Kankakee South KOA Reviews

Set to OPEN May 29 for recreational camping!

Book Now
  • There was an error gathering form errors.

Campground Reviews

Jul 30, 2017
Overall it was good. A couple if suggestions that if done would make it a 5star and 10 rating. #1 cut the grass and brush back to the tent water and electric we're not in the woods. #2 add and small bathroom (toliet and sink) by the pet area. It was hard to dodge vehicles at night #3 add big fans to the game room. #4 fix the drainage by tent site 1 #5 clean up concrete and fixed furniture by pool
Jul 30, 2017
First time at this campground and camped with grandkids age 5&6. Small pool was just the right depth and never crowded with bathrooms next to pool. Nice playground with wood chips. Boys able to ride bikes with adult supervision. Park clean and staff very friendly. We will be back!
Jul 29, 2017
Jul 28, 2017
I really enjoyed this campground. The staff were kind and helpful. The pool was nice and clean. My family had fun.
Jul 27, 2017
Large cabin worked great for us. Staff very friendly. Facilities very clean. We had our grandchildren with us and they were in pool or at playground most of time.
Jul 27, 2017
The campsite was cramped, uncomfortable, and dirty. When we arrived our fire pit was FULLl of trash and there was food scraps and cigarette butts littered on the ground. The campstore closes at 7pm and was not accommodating. There was only one restroom facility and it wasn't well maintained.
Jul 26, 2017
Would have liked a business center, and all concrete pads. Additionally, the area needs to to be sprayed for ticks. We had several fall from the tree we were parked under. The staff was great!!! The restrooms were very clean. Great place to go
Jul 26, 2017
We really enjoyed the time we spent at KOA although we had to leave a day earlier because of the storms. We will come back again
Jul 25, 2017
Jul 25, 2017
Clean campground. Love the pet run campsites could use some gravel or concrete. Rained a great deal when we were there and dragging mud and/ sand into camper.
Jul 25, 2017
We were just passing through, but the KOA was great! We spend two nights.
Jul 25, 2017
Jul 24, 2017
Hopefully they keep making the improvements that they are working on.
Jul 24, 2017
Owner was terrific to work with. We stored our RV for 2 days and took the train to Chicago. Felt safe leaving RV. Friendly campground. Thank you
Jul 23, 2017
Jul 23, 2017
Nice place, just and overnight stop for us. Staff was friendly. Site was level and clean.
Jul 22, 2017
Camp was very clean, quiet, and the staff was very friendly. We stayed one night.
Jul 22, 2017
Aurait besoin de changer les tables à pic-nik, sont pourries. Pas de place pour faire la vaisselle. Pas de bruit de route😊.
Jul 21, 2017
Friendly staff and quiet place
Jul 21, 2017
Nice clean campground but small and store was under stocked with things campers might forget family owners were nice
Jul 21, 2017
This site has several issues. They are expanding. However they are neglecting existing services. Broken dog gate. The new site was not level. The sewer drained up hill. A 16 inch leap to my first step. No Wi-Fi to new sites. Many other items to list.
Jul 21, 2017
Water was smelly.
Jul 21, 2017
Just a one night stay, but the staff were friendly and helpful, as usual.
Jul 20, 2017
Very nice, clean, friendly place. We found it quite relaxing and enjoyable!
Jul 20, 2017
perhaps it was just the night we were there, but the tenting area was infested with mosquitoes. I could not use the backup camera on our vehicle the next morning to line up with our tent trailer because the buggers completely covered the lens! We gave up on trying to cook the next morning and fled. It was comical, almost like a bad 70's "Attack Of..." movie, arms flailing and OFF spraying in vain.
Jul 20, 2017
Nice place
Jul 19, 2017
Great campground with real nice staff.
Jul 18, 2017
Decent campground. Friendly, helpful people.
Jul 18, 2017
Clean, Quiet and friendly.
Jul 18, 2017
Have stayed here many times, great stop over park.
Jul 18, 2017
Our campsite was very tight and close to our neighbors site. Our fire ring was about 8 feet away from the neighbors sewer connection and it felt like we was setting right next to the neighbors camper when having our evening campfire. We also had a few piles of dog poop on our site that wasn't cleaned.
Jul 18, 2017
Directed by your staff person to a site that was not fitting for our motorhome and the drive was very narrow as a result the right rear struck a trailer hitch causing several thousand dollars of damage then we were redirected to another site that was very adequate. Why were we not directed to that site first??
Jul 17, 2017
This place is awesome. The staff is super friendly, the bathrooms are clean, and they have a pet area! We went for just one night and it was so much fun. We are definitely coming back and the fact that they are dog friendly is great!
Jul 15, 2017
The water smells sulfuric and the actual campground reeks of sewage, especially in the morning. The sewage portals are not positioned well either and you'll need an extender off of a 15 foot line. Pool was small and dirty, bathrooms were small and dirty. The kid that ran the store when we checked in was courteous but it was an overall unimpressive KOA.
Jul 13, 2017
Jul 13, 2017
Campsite needs some loving care and maintenance. Dog feces at our site and picnic table had standing oil on it that I cleaned. If this was someone's first KOA visit, would be there last.
Jul 11, 2017
Very nice they remodeled the bathrooms and they where clean.And the staff was very friendly
Jul 11, 2017
Nice pull thru sites. Very friendly staff. Pet friendly.
Jul 11, 2017
Quiet. Easy access. Close sites but could open all slides. Terrible tasting water with particulates. Nice laundry, nice showers.
Jul 10, 2017
Most accommodating as always
Jul 10, 2017
great people
Jul 10, 2017
We were there for 13 nocs and enjoyed our stay. Staff were polite, friendly and helpful. There was plenty of activities for the younger children which they also really enjoyed. All in all it was GREAT!!
Jul 10, 2017
Too expensive for an overnight stay; Wi-fi didn't work; Lots of mosquitoes; staff was friendly
Jul 10, 2017
Very nice people run this campground, but the location is my great and the sites aren't great either.
Jul 10, 2017
Nice campsite, nice people , nice pool, I would stay here again.
Jul 10, 2017
I was very impressed with the campsite. I will definitely be coming back. The site, B-3 was the best. Thank you for the movie night and the game room. We had a lot of weekend family fun!! And everyone was so friendly!!
Jul 10, 2017
I would rate Great if there were more activities for kids. However, I know the owners are doing an AWESOME job at keeping their sites safe and family friendly. I keep coming back to this location because of this feeling and the welcoming from each and every staff member. The place is always clean. My boys and I love it here. =)
Jul 10, 2017
Friendly staff. Coffee & donuts were available in the morning! The grounds and dog park were very clean. Loved the swings by the camp circle.
Jul 09, 2017
This was our first camp site with our new TT, the workers were very helpful. It's a bit small but quite.
Jul 08, 2017
Was only 1night. No cable. Was ok.
Nov 07, 2019
Very peaceful and quite in the winter/fall unsure about summer they have a wonderful dog run area that is completely enclosed which is nice owners are very friendly as well
- Smalls Lyell on Google

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.