Kennebec KOA Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 10, 2018
It was good.
Aug 10, 2018
Aug 10, 2018
Aug 09, 2018
Aug 08, 2018
First KOA campground. Good for one night stay as traveling along I90. Friendly. No cable since cable company went out of business.
Aug 08, 2018
Very nice clean campground..and the chuckwagon...breakfast and dinner..is great..thankyou!
Aug 07, 2018
Aug 07, 2018
Again, everything was fine. Only problem, too many flies, not mosquitos. Impossible to eat outside even with mosquito tent.
Aug 06, 2018
Very friendly folks, good tent spot.
Aug 06, 2018
We stayed for 3 nights, we visited Pierre SD the capital of SD......not much else in the area.....Very nice people, they cook breakfast and dinner.....Nice prices for grilled food....I would stay again....
Aug 05, 2018
Aug 04, 2018
Great place for overnight stay, clean and courteous group
Aug 04, 2018
Aug 04, 2018
Clean cabins, bathrooms and grounds. There is highway noise. Plan ahead for meals, nearest restuarant is 10 miles. Overall great stay!
Aug 04, 2018
Only stayed the one night but enjoyed swimming in the pool & breakfast in the morning.
Aug 04, 2018
Aug 04, 2018
friendly staff, small but clean showers, quiet. all good
Aug 03, 2018
Friendly staff pleasant stay overnight
Aug 03, 2018
Aug 03, 2018
Aug 03, 2018
There were too many flies and mosquitos!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We do spray for both flies and mosquitoes. Camping is an outdoor activity and unfortunately the insects are a part of the outdoor experience.
Aug 02, 2018
It was for an overnight stay. The campground is easy access and clean. We arrived late and the information for late arrival was very clear. The sites are big (we took a ull through) with easy access. The campsite is quite even close to the highway.
Aug 02, 2018
We enjoyed our stay, but please spray for flies. They were so bad we couldn't sit outside. Our dog suffered dozens of bites in less than 30 minutes.
Aug 02, 2018
Staff friendly and prompt. Pull thru site with some shade. Dog run could use some work. Chuck wagon burgers very good.
Aug 01, 2018
Short but very nice. Will stay again.
Aug 01, 2018
Clean restrooms friendly staff. Good halfway stop in the state
Jul 31, 2018
Great stop on way out to WY event.
Jul 31, 2018
We were very pleased with the treatment received! We had a problem with our air conditioner shroud and the parker climbed on the rig and did a tempoary fix so we continue our trip the next morning. He refused any compensation. Great service at a very nice place! THANKS!
Jul 31, 2018
Great hosts, very helpful. Love the chuck wagon breakfast—makes it easy in the morning.
Jul 31, 2018
Jul 31, 2018
Jul 31, 2018
Jul 30, 2018
Great place to stay for a night on your way to/from the Black Hills. Pull through sites were large with easy hook-ups. I'm not sure there is much in the area to see, so I'd struggle with an extended stay here.
Jul 29, 2018
Road Trip 2018 (2 nights): Very friendly owners & town folk. Very quiet, peaceful & we weren't bothered by the train noise. The restrooms are nice. Easy access from the freeway. The facilities are a bit rundown, the wadding pool was closed, the hookups are adequate & the grounds were very dry. Our site #111 was not level, we had no shade & our tree was just a tree trunk. Perfect for a 1 night stop
Jul 29, 2018
Lot was spacious, clean, and adequate for an overnight stay. Office staff could have been friendlier. We did not use the laundry. We probably would stay again.
Jul 28, 2018
The park was clean and neat. Staff were friendly. Wifi was strong enough was really great.
Jul 28, 2018
They were so nice having everything ready when we arrived so late. I would suggest a double electrical outlet near the head of the beds for electronics.
Jul 28, 2018
The campground was clean and well kept.
Jul 27, 2018
Jul 27, 2018
The campground itself was well kept but the flys at this camp where unbelievable! After walking the dog I found out why.....it sits right next to a “sewer lagoon” there are KOA signs warning people to stay out of the water because it is a sewage treatment facility. The signs are somewhat hidden however......

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

The "sewer lagoon" you reference was taken out of service last year when we made the switch to city sewer. The signs are there as a courtesy to keep people out of a potentially messy situation and are by no mean "hidden". The flies are a problem, one we do what we can to mitigate, but the old lagoon is not the source of the problem.
Jul 25, 2018
Friendly and helpful staff members. We enjoyed our stay.. I am 6'4" and weigh 250 lbs. I found the toilets in the men's restroom to be low and small. I would recommend that at least one of them be replaced with an elongated model that stands a couple inches higher. Otherwise, the restroom was neat and tidy.
Jul 25, 2018
Clean and comfortable place to stay. The staff were very all welcoming and helpful. Good stopover on the way to the Hills.
Jul 24, 2018
Jul 24, 2018
Only one recommendation, spray for flies.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We spray regularly for both flies and mosquitoes but the efforts have met with limited success.
Jul 23, 2018
Van was not running properly and stayed at the Koa for awhile while we figured out our plans. Very nice people and place. Thank you
Jul 23, 2018
Jul 23, 2018
Way, way, way to many flys to really enjoy the campground. Great bathhouses and nice big sites.
Jul 22, 2018
Lots of muddy sites from heavy rain a couple nights earlier, otherwise not a bad stay.
Jul 22, 2018
Friendly staff, clean bathrooms and nice, hot showers!
Jul 22, 2018
Clean, quite.
Sep 06, 2019
Nice campground to stay at, when it's up and running. They have had a bad time of it with mother nature flooding them out.
- Lyle Gerling on Google
Aug 18, 2019
This is a very nice well ran Campground, with the kind of owners that will treat you like you treat them. The layout of the campground is very good it was very easy to park our 45-foot fifth wheel. Park was quiet slept all night with no problem. Stopped here on the way to the Sturgis bike rally. It is right off the interstate easy in easy out.
- Timothy Gray on Google
Aug 11, 2019
This was probably a very nice park before it flooded. Currently (8/11/19) the pool and all buildings are out of commission, dog park very overgrown, flies and mosquitos pretty bad and roads super muddy. Hope for speedy recovery.
- Bavette Goes Mobile on Google

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.