Kankakee South KOA Reviews

Campground Reviews

Sep 05, 2018
Clean grounds, very friendly staff, lots of fun activities for the kids. I have absolutely no complaints
Sep 05, 2018
Good grounds. Beautiful site. Butterflies galore. Friendly staff. Game room needs an update. Some games didn’t work. Just needed a lake for fishing and it was perfect!
Sep 04, 2018
This was a one-night only stay, which was a shame. We arrived late and had to leave early as we were just traveling through with a schedule to stick to. We loved the cabin we stayed in - very pleased to have a bathroom, a kitchen sink and fridge etc. The bed was comfy and much appreciated after a 12.5 hour drive from New Orleans. Would definitely stay there again. But longer!
Sep 04, 2018
Very good
Sep 04, 2018
Sep 04, 2018
Sep 02, 2018
Aug 30, 2018
Staff was very helpful and attentive. Campground was clean well maintained.
Aug 29, 2018
Aug 28, 2018
Aug 28, 2018
Excellent pool, friendly staff, nice pool table, clean well-stocked bathrooms and store, and all hook-ups worked well. But I felt like a sardine! Campers were right on top of one another. That’s a deal-breaker for me.
Aug 28, 2018
Aug 27, 2018
Made reservation in MAY for August stay requesting full hookup 50 amp, etc. Arrived and all available was a 30 amp spot and temp in the 89 with 85% humidity, one A/C just not enough. At check in , the young man could not have cared less. As others have reported this KOA is tired and needs lots of upgrading. Will not return and will not recommend. Worst KOA in our cross country trip.
Aug 27, 2018
Aug 27, 2018
We had a group of 11 softball players and their families at the KOA for a season kickoff cookout and camping. We were very happy with the space and had plenty of room for all to play eat, talk, beanbags, wiffle ball and much more. Kids loved the pool and gameroom. The facilities were very clean and employees were very attentive, kind and helpful. Overall great place to have a get together.
Aug 26, 2018
Great KOA!!! Staff was great!!
Aug 25, 2018
Tres bonne réception. Merci
Aug 24, 2018
The Staff was friendly and made us feel welcomed. We had an issue with our camper and they guided us to a local facility that could help us. Thanks for a comfortable stay in Kankakee!
Aug 24, 2018
This time our site was too close to another site our camper was small so we couldn’t pull too far in because of sewer line so we were literally right next to someone else’s sewer line so we cut short our stay there was another site that was a better one that was empty the whole time we were there so I only recommend this facility for overnight stays
Aug 24, 2018
Very friendly and accommodating. Nice camp ground. Also stayed at KOA in Granite City had electric issues and the lady at the desk was less than friendly about it. The person who checked us in however was very nice.
Aug 23, 2018
Camping experience was excellent. Easy access to the campground from the highway. The campground staff were real accommodating to insure an excellent stay. Thank you.
Aug 23, 2018
Great quiet park with very helpful staff. Park as all the amenities a family needs to have a great stay. Close enough to the highway to be convenient yet far enough away to be peaceful.
Aug 23, 2018
Stay was great even though my hitch was stolen. You can't help that. My only suggestion would be for someone in your employ to walk through the pool occasionally. There was a lady feeding all her kids Cheese Puffs and then letting them carry them into the pool yellow fingered or sometimes with the bag. Gross.....
Aug 22, 2018
One night only, OK
Aug 21, 2018
Aug 20, 2018
We had a blast, some of my Family, it was there first time & they had a blast also.
Aug 20, 2018
Aug 20, 2018
Clean, but very crowded. The tent sites had 2 cars parked in front of each site and the place was mobbed. Not their fault, but the water is absolutely horrible, sulfur smelling and brown. Bathroom badly needs an upgrade, but was clean. RV pull through was spacious, but others looked more crowded. Wifi didn't work, no cable. Pool & playground looked nice. Needs better signage coming from the south.
Aug 20, 2018
Very nice and clean. Staff is friendly and helpful.
Aug 20, 2018
The campground was clean, and I loved how dog friendly it was. The bathrooms and facilities were clean and nice. However, the site a few down from ours were obnoxious, drunk and super loud. They played music and kept singing loudly into the night (well past midnight). We saw the staff drive by a couple times on their golf cart (after 10pm, before 11pm) but did not see them say anything.
Aug 20, 2018
Came in a motorhome, stayed for a few hours. There was a family reunion there, walked through our campsite constantly, kids trashed the pool throwing water balloons and leaving their garbage everywhere, parents weren't there. Staff was nice but couldn't stop the clowns. Teenagers cussing and acting like idiots. It wasn't the worst I've experienced, and I'll say I expected it.
Aug 17, 2018
People were friendly, but the cabin was not very clean.
Aug 17, 2018
Aug 16, 2018
Wifi did not work. Sites are very close. Picnic table next to sewer of next camper. Fire ring very close to slides. Nice laundry. Nice staff.
Aug 16, 2018
Such an incredibly helpful staff! Had to cut our stay short due to camper breakdown. Will be back in October.
Aug 15, 2018
Our first time staying at KOA and we loved it. Great campground staff that helped ensure we had everything we needed and helped us plan our next stay. Very clean and lots of activities for kids and families!
Aug 15, 2018
Great campground, has Wi-Fi, that works better in some areas than others. Shady lots, sometimes a bit tight but no issues even with a class A. Electric at 30 and 5o amps, no issues. West campground has all new upgraded service. Owner (Rob) is a great guy and will bend over backwards to may your stay issue free. Only downside is well water that has a slight oder, charcoal filter hel
Aug 14, 2018
We stayed five nights during the Momence Gladiolus Fest. Campground was clean, workers were pleasant and helpful. The weekend was full but everyone was quiet by the 10pm quiet time. We have been here before and appreciated the effort the owners put forth to keep things running smoothly. The kids especially enjoyed the Saturday evening hayrides.
Aug 14, 2018
Aug 14, 2018
We’re local, but we love our little hidden gem in this town!
Aug 14, 2018
Quiet clean pet friendly
Aug 14, 2018
Very quiet, beautiful area, excellent
Aug 13, 2018
Send year in a row camping here and it was great. only thing that i didn't care for is that last year we had no hook ups with electricity and water. this year we did, so we paid more. Last years campsite without electric was much bigger than the sites with electric.
Aug 13, 2018
Aug 13, 2018
Well-managed and well-maintained. Great for young children. The lack of nature trail or pond makes it pretty basic.
Aug 13, 2018
Aug 13, 2018
the staff at the campground were very friendly and wanted to make sure you had everything you needed to have a nice stay.
Aug 13, 2018
The staff was very friendly and helpful, as well as the fellow campers. One night we just could not get our fire started regardless of what we tried, and two of our neighbor campers came over and offered their help and resources, and eventually security came over with fire logs to help us. So gracious!
Aug 11, 2018
Aug 11, 2018
Great stay. Nice wide level sites! Great people! Would definitely stay there again!
Nov 07, 2019
Very peaceful and quite in the winter/fall unsure about summer they have a wonderful dog run area that is completely enclosed which is nice owners are very friendly as well
- Smalls Lyell on Google
Oct 13, 2019
Loved the people-so friendly, the sites-we'll maintained,and Halloween there can't be beat!
- MarcyJo Chachakis on Google

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.