La Junta KOA Reviews
  • There was an error gathering form errors.

Campground Reviews

Jul 22, 2018
Just 1 night but this is great park.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Very cool - thank you! Next time, we hope you can spend two nights with us!! Be safe in your camping travels! Cheers from your La Junta KOA Team!
Jul 22, 2018
bathroom/shower were very clean and the office/store well stocked and staff friendly. guessing storm recently as kids fun area was deflated and sitting in mud. My tent site was great and clean but lights from Wal-Mart came through fence all night and could hear their delivery truck's

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your kind words. While the closeness of Walmart is generally a convenience, the night lights are pretty bright. We have planted a row of trees & tall junipers which, over time, should provide a nice sight & sound barrier for both the tent sites and west side of our campground. Travel safe & have fun! Cheers from your La Junta KOA Team!
Jul 22, 2018
A little expensive for a dusty, gravel narrow space

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for staying with us, and have a great summer of travel! Cheers from your La Junta KOA Team!
Jul 22, 2018
Advertised cable but upon arrival discovered cable was only available in smaller size sites in front. Very hot, no trees to provide shade. Sites were narrow and required some maneuvering with 40’ 5th Wheel trailer to avoid power pole and patio when leaving combined with narrow drive area on departure. Nice patios and fire pits at the sites. Onsite store and restrooms were clean and convenient

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your kind comments. We're not sure where we have cable advertised as we have not had it for a year and a half since we brought in high-speed Wifi. Almost all of our sites have shade trees to varying degrees of maturity and coverage, and we have planted nearly 100 more in the past two years. Have a great summer of travel! Cheers from your La Junta KOA Team!
Jul 22, 2018
Quiet, friendly and close to Wal-Mart!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Yep, guilty on all three counts! Thank you for staying with us & please do come back anytime! Be safe out there & have plenty of fun! Cheers from your La Junta KOA Team!
Jul 21, 2018
Brad, the manager, was very friendly and attentive. He and his family made us feel right at home. I highly recommend this KOA.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Wow! Thank you for your very kind words - they mean a lot. Travel safe & have a terrific summer! Cheers from your La Junta KOA Team ... and Brad!
Jul 20, 2018
Jul 19, 2018
Ok

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Ok. Have a AWESOME, MOST EXCELLENT summer!! Travel safe out there! Cheers from your La Junta KOA Team!
Jul 18, 2018
Jul 18, 2018
The person working the front desk was incompetent.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are soooo sorry! We were short a staff member as her son was killed that morning & the person who tried to help you was a young high school student who had just started working for us helping in the campground and offered to assist in the office when we had to stretch. We are very sorry for any inconvenience this staffing deficiency caused you. Please accept our apologies for not doing better.
Jul 17, 2018
Jul 17, 2018
Wife says: Close to Wendy's and Walmart; quiet; clean picnic tables; Super nice Hosts!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you, Wife! We appreciate your kind words and hope your significant other concurs...! Enjoy your summer & travel safe - cheers! Your La Junta KOA Team
Jul 17, 2018
Everything was fine

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you! Have a great summer of camping adventures & please be safe out there. Cheers from your La Junta KOA Team!
Jul 16, 2018
Jul 16, 2018
Helpful staff! Fun place for kids in the heat

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you and were glad your kids had fun in the sun! Have a great summer of making camping memories with your family! Cheers from your La Junta KOA Team!
Jul 16, 2018
Campground is very good. Staff is excellent. Very friendly and helpful. Close proximity to the railroad can make for some noisy nights.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your kind words - they mean a lot! Even though the campground has been here for nearly 70 years, the railroad has been here a lot longer...! They do go through all the time, but at least they don't blow their horn in our section too often!! Have a most excellent summer of camping! Your La Junta KOA Team!
Jul 13, 2018
Jul 13, 2018
Jul 13, 2018
Had a lovely time, site was clean and well organized. Had a really nice chat with Brad the owner, he was so friendly and had a lot really good suggestions for the rest of my road trip.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your very kind words! We hope the rest of your trip was wonderful & safe! Cheers from your La Junta KOA Team ... and Brad!
Jul 13, 2018
We enjoyed our stay. The staff was friendly and helpful and the shower house very clean. My only negative was the high price. The last time we stayed here about four years ago, the price was quite a bit lower, as I recall.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your kind words. Yes, the prices were probably lower 4 years ago, but when we bought the park 2 years ago we found a ton of maintenance that had not been done. We have replaced almost all fencing, remodeled the playground & tent sites, planted nearly 100 trees, added night lighting, cleaned-up the arroyo bank and much more - and those things cost money.... Thank your for staying!
Jul 13, 2018
Pool closed way before posted time, no change available for laundry, playground was not very good....all reasons why we stopped there. Our children were not happy

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We're sorry to hear that your children were not happy with their stay. Our pool is always open until dusk, and change for the laundry is available 12-13 hours per day in our office. We have added a pair of very fun inflatables (30' water slip & slide & bounce castle), and a new playground slide, and will continue to improve our amenities for kids. Cheers from your La Junta KOA Team!
Jul 11, 2018
Jul 10, 2018
The cabin exceeded our expectations. We came in dirty, tired, and 8n need of a shower and a good night sleep. KOA provided that and some extra comfort in addition.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Excellent! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and got some rest. Have a fun summer, play hard & rest well! Cheers from your La Junta KOA Team!
Jul 09, 2018
The staff was very helpful and friendly. It was by far the most we have ever paid for a place to stay.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for staying with us, and we are lucky to have such a great staff! Have a safe, fun summer of travel! We hope you get to visit Estes Park, Mt. Rushmore, Yellowstone, Glacier National Park - all great KOA's! Your La Junta KOA Campground
Jul 09, 2018
Spaces seemed too small & too close together. Couldn't believe pool was closed for a private event on night of stay! Laundry room was so hot it was unbearable to stay inside of it for any length of time. Office seemed staffed by kids. Recreation room was locked up and a key had to be obtained to even enter it. Bathroom was pretty good sized and clean. Was close to Walmart & Village Inn.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for taking the time to comment. The sites in our South Park are much longer & wider. When we have a private event (average 1 per 10 days) we limit it to 3 hours max per day, leaving the pool open for 8 hours. Our laundry swamp cooler was having issues & has been fixed. We lock the Rec Room as we had items stolen from it-we gladly check out a key to it at the Office. Have a safe summer!
Jul 09, 2018
Park was ok. Very small site

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for taking the time to comment. We are working everyday to improve our park & have replaced almost all fencing, planted nearly 100 trees, added night lighting, remodeled & upgraded the tent sites & playground and much more, with more to come! We encourage you to check out our South Park where the sites are longer & wider. Travel safe - Cheers from your La Junta KOA Team!
Jul 09, 2018
The employees were very nice efficient & helpful. The facilities & campground were clean. We enjoyed our stay very much.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you very much - we appreciate your kind words and are glad you enjoyed your stay! Have an outstanding summer of safe & fun travel! Cheers from your La Junta KOA Team!
Jul 07, 2018
Jul 06, 2018
Pretty old KOA, Rec Hall disused and hot and spooky. Rusty water due to old iron water pipes.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Yes, it is pretty cool that it has been a campground for over 60 years & KOA for 49 of those! We're glad you noticed that in the past 2 years all fencing has been replaced, over 100 trees planted, the playground & tent area remodeled & significantly upgraded & lighting added everywhere! We advise guests to run their city water for a few seconds to clear them ol pipes. The Rec AC is working well!
Jul 06, 2018
Dog park was dangerous! Screws sticking out of the “A frame” ramp where the dog would walk. The site we were given was too small. Our trailer overhung the site. Web site advertised water slides but they were inflatable and closed before the time we arrived 4:30 pm. The campground had lots of construction debris around like huge chunks of concrete, metal pipes etc.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for taking the time to comment, particularly re. the dog park - we were unaware & are fixing it! We open the inflatables upon demand; along with your site, we would be happy to assist-please just ask! The concrete debris is from one part of the arroyo that was used for decades as a fill and we are cleaning it up - thanks for noticing! Travel safe & cheers! Your La Junta KOA Team
Jul 05, 2018
Jul 05, 2018
Had a very nice time. Accommodations were very clean. Thank you

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you, and we're glad you enjoyed your stay! Have a wondrous summer & please do travel safely! Cheers! Your La Junta KOA Team
Jul 05, 2018
Very clean, nice staff, but the pool opens to late and closes too early, have to pay extra for mini golf, and arcade was never open.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for taking the time to comment. Our pool hours are from 9 am to sunset, mini golf is $3 per person, and we do not have an arcade.... Travel safe - Cheers! Your La Junta KOA Team
Jul 04, 2018
Everything very clean, convenient to Walmart and restaurants, staff friendly and helpful. We're repeat customers. Will likely stay again.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for staying with us again - we truly appreciate your business and will continue to do our best to earn it every time! Travel safe & wide - Cheers! Your La Junta KOA Team
Jul 03, 2018
Well kept up place,pool was great .

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your kindly comments - much appreciated! Have a great summer of travel & be safe on them roads! Cheers! Your La Junta KOA Team
Jul 02, 2018
Need to trim trees as they rub on camper. Camping spaces are to small for most rigs today. There is not enough space to park camper and pulling vehicle.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for taking the time to comment. We trimmed the trees-we do this at the beginning of every summer. For longer rigs, we encourage their camping in our newer South Park where the spaces are longer & wider. The site you stayed in is 53 feet long, and with a 30 foot long camper, your pulling vehicle must be huge and fun to drive!! Travel safe with that one...! Cheers! Your La Junta KOA Tea
Jul 02, 2018
Good place for an overnight stay. Sites are well spaced and easy to get into. Unfortunately, no cable TV.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your kind comment. We cut the cable (30 channels) and upgraded our Wifi by bringing fiber into the campground - plus, there are over 20 channels that can be pulled in with a conventional antenna. We suggest your trying our Roku - it does a great job pulling in Wifi and is easy to use - only $30 at Walmart. Have a great summer & be safe - cheers! Your La Junta KOA Team
Jul 02, 2018
Ok

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Ok. Travel safe - Cheers! Your La Junta KOA Team
Jul 02, 2018
Unique
Stay was great, and all campground employees were extremely helpful and courteous. The campground activities were awesome for our little ones. The only complaint we have is that our park model deluxe cabin was infested with spiders. We had to kill them from the time we checked in, until the time we checked out. They were everywhere and small, as if a nest had just hatched.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thanks for your kind words. Yeah, the spiders get crazy-busy in the summers here - we take out big webs that pop up almost every night on the front of our office! Did you mention them to our staff when you were here? Our custodial staff cleans after each guest, so your are right in that it probably was a nest that just hatched and no infestation. Travel safe - Cheers! Your La Junta KOA Team
Jun 29, 2018
Just an overnight stop. But it was so cute and clean. Loved it

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Cute? COOL! Thank you! We don't know if we've ever been called cute, but thats the way, uh-huh, uh-huh, we like it! LOL! Do, please, come stay with us again - we'd love to see you! Have a terrific ton of fun this summer - be safe! YOUR cute La Junta KOA Team! PS: Or was it just the campground that was cute?!
Jun 29, 2018
We like to stay there on our way to Salida, CO from Wichita. KS. Easy to pull our 31 ft motorhome towing a jeep in & out. Swam in the pool, very nice! Very friendly staff and clean campground!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you, thank you! We hope you had a great trip and get to do more along our route...! Enjoy your summer of travel! Cheers from your La Junta KOA Team!
Jun 28, 2018
Jun 28, 2018
Jun 28, 2018
Easy in and easy out. Quiet.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Shush ... and please tell everyone! LOL! Thank you for your comments and for choosing to stay with us. Take it easy - Cheers! Your La Junta KOA Team
Jun 27, 2018
My only complaint is that your site is too high priced. We enjoyed our stay.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for staying with us! Have a great summer & travel safe! Cheers from your La Junta KOA Team!
Jun 27, 2018
It was weird. The staff were very pleasant, which was a plus. It just seemed as if it wasn't really an rv park; more of a long-term rental place with some rv slots available. But at least KOA provided somewhere to put an rv in La Junta.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thanks for taking the time to comment. We have 55 RV sites, of which 10 are back-in sites that are used for monthly rentals who do a very good job of keeping their sites neat. Travel safe - cheers! Your La Junta KOA Team
Jun 26, 2018
Jun 26, 2018
Friendly

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you! You, too! Cheers from your La Junta KOA Team!
Jun 26, 2018
Campground was very nice, friendly & gracious hosts. They are in the process of updating some things such as the surrounding fences, play areas, etc., which makes it look untidy in some areas, that can be excused! A very good place to stay, would recommend it. We camped for 1 night on our way to Albuquerque.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you so much for recognizing our improvement efforts and accepting the messes that can come with construction!! We are working hard to make our campground the best it can be, and it is a bummer when people complain about a temporary inconvenience that is needed to make a long-term improvement. We welcome you back anytime! Have a great summer of camping! Cheers from your La Junta KOA Team!
Jun 25, 2018
Jul 03, 2020
Great place. Lots of work done fixing up and friendly staff
- Patti Ruhl on Google
Jul 02, 2020
We've used this KOA twice while taking family members to the train station in La Junta. We were so impressed by the care of this property. A bonus, it's in walking distance of the local Walmart & Dollar Tree.
- Kelly Anderson on Google
Jul 02, 2020
Very clean and friendly service. Recommend staying here. Very comfortable bed and pillows Staff was very good.
- Kurtis Cruz on Google

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.