Kennebec KOA Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 08, 2017
We stayed in a one room cabin. It was nice. The air conditioner is really loud and makes the wall it is on hum a little. Really liked the kiddie wading pool. Bathrooms and showers were clean.
Aug 07, 2017
Great to have the pool shaded. The kiddie pool worked out very well as we had our 1 yr old grand daughter with us.
Aug 06, 2017
VERY windy (not their fault, obviously) and no trees to cut the wind. LOTS of rules. Store is only open a few hours a day and nothing else in the area for provisions.
Aug 06, 2017
Nice place
Aug 06, 2017
A nice campground very clean and a friendly staff. They took good care of me and I would stay again. Only reason it's not five stars is the scenery compared to other locations but this is the Great Plains after all
Aug 06, 2017
Aug 06, 2017
Pretty basic and a little expensive, but a nice clean place to park for the night.
Aug 05, 2017
Enjoyed the pool and playground. Easy in and out.
Aug 05, 2017
Really nice place to stop for the night and nice peoole.
Aug 04, 2017
Good overnight stop
Aug 04, 2017
Surprised that we were able to have breakfast, also could have had supper, but didn't know available so had something in motorhome for that meal. Nice wide roads for easy access to pull through sites, didn't have to unhook so we could continue on our way the next morning. Didn't check out the other am amenities, but looks like a good campground for families as well as couples.
Aug 02, 2017
Nice fenced in dog park.. We parked right next to it.. good spot. You will need a long hose for septic.
Aug 01, 2017
A very quiet campground - close to I-90, but no traffic sounds. Town itself is 270 with minimal shopping ops. Fuel is available.
Jul 31, 2017
Everyone at the Kennebec KOA were so kind and helpful. This is a great family run business and one we would stay at again when in the area!
Jul 31, 2017
Location is great for a 1 night stop when crossing SD.
Jul 30, 2017
well maintained and the pizza is excellent
Jul 30, 2017
Hadn't stayed here for two years, as it wasn't that good back then, but now I make it a point to stay here the next trip. Grounds are very nice and the camp sites are a nice size.
Jul 30, 2017
It was nice to eat at the Chuckwagon after a long day of driving. Nice touch!
Jul 29, 2017
not much to do in the area
Jul 29, 2017
Nice campground well-organized the chuckwagon is a great feature enjoyed the food would recommend this to anybody
Jul 28, 2017
We stayed here both going East and then returning West. The hosts were great...very friendly. The Chuckwagon breakfast was great! Little ones loved the pool. Overall a 10. Will be back.
Jul 26, 2017
Campground was clean but wasn't a welcoming experience at all. It's clearly only to be a spot to stop for a night and not come out of your camper. The staff seemed more interested in making money off extra fees like additional cars and people (which both of our groups where honest about) then making us feel at home. We will not be back.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We do not charge fees for additional cars. I did come and ask about what seemed a larger number of people at one of the camp sites than was originally mentioned to us. There had been no previous mention of you traveling in a group until I was told you were unhappy because you were not placed closer together. Your future results will likely be better if you let people know that you are traveling w
Jul 25, 2017
Very nice pool and sites.
Jul 24, 2017
The Staff were great escorted to site an directed pull in. Pool was nice .clean an well groomed sites. Store was very helpful as well.
Jul 24, 2017
Good for overnight nothing in area.
Jul 24, 2017
Very nice campground. Very easy to get into with a big rig.
Jul 24, 2017
Not a lot trees and needs grass not dead grass...

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Really? Not a lot of trees? We are on the plains. Relative to the surrounding area we are heavily forested. And as to the grass, we are in the middle of an historic drought. Sorry this was not the oasis you were seeking.
Jul 23, 2017
Jul 23, 2017
Friendly staff. Clean. Great breakfast! One suggestion: curtains above the shower stalls to create more privacy.
Jul 22, 2017
This campground is just fine for a stop along the road.
Jul 22, 2017
The vents on the AC were broken, so it only blew cold air straight frwrd-not near the beds. It stunk of moth balls and skunk. Cracks in the walls, flies got inside even though all windows and doors closed. Only one set of outlets, one used for AC left only one outlet. Cabin tilted to the East, floor slightly unlevel. Staff was friendly, store was nice. Bathrooms were clean. Grnds nd shade.
Jul 22, 2017
Easy to find late at night, clean and friendly place to stay for a nights sleep on the way home.
Jul 22, 2017
Jul 21, 2017
In by 9 pm out at 6 am. Perfect low cost for short stay. Poor WiFi only signal sitting in laundry. Store/office smelled funny.
Jul 21, 2017
Had very good stay campground was great.
Jul 21, 2017
very nice host great level spot
Jul 21, 2017
Jul 21, 2017
Very friendly & helpful staff, had supper and breakfast at the Chuckwagon, food was good.
Jul 20, 2017
Clean bathrooms good food
Jul 19, 2017
level sites great people
Jul 18, 2017
nice campground, all but a burn ban which they could not control. we would stay there again
Jul 16, 2017
Nice people, loved the pool and the site we were put into.
Jul 16, 2017
Jul 16, 2017
Jul 16, 2017
Great
Jul 16, 2017
Hosts were very cheerful &I helpful! Good way to end a long day!
Jul 15, 2017
Friendly helpful staff!
Jul 15, 2017
The pool deck was badly in need of replacement, pool full of bugs, no skimmer, no life ring. Grass growing all around, pine needles etc.
Jul 15, 2017
.
Jul 14, 2017
Very helpful. Very nice. Convenient place to stop
Jul 05, 2020
Clean Bathrooms, nice sites, lots of trees for shade, and overall a nice place to stay.
- Shane Draz on Google
Jun 24, 2020
This Koa has been damage because 9f flood. Yes it doesn't t look good but they are so friend and doing the best they can do . Yes I would return. They are working on their pool now. Thank you all for being like family
- Cecilia Long on Google
May 09, 2020
I liked this campground and hope to stay again. It was a very nice lady that took us to our spot, and it was so quiet and peaceful. Even though it was convenient to the highway, there was no highway noise; just birds and the sigh of the wind. Little bitty town had a little Main Street across from the county courthouse building. I did my morning walk up and down the streets of this quiet little town. Hope to stay again. Thank you and I hope you continue to recover from the floods last year, and now COVID-19 this year! Tough couple of years you’ve got going here. Wish you the best and hope to see you on the way back through!
- Kristin Britt on Google