Kankakee South KOA Reviews

Campground Reviews

Apr 19, 2017
Appreciate owner opening door for our after hours arrival. This is our planned overnight stay when enroute home from TX to MI.
Apr 15, 2017
Apr 14, 2017
The water has a foul smell and taste. I won't return for this reason. Staff were very friendly and accommodating
Apr 11, 2017
camp ground was great ,water needs a softner or a filter it really has a odor
Apr 08, 2017
Too bad about the sulfur water
Apr 05, 2017
As a first time camper this was perfect. It was opening day no crowd ,things were peaceful. With slight external noise. I was in a tent on a good site. Will be going back this weekend for another 2 nights.
Apr 04, 2017
Very nice. Quiet, clean, awesome dog park!
Jan 26, 2017
This campground is so welcoming. I love the scenery and the staff. Highly recommended. Also, some fun restaurants in the local area.
Dec 30, 2016
Nice place to stay.
Nov 13, 2016
Cooking grates over fire pits would have been nice.
Nov 04, 2016
Great place to camp very dog friendly
Nov 03, 2016
It was a great place for get away. We were able to revisit a near by restaurant as well.
Nov 01, 2016
grate place
Nov 01, 2016
Oct 31, 2016
It was a beautiful weekend, which always helps when camping! We stayed two nights, realized a few necessities we forgot (toothbrushes, tablecloth clips, water) and the camp store had everything we needed. Nice people camping around us. A mom and dad walking around with their son dressed as 'the Incredible Hulk' dropped candy off to us. :)
Oct 31, 2016
Oct 31, 2016
Rob and the family are awesome!
Oct 31, 2016
Easy checkin, quiet place, friendly people. Can't wait to visit again.
Oct 31, 2016
Oct 31, 2016
Clean, friendly campground. Always well maintained. Will go again.
Oct 30, 2016
We are very pleased with our stay at the cabin at your KOLa.It was quiet and met our need for a good night's sleep. We would not hesitate to make another reservation with you. We apologize for not notifying you of our departure time.
Oct 24, 2016
loved the campgrounds. hosts were friendly and helpful. bathrooms were nicer then most but still could have been better. We will definitely stay again.
Oct 24, 2016
We went during Halloween season. Very festive weekend, great staff!! We will be back!love the fenced in dog area too!
Oct 21, 2016
no problems
Oct 20, 2016
This KOA has the best family oriented program and friendliest staff of any KOA I have ever visited. Robb and staff, keep up the great work!!!
Oct 18, 2016
Once again, Our stay was fantastic! The owners run a great campground! The employees are so friendly & helpful! We will most definitely be back. :)
Oct 17, 2016
Great stay! Our family loves it every year:)
Oct 17, 2016
What a great weekend! The staff goes beyond their jobs to make you feel special. Great haunted hayride, and Saturday nite free dinner. They treat you like their own family, not campers coming in for the weekend. Had us assigned to spot that was smaller and more traffic than we liked, offered a better one right away. Great Times! See you next season...
Oct 17, 2016
Friendly staff, clean and great Halloween activities.
Oct 17, 2016
Positives: The campground employees are amazingly nice and accommodating. The weekend we stayed was when they did a Halloween themed weekend and dedicated a lot of activities to the kids staying at the park. Negative: The bathrooms are...well need work. The main door didn't shut AT ALL. The water smelled terrible so showering, brushing teeth impossible. This should be top priority to fix.
Oct 17, 2016
Kankakee KOA. THEIR HALLOWEEN WEEKENDS ARE SPOOKTACULAR!! This is our 5th year. Wouldn't miss it!
Oct 16, 2016
Nice campground and camp hosts. I'd actually give it 4 1/2 stars
Oct 15, 2016
It was a wonderful, peaceful time
Oct 14, 2016
Oct 13, 2016
This is by far one of the cleanest campgrounds we've ever stayed at. The staff is amazing, Chris, Erin, Renee, Rebecca, Isaiah, & particularly the housekeeper gal, Joy! We love staying in the lodge, and really love it feels like "home" when we're here! We definitely will be staying again! The owners Rob & Julie go above & beyond! Thanks for an awesome camping trip. You guys rock!!! :)
Oct 12, 2016
Comfortable and clean I came in late so there was a map with my name and left early. ...
Oct 11, 2016
Great Hosts. Clean bathrooms. Beautiful sites.
Oct 11, 2016
The dog area was very nice and very clean and everyone was very nice!
Oct 10, 2016
Camping cabin was super clean, campsite and grounds were well kept, everything was great!
Oct 10, 2016
My son and I had a great time. Very good camaraderie with the other campers. They had a haunted trailer ride, scary movie (kid friendly), trick-or-treating and a little dinner for us. The staff was very friendly and helpful.
Oct 06, 2016
The crew at this KOA is absolutely amazing! They work hard to plan so many activities and keep the grounds clean. The cabin we stayed at was perfect. Would highly recommend this campground to anyone!
Oct 06, 2016
Very nice. Friendly people
Oct 04, 2016
Site was not level (side to side) requiring all the leveling blocks I had, and could still have used an inch more.
Sep 30, 2016
Park was very clean, bathrooms were clean, but cool because of the temps in the low 50's. Was not crowded the night we spent there.
Sep 29, 2016
Sep 28, 2016
The staff member who checked us in was inconsiderate. He was talking on the phone for at least 10 minutes with someone describing every aspect of the campground. Meanwhile my transaction only took 30 seconds. The $40 of wood we purchased at the store was freshly chopped and impossible to light. Our fire pit was on top of the neighbors sewage. not enough characters to finish
Sep 28, 2016
Lovely setting. Nice owner. Good showers.
Sep 27, 2016
Sep 27, 2016
Clean restroom, friendly staff, facilities are as advertised.
Sep 27, 2016
Very busy camp with a lot of noise from trains and what sounded like race cars.
Jul 22, 2019
Well water, So sulfer smelling. Nice game room and pool.
- steve fisher on Google
Jul 17, 2019
Fine for a stop over
- Doug Hutton on Google
Jul 15, 2019
Good people and friendly neighbors.
- Anton Mackey on Google