Kankakee South KOA Reviews

Campground Reviews

Sep 24, 2017
Sep 23, 2017
bathrooms had no running water. Many run down and apparently abandoned trailers. The site we stayed at, the sewer connection was almost as high as the discharge on our trailer so wast water gathered in the slack below so you had to lift up the drain pipe to get it in the sewer. Internet was spotty at best
Sep 22, 2017
Ok but water really smells bad.
Sep 20, 2017
Very helpful Staff. Quiet. Highly recommend.
Sep 19, 2017
This koa is located in the country, which means a good night's sleep since the only sounds at night are nature. They are making improvements to the park to make it top notch. Only issue are the narrow park roads.
Sep 19, 2017
Great little place to stay for the race weekend. The employees at this location were exceptionally nice and professional. I had no complaints at all about this location.
Sep 19, 2017
We love this campground! It's clean, quiet, and close to home. The staff is so friendly and very accomodating.
Sep 19, 2017
Sep 18, 2017
Love this location, stay here all the time. See you next month for Halloween Campout!
Sep 18, 2017
Family and pet friendly. Helpful and enjoyable weekend. Wish we had more time to spend there. We will definitely be back.
Sep 18, 2017
We love this KOA. Bathrooms are always clean. They accommodated the kids and had hay rides even when it wasn't scheduled. Also the spot we pulled into Friday afternoon had a rotted plywood with rusted nails sticking out of it. My husband asked if there was any way to remove it since we didn't want the kids tripping and getting hurt. Within 15 minutes they had it removed! We can't wait to go back.
Sep 18, 2017
New area very nice. Next site neighbor noisey after midnight. That was the only negative.
Sep 18, 2017
It's a nice koa. I did enjoy our stay. If I could say anything it would be that it was a very small campground with everyone fairly tightly packed. And the camp store didn't have all that many selections. But still over all good stay.
Sep 18, 2017
Everyone was very nice. Loved the new side, even though it was far from the puppy park, it was so peaceful. Especially loved the extras like garbage pick up game room and hay rack ride
Sep 18, 2017
The tent sites with water and electricity are very very small and it felt like we were right on top of everyone around us. We were able to move sites and had a much better time.
Sep 18, 2017
Sep 17, 2017
Antiquated park, needs upgrade, including 50 amp service.
Sep 17, 2017
Just another nice stay at KOA Kankakee South, IL.
Sep 16, 2017
This was my first experience in a KOA campground, and I hope the other facilities are better than we experienced here. The showers were not inviting, there were no accessibility features, and the water had an odor to it. It is located across the road from what appears to be a biohazard site, but the brochure says it is "good ol' country water".
Sep 15, 2017
Very nice, clean campground. Rather dusty interior roads even at slow speeds, but other than that no complaints. Thanks for a nice stay!
Sep 15, 2017
Sep 15, 2017
Very nice facilities. We stayed in one of the smaller cabins and loved it.
Sep 13, 2017
I like the choice between open (satellite friendly) sites and shaded sites.
Sep 12, 2017
We stayed 3 nights for Chicago touring. Clean, quiet reprieve after a hectic day downtown. Easy car trips to the heart of the city. Others found a quick train in even easier. We will certainly return here for a longer stay and try the trains next time.
Sep 12, 2017
Very peaceful. Friendly and helpful staff. Only thing I'd suggest is campfire ring too high to sit back and see fire unless had very big fire.
Sep 12, 2017
The worst KOA I have camped at, arrived late and had to talk to someone via a speaker connection that was not good, had a hard time hearing them. Went to the site that was poorly marked and hard to see. site was a not level, looked like it was suppose to be gravel but was mostly grass. I used my points on the bill, and if that is the best KOA can do I will not be renewing my membership.
Sep 11, 2017
The camp site was large. Enough to have a camper-van, a large tent, a screen tent and plenty of seating room for camp chairs around the camp fire. Need heat in restrooms for showers. Restrooms were very nice. Staff was very nice. I was able to stay an hour or so after check out without a problem. Very clean campground and a large dog walk. I will be back
Sep 11, 2017
Very small. We like to walk around and enjoy scenery. Only thing lacking. The full hook up at site was very nice, but you feel like your in a parking lot. Place is very clean and quiet. Bathroom was updated and clean. Staff very nice.
Sep 11, 2017
Did a weekend there. Just disappointed on how close the sites are to each other. Like a parking lot with trees.
Sep 10, 2017
Very nice folks- the park was not the prettiest or had that wow factor but very nice, very accessible and the people make it even better. We stayed just the one night while on the road but saw how much they are working on adding new features to their park. We'd stay here again - L&D
Sep 08, 2017
the staff was very unwelcoming
Sep 07, 2017
Very large campsites, nice restrooms, playground & swimming pool. Great for families with children!
Sep 07, 2017
Good
Sep 06, 2017
Bathrooms are beautiful. We appreciated the staff riding around late into the evening to keep an eye on things (it was a busy, labor day weekend). The campground was very quiet, even though it was full.
Sep 06, 2017
This is a very well-run campground! Bathrooms are nice, lots of activities for the family, great service (trash pick-up and ice/firewood drop-off), and the owners ride around quite often (several times per day) just to check up on things or help with anything you might need. They even show you to your site and help you back in your camper if needed! Most of the sites are roomy as well.
Sep 06, 2017
We were very pleased with our site it was in the newer peaceful expansion section and was nice and quiet. It was also easy to get into as it was a long pull thru with a really nice wooden deck. Everyone that worked there was very nice and helpful. Our friends had site B16 which was a little hard to back in to. But they had a guy that came and guided him right in. We will definitely stay there agai
Sep 06, 2017
Sep 05, 2017
Did not care for this KOA at all. Trees were hollowed out & very old. They looked like they need severe tree removal project. The water smelled like sulfar & the campground is located directly across the street from old landfill. Not much to do in this area. The Perry Farm Park with Indian Caves was closed on weekends. Kankakee River was too low to canoe. Again not much to do here.
Sep 05, 2017
Our stay was very nice. The grounds, facilities and staff were great. We will be staying again when we are in the area.
Sep 05, 2017
Sep 05, 2017
Our Labor Day outing was a good one. The staff is very helpful and nice.
Sep 05, 2017
Sep 05, 2017
2nd time staying at this KOA and love the setting. One suggestion: sulfur smell from water should be treated
Sep 04, 2017
Good friendly staff. What I've seen of the improvement that are being made its going to look good
Sep 03, 2017
Sep 03, 2017
Wonderful campground!!!!! Great owners!!!!!! Clean !!! Decent amount of space between sites!!!!!!! Well stocked camping store!!!!! A 5 star!!!!!
Sep 02, 2017
Very clean, fun, and friendly staff!!!
Sep 02, 2017
Nice, well kept park. Full hookup, 50 amp available. We stayed in the new section with lots of room for slideouts. We have a 35' 5th wheel with three slides.
Sep 01, 2017
Sep 01, 2017
Nov 07, 2019
Very peaceful and quite in the winter/fall unsure about summer they have a wonderful dog run area that is completely enclosed which is nice owners are very friendly as well
- Smalls Lyell on Google
Oct 13, 2019
Loved the people-so friendly, the sites-we'll maintained,and Halloween there can't be beat!
- MarcyJo Chachakis on Google
Sep 30, 2019
Nice campground
- Lonnie Netzel on Google

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.