke. The pool is broken down taped off with a hearse parked next to it. Dog park? More like 5’ of space. No office staff available even on a Saturday.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for taking the time to comment.
Oct 07, 2019
50 amp service site reserved was not available at check-in due to a monthly camper failing to moves directed according to the office. Had to settle for a 30 amp service with no discount offered or Received

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for taking the time to comment. We apologize that a 50 amp site was not available for you. Per our notes, you were offered and accepted a 30 amp site, which is what you were charged for. Travel safe!
Oct 07, 2019
Worst KOA I’ve seen. Bathrooms were clogged all day! Very unkempt.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for taking the time to comment. Travel safe!
Oct 07, 2019
We didn't like the surprise at check in when we found out there was a $15 per day charge for our pet and a $100 cleaning fee that we hope will be refunded. The restrooms were cold in 40 degree weather. Our friend in a tent site also found out at check in there would be a charge for his dog as well.We will not be back! The next race car event we will stay at a motel in town.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for taking the time to comment. Your damage deposit was refunded, in full, upon checkout. We do not charge a pet fee for tent or RV campers, only for those in lodging. Have your friend contact us to sort out the pet fee.
Oct 06, 2019
There have been many improvements made since our last stay. The sites to the south are wonderful. We had a beautiful patio right out our door. With furniture and grill.The water fountains being put in are a nice addition. Bathrooms and showers are clean and nice.The work being done on the swimming pool will be great when it is all done.I was surprised to find the little mini putt putt course.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

WOW! Thank you, thank you, thank you! It means a lot to have our guests recognize & appreciate all we have been/are doing to improve our campground! The pool IS going to be great, and we are adding more fountains! Thanks again, travel safe & have a wonderful 2020! Cheers! from Your La Junta KOA Team!
Oct 05, 2019
I enjoyed my cabin stay and car rental very much. I will be back, and have recommended this to others. Do you have heat in the cabins for the cold months?

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your nice comments! Yes, all our lodging have heat & AC, as well as microwaves, refrigerators & TV's with Roku. We're glad the car rental worked well for you. We hope to see you again - travel safely! Cheers! from your La Junta KOA Team
Oct 03, 2019
Low trees. Minimal maneuver room. Very quiet. Good location. Host relocated us when our roof was in the tree limbs which I really appreciate. If not for the trees needing severe trimming I'd go 10 and 5.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We trim every spring but will add a 2nd check & trim mid-summer to account for new growth. Have safe travels & we'll see you down the road apiece. Cheers! from Your La Junta KOA Team
Oct 03, 2019
we were assigned space 40 and the sewer pipe is way to high. it is impossible to get any drop from the trailer to the sewer. Would have to elevate the trailer on stilts to get sewage to flow. Took forever to drain and flush. Also some of the firewood that was delivered for our $7 had been soak in somekind of chemical that bubbled out of the wood as it burned. Smelled real bad and lots of black smo

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for taking the time to comment. Apparently the guest before you pulled the septic pipe up, probably when disconnecting. We wish that you had informed us - it only took a minute to fix. As for the firewood, we apologize as it sounds like some might have been from a railroad tie with creosote that got in the woodpile mix. Again, we would have gladly replaced the wood if we had been told...
Sep 30, 2019
The sites are extremely tight which makes it hard to park a big rig plus they have large rocks on the corners of each site which make it easy to damage your coach.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for taking the time to comment. Drive safely! Cheers! from the La Junta KOA Team
Sep 30, 2019
Campground was overall clean and good until you see to the back of the property. Rear portion of the property looked like a mess. Owners property, swimming pool looked bad. Campground is bug (flies) and mosquito infested. Restrooms clean and neat. Campground personnel were friendly and very helpful for recommending places to visit and eat. Cannot recommend as a prime stop on highway 50.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for taking the time to comment. The pool sprung a leak on opening day & did look bad! It has been repaired & upgraded with a new deck & fence plus added slide, shower & deck sprayers. As for the bugs, we had an unusually wet season, thus more of them. Try a few dabs of vanilla to keep them off you. Travel safe. The La Junta KOA Team
Sep 27, 2019
Very noisy, trains, trains, trains. Unable to enjoy outside in the evenings with the infestation of mosquito. Staff was nice, lots of shade. Just Trains. trains, trains...

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thanks for taking the time to comment. The Atchison, Topeka, and Santa Fe Railway came to La Junta in 1875, with the campground being built in the 1950s. At least the trains rarely blow their horn in our area! We suggest staying in our South Park next time, as it is furthest from the tracks. As far
Sep 26, 2019
Sep 26, 2019
KOA La Junta is convenient on our regular pathway. However, space 10 is a bit short for our rig and noisy right at the entrance to the park. I had to tighten the park water connection on the spigot. It was leaking. Lots of dogs with nearby campers and some conflicts between dogs being walked. Mosquitos. All else good. Friendly staff.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your comments - travel safe! Cheers! from your La Junta KOA Team!
Sep 25, 2019
Easy to get to. Near train tracks and lots of trains. Too much light at night. May have long wait on check in. Close to small strip and Walmart.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for taking the time to comment. We suggest that you consider staying in our South Park next visit. It is furthest from the trains and lighting. We will try to do better getting you checked-in faster! Safe travels and cheers, from your La Junta KOA Team!
Sep 25, 2019
Need to spray for ants. Our picnic table was infested with them so unusable. Also a huge problem it’s mosquitoes. When we asked if they sprayed, we got a curt ‘no’.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We work on controlling our anthills whenever they pop-up. As for the mosquitoes, last year was worse than normal due to increased moisture, & spraying is simply not an effective solution for the area of the park & when you have a stream bordering the property. Having lived here for 4 years, we are a
Sep 25, 2019
Was closed at 1:00 for checkin and never saw who inchecked us over the phone. Never got a receipt. Slots narrow with overhanging tree limbs. Not the best KOA I've ever been at.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for taking the time to comment. As we are a very small park, we are often multi-tasking between covering the office and being outside working, but we always answer the phone. Please, don't hesitate to ask for a receipt; if we have your email address, one will automatically be sent to you.
Sep 24, 2019
Sep 24, 2019
Very cute cabin!! Restrooms were clean and up-to-date. Campground was quiet, peaceful and relaxing. A great experience!!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Wow! Thank you very much for your kind words! Our guests having a great experience is our goal! We hope to see you again - travel safely & Cheers! Your La Junta KOA Team
Sep 23, 2019
LaJunta KOA is a stop we make each trip west from Kansas. The campground is well kept and clean with level sites and the older sites have trees. The office staff is friendly and efficient.
Sep 23, 2019
Sep 23, 2019
Staff was nice and courteous. They do advertise a pool, but wasn’t open and hasn’t been open all summer. We hooked up the electricity, and water, and sewer, tried to dump, but the sewer was backed up and we got a nasty foot bath! Staff moved us to another site. What a hassle. But the stay was okay for a one night stop and it was right next to Walmart.
Sep 23, 2019
This campground has great potential, but could use some work. The dog area had a bunch of spider webs in between the wooden fence posts, and those fence posts could use a fresh coat of paint. The play structures in the dog area could be fun, but they're old and rotting and could also use a fresh coat paint. The premium tent sites were interesting. The pool is closed and being renovated.
Sep 21, 2019
Great stay, the owner were great to talk to ,just good people
Sep 21, 2019
Great place to stay, very safe
Sep 21, 2019
Sites are a little short with a longer RV if you're towing or pulling with a vehicle.
Sep 21, 2019
Nice people. Good stay.
Sep 20, 2019
We stayed in a cabin. The mattress was very hard and covered in plastic. We knew we were in a pet cabin, but we didn't expect to find pet hair on the bed cover when we got there. But the worst thing was that although it is advertised as pet friendly our dog got covered in burs while walking around. It took about an hour to cut them all out. I would have added some nice feedback but I'm out of spac
Sep 20, 2019
Nice place to see dinosaur tracks!!!�
Sep 19, 2019
The staff was helpful and kind. The place needs updates. Old is ok but, run down and dreary looking is not appealing. It wasn't a place I would reccomend or want to come back to
Sep 19, 2019
Sep 19, 2019
Sep 18, 2019
Not the best we have stayed in
Sep 17, 2019
The Jeep rental and the people make this place