La Junta KOA Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jul 22, 2019
Not a bad park. Pool is currently out of order. Dog run could use some grass. When new patio was poured, the ground was left lumpy, not leveled out or covered with stone, and created big mud piles after the rain.
Jul 22, 2019
WERE ONLY THERE FOR ONE NIGHT, BUT EVERYONE WAS GREAT! WE HAD A CALAMITY AND ONE OF OUR NEIGHBORS TURNED OFF OUR WATER IN THE MIDDLE OF THE NIGHT FOR US! WE HAD OUR AC ON AND COULDN'T HEAR A THING! AM HOPING TO BE BACK NEXT SATURDAY?
Jul 22, 2019
This was our first time visiting and other than losing power two times, the KOA was pleasant, quiet and clean.
Jul 21, 2019
We really like this campground. We generally only stay one night, but it is a very relaxing place with trees after a long drive.
Jul 21, 2019
ROOM WAS TOO SMALL; NOT HANDICAP FRENDLY; TOO CLOSE TO THE TRAIN TRACK
Jul 21, 2019
Jul 20, 2019
The sites were crowded and this is the worst KOA that we have stayed in by far. There didn’t seem to be any park rules going by how people were allowed to park. The swimming pool was also out of service. The bathrooms and showers were filthy. For $87 I expect a lot more! We are now at a great campground for only $50/ night and they provide firewood and immaculate facilities!
Jul 19, 2019
Jul 19, 2019
Jul 19, 2019
We stayed two days, rented a car for 24 hours from the car rental, and saw so many wonderful sights in the area. Clean showers/restrooms--perfect. We would stay here again.
Jul 18, 2019
Clean but an exterminator is needed for ants. We could not sit outside. They were crawling all over the place.
Jul 17, 2019
This is my third time here. Last here a couple years ago. Seems like it’s going downhill. The bugs are still real bad. All day long gnats, fleas, flies. I’m sure there is something they can do - contact a pest control company.
Jul 17, 2019
Always clean & well kept. We return yearly. Highly recommend.
Jul 17, 2019
We stayed on July 14. It was hot and everyone was running their air conditioners. We have a volt meter and it was running very low at 100 volts and normal is 113-127 volts! Our air conditioner started to smell hot so we turned it off. The next morning, our site didn’t have power! It still wasn’t fixed when we left at 2:30! If we hadn’t had a surge protector, our AC could have burn up!
Jul 16, 2019
The people at this KOA are friendly & helpful.We stay here once a year on our way to Colorado.This year we found the campground in disrepair.As others have noted the pool has not been open since May.The grounds/sites were weedy & unkempt.LOTS of overflowing trash.Both parking "lots" were full of construction workers vehicles.This hasn't been our experience in the past.Hope it turns around.
Jul 16, 2019
Took the kids for a weekend get away from the city. Figured we try this KOA because of the pool and slip n slide. We were not impressed at all. The pool was down for maintenance and kids weird have someone stand there with a water hose spraying my kids to make up for the pool being down. It just wasn’t for us at this KOA. Been to a lot better ones. Staff was nice and kind to us though. Thank you
Jul 16, 2019
Ok
Jul 15, 2019
Jul 15, 2019
everyone was great very clean campgrounds
Jul 14, 2019
Site was watered too much, so it was soggy. very close sites, don't feel it was well maintained
Jul 14, 2019
Easy to find.
Jul 14, 2019
Making a reservation and checking in were easy and efficient. A couple of things I did not know about--extra charge for a third child when the kid's activities were closed at 6 and we could not get there before 6:30, no movie shows at this location, and the rec room was not open (along with the swimming pool--but we knew that beforehand). They informed us about the mosquito situation beforehand.
Jul 14, 2019
We reserved for 3 nights. We got there the pool was broken. It was 101 degrees. We canceled 2 nights and left. They didn’t want to refund us. And the next night at 9 pm we got a call they said we ran over the electric box. We did not run over the electric box. I think they were looking for money to fix their pool.
Jul 13, 2019
Trashy. Needs a regular mowing and too much junk laying around. If it looked like the promo pic above then I would stay there. Could be a nice place with a lot of TLC!!
Jul 12, 2019
Pool was broke down and lots of mosquitos.. other than that it wAs fine
Jul 11, 2019
It was a nice campground the pool had a leak so the kids couldn’t swim and the mosquitos were bad .
Jul 10, 2019
We liked our stay here and the owner and staff are definitely working to improve the campground. For example, while we were there they were installing new lights on top of the power pedestals. The facility was overall clean and orderly and the laundry room was nice. The office/store being open was somewhat spotty and the dumpsters were so full trash was overflowing them. The staff was friendly.
Jul 08, 2019
Very short overnight stay, Staff was helpful and efficient. As with most of the older KOA's the super rigs make it tight and can affect maneuverability within the park. Had good power supply and water pressure. What little I saw appeared to be well tended and neat and orderly.
Jul 07, 2019
It was fine. Just a little tight moving around the camper. Usual
Jul 07, 2019
Had a good time, cabin was clean and comfortable, just wish the pool had been open, but other than that its always a great place to spend the 4th of July!
Jul 07, 2019
The staff were very friendly and helpful and we got way more than we expected
Jul 07, 2019
Stayed at the La Junta KOA one night. The sites are very close together, tight squeeze getting in and out for larger rigs and in bad need of gravel! It rained during the night so we hitched up in mud and had to clean mud off of everything that touched the ground. The worst by far was the mosquitoes, I am talking epidemic portions as in health issues!! A lot of permanent residence, very cluttered!
Jul 06, 2019
Jul 06, 2019
I thought the trailer would be an rv. The ac in the trailer does not do an adequate job of cooling down trailer. The cabin has no place to put your stuff:) It was clean and well kept!
Jul 06, 2019
The pool was closed for repair the whole month of June. The water lines kept clogging my filter with rust. Other than those things it was ok. The staff and the other campers were friendly. I would stay here again.
Jul 06, 2019
Only go there if You love BUGS! They are everywhere ... in your eyes, nose and ears - all summer. The swimmingpool is closed, but the price is still the same.
Jul 06, 2019
Jul 06, 2019
Jul 05, 2019
Sites are side by side and very close..people in short van took our table which was right in front of our door and tied there 2 dogs to it . Also next day was the 4th and were told the store would be closed and the coffee wagon wasn't open either.. The shower s were good and is close to Walmart ..
Jul 03, 2019
I think the campground is showing its age, and feels like the owners are not putting quite as much effort and care and attention to detail into some areas - pruning, weed control, etc. The rec building was a storage area, etc. Bathrooms are fantastic, though!
Jul 02, 2019
I was very nice but would have been better is the pool had been working 104 degree temperature in La Junta was a killer!
Jul 02, 2019
No pool.
Jul 01, 2019
Amazing.
Jul 01, 2019
Jun 29, 2019
Jun 26, 2019
Seemed like it may have been nice at one time but is being allowed to go to pot. Pool was closed with no notice and he gave us a story about it just happening that spring but from looks of it had been out of order for some time. Was a cess pool breeding mosquitos. Rec room closed and piled with junk. Decrepit slip and slides. Inflatable castle broken.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We have received your comments. The pool was opened on May 9th & lost water immediately. We immediately posted notice on our KOA website & at the campground. That is the story! Rec Room remodeled & reopened by mid-May - and it looks great! Kids love the slip & slide and our working bounce castle. Please consider getting your facts straight. Meanwhile, have a nice day! Cheers! La Junta KOA
Jun 26, 2019
It was a nice campground. They had a few less amenities than the top KOA locations giving them only a slightly lower rating.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you & fair enough - we agree! If there are any amenities you think we should add, do please let us know! Cheers & have a great summer of travel! Your La Junta KOA Team
Jun 26, 2019
Very nice people. Very clean. Love the little coffee stand.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you! Thank you very much!! We are having a lot of fun with The Daily Planet Coffee & Treats! Good stuff. Cheers & have a wonderful summer! Your La Junta KOA Team
Jun 25, 2019
KOA at La Junta, Crooked Arroyo location is much improved since it was built many years ago. Most trailer sites have shade. Tent sites are nice with sand enclosures and shade tents. The site lengths could be longer and roads between the rows of parking spots could be a bit wider. We were right at the limit of the space we were assigned. Bathhouse good.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your kind words - we are working hard everyday to make our campground better! Unfortunately, there is no way to stretch the site lengths & roads - it would be nice, though! Travel safe & have a great summer! Cheers from your La Junta KOA Team!
Jun 24, 2019
Oct 08, 2019
So glad I was able to get a site for a couple of nights. Very busy Campground. well-maintained. Somebody in the ladies bathroom likes the color purple. Lol. It’s refreshing! Plenty of hot water great showers. The girl that checked me in was very helpful I didn’t get her name
- JILLERNST on Trip Advisor
Oct 30, 2019
We have stayed there several times it is clean and people were friendly.
- Bea Luehring on Google
Oct 21, 2019
We only stayed for one night and were able to get a deluxe cabin. The cabin was nice, clean, and had everything you would need. The propane grill provided did the job, wish they had a grill brush though. The fire rings were nice, but I would recommend buying your wood elsewhere. I purchased $14 dollars worth and they dropped off 13 tiny pieces, it burnt up rather quickly. All in all I probably would only stay there in a pinch with my camper, but the cabin was nice for short notice.
- Travis Corlis on Google

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.