Kankakee South KOA Reviews

Campground Reviews

Oct 16, 2018
The Kankakee South KOA is a wonderful family campground. They had great Halloween activities scheduled for the whole weekend, geared toward children, families and adults. All were well prepared and well attended. We LOVE our stays at KOA and camp exclusively at this campground, Thanks for the great weekend!!
Oct 16, 2018
Great Halloween festivities
Oct 16, 2018
Alot of fun on Saturday when the campground had a Halloween trick-or-treat time. Many, many kids (and parents too) joined in.
Oct 15, 2018
Once again this campground was perfect for us. Facilities were clean, the sites were clean, staff was friendly.
Oct 15, 2018
Our group had a great time staying at Kankakee South KOA. It was their Fall Fest weekend and everyone had a great time celebrating Halloween, especially the kids! We plan on making it an annual trip. Nice campground, friendly staff, lots of extras.
Oct 15, 2018
Kids had a wonderful trick or treating time! Loved seeing the different Halloween camps!!!
Oct 15, 2018
We had a lot of fun, Halloween party and wagon rides were just what the kids enjoyed the most and talked about at home to all their friends.
Oct 14, 2018
Oct 14, 2018
Always a great experience...my family & I stay at this location often, people are friendly, staff welcoming, very clean & well kept facilitiies, dog friendly. Lots of family activities during holiday. Great KOA sites!
Oct 13, 2018
Roads are full of pot holes, poor gravel coverage on roads and sites. Very difficult to find, Needs better signage on road.
Oct 10, 2018
Oct 10, 2018
In spite of the rainy weekend, we really had a great time!! I was very impressed with the Halloween decorations and the friendly neighbors we had on both sides of us.
Oct 10, 2018
We have been there 2 times now. The staff is incredibly kind and helpful. This weekends activities were incredible. We enjoyed every bit of it even with all the rain. Will definitely be back!
Oct 09, 2018
Oct 09, 2018
Very clean camp sites, personal is very friendly.
Oct 09, 2018
Wifi doesnt work but was a good time.
Oct 09, 2018
Oct 08, 2018
Great fun weekend! The employees are always so friendly & very helpful. Halloween weekends are the best at the Kankakee KOA! They really go outta their way to make it a fun experience!
Oct 08, 2018
It was a very short but pleasant stay. The staff was very professional and the grounds looked well maintained. This was my first time at an KOA.
Oct 07, 2018
Oct 07, 2018
We stay at this KOA several times each summer. Rob, Julie & staff are always very welcoming and accommodating! They certainly achieve their goal of providing: “KOA worthy customer service, and to present a campground that is safe, pleasant and above all relaxing!”
Oct 06, 2018
Very nice. Normally would be better but hosts need to make sure guests’ vehicles are off the road. Couldn’t navigate our 45 foot bus around exit road due to vehicles hanging out into road. Why do people do that? So, we did a 3-point back up just fine. Pool was shut down but I guess it’s October. Halloween decorations were nice. Hosts were friendly. We will stay again when we have to be near
Oct 06, 2018
Very friendly staff, beautiful campground, loved the enormous shade trees, and the enclosed dog park.
Oct 04, 2018
Friendly helpful staff
Oct 03, 2018
Oct 02, 2018
Clean grounds and restrooms. In fact restrooms appeared to have been remodeled a short time ago. Waste system was somewhat different in that the tubes were very far from all the other utilities.
Oct 02, 2018
Used as a base while visiting family. Very clean and friendly.
Oct 02, 2018
Very clean. Pleasant people running the show. Tried helping us with a problem with the camper.
Oct 02, 2018
Clean campground with great trees and family atmosphere
Oct 02, 2018
Oct 02, 2018
I had a great time love the atmosphere will keep coming back. wish they had a better heading when setting up reservations for popup campers overall will recommend to everyone to go go go camping
Oct 02, 2018
The facilities were extremely clean and staff were, including store employees, were extremely personable and helpful. There was an extremely loud German shepherd which made sleeping difficult. It barked sporadically until well after quiet hours. Check out time was 11:00 am, which is too early for camping. It required us to break camp much earlier than we would have like.
Oct 01, 2018
It was great!! I loved it. Coming next year. Just a lil something the cabin had a bad smell I think it was septic from the sewer or water line. But other than tht awesome time. Staff preset cool too���
Oct 01, 2018
We are brand new RV owners this was our first trip. I would say overall a good experience the host was awesome! Crowded spaces and very busy weekend but quiet hours were enforced. If we ever make it back that way we will stay again.
Oct 01, 2018
Very friendly and helpful staff. Too small lots and too crowded for us. Bathroom adequate but could use updates.
Oct 01, 2018
Nice quiet campground in a great somewhat secluded location. Very helpful and cordial staff.
Oct 01, 2018
Good overnight stay park could use some upgrades
Oct 01, 2018
Camp ground was nice and clean a lot of dogs barked all night the site beside us was empty so the people in the next one played corn hole in the back of that spot till dark then turned on big light was not relaxing at all
Sep 30, 2018
It is a very nice campground!
Sep 29, 2018
Neat place to camp out also friendly staff. Will like to camp there again. Later.
Sep 29, 2018
Very quiet.I would go back.
Sep 29, 2018
Sep 29, 2018
The property itself and campground were nice, as was the staff. The bathrooms smelled of mold and several shower curtains had black mold on them.
Sep 28, 2018
Sep 28, 2018
Sep 28, 2018
Well-maintained campground with lots of room. Great dog park for the pups. Friendly owners. Highly recommend.
Sep 27, 2018
Nice, but a little out of the way.
Sep 26, 2018
all was great and very enjoyable except I wish you had a cable tv hook up I had to move to another camp site because trees were blocking my dish antenna on top of my motorhome
Sep 26, 2018
Got in late. Found our directions/site. Very quiet campground, tho not overly busy. Haloween decorations were a nice surprise. Bathrooms were very nice. Only drawback was there was no handicapped shower. Isn't that an ADA violation???? Need grip handles, etc. in at least one of the three showers. Beyond that, a very pleasant stay. Would return again.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thanks for you comments. I would like to address the ADA drawback, the campground bathrooms were built before ADA requirements. But I understand the need for them and we are currently constructing ADA bathroom with shower in our current game room and hope to have them ready by 2019 season. Thanks for your comments.
Sep 25, 2018
Sewer pipe was to high. Problem with WiFi
Jul 08, 2019
Convenient location. Nice pool, laundry, store, hay rides. Close to grocery store and Walmart. Friendly employees. Holiday week so unfortunately some campers chose to party loudly til 4am. All other times we've camped here it was peaceful at night and fun during the day.
- Roxanne Renicker on Google
Jul 17, 2019
Fine for a stop over
- Doug Hutton on Google
Jul 15, 2019
Good people and friendly neighbors.
- Anton Mackey on Google