Kankakee South KOA Reviews

Campground Reviews

Sep 29, 2019
Just an over night stay but was very nice.
Sep 29, 2019
Sep 27, 2019
We enjoyed our stay...after the stranger was forced to leave by the police...he was right behind our site...Water could be better...Very helpful staff.
Sep 26, 2019
Sep 25, 2019
Sep 25, 2019
It was exactly what I expected. The grounds and facilities appeared well maintained and clean and the staff was very friendly. I did not give it a five star rating because of several KOA’s I have stayed at with much more in the way of amenities. However I do recommend this KOA and would stay again.
Sep 25, 2019
Very quiet and peaceful stay. Friendly staff and helpful.
Sep 23, 2019
Rob and his staff are the best ! Always a pleasure to stay at Kankakee South KOA!
Sep 23, 2019
Sep 23, 2019
Sep 23, 2019
Nice rural setting, however, the amenities could use some updating. The staff were very helpful and accommodating.
Sep 22, 2019
Great facilities, friendly helpful people.
Sep 22, 2019
It was our "maiden voyage. we have stayed at a local area club but this time we hit the road. ok so it was only an hour from home but still "we went an hour away from home!" loved it! was quiet and relaxing and wonderful! would have stayed longer but with the threat of rain and all of our "kitchen" being outside we opted to glamp til the mud was a possibility! our tiny home camper was a hit!
Sep 21, 2019
We spent 2 months there and enjoyed everyday. It is an older KOA so there are a lot of mature trees (which made our dish system difficult to use). The staff are great and always available to help in anyway they can. Have already booked our return trip in 2020
Sep 20, 2019
Sep 20, 2019
We stayed at this KOA for the convenience of being able to get into downtown Chicago in a reasonable amount of time (about 75 minutes). The facilities were good and with all of the amenities offered, makes this a great family-friendly campground. The only drawbacks for me were the absence of hiking/walking trails and the Friday night noise from the nearby stock car races. Otherwise, a nice park
Sep 19, 2019
Sep 19, 2019
Thanks again for a pleasant stay!
Sep 18, 2019
Sep 18, 2019
Saturday night weather great no movie
Sep 17, 2019
Great everything! Very pleasant customer service. No getting stuck in mud here! (Since we have gotten stuck in supposedly main camp roads, it is very important for us that the camp roads are solid. 50,000 lbs is expensive to pull out of mud.)
Sep 17, 2019
Terrific staff, clean facilities and quiet location!
Sep 16, 2019
Rob, the owner, goes out of his way to make your stay wonderful. He has made many great changes over the years.
Sep 16, 2019
staff is great.clean campsites .close to things to do,quiet.
Sep 16, 2019
Rob and staff are always accommodating and courteous. The Brunos keep the campground clean and running smoothly.
Sep 16, 2019
Our stay was nice and quiet. The campsites were a tad crowded, and the roads that the sites were on were pretty narrow.
Sep 16, 2019
We've stayed here before. Sites are a little small, but nice people that run it. Clean.
Sep 16, 2019
Very nice and helpful staff. Clean and comfortable cabin. Nice....
Sep 15, 2019
We did not like the sulfur water at this KOA, it had a very strong odor and was distracting. Also, there was dog poo on our site when we arrived, and the grass needed mowed, two things that the owners should make sure are taken care of before guests arrive!
Sep 15, 2019
Thank You for your kindness in a beautifully wooded campground!
Sep 14, 2019
Fire pits not emptied and half full of ashes. Bathrooms just ok. Several squads driving around about 4:30 in morning which is unsettling but the worst was the guy who asked if he could bathe in the almost emptied pool water; then later was cutting through campsites asking for cigarettes and then later was asking for our trash to “show the owner he was working so he could stay another night.”
Sep 14, 2019
Sep 12, 2019
Very nice facility. Everything was great.
Sep 11, 2019
We like this campground as it is close to our family. However, folks ignore the dogs must be on a leash at all times rule. I am not sure how the campground can enforce that rule, but we do not have dog-friendly dogs and do not want stray dogs wandering up to our dogs. Just as bad is having small children walk the family dog. There is no way the child could control the dog.
Sep 11, 2019
Sep 09, 2019
This is a nice wooded oasis in the middle of eastern central Illinois farm country. Would stay here again.
Sep 09, 2019
friendly helpful staff
Sep 09, 2019
Sep 07, 2019
Sep 05, 2019
Been here many times and have enjoyed our stay each time. Very friendly staff.
Sep 05, 2019
Very friendly and accommodating.
Sep 04, 2019
Very nice campground. The sites were bigger than I expected from a KOA. Prices were fantastic. Great service. Close to home so will be going back again!
Sep 04, 2019
Small but clean, quiet, and friendly campground. Pool, playground, and game room for the kids. Love the tractor ride in the evening. Escorted to your site which is a huge plus when you arrive after dark. Close to Kankakee River State Park. The perfect place to spend a long weekend. We'll definitely be back!
Sep 03, 2019
awesome people
Sep 03, 2019
Everything you need at a campsite from hospitality, very clean , safe and plenty of room and lots to do around the area canoeing fishing nice bike routes for motorcycles definitely will be there again and recommend it to anyone..
Sep 03, 2019
Our site 30A was very narrow. It should be eliminated or not used for anything other than overnight stays. Can’t set up camp. They are under staffed. The place is old and run down. Water quality is very poor. I wonder if it’s legally clean? I thought I saw oil in my cooking pots.
Sep 03, 2019
Very accommodating, one night stay. Friendly, helpful staff.
Sep 02, 2019
very busy stay over labor day weekend nice facility with excellent staff
Aug 31, 2019
Only did an overnight stop. The pull through for my truck and trailer was great, didn't have to disconnect allowing an early start. Very friendly folks, nice little campstore.
Aug 31, 2019
Bad wi fi
Nov 07, 2019
Very peaceful and quite in the winter/fall unsure about summer they have a wonderful dog run area that is completely enclosed which is nice owners are very friendly as well
- Smalls Lyell on Google
Oct 13, 2019
Loved the people-so friendly, the sites-we'll maintained,and Halloween there can't be beat!
- MarcyJo Chachakis on Google
Oct 05, 2019
It was clean n quite
- Vicki Rush on Google

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.