Kankakee South KOA Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jul 11, 2018
Quiet. Lots of dirt and gravel. They should do something about the water. As an environmental engineer I know that it’s safe. But the sulfide smell is very bad. I think aeration might solve it
Jul 10, 2018
Bathrooms and showers were clean. Pool was usually over crowded. The staff was courteous and friendly. The sites were mostly level and there was a reasonable amount of room between sites. The park was good, but not perfect.
Jul 10, 2018
The staff was very friendly, but - unfortunately- the property is set up for maximum profit instead of traveler's comfort. In most cases, camping sites are on top of one another and there is no privacy. When it is full, as it was during our stay, it has the air of a refugee camp. It is a place to overnight, not to stay.
Jul 10, 2018
Great time will go again
Jul 10, 2018
We had a very nice stay! The staff was very helpful and nice! Everything is clean,neat and well cared for!
Jul 10, 2018
It was much better than I expected. Another great feature of KOAs is that you can reserve online anytime (even you have to do a last minute plans like me:). Most others required 48 hours notice and call for reservations.
Jul 10, 2018
Difficult to get to this campground due to road closures, but the campground is great.
Jul 09, 2018
The roads are very narrow. My husband came back late on Friday the 6th of July and barely could fit his F350 around the curve to our site in B Circle . It was like that the whole week we were there. The one site had 4 vehicles parked 2 on both ends . Also on our loop dog poop was not picked up and it was bad in dog run area . Kids were unattended in pool. Rules were not enforced.
Jul 09, 2018
friendly, lovely trees
Jul 09, 2018
Jul 09, 2018
Jul 09, 2018
Super loud people at 5am were pretty rude. For the price of a primitive site, a little seclusion would have been nice but we had neighbors right on top of us and had to listen to drunks riding around in golf carts.
Jul 09, 2018
This feels like camping! In comparison to other RV parks, here people do enjoy the outdoor experience of camping and not just lock themselves into their air conditioned home of the wheels. Spacious, shady sites, firering, tablets, no interstate or train noise, all a campers heart needs! Very friendly and helpful staff, highly recommended! We'll come back!
Jul 09, 2018
Reservation was fast, check in pleasant. They have a few attractions on the site. Quiet and nice wooded area. Pool is a bonus. Would highly recommend.
Jul 08, 2018
stayed in cabin,would have given a 10 but slight odor of a dog was in the cabin
Jul 08, 2018
Extremely clean pool!!! Wow! The staff was super friendly and accommodating. Thank you for the wonderful experience for my family of 4!
Jul 07, 2018
Peaceful, idyllic rural setting only an hour from the big city! You can leave your rig and get a rental car in Kankakee. Super nice people work at this KOA. Clean and well maintained. Locals come regularly as well and are lovely to talk with.
Jul 06, 2018
This is our 3rd or 4th time to stay at the cabin here. It is a great option for us with two kids and a dog. Fun activities this year with the added movie night and game room. Kids enjoyed the pool. Only negatives are the stinky sulfur smelling h2o (which I get can't be helped) and the fact that a cardinal dive-bombed the windows of the cabins about 300 times between 5 and 8 am.
Jul 05, 2018
Jul 05, 2018
Jul 05, 2018
Stayed in little cabin with 2 grandchildren they loved it and the pool and playground.
Jul 04, 2018
Nice spacious pull-through site.
Jul 04, 2018
Nice campground. Nice shade from mature trees. Fairly level spot, some compacted gravel, others were concrete. Everything was good except had to ask to have the 30 amp circuit breaker replaced right away, because it would not hold amps for our a/c. The owner responded and fixed it right away.
Jul 03, 2018
Jul 02, 2018
The campground was super clean, everyone we came across was super friendly. What a nice little place that made us feel we were welcome and a very quiet stay. Would definitely be back again soon.
Jul 02, 2018
Always good place for camping
Jun 30, 2018
Came down from Wisconsin to visit my grandkids and what wonderful way to spend a few days camping and swimming with them. Staff was kind and caring, pool was fantastic, bathrooms and showers were in excellent shape and sites were clean and comfortable. Lots of trees for shady spots.(We had a primitive tent site.) My grandkids and I had a great visit together, thanks so much!
Jun 30, 2018
Very peaceful, quiet and just what we pay for in an RV park
Jun 29, 2018
Jun 29, 2018
Nice place nice owners
Jun 28, 2018
Clean quiet campground with friendly staff, sparkling pool, and safe for children. One comment: as you pull out of the campground the bushes need to be trimmed on the left side to view oncoming traffic. As you know the cars are passing at a pretty good speed and sure would not want to see an accident happe
Jun 28, 2018
Your campground is clean and peaceful. The staff is friendly and helpful. We will definitely return.
Jun 27, 2018
Jun 26, 2018
We camp yearly at KOA and noticed a lot of attention has been paid to the campground. Campsites received new picnic tables and maintenance making for a great appearance overall. Met campers new to KOA and they were impressed! Staff is friendly and helpful! Yes we made another reservation �
Jun 26, 2018
We had a great time. Very clean. Staff was very friendly. Would definitely recommend and stay again
Jun 26, 2018
Jun 26, 2018
Half the time it rained. Not your fault. Friendly crew. Didnt really check the place out. Next time!
Jun 26, 2018
Very clean; kids had a lot of fun in the pool, at the volleyball net, riding bikes around the park and at the arcade. Staff was very friendly. Quiet park.
Jun 26, 2018
Nice place for our scuba diving trip. Just 2 recommendations. 1. Install drain for pool filter to drain water away from walking areas. So people are not walking in puddles of water in the dark. 2. Would be nice have a drink machine accessible for when the store is closed.
Jun 26, 2018
Nice campground, very friendly staff! Some larger bathroom facilities would be nice, otherwise it was great!
Jun 25, 2018
Very nice campgrounds. Loved all the trees. Sites were nice and farther apart then most. Nice picnic tables. Staff was always around, I'd you had questions.
Jun 25, 2018
Always a pleasure.
Jun 25, 2018
Jun 25, 2018
Jun 25, 2018
We had a great stay. We were in the quiet part. The deck was an added bonus. Everyone was very nice and the facilities were clean.
Jun 24, 2018
we had a wonderful stay. Your campground was so clean and well run. The pool, showers and bathroom areas were great. If I had one issue it was on Friday night we came back after a very long day in Chicago and some one at a site near us played music until midnight. Being very new at camping I really didn't know what was appropriate to do. We did not say anything.
Jun 24, 2018
Jun 23, 2018
Great site if visiting the Chicago area! Very clean. Be prepared for mosquitoes though if coming here in the summer - bug spray or a mosquito tent will do the trick. Friendly and accommodating staff. We switched sites after our first night to a more quiet location, the staff was very understanding and adjusted our reservation (we went from an electric hook-up to non-electric site).
Jun 22, 2018
thank you,thank you thank you, thankyou a million times for providing a great place to stay, just as we said last month totally enjoyed are week at the campground, we can't wait until next month when we will be back again(GOD WILLING) so take care see you soon! john & susan
Jun 22, 2018
Quiet and pleasant.
Nov 07, 2019
Very peaceful and quite in the winter/fall unsure about summer they have a wonderful dog run area that is completely enclosed which is nice owners are very friendly as well
- Smalls Lyell on Google
Oct 13, 2019
Loved the people-so friendly, the sites-we'll maintained,and Halloween there can't be beat!
- MarcyJo Chachakis on Google
Sep 30, 2019
Nice campground
- Lonnie Netzel on Google

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.