Kankakee South KOA Reviews

Campground Reviews

Sep 15, 2017
Very nice facilities. We stayed in one of the smaller cabins and loved it.
Sep 13, 2017
I like the choice between open (satellite friendly) sites and shaded sites.
Sep 12, 2017
We stayed 3 nights for Chicago touring. Clean, quiet reprieve after a hectic day downtown. Easy car trips to the heart of the city. Others found a quick train in even easier. We will certainly return here for a longer stay and try the trains next time.
Sep 12, 2017
Very peaceful. Friendly and helpful staff. Only thing I'd suggest is campfire ring too high to sit back and see fire unless had very big fire.
Sep 12, 2017
The worst KOA I have camped at, arrived late and had to talk to someone via a speaker connection that was not good, had a hard time hearing them. Went to the site that was poorly marked and hard to see. site was a not level, looked like it was suppose to be gravel but was mostly grass. I used my points on the bill, and if that is the best KOA can do I will not be renewing my membership.
Sep 11, 2017
The camp site was large. Enough to have a camper-van, a large tent, a screen tent and plenty of seating room for camp chairs around the camp fire. Need heat in restrooms for showers. Restrooms were very nice. Staff was very nice. I was able to stay an hour or so after check out without a problem. Very clean campground and a large dog walk. I will be back
Sep 11, 2017
Very small. We like to walk around and enjoy scenery. Only thing lacking. The full hook up at site was very nice, but you feel like your in a parking lot. Place is very clean and quiet. Bathroom was updated and clean. Staff very nice.
Sep 11, 2017
Did a weekend there. Just disappointed on how close the sites are to each other. Like a parking lot with trees.
Sep 10, 2017
Very nice folks- the park was not the prettiest or had that wow factor but very nice, very accessible and the people make it even better. We stayed just the one night while on the road but saw how much they are working on adding new features to their park. We'd stay here again - L&D
Sep 08, 2017
the staff was very unwelcoming
Sep 07, 2017
Very large campsites, nice restrooms, playground & swimming pool. Great for families with children!
Sep 07, 2017
Good
Sep 06, 2017
Bathrooms are beautiful. We appreciated the staff riding around late into the evening to keep an eye on things (it was a busy, labor day weekend). The campground was very quiet, even though it was full.
Sep 06, 2017
This is a very well-run campground! Bathrooms are nice, lots of activities for the family, great service (trash pick-up and ice/firewood drop-off), and the owners ride around quite often (several times per day) just to check up on things or help with anything you might need. They even show you to your site and help you back in your camper if needed! Most of the sites are roomy as well.
Sep 06, 2017
We were very pleased with our site it was in the newer peaceful expansion section and was nice and quiet. It was also easy to get into as it was a long pull thru with a really nice wooden deck. Everyone that worked there was very nice and helpful. Our friends had site B16 which was a little hard to back in to. But they had a guy that came and guided him right in. We will definitely stay there agai
Sep 06, 2017
Sep 05, 2017
Did not care for this KOA at all. Trees were hollowed out & very old. They looked like they need severe tree removal project. The water smelled like sulfar & the campground is located directly across the street from old landfill. Not much to do in this area. The Perry Farm Park with Indian Caves was closed on weekends. Kankakee River was too low to canoe. Again not much to do here.
Sep 05, 2017
Our stay was very nice. The grounds, facilities and staff were great. We will be staying again when we are in the area.
Sep 05, 2017
Sep 05, 2017
Our Labor Day outing was a good one. The staff is very helpful and nice.
Sep 05, 2017
Sep 05, 2017
2nd time staying at this KOA and love the setting. One suggestion: sulfur smell from water should be treated
Sep 04, 2017
Good friendly staff. What I've seen of the improvement that are being made its going to look good
Sep 03, 2017
Sep 03, 2017
Wonderful campground!!!!! Great owners!!!!!! Clean !!! Decent amount of space between sites!!!!!!! Well stocked camping store!!!!! A 5 star!!!!!
Sep 02, 2017
Very clean, fun, and friendly staff!!!
Sep 02, 2017
Nice, well kept park. Full hookup, 50 amp available. We stayed in the new section with lots of room for slideouts. We have a 35' 5th wheel with three slides.
Sep 01, 2017
Sep 01, 2017
Aug 31, 2017
Aug 31, 2017
We loved our site, all hook ups worked well. Staff was helpful and friendly. The only complaint we have is the poor WiFi service. We were in site 47 and were told that the wifi connection was poor because we were so far from the source. We did not ask for this site. When I pay for a deluxe site, I expect that all amenities offered for the campgrounds will be available to me. It was not.
Aug 31, 2017
Place is very orderly, friendly, clean, quiet and well run. Close to town. Spots are close together.
Aug 31, 2017
Aug 30, 2017
The campground was clean, the bathroom was clean shower water was hot. Employees was friendly & helpful Everything was rightthere. Free movie theatre was great. Thinking of coming back before it get cold.
Aug 29, 2017
Our big group of 60 people recently stayed at KOA Kenkakee South. We enjoyed our stay. The campground is kept clean, Has big, shaded tent sites with picnic tables. Bathroom/ showers are clean. People are friendly. We recommend this place.
Aug 29, 2017
We changed our reservation to an earlier night and the management was very accommodating. We arrived late and left early. I phoned ahead and everything was set-up and ready to go. Seemed very efficient. Didn't get to use the facilities etc as we were on the move but everything seemed very nice.
Aug 28, 2017
Always good people at the KOA.
Aug 28, 2017
Sad to see that more and more of the campground are having sites turn to permanent sites. They should have those sites clean and tidy. Takes away from the overall look of the campground.
Aug 28, 2017
Aug 28, 2017
Great people. Nice clean campground.
Aug 28, 2017
gre at place to stay Rob the owner is the best will be there more offen
Aug 28, 2017
Aug 28, 2017
Very friendly staff, clean bathrooms, great dog run. My only recommendation is to get a heater for the pool. It was so cold my girls wouldn't swim.
Aug 27, 2017
Quiet at night
Aug 25, 2017
The staff was wonderful, the campsite very nice. We had a great time there.
Aug 24, 2017
Stayed just one night. Friendly staff, good level sites.
Aug 24, 2017
Took my grandchildren camping and was very pleased that they had a good time. Wifi was available for their iPads, swimming pool and even a dog park for my dog. Ice cream treats were available at the store at a very reasonable cost. Happy to have stayed.
Aug 24, 2017
Perfect size for us. Clean with many amenities larger sites have including an unadvertised dog park which was a pleasant surprise.
Aug 22, 2017
great time had by all in our group book another stay before leaving ..........only thing I would like to see in the future is screw in tops added to the sewer hook-up to avoid smell and accidental mishaps thanks again for a good time
Aug 22, 2017
They have really cleaned up the campground since the last time we stayed there. They have bought the property next door and expanded with new lots. Two negatives: The water has a distinctive odor; it is really bad! We had to go get bottled water for our entire stay. You can pick up several channels on your antenna, but we could not get CBS at all. I would love to see cable at this campground
Jul 08, 2019
Convenient location. Nice pool, laundry, store, hay rides. Close to grocery store and Walmart. Friendly employees. Holiday week so unfortunately some campers chose to party loudly til 4am. All other times we've camped here it was peaceful at night and fun during the day.
- Roxanne Renicker on Google
Jul 15, 2019
Good people and friendly neighbors.
- Anton Mackey on Google